Image of Phoenix Park Inn Resort

Phoenix Park Inn Resort

19 of 39 hotels in Candolim

4 out of 5 from 46 reviews
3 stars

46 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    20
  • Good
    15
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Fantastic room amenities
5 years 5 months ago
Although the check in was a little chaotic, the hotel itself was great.

We had a deluxe room with a kingsize bed and a z-bed for my son. The room also had tea making and a plasma tv and offered room service. I found the room to be probaly one of the best you would get in Goa.

The staff were very nice, always smiled and said hello. The pool was clean and we had our room cleaned everyday. The entertainment was ok.

The only issue I had here was the hot water, we hardly ever had any. After reporting it several times they did bring me buckets of hot water to the room but it was never actually fixed even after several attempts my the maintenance men.

My overall stay was great and I would go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sue & Steve
6 years 1 month ago
Board basis very good for Goa, varied foods for breakfast eg, any kind of eggs, fruit, pancakes and sorts of Goan currys...just not to my taste. There does seem to be problems getting cups and the tables set, it seems to be organised chaios... The hotel itself is very clean. Lovely setting around the pool. The staff are very good and anything that you require and they will try to get for you. No entertainment at all, I thought this strange for a 3 star hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
6 years 6 months ago
Hi we have stayed at this hotel twice and will most probably not be returning, the rooms are very shabby and in desperate need of redecorating, we took breakfast once out of the two weeks, the previous visit the breakfast was taken outside, people complained about flies so it has been moved into Geoffrey's bar what a fiasco, we couldn't get to the food let alone find a seat,love Candolim and have booked again for April but it is not at the Phoenix, we were so disappointed in the hotel, not the holiday, love Goa and it will be the tenth visit in April.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Lou
6 years 6 months ago
What a difference 4 years make.
We had previously stayed at the Phoenix park on two occasions the last being 4 years ago.
We decided to visit again because of the excellent accomodation and service we had previously experienced.
However, this time on arrival the staff claimed that they had no record of our booking for a premium room despite me producing a reciept clearly indicating this. We were then told that we were to be given a premier room and the room boys took us to our room which was a bog standard room in worse repair than the standard rooms we had stayed in on previous visits. So, back to reception to sort out the mess. After the receptionist trying to extort
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
7 years 2 months ago
Stayed at the Phoenix Park Inn and thought it very good. Hotel staff polite and helpful. We were in one of the new premium rooms in the old reception block, room was very large, flatscreen TV, two armchairs and coffee table plus two dining chairs and large table, fridge and mini-bar. Lovely bathroom with great shower. Had a few meals at the hotel, food was good, they do a delicious cashew nut chilli fry, breakfast is varied from boiled, fried, scrambled eggs and a variety of omelettes to cereals, cakes, beans, tomatoes, porridge and a good variety of Indian breakfasts.
My wife was taken ill for a few days and the manager was most helpful, sending out for medicine for her and refusing to let me pay, and coming to the room to see she was okay. Great service.
Would we stay here again? Definitely yes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 3 months ago
4th year at this hotel.
last years room was a bit of a dissapointment but this years was up to scratch.
breakfast ws the usual choice of eggs etc along with all the parts of a full English (but not all on the same day). Porridge, fruit, and a couple of Indian dishes.Toast was prepared for you and eggs freshly cooked to order.
as usual there were never enough glasses, cups, spoons.
never tried evening food and pool bar staff were especially dense when taking orders (how hard is a gin and tonic?)
There is a new reception area and the old reception has been converted to superior rooms which look nice but are at extra cost.
Room boys were happy and efficient especially in Dahl block.
To be honest some visitors were less than satisfied re cleanliness but I have to wonder if they were goan regulars or first timers who expected better.
I intend to go back next year if I can change the booking I have already made for the Silver sands
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Louise
7 years 6 months ago
Room that we were supposed to be put in was not. We did get moved and upgraded into a great room which was very nice of them. The breakfast was usual but we are used to this now as it is ourt 5th year in Candolim. If you don't like eggs then not a lot else to eat really. The hotel staff were very friendly and had many a laugh in the evenings. Had some lunches at the hotel but not many, would say it was nice but not much variety unlike the beach shacks. Never stayed around for the entertainment as we went out every night to restaurants as there are so many to choose from. We would go back to this hotel as there are not many around now that are not all inclusive.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Janet & Tom
8 years 2 months ago
The room was shabby, air conditioning was not working properly, towels had seen better days. At breakfast if you got there when breakfast first started you would have to wait for 30 mins for it all to arrive. The staff were very friendly. By the time we got into the second week we had had enough of the room we were in and upgraded to their brand new rooms, cost another
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Alan Worrall
8 years 4 months ago
Our room was very basic and shabby.

The toilet was dirty when we arrived,most days there was no hot water,you had to keep asking for more soap and shampoo the shower hand rail came off in my hand when I grasped it and the toilet kept blocking.

There were no drawers in the room to put your clothes away in.

We were offered another room after complaining but this was on the fifth floor and as there was no lift we decided against it.

The breakfast was very basic but the hygiene standards left a lot to be desired.

The early morning call requested on our departure day was eighteen minutes late.

In over thirty years of traveling the world I can honestly say that this was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Bev & Nigel
8 years 4 months ago
Arrived at the hotel and as per our last visit our room was not ready. So went to breakfast and was allocated our room about 10.30am - Room 2201. Overlooking the front of the hotel with a side pool view, large double bed, fridge air-conditioning shower and tea and coffee making facilities

The room was very clean and cleaner and in better repair than last years room of 2104

The front desk help was excellent, nothing was too much trouble including ringing the airport and tour operator when I discovered I left my purse on the plane, to supplying a hack saw to get my suitcase locks off as the key was in my purse.

Towels changed very other day as was the bed. Ideally I would like fresh towels every day. Cleaning of room good and didn't knock you up too early.

Bar area is one of this hotels strengths as you have to walk though it on your way in and out which means it is supported by other guests, for a drink on their way our or a nightcap, and usually there is someone to chat too.

Breakfast was chaotic and often there were insufficient cups, plates etc. Always restocked when asked however if only the Indians could be more pro active and not just reative this hotel would be better and breakfast would be more enjoyable. Always plenty of staff around however no one seemed to have responsibilty for a particular area. Breakfast consisted of freshly cooked eggs, toast, cereal, fresh fruit and sometimes bacon, beans etc. By Goa standard again more than some hotels offer but still frustrating when you want a coffee and you have to wait for cups. Can't comment on the other food as only had breakfast in the hotel

Another annoyance was on returning to the room the towels had been taken and not replenished. A simple phone call to reception and towels were brought but again frustrating.

The location of this hotel is superb, one road back from the busy Candolim road, however quiet and easy to get to bars, shops, beach etc.


There was some sort of entertainment on most nights however I do not go to Goa to spend my evenings at the hotel.

I would revisit the hotel for the price I paid this year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: