Image of Voyager Beach Resort Hotel

Voyager Beach Resort Hotel

1 of 2 hotels in Nyali Beach

5 out of 5 from 22 reviews
Mount Kenya Rd. Nyali Beach, Mombasa, Kenya

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dave Edwards
Fantastic hotel, staff and amenities. Can't wait to return.
5 years ago
Stayed at the Voyager Beach for 2 weeks from the 11th October.
We were in a sea view room on the third floor in Deck 4, fabulous view, overlooking the infinity pool.

Lovely room, kept very clean, very effective air conditioning, fridge which worked and wasn't too noisy and never had any problems with hot water supply throughout the stay.

Only problem we had was with the in room safe on the first day, which wouldn't accept a code, but an engineer came within an hour and quickly found and solved the problem.

All the public areas were kept very clean & tidy including the toilets.

Weather was very poor during our first week, not a lot to do in the hotel when its pouring down continuously for 3 days, but fortunately we went off on safari after a couple of days of reading/drinking & eating or eating/drinking & reading! Apparently it was the worst weather in living memory for the beginning/middle of October. More like Manchester and Glasgow rolled into one.

Standard of food at the buffet was generally good, occasionally the meat was very tough but the vegetarian options were so good that it didn't seem to matter, and the night we dockedĀ in China the stir frys were excellent.

The meal at the Fish A la Carte (Smugglers Cove) was absolutely outstanding, wish we had gone more than once, and reasonably priced. The Italian A la Carte wasn't quite as good, perfectly acceptable food-but the service seemed strained as both times we we went they were running the invitational Captain's table at the same time, seemed to be a bit short staffed as the Customer Services Officer was doubling up as the wine waiter. Also the surroundings need sorting as it was a bit like eating in a partly lit church hall.

Service at the various bars was very good and we enjoyed all the included drinks that we tried, so much so that we never moved onto the name brands which would have cost extra.

Evening entertainment was generally very good with one or two exceptions - also relatively early (9:00pm - 10:00pm) which we appreciated - thoroughly enjoyed the shows put on by the entertainment staff and the band one night were excellent. As for the acrobatic troop they were fantastic.

Pools were all good, we spent most of our time by the infinity pool because we always got a lounger in a good spot. The sports pool was also good although it got more crowded. We never tried the fun pool although the slides seemed to be permanently out of use.

The beach we just used it when going into the sea for a swim, occasionally got accosted whether going in or out by the boys trying to flog keyrings, nameplates, safaris, boat trips, carved animals...however generally good natured and the hotel security definitely tightened up in the second week, forcing the boys to either end of the beach and stopping them from following clients too close to the steps.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay, any questions please feel free to ask.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
A good 4 star hotel with 5 star staff
6 years 2 months ago
A good 4 star hotel with 5 star staff.

The hotel is set on a lovely beach, but has to deal with beach sellers so trips to the beach may be limited, the pool over looking the sea is a great place to relax after 3pm when its empty. The fun pool is generally busy until the same time.

The rooms are average but comfortable, we had a massive double bed in our room, fridge, TV, hair dryer etc the rooms do look a bit dated and in need of a lick of paint but aren't bad.

The food is great if a little repetitive, BBQ food is lovely and the garlic naan bread is a must try its beautiful.

The nautical theme is a little weak in places and could be used to a better capacity.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ron Plenderleith
6 years 7 months ago
Stayed 21 days AI in Feb 2010. The Hotel is clean and well run. The staff are the best I have ever had on holiday.Our room was cleaned daily and was very good in size and facilities.

Big main problem. The hotel is arranged on four (4) levels it is impossible to go between levels without climbing uneven badly lit stairs made from hewed slate or rough stone.To get from my sea view room number 4114 we had to climb 73 steps to reach the dinning area.

It is totaly unsuitable for people with mobility problems.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jeff
7 years 6 months ago
The place was spotless we could not fault it, the guy who cleaned our room was fantastic. The food was Ok but could do with more of a selection, that could be me being a food monster when I'm on holiday. Loaction was great right on the beach. The staff wre great always a smile and Jambo.Entertainment was so so, to much miming, apart from the outside acts, acrobats and the Masie dancing, they were good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Andy And Martine
7 years 11 months ago
What can we say, we had the most amazing time staying at this hotel. Right from the minute we arrived, we were really impressed with the hotel surroundings, the friendliness of the staff and the variety of food on offer in the restaurant. Each day the hotel docked at a different country, and so the meals were themed as to which port we had docked in, italian, Hawian, Australian etc. Lots of the dishes were cooked fresh in front of you, and we could not fault any of them. Our room was on the ground floor and near the pool. It would have been nice to have had a sea view though. The beach is nice and clean but beware of the sellers who harrass you the second you walk down there, but the goods they sell are better quality. We booked our safari from a nice guy called Stanley who stands down on the beach just outside the hotel. It worked out much cheaper than booking through the hotel and we had the most amazing time ever!! We would definately reccomend it. We saw four of the big five and much much more. If you get the chance stay here and enjoy safari in Tsavo East and West. You cant beat it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jacqui And Mandy
9 years ago
We stayed on an all inclusive basis the food was excellent, there was something for everyone's taste. It was really nice when they put all the tables and chairs out on the lawn so that we could dine out alfresco while watching the animation team put on a show.
The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, within a few days everyone knew our names and it was like talking to friends. The room was cleaned to a high standard everyday. The hotel location was not too far from some of the attractions such as the crocodile park where Big Daddy is a must see! We also went to Haller Park and the wood carving village where they have a vast choice of carvings to choose from at reasonable prices.
We also went on a 2 and a half day safari to Tsavo East and West which was amazing, at Ngulia Lodge in Tsavo West they bait a leopard so that you can watch it up close while it eats.
The entertainment was excellent and the animation team were brilliant, funny and very friendly.
We would visit the Voyager Beach Hotel again as we had a great time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Cheryl
9 years 2 months ago
I went on to the Voyager Beach resort for two week and returned home two week ago and I already miss it. I want to go back because it was such a nice place and the staff where friendly. Everywhere you turned one of the staff would say jambo! which means hello. The entertainment was awesome! I woke up at 9, had my breakfast which the food was superb. I went down to the fun pool at 10 and did aqua aerobics at half past 10. At 11 I played water volleyball. After that I went on a beach walk with the animation team. It was just fun all the way through the holiday. You never had nothing to do, you could always do something.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lesley Mcauliffe
9 years 2 months ago
one of the best hotels we have stayed at.Staff friendly, grounds immaculate and the food was superb.We only ate in the main buffet part and even my fussy daughter found something fresh and hot every night.
Always something to do sport, activity wise or just relax at one of the many pools.
Drinks can be brought to you at the pool side and sometimes when we had almost finished one drink the waiter would be there with another!
Evening entertainment was ok by animation team but a few nights there were outside acts that were very good.
Didnt need to take towels as plenty provided.
Only thing that spoiled our holiday was the Monarch flights.The plane was the the most cramped iv ever been on.The drinks service, entertainment awful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr + Mrs Weldon
9 years 4 months ago
Having just returned from this fantastic hotel we cannot rate it highly enough.

The food was excellent the rooms and hotel in general were spotless and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.

The entertainment staff keep you entertained all day and put on some really good shows at night.

We will definately return next year but not in the rainy season.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
We spent 5 days here, recovering after our safari.

We had paid for a garden view room but ended up in a sea view room overlooking the 'adults-only' relax pool.

The room was a little bit on the small side but nicely decorated with good air conditioning.

The site is quite large so the 'crew' organise 'tours of the ship' every day, which are useful as they don't give you a map when you arrive. We thought that the food in the main restaurant was very good, especially the puddings and the chefs cooking items to order at each meal.

The drinks service was understandably slower when it was busy so we often go around this by getting our drinks from the lobby bar beforehand. The draught Tusker available on all-inclusive was often warm and flat and the wine was rather 'tart', so if you are fussy about your drinks then go half board and pay for the better brands. The lookout bar is nice in the evening due to the sea breezes and is also good if you want to escape the evening entertainment.

The animation staff should be given full marks for enthusiasm, but watching them mime to Disney musicals wasn't our idea of fun. They also run excursions to local attractions every afternoon.

We went to Ngomongo Villages with them (http://www.ngomongo.com/) which cost about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

What's nearby