46 independent reviews of the Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort Location
Ranked #19 of 40 hotels in Candolim


4/5
Phoenix Park Inn Resort Phoenix Park Inn Resort is rated 3.91 out of 5 from 46 Reviews
80% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (46 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Phoenix Park Inn Resort Reviews

4/5
4
"Fantastic room amenities"
stefk visited the Phoenix Park Inn Resort, Candolim in December 2010
Although the check in was a little chaotic, the hotel itself was great.

We had a deluxe room with a kingsize bed and a z-bed for my son. The room also had tea making and a plasma tv and offered room service. I found the room to be probaly one of the best you would get in Goa.

The staff were very nice, always smiled and said hello. The pool was clean and we had our room cleaned everyday. The entertainment was ok.

The only issue I had here was the hot water, we hardly ever had any. After reporting it several times they did bring me buckets of hot water to the room but it was never actually fixed even after several attempts my the maintenance men.

My overall stay was great and I would go back to this hotel.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Sue & Steve stayed at Phoenix Park Inn Resort in April 2010
Board basis very good for Goa, varied foods for breakfast eg, any kind of eggs, fruit, pancakes and sorts of Goan currys...just not to my taste. There does seem to be problems getting cups and the tables set, it seems to be organised chaios... The hotel itself is very clean. Lovely setting around the pool. The staff are very good and anything that you require and they will try to get for you. No entertainment at all, I thought this strange for a 3 star hotel.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

sylvia crimes stayed at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, Candolim in November 2009
Hi we have stayed at this hotel twice and will most probably not be returning, the rooms are very shabby and in desperate need of redecorating, we took breakfast once out of the two weeks, the previous visit the breakfast was taken outside, people complained about flies so it has been moved into Geoffrey\'s bar what a fiasco, we couldn\'t get to the food let alone find a seat,love Candolim and have booked again for April but it is not at the Phoenix, we were so disappointed in the hotel, not the holiday, love Goa and it will be the tenth visit in April.

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Lou had a holiday at Phoenix Park Inn Resort in November 2009
What a difference 4 years make.
We had previously stayed at the Phoenix park on two occasions the last being 4 years ago.
We decided to visit again because of the excellent accomodation and service we had previously experienced.
However, this time on arrival the staff claimed that they had no record of our booking for a premium room despite me producing a reciept clearly indicating this. We were then told that we were to be given a premier room and the room boys took us to our room which was a bog standard room in worse repair than the standard rooms we had stayed in on previous visits. So, back to reception to sort out the mess. After the receptionist trying to extort

Tour Operator: Monarch
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

David Partridge had a holiday at Phoenix Park Inn Resort Hotel in March 2009
Stayed at the Phoenix Park Inn and thought it very good. Hotel staff polite and helpful. We were in one of the new premium rooms in the old reception block, room was very large, flatscreen TV, two armchairs and coffee table plus two dining chairs and large table, fridge and mini-bar. Lovely bathroom with great shower. Had a few meals at the hotel, food was good, they do a delicious cashew nut chilli fry, breakfast is varied from boiled, fried, scrambled eggs and a variety of omelettes to cereals, cakes, beans, tomatoes, porridge and a good variety of Indian breakfasts.
My wife was taken ill for a few days and the manager was most helpful, sending out for medicine for her and refusing to let me pay, and coming to the room to see she was okay. Great service.
Would we stay here again? Definitely yes.


Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

d hargreaves stayed at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, Candolim in February 2009
4th year at this hotel.
last years room was a bit of a dissapointment but this years was up to scratch.
breakfast ws the usual choice of eggs etc along with all the parts of a full English (but not all on the same day). Porridge, fruit, and a couple of Indian dishes.Toast was prepared for you and eggs freshly cooked to order.
as usual there were never enough glasses, cups, spoons.
never tried evening food and pool bar staff were especially dense when taking orders (how hard is a gin and tonic?)
There is a new reception area and the old reception has been converted to superior rooms which look nice but are at extra cost.
Room boys were happy and efficient especially in Dahl block.
To be honest some visitors were less than satisfied re cleanliness but I have to wonder if they were goan ...
regulars or first timers who expected better.
I intend to go back next year if I can change the booking I have already made for the Silver sands

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Louise had a holiday at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, Candolim, India in November 2008
Room that we were supposed to be put in was not. We did get moved and upgraded into a great room which was very nice of them. The breakfast was usual but we are used to this now as it is ourt 5th year in Candolim. If you don\'t like eggs then not a lot else to eat really. The hotel staff were very friendly and had many a laugh in the evenings. Had some lunches at the hotel but not many, would say it was nice but not much variety unlike the beach shacks. Never stayed around for the entertainment as we went out every night to restaurants as there are so many to choose from. We would go back to this hotel as there are not many around now that are not all inclusive.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Janet & Tom stayed at Phoenix Park Inn Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in March 2008
The room was shabby, air conditioning was not working properly, towels had seen better days. At breakfast if you got there when breakfast first started you would have to wait for 30 mins for it all to arrive. The staff were very friendly. By the time we got into the second week we had had enough of the room we were in and upgraded to their brand new rooms, cost another

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

alan worrall stayed at Phoenix Park Inn Resort Hotel in January 2008
Our room was very basic and shabby.

The toilet was dirty when we arrived,most days there was no hot water,you had to keep asking for more soap and shampoo the shower hand rail came off in my hand when I grasped it and the toilet kept blocking.

There were no drawers in the room to put your clothes away in.

We were offered another room after complaining but this was on the fifth floor and as there was no lift we decided against it.

The breakfast was very basic but the hygiene standards left a lot to be desired.

The early morning call requested on our departure day was eighteen minutes late.

In over thirty years of traveling the world I can honestly say that this was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in.

Tour Operator: Jewel in the Crown Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Bev & Nigel visited the Phoenix Park Inn Resort, Candolim, India in January 2008
Arrived at the hotel and as per our last visit our room was not ready. So went to breakfast and was allocated our room about 10.30am - Room 2201. Overlooking the front of the hotel with a side pool view, large double bed, fridge air-conditioning shower and tea and coffee making facilities

The room was very clean and cleaner and in better repair than last years room of 2104

The front desk help was excellent, nothing was too much trouble including ringing the airport and tour operator when I discovered I left my purse on the plane, to supplying a hack saw to get my suitcase locks off as the key was in my purse.

Towels changed very other day as was the bed. Ideally I would like fresh towels every day. Cleaning of room good and didn\'t knock ...
you up too early.

Bar area is one of this hotels strengths as you have to walk though it on your way in and out which means it is supported by other guests, for a drink on their way our or a nightcap, and usually there is someone to chat too.

Breakfast was chaotic and often there were insufficient cups, plates etc. Always restocked when asked however if only the Indians could be more pro active and not just reative this hotel would be better and breakfast would be more enjoyable. Always plenty of staff around however no one seemed to have responsibilty for a particular area. Breakfast consisted of freshly cooked eggs, toast, cereal, fresh fruit and sometimes bacon, beans etc. By Goa standard again more than some hotels offer but still frustrating when you want a coffee and you have to wait for cups. Can\'t comment on the other food as only had breakfast in the hotel

Another annoyance was on returning to the room the towels had been taken and not replenished. A simple phone call to reception and towels were brought but again frustrating.

The location of this hotel is superb, one road back from the busy Candolim road, however quiet and easy to get to bars, shops, beach etc.


There was some sort of entertainment on most nights however I do not go to Goa to spend my evenings at the hotel.

I would revisit the hotel for the price I paid this year

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Sue and Jim visited the Phoenix Park Inn Resort, Candolim in December 2007
The hotel was fairly clean though lot of surface dust. Pigions nesting under the eves near the air con unit meant that we were awoken each morning by them moving around.

Banging on the air con unit made them shift but only to an alcove outside the bathroom window!

The bathroom smelt a bit funny and most of the tiles were cracked. There was no balcony.

They are extending the hotel which meant that you could not sit around the pool or eat the very poor breakfast due to the noise/dust which went on 8am-9.30pm. Saving grace was the omlettes.Eating area very small and as a result got crowded. Cosmos did not notify us of the building work prior to the holiday.

Good location, despite the above, was quiet after building work stopped.

Staff very friendly and understandig when we complained, though we ...
feel that they were doing maintaiance work during the night on a couple of occassions, as we were kept awake by what sounded like banging pipes. When my partner went to complain, he was told that there was no work taking place but saw a man in overalls emerging form the cellar with a spanner in his hand at 4am!

As a result of the building work, we did not stay in for any entertainment, so cannot comment.

The way things are at the moment, we would not go back to this hotel

Read More

Tour Operator: Cos mos
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Steve had a holiday at Phoenix Park Inn Resort Hotel in April 2007
This is a small basic hotel. I noticed a big difference in the quality of the rooms. I noticed all new guest complained about their rooms. I think perhaps they give you a bad room to see if you complain.

We were offered a room near reception first which was very tired...hopefully it will be updated during the quiet period. As we arrived early in the morning it was the only room available. We took the room as we weren\'t too bothered about the room as you only sleep there but as we discovered the room was by reception and hence phone rings often. This kept us awake for the first few nights but we didn\'t want the hassle of changing rooms. The others in our party waited 4 hours for their room which was in the 5th block and ...
was much better.

The breakfast is a bit limited but OK. We often had breakfast out as the coffee was better. We had lunch sometimes by the pool which was OK but nothing special apart from the samosas. We normally went to the end of the road where there was a bar and restaurant as it was better and cheaper.

I would recommend this hotel as I prefer the smaller hotels as they are friendlier and the staff didn\'t disappoint.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Paul and Anne visited the Phoenix Park Inn Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in March 2007
Our 2nd time at the Phoenix Park.

We asked for a room over reception and got a lovely big room with pool room. These rooms don\'t have a balcony so this may not be to everyones taste but we prefer them as it means the room is a lot bigger and when we are in Goa at this time of year we find it too hot to sit on the balcony anyway.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and didn\'t eat any other meals in the hotel. We were disappointed with breakfast as the hotel have now moved it outside to a covered area which is very small for the amount of guests. Breakfast itself wasn\'t very good, not as much choice as when we previously stayed there. Every day they seemed to run out of cups, glasses, ...
juice, bread etc, so often we didn\'t bother going!

Overall though we found the hotel very clean and the staff happy and helpful.

The pool is lovely but another problem with moving the breakfast outside is that it\'s taken up a lot of the sunbathing areas. All the sunbeds were gone by 8.30 to 9am each morning which wasn\'t a major problem for us as we prefer the beach but occasionally we would have liked to chill by the pool for a couple of hours. Often the beds had towel on but people didn\'t use them until later in the day which is very annoying but when I spoke to the pool guy about it he just shrugged.

We didn\'t stay for any of the hotel entertainment so can\'t comment on that but there seemed to be different things on offer most nights.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

amanda stayed at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, Candolim, India in February 2007
Stayed in room 3103 as always no complaints really, I love this hotel and will never stay any where else again. Its 5 mins walk to the beach, its clean and breakfast is sorted out now.

They are expanding soon so that wil be interesting.

Tour Operator: diy

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

sue pearce stayed at Phoenix Park Inn Resort Hotel, Candolim in February 2007
We stayed at the Phoenix from Feb 24-Mar 11 and had a brilliant time.

The hotel is in a great location.we had asked for 2 rooms with balcony and got 2 together. Rooms 2202&2203.

They were lovely and clean with a sitting area,2 chairs and glass coffee table,writing desk,fridge with drinks and kettle,mugs and free tea/coffee.the bed was very large and comfy. Sat.tv and aircon included plus 2 fans. The bathroom was fine,and clean.a nice touch was a bouquet of flowers and a bottle of wine from the manager in both rooms.breakfast was good with fresh
fruit/juice,cereal,toast/rolls,eggs to order,sausages or beans or tomatoes and an indian dish.

The hotel was very clean had a lovely pool and gardens. Had a couple of lunchtime snacks and they were good.didn\'t eat there in the evenings as so many restaurants to try.the ...
bar was only a little more expensive than outside e.g.kingfisher 80r instead of 65r.

All the staff without exception were very friendly and helpful.they recharged my ipod without cost. Also had a security box in our room which was free,deposit of 2500r for key.

When we were a sunbed short the pool boy got us enother from somewhere. There are also nice pool towels free of charge.

The room was cleaned daily with nice white towels everyday and white bedding every other day. You could have 14 bottles of water delivered to your room for 180r also beer or breezers.we couldn\'t fault this hotel at all.

It was our 3rd trip to Goa and the nicest hotel yet. We would definately return here. The beach was about a 10 minute stroll away.

Read More

Tour Operator: cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mr & Mrs Mellor stayed at Phoenix Park Inn Resort Hotel, Candolim in February 2007
After emailing the hotel several weeks before our holiday requesting two upper floor adjacent rooms with balcony overlooking the garden and pool, we were disappointed that both couples were allocated rooms facing the piles of rubbish on the other side of the hotel.

The rooms were comfortable however and the manager did arrange a change of room after one week for one couple. We did engage in conversation with other couples totally dissatisfied with their rooms so where you are allocated appears to be the luck of the draw.

Our rooms were equipped with two fans and an air conditioning unit. The A/C unit had to be replaced part way through our stay after breaking down. We were regularly left without hot water but with the temperature being constantly in the high thirties, the cold water was pleasant to shower in.

As ...
a regular visitor to Goa the cleanliness of the hotel in general was of a reasonable standard. The room boy in our room changed half way through the holiday. The first one was very good and changed the towels daily creating a variety of sculptures. The second one however was the opposite and we had to request towels from room service on several occasions. There were also bits of dirty mop left on the floor on which was a bit disconcerting.

The mini bar in the room was basic but well priced. The pool bar although more expensive was also reasonably priced. Be aware that tax is added to the prices on the drinks menu. On four occasions we were short changed at the pool bar when paying our bill. Geoffrey\'s Pub advertised as \"The most happening place in Goa\" which is part of the complex was never open in the 4 weeks we were there.

Due to the numerous places to eat, the only meals taken in the hotel was breakfast which was quite good. This consisted of cereal, fruit juice, tea, coffee, toast, fresh fruit, fresh eggs cooked scrambled, poached, omellette etc.,either grilled tomatoes or baked beans. The seating area is limited however so we had to pick our time.

In general and notwithstanding the above, the staff were most helpful and friendly throughout the hotel.
Gopal the security man on the main entrance was always there to greet you with a salute and to wish you a good day.

Some of the blocks need a facelift, two of which currently have tarpaulins covering parts of the roof.

Phoenix Park Inn Hotel is just a short walk away from the manic main road of Candolim. Having visited many hotels in Goa, Phoenix Park rates among one of the better ones and we would be happy to stay there again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Travelpack

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Bev & Nigel stayed at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, Candolim in January 2007
This is our 5th visit to Goa and apart from one all have been to Candolim.

The location is ideal one road back from the main and manic main road, 10-15 mins walk to either beach road or the beach road near Whispering Palms

The staff were very helpful, although the service at breakfast time was sometimes erratic, and tea could be luke warm.

Cleaning was good however the window in room 2104 looked as if it hadn\'t been cleaned sisnce the hotel had opened.

Drinks in the mini bar were very reasonable however the hotel pool bar added taxes which made it dearer to dink there than your mini bar. One bar man in particular never offered you your chagne adn this I found annoying as I will make the decision to tip not the staff.

Overal by Goan standards ...
I still feel this hotel offers fair accomodation against other 3 star hotels in Candolim. I feel this hotle is more personal than the concrete Highland Beach Resort

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Joan and Dennis had a holiday at Phoenix Park Inn Resort, Candolim in December 2006
Arrived at the hotel about 9am. There was no fuss checking in and we were allocated our room straight away.

Our room was clean, although the table tops and shelves
was a bit dusty. Plenty of space to hang clothes but only two small drawers for underwear etc.

The room had a large double bed which was quite comfortable, the bed linen was spotless as were the towels.

Nice pool area with plenty of sun beds but they are taken quite early.

Good selection of dishes at breakfast although the seating area is very small.

The hotel is in a good location, down a small side road
away from the traffic.

Would we stay there again? Yes.


Tour Operator: First choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

amanda amd lloyd visited the Phoenix Park Inn Resort Hotel in December 2006
We arrived at our hotel around 1pm we where checked in straight away and porters carried our suitcase up to the fourth floor.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The bed is a little hard. The rooms where cleaned daily and clean towels everyday.

The pool area is a little small and only one part gets the sun as there are so many palm trees within the complex.

Bar staff are friendly and helpful and always have smiles on there faces.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

dawn visited the Phoenix Park Inn Resort, Candolim, India in December 2006
1 reader found this review helpful

When we got to the hotel it looked ok it was dark booking in was easy we where shown to our room it was dirty and smelt.

I went to reception to tell them and they got someone in right away to clean the room and from then on everything was ok.

Breakfast was very nice we never eat at the hotel on a night we had a snack in the day but beware they add tax on drink and food.

Have been to Goa many times and never had to pay tax the pool is very clean and well kept staff very nice.

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars
Share