12 independent reviews of the Lui Beach Resort Hotel
Address: Dando Candolim, Candolim 403515, India
Lui Beach Resort Hotel
Lui Beach Resort Hotel Location
Ranked #25 of 40 hotels in Candolim


4/5
Lui Beach Resort Hotel Lui Beach Resort Hotel is rated 3.58 out of 5 from 12 Reviews
83% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (12 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Lui Beach Resort Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"So very relaxing"
Heather Price had a holiday at Lui Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2013
1 reader found this review helpful

Have been going to Goa for 23 yrs now. Have stayed in bad places and reasonable places. Yes the Lui beach is very basic but what it lacks in some respects is more than made up for by the lovely Peter, who by the way is a good dancer and Joe who is a nice guy and involves himself with the entertainment. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in fact have rebooked to go back on Jan 11th 2014 with my husband. Met some lovely people including Gaynor and "Rock and Roll Dave who is a great singer and gave the local entertainers a run for their money! PLEASE Peter if you are watching this review site can we have room 112 when we come back please???? Much luv to you all, from Heather Price (the dancer)!!

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3
"Disliked this hotel - did not stay"
T/S stayed at Lui Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in January 2011
Disliked this hotel. Was given three different rooms: first one was room 103 which is the size of a small bedroom, very dark and damp; second room was room 109 which was at the side of the building right at the top which had electric sockets hanging of the wall, very dark and really needed updating and the third was at the end of the road over a shop facing the main road. Had to go to the local supermarket buy bleach and scourers and scrub the place as it was that dirty.

The noise that night was unbearable and no A/C and the ceiling fan was hanging on by a few wires. Just went and settled what we owed, ie fridge for a night and a few drinks round the pool and moved out of the place.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4
"A good value holiday."
lindsey stayed at Lui Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in November 2010
We stayed at the Lui Beach for 2 weeks in November.

Firstly we did not find Peter, the Manager, to be anything but helpful and accomodating, not pushy at all. The room boys and infact all the staff were brilliant; nothing was too much trouble. We could keep our room at the end of our holiday until we left for no extra cost.

The room was basic but spotless; clean sheets and towels daily. Our only complaint was the rooms seemed to have a damp problem maybe due to the monsoon and excessive rain.

The hotel is in a quiet location with the bus stop at the end of the lane and within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops.

As we only had basic breakfast toast,tea and juice I cannot comment on the food as we ate out.

Entertainment consisted of ...
a weekly barbeque. There was an excellent library for reads round the small but adequate pool with towels provided.

All in all, for less than 600 a good value holiday.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

dave&jenny wall had a holiday at Lui Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in February 2009
Just returned from 3 week holiday at Lui Beach.This was our 5th holiday in Goa and we really enjoyed Lui Brach. Our room was spacious and clean and linen and towels changed daily. The double bed was very large and surprisingly comfortable.The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was basic, juice, toast & tea or coffee but a more varied menu was available at a very reasonable cost. The pool area is quite small and does not get a lot of sun due to surrounding trees but it\'s pleasant and clean with towels provided for the sun loungers. We would definately use this hotel again.

Good restaurants nearby are Flambe-e, Shivvers and Foxes Steak House. In the center of Candolim on Beach Rd try Inferno (superb), Sports bar (also known as J29) and Teama.

We tried East meets West ...
in Calangute as we had heard a lot about it. Its a lovely place but the food, though o.k, wasn\'t the best we had and the service was very poor.

If you fancy something a bit different try the Sunday lunch cruise on the Noa\'s Arc, a large floating restaurant. It sails from Panjim at around 11am, 4hr cruise down the Mandovi river, they come round with different nibbles then after a couple of hours sailing they stop and you can go on the lower deck and fish or stay on the upper deck, have a drink and enjoy the views. An excellent hot buffet is served and there is entertainment on board. Its a fabulous trip and cost only 600rupees each + drinks. You can book in advance but if you arrive by about 10.30 you shouldn\'t have a problem.

Across from the Noa\'s Arc is the Panjim Residency. Inside there are leaflets on all the usual excursions but they are a lot cheaper than booking in the resort so if you don\'t mind doing the trips from Panjim it\'s worth checking out

Read More

Tour Operator: jewel in the crown

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Julia stayed at Lui Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2009
I would definitely recommend the Lui Beach to anyone that is looking for clean, basic accomodation in Candolim.

Situated in the quiter area, near Sinquerim, it is close to the beach (5 mins) and there are loads of good restuarants near by.

The rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels and linen provided. The pool and restaurant area are kept clean with pool towels laid out each day.

The hotel usually does 2 BBQ nights a week - Mondays and Fridays and the food is good and reasonably priced.

Saftey deposit boxes, fridges and air con can be paid for on arrival, however, not all rooms have air con so if you want it, you will need to ask when checking in.

The hotel can also arrange boat trips and sight seeing tours but shop around to find the best deal for what ...
you want.

The staff are all friendly and eager to please and are quite happy to have a chat and a laugh with holiday makers. There seems to be quite a few return guests to this hotel, adding to the friendly atmosphere.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Teresa Tomlinson visited the Lui Beach Resort Hotel in January 2009
We have been visiting Goa for 15 years, this hotel was the cleanest we have stayed in.The linen and towels were white and changed daily.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

We cannot comment on the food as we ate out each day as there are so many different restaurants and shacks to try.

The hotel is near to the beach, a fabulous holiday.

Tour Operator: Jewel In The Crpwn

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

gary miles had a holiday at Lui Beach Resort Hotel in February 2007
Not the best hotel in ther world but very clean and tidy. food was basic but tasty and the staff were friendly. we are going back in feb 2008 for three weeks and i cant wait.

Tour Operator: MyTravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

steven b had a holiday at Lui Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2006
Food was good.

Hotel staff were very pleasent and very helpful and friendly.

Tour Operator: jewel in the crown

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

Sue Stevens visited the Lui Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2006
My first trip to Goa, but not for my partner, so a little shock horror for me. All in all the hotel was quite clean as we did not ask for air conditioning we were given a less priority room stuck out the back looking at dirty shacks and washing.

Very disapointed with the breakfast, but the staff were pleasant and helpful.

We are back again this year for a month guess what we are staying somwhere else.

Tour Operator: Jewel in the Crown
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Salvin had a holiday at Lui Beach Resort Hotel in April 2006
We travelled to Goa in April 2006 with MyTravel Airways in the Premiair Gold cabin which was absolutely superb! Fantastic comfort, arm chair style seats with loads of leg room and recline, seat back TVs, great food, endless free drinks and super service from the very friendly crew.

Upon arrival at the hotel, the porter carried are rather large suitcases up the stairs to the room without expecting a tip like they do in some countries. We had requested Air Conditioning and a Fridge which where provided in our very large and spacious room. We had two balconies although we only tended to use the one with the pool view. The rooms had a living room with two sofas and a table, a small shower room and a large bedroom with 2 twin beds. The beds are not as comfortable as ...
you will find in Europe but you expect this. Rooms are quite basic but this is to be expected from a 2 Star accommodation, especially when the holiday was a great price as well!

The small pool area is clean with about 10 sun lounges. There is a pool bar and also a souvenir shop and beauty salon. The hotel receptionist and manager are also very courteous and friendly. Breakfast here is of the Continental variety serving up toast, fruit juice and tea/coffee in a morning however a menu is available should you fancy something extra. The bar does close at 11pm as per the local Police law for hotels so you will find bars and restaurants where drinks will be available until later in the night nearby. There is also a security guard at the hotel of a night time in common with most hotels in Goa although Goa is probably the safest place I have ever been too!

The Airtours representative made almost daily visits and was very knowledgeable, polite and always asked you how your where and said have a nice day!

Just a short walk away, you will find the beautiful beach that is Candolim. I would reccommend Baywatch for your choice of beach shacks as the staff are very friendly and talkative, the food and drink is good and it is very cheap.

Going in to Candolim, you will find the Kingfisher Villa right next door to Lui Beach as well as a few shops for your essentials. A further 10-15 minutes walk will bring you to the centre of Candolim known as \'Beach Road\'. I would recommend \'Inferno\' restaurant here for superb food, friendly service and good prices - try the Chocolate Naan - its delicious! A few other restaurants to look our for are \'Sweet Chilli\', \'Stone House\' and \'Bon Appetit\'.

We did two excursions. One booked with Airtours and the other with John\'s Boat Trips:

The Airtours trip was called \'Jungle Book\' and was an overnight excursion taking you inland. On day one, we where taken to a stunning Spice Plantation where the superb guide gave us a tour of this amazing place followed by our lunch before heading up to the Shanti (Peace) Nature Reserve near Ponda. Here your nights accommodation is a large mud hut made from elephant dung (to keep insects away). The hut is basic but has a shower, toilet and sink as well a room fan. Insect repellent is a must as you are in the rainforest after all! Upon arrival, you are served soup before the \'Bull-O-Cart\' ride and your ride on 1 of 3 elephants. Should you wish to ride a camel, this is at an extra charge. After this, you are left to relax for a few hours before Diner. Shortly after diner, they put on an amazing show where they demonstrate to you how they teach the elephants and allow you to feed them which is an amazing thing to do! This is followed by a tug of war with the male elephant which great fun (its just playtime to the elephant). They then take you by darkness to an amazing 800 year old temple perfectly preserved which is amazing to see by night. The evening is then finished off with songs around the camp fire.

The next morning you can opt for a 5:30am wake up call or a 8:30am wake up. If like us, you choose the 5:30am wake up, you are taken on a guided trek into the forest to see the sun rise over an amazing waterfall and upon your return, at 9:30am, the rest of the group join you to do Yoga around the temple before returning for breakfast and collecting your belongings ready to return to resort via a second elephant habitat. There you are taken via bamboo raft over to an island to wash and bath the elephants which is not to be missed. Following lunch here, you then return to your hotel. This was all complemented by an excellent tour guide.

This trip was superb value and absolutely a once in a life time experience. I would only have arranged this trip through Airtours as you know it is being arranged through a company you know and trust - especially as it is an overnight excursion it is good to have the peace of mind of knowing it has been arranged properly through a reputable company. Big thumbs up to Airtours for providing this fantastic opportunity!

The other trip we did was to the second largest waterfall in India. This was cheap and through a local company called John

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours/MyTravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

gw smith visited the Lui Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in February 2006
Rooms are very basic,but clean(everyday)staff were attentive and helpful(phone calls,exchange etc)
Bar staff very good,and yes they do kip behind the bar,but only when everyone had disappeared.Saw no \'wildlife\' at all.

In a good spot for getting to most shacks restaurants etc.

South end of Candolim,certainly quieter than the north end.

Tour Operator: jewel in the crown

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

gordon deans had a holiday at Lui Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in April 2005
My advice to you would be to get onto your travel agent and change your hotel, we went for 4 weeks and could only stick it for 3 weeks, we paid out our own pocket to stay at another hotel for the last week,

The main concern we had about the hotel was cleanliness, our fridge was mouldy inside and out, 3 times we asked for it to be cleaned and ended up buying cleaning agents and cleaning it ourselves,

The air conditioning units all leak, we could not sit on our balcony as it was constantly soaking with leaking water, (this is where legionaire disease starts).

When we arrived everyone was getting bitten at the tables, we found out that another air-conditining unit was leaking out and spilling on the huge umberella, and as a result a huge pile ...
of stagnent water was trapped in the umberella cuasing mosquitos to breed in it, but after pointing this out it was cleaned, but before we left the leak was not sorted and the water was building up again.

The table cloths for the tables were only changed every 2 weeks the spillage from drinks food etc, on the table cloth kept attracting flies, and you just could not eat for all the flies.

The tea pots you get your tea or coffee in were absolutley disgusting, it was like the were never cleaned inside, you get a very basic breakfast of tea and toast, you can get tea or a glass of juice, but the juice is out of a tin,(this only happened in lui beach hotel out side it was always fresh juice you got), you can also order other eggs etc for breakfast but you pay for it.

A word of warning for anything you pay for, we only found out on our 3rd week thier is a 10% charge added to your bills, what the charge is for no one seems to know.

If its a service charge the barmen cleaners etc have never seen it, it seems to be the owners extra income, we paid our bills nightly and we always got them back to front with the days total, and when we turned them over one night thats when we noticed the 10%.

There was one night before we left the hotel, we got left in darkness, the barmen closed the bar at 11pm, which was normal but put all the lights out and went to bed (on the bar floor), I was not happy with this.

Rats seem to be a problem in the hotel at night, one guest had a rat run over his feet on the balcony, the rooms could also do with a lick of paint, the manager is at pains to point out guests were in India and should expect this standards, this is not my first trip to India and I know the standards, cleanliness costs nothing.

The Hotel should also consider that holiday makers have standards, the hotel charges for you fridge( the mould is free), and air conditioning (which leaks and is so noisey its like sleeping with a helicopter in your room, the funny bit was when new guests arrived it was like fawlty towers each guest refusing the room they had and trying to change to another).

On a plus note the staff are like all Goans friendly and cheerful, but my advice would be on my expieriance change hotel, and enjoy the local people.

WARNING... our rep from airtours was useless,she advised us the sea was ok to go into up to your waist, DO NOT DO THIS, the sea has changed from we were thier 5 years ago, it is one of the most treachrous beaches we have ever been to, I had to rescue my wife and she was black and blue on her arms with me trying to pull her out.

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Share