Image of Prazeres Resort Hotel

Prazeres Resort Hotel

35 of 39 hotels in Candolim

3 out of 5 from 42 reviews
2 stars

42 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    7

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Never Again
3 years 6 months ago
Stayed here years ago and loved it, but not this time.
The rooms were very dirty and so are all the tables and chairs in the restaurant.
Manager not bothered if you’re not happy, he just shrugs his shoulders and goes on his way.
Loads of Russians staying there but they were ok it was the bus loads of local tourists that were staying there that were a problem, they were noisy and left rubbish everywhere.
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Fritz
6 years 3 months ago
Stayed here for 2 weeks from the 19th Feb 2010.

I've been here several times before so I know it has had some very bad reviews but I still think that for the money it cannot be beaten.

I asked to see a selection of rooms on arrival. This absolutely wasn't a problem. The first was above reception and was fine, the second in the bar block on the 2nd floor which was an apartment style room, and I didn't bother to see the third as the second fitted the bill perfectly. Room was big and airey overlooking the pool. Bed; lounge; kitchen/ diner; bathroom. Room was cleaned everyday, also new sheets every day complete with towel figures etc.

Breakfast was toast & jam, coffee, juice buffet style. Nothing special but fine for us.

Pool was cleaned every morning & every evening & my three year old loved it as did we. Towels are provided, which were clean but they have seen better days.

We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food other than breakfast but we didn't hear any complaints from anyone hence the 2 rating.

Staff were without exception polite and as helpful asa they could be.

There is entertainment here but it's not our thing (bit tacky) but others seemed to enjoy it. Bar was loud but never pasat 11/12 although it did remain open later.

There was about a 50/50 split Brits to Russians during our fist week but then they all disappeared, end of their season I guess. To be honest I found them a little rude & ignorant to the staff and other guests. Couldn't get any to say hello or good morning (or frankly even acknowledge me) but it's their holiday too and as they generally kept themselves to themselves it was more a disappointment than problem. Just to set the record straight some Brits were exactly the same.

Come out the hotel, turn left and walk up the road about 200 m and you'll find Ice & Spice on your left. I can highly recommend the place but I am maybe a little biased as I've been going there (or to their old site) for many years. At the very least it's a good place to eat on maybe your first night so you can ease yourself into the hustle & bustle of the area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
6 years 5 months ago
stayed at prezeres arrived 8.15 am only to find the room we booked was not avalable put in one j block room 158 overlooking a swamp back o reception can have an up grade for rp 6000 stood our ground and waited for rep told can have better room sunday did not happen got new room 7 days later paid extra for airconfor 21 days only worked for 13 days no refund aircon taken away to be repair for 8 days came back not working so we had a large hole in wall well you no mossises evert where will never go to this hotel again and the manager left could not get things sorted for lots of probolems
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
A. Sharma
6 years 5 months ago
I am a regular traveller, and am fortunate to have visited many many countries in the world. Having stayed in both top end and humble locations I can confidently say that the Prazeres Resort is by far the worst hotel I have ever visited.

If you are accustomed to staying in a clean, safe hotel then avoid this hotel like the plague.

The management are rude, the rooms small and filthy (extremely basic) with very poor lighting and in desperate need of some TLC. When my friends informed the hotel we cannot stay in such a place - the management threathened my group with 'goons'. So please be fully aware of the 'cancellation policy' prior to booking a room here.

The Air cons did not work in half the rooms either.

Please spend your money in a more deserving place.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Vitor Pereira
6 years 6 months ago
*Admin edit. This review has been removed as it was posted from India. In order to ensure our reviews remain unbiased we do not allow posts from the country where the accommodation is situated. Please resubmit your review when you return to Lisbon. Thanks.
Recommended
GMB
This is one place I would prefer to forget.
6 years 6 months ago
Prazeres Resort Goa, well what can I say, the room was dirty with an insect infestation in the wardrobe that left wood dust and debris every day. It was so bad we decided to leave our clothes in our suitcases. Asked for a room transfer but was told all rooms were full (which turned out to be a lie).

The staff were ok but I gather that it is the owner that is the problem. Every night the security guard walked around the complex every half hour or so blowing a whistle as loud as he could so unless you had spent a lot of time at the bar the best sleep you had was on the beach.

This is one place I would prefer to forget.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Tina Carter
7 years 5 months ago
The hotel cleanliness was great - spotless including the swimming pool and surrounding area.

The hotel was in a long road off of the main road. The road leading up to the hotel was very poorly lit with no paths - you have to walk in pitch blackness on that road and there is long history of muggings and robberies,we saw motorbikes approaching us - it was completely obvious that the person/people on the motorbike were trying to see if we were carrying bags/cameras. We felt extremely vulnerable walking back from a restaurant after dark (around 6.30pm) and I wouldn't stay at this hotel again for this purpose.

During the 2 week holiday there was live entertainment on several nights. This music often went on until the early hours of the morning (2am) and the music was very loud! Several people complained but the management didn't care, as long as there were guests enjoying the music they were making money in the bar!

Breakfast was tea, toast and juice every single day - you had to pay if you wanted anything different. Breakfast wasn't always ready by 7am when it was meant to start each morning. There was often a long wait in the queue for toast and you also had to wait for glasses/cups,plates as they were not brought out to the breakfast table frequently enough.

Liked
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Julie
7 years 5 months ago
We had to move from this hotel due to the appauling noise levels from the bar. Complaints were made but nothing was done. I would never stay at the hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Philip Alexander
7 years 6 months ago
Prazeres Resorts in candolim Goa. The hotel gounds very clean, lovely gardens and nice large pool.
Dont miss the barbeque nights and the food is lovely.
hotel well located off the mail road and quite. Hotel staff very friendly specially the owner who goes out of his way to make you comfortable. Ask for Raul ......Live bands ..more retro stuff pleasant
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lucy Richards
8 years 2 months ago
Hotel room not very clean corridors really dirty. Breakfast was very basic just toast, jam, coffee, tea.

Location was not too bad quite close to most restaurants, beach etc.

Entertainment rubbish - went on until all hours of the morning with no regard for people in the hotel.

Definitely would not visit this hotel again. Very scary place for families - quite intimidating. Large parties of people are encouraged who party on into the night and spend lots of money!

My advice don't touch this hotel with a barge pole - not even a long one!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: