Image of Bamburi Beach Hotel

Bamburi Beach Hotel

4 of 4 hotels in Bamburi

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Malindi Road, Mombasa, Kenya

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Abby
8 years 5 months ago
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bamburi Beach Hotel in April 2009 and we had the most amazing time!

Our room was lovely, we had a double bed plus a single bed and a balcony that looked out over the pool area and the beach. A great view to wake up to every morning! The bedding and towels were changed daily and we had no complaints regarding smells or threadbare sheets.

The food was buffet style but there were always lots of things to choose from. There was a bbq section that had different meats every day, a fish grill that again was different every day as well as a large vegetable and salad section. There is also a snack bar round by the 2nd smaller swimming pool that served pizza's etc if you fancied something different. We went to the Fishermans Cave restaurant 3 times and had a wonderful meal each time, the steaks are delicious (and huge!) and the fish is so tasty too! You have to pay at the Fishermans Cave but you get a 20% discount, we paid no more than
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Bob Peake
9 years 9 months ago
The hotel was small, but this added to the holiday, as you bumped into the same people daily. There is a quiet pool and bar at the side if you wanted privacy. Rooms had adequate storage and were cleaned daily. Sheets and towels changed every day. The food was exceptional with plenty of choice. The desserts were to die for. As we were there over Christmas they moved the restaurant almost on a daily basis. One day we were overlooking the beach the next the car park was transformed in a dining area with dancers and bands playing. The location was just right only 1/2 hour from the airport and plenty of beach to explore. The beach boys were always present pleading with you to buys their wares or selling trips. Do book your trips with these guys as they are wxactly the same as the hotels but very much cheaper (and it goes into the locals pocket rather than the hotels).The entertainment was a bit boring being mostly tribal dancing but they did a very good comedy sketch and a Navity play. Daily entertainment catered for all whether it was aerobics, water polo, water volleyball or football on the beach. The staff were very very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. You do feel the need to tip and as they only get about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Quick
10 years 4 months ago
I would not stay at this hotel again it,s more one star then three star . My rating is 1 for Diabolical which is being generous . the staff were OK
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Liam
10 years 10 months ago
Bamburi beach hotel! Try 1 star Bamburi bed and breakfast, the beach is a joke and this is not for those looking for one. Don't feel sorry for the beach boys either, we followed them one night-and watched them load up their 4x4's and drive off laughing.

The bathrooms are disgustingly dirty from top to bottom.
The wife burst into tears and wanted to come home on day 2.

The furniture is tired and broken everywhere, with the pool furniture in a right state - made from old pallets by the look of it.

The Diesel generator at the back, exhausts its fumes straight into the pool and Karibu snack bar 4 times a day. And can run all night on occasions.

The gaurds at night make you wonder what happens in the dark hours, they are armed with bows and arrows!!!!!

The staff are lovely though, just a pity that they work in such a dump.

Don't take scottish money, the cashier reckons it not sterling and he doesn't take cards!

The room safes arent free despite them mentioned in the brouchure as such.

Go to the supermarket for the safari flyers from decent companies (german) they are hundreds of pounds cheaper and you travel in a 4x4, not a dodgey caravanette convoy.

The reps are only interested in their mates safaris where they get backhanders.

The entertianment is utter garbage 90% of the time.
The table tennis table is home made and warped, and the paddles are from the seoul olympics, take your own!
only one squash court is available as the other is full of tellys - non in the rooms though.

The all inclusive cocktail menu is hidden, and they scowl if you ask for it at the bars. Ask for the local tusker beer in the bottles, the keg stuff is mostly water, they will try and charge you but take your brouchure and show them its free. They will of course run out after 2 bottles.

After 11.30 they want 150 shilling for a wee beer, yet its only 6 shillings a bottle from the supermarket so get a carryout for night. Watch out they don't try and put your empties on your room service bill, keep your reciept!

Ice cream is cheaper from room service rather than going to the seller, don't how they get away with it. An ice cream by the pool will cost you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

ajb
10 years 11 months ago
We have just got back from a smashing 2 weeks at the Bamburi beach. The hotel was clean and very friendly.

The room we had was clean and adequate there is a safe in the room. There is a shower that was ok once you get the hang of it the room had a small terrace with 2 seats and a table.

We found the food was very good there was a main restaurant that was buffet type for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food was good and a good range of sweets.

At the back of the main restaurant was a swimming pool and a kiddies pool and another small restaurant called the karibu which served snacks and there's a bar, at night you can book a table at no extra charge and be waited on from the grill (the pork chops were lovely). There is an alacarte restaurant called the Fishermans Cave and the food and service was second to none absolutely superb I can recomend the Thai prawns and lobster termador all at a reasonable price with 5* service.

The hotel location is a bit out of the way but a short taxi ride takes you to several attractions including Haller park which has all sorts of animals including the worlds oldest tortoise. There is a supermarket just up the road from there that sells just about everything. If you walk along the beach there are plenty of hotels and bars you can go in.

The staff really make the holiday from the room boys and waiters and waitress's up to the managers they can't do enough for you they really are a credit to the hotel.

The entertainment is ok although some of the acrobats were outstanding the shows are at 9:30 to 10:00 and then the hotel disco till 11:00 then close although I still managed to get a cup of coffee at 12:30 from the restaurant.

I would definitely go back. One last point the beach traders can be a pain with all the tat that they try to sell but one thing I would recomend is that you can get excellent deals on safaris. The holiday reps will advise that you get your safari through them and to avoid the beach traders but I can say that the beach lads deal through mombasa north safaris and they are very good see Edie on the beach and he will sort out whatever you want including game fishing

Just to add the bamburi beach is wheelchair friendly with ground floor rooms and no steps all pools and restaurants and bars fully accsesable.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Tracy
11 years 3 months ago
The bed linen and towels were well used and often had an odour. Rooms were very basic and the shower heads blocked. Water intermittent. Some days we could not have a shower or use the toilet! Staff put it down to power cuts.

You need to get a taxi anywhere from the hotel. Some hotel staff were lovely.

Entertainment was OK the acrobats were excellent but you did get tired of numerous dance troops.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

PATRICIA HARKNESS
11 years 3 months ago
Bamburi Beach Hotel was just fabulous. Take the point about the towels not smelling as fresh as they should but all in all this was a small price to pay for the excellent service and friendliness shown in the hotel.

The meals were varied and very very nice desserts!!! There is also an a la carte restaurant on site which was excellent - think its called Fisherman's.

Lovely meal and very decent. I would moan about paying for the ice cream. Felt this should have been included.

Beach boys were fun and actually made the holiday. They are a pest to begin with but soon they recognise you and start to leave you alone if your firm. (So firm we bought more rhino's and elephants etc to fill a zoo!). We would definitely return to this hotel.

A word of caution and this is gross - one of the guests found a cleaner brushing her teeth in his hotel bathroom - toothpaste is a luxury over there. When he told everyone the story on the sunbeds we've never seen a place scatter so quickly - everyone ran to their rooms and put their toothbrush's in the safe - lol. Oh and the roll on deodorant - they kind of take a fancy to that as well!!Who would know?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
We found this hotel to be far better than expected and although only a 3 star rating We thought it deserved a lot higher.

We spent a wonderful 2 weeks and could not honestly find a single thing not to our total satisfaction.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Geoff
11 years 10 months ago
The hotel is clean and laid out in a pleasant way once you discover the fire exit if you have an upper floor room.

The AI is a little bit barren no ice cream. If you order room service at anytime you pay for the food and service and it stops at 11/11.30. There are only main meals and no snacks or nibbles so once the restaurants close that's it. The food is okay nothing special but the hostess make you feel welcome big up Charlotte and Mercy they were great.

The hotel is located away from Mombasa and any sign of life is kept about 2 miles down the road but go out and look about the beach stay down by the water and you are left alone (almost). If you want to buy any tat they will try to swap whatever you want for items of your clothing it is fun have a go

The entertainment is quite good with some of the traditional dancers and acrobatic acts but leave the hotel when you see a magic act listed this is truly pathetic and some of the singers are worse.

The resort was ok outside of the hotel if you wanted to look at extreme poverty. Get out to haller park to see baby Owen the orphan hippo and his best mate the giant tortoise

Safari is the reason to visit this country and I believe that with the exception of the Mara you have to go to Tsavo east as this place contains Voi Safari Lodge and this place is set in the best place ever on a rocky cliff face looking out over a vast area of Kenyan national park. We saw all of the 5 this time Lodge reviews in resort section

The reps charge a lot for the trips and safari's and you can get them cheaper on the beach's but be wary as some of them will rip you off

Kenya needs tourism to survive and protect the wildlife and they need to improve how people view their country
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.