12 independent reviews of the Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel
Address: Triq it-Turisti, San Antonio Hotel & Spa, St Paul's Bay - Qawra SPB1024, Malta
Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel
Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel Location
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Bugibba


4/5
Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel is rated 4.42 out of 5 from 12 Reviews
92% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (12 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 5 stars

Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel Reviews

5/5
5

gordon had a holiday at Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel in June 2008
This is the third time there going back next year.Well placed for bars shops and good places to eat.The bus terminus is two minutes away.Just across from the hotel the george bar is great with brill staff who go out of there way to help\'there food is great and well priced.

Tour Operator: chevron

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Kate had a holiday at Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel in November 2006
We stayed in this hotel in 2005 and it was lovely, the staff were great and the food was excellent.

2006 was another story, the hotel has converted some of it\'s upper floors to time share accommodation, so there were always people being herded into the hotel off the street by time-share touts.

The food wasn\'t very good, the breakfasts were okay, although I did break my tooth on a peice of bacon. The dinners varied, some nights they were okay other nights the concoctions were laughable.

At weekends masses of Spaniards arrived, because the hotel offer cheap weekend breaks, so the place was mobbed.

The food was a lot better at the weekends as well, seems they were catering for the weekend breakers. Trouble is, it was manic in the restaurant and the queues stretched right round the dining room ...
and it was full of screaming kids.

We were hoping for a lovely relaxing holiday like we\'d had in 2005, but it\'s all changed there now. We won\'t be going back next year.

Read More

Tour Operator: Chevron
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

ingliza had a holiday at Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel, Bugibba in February 2006
On the whole, a very good value hotel. We paid the seaview supplement which gave us a larger & quieter balcony.
Bedroom clean, good sheets & towels, but very basically furnished for a 4*, limited choice of T.V. channels & extra Lm2 per day for a kettle.

Food quite good. Dinner: help yourself to 4 meat choices, 1 fish, 2 pasta, 2 potatoes, 2 rice, couscous, wide range of salads & hot veg, soup, 3 cheeses, range of bread & crackers, fresh fruits, about 10 types of desserts and 3 sorts of icecreams. \"live cooking stations\" so if you wanted you could ask the chef not to add sauces/spices to your food. Plenty of choice for children, but I would have liked to see more fish choice.

Breakfast: the best coissants! cold cuts, cheeses, 3 yoghurts, 3 cereals, 3 juices, pancakes and ...
the usual cooked breakfast buffet. The tea & coffee was a let down as you had to go over to a vending machine and fill a cup at a time - but we never did manage to find a cup, so gave up! Prefer a pot of tea & coffee on your table, rather than running around dinning room.

Hotel staff very polite & helpful. Large very well equipped gym, good sized indoor pool, free use of saunas and steam room.Outdoor pools closed for winter, but seemed to be good size. Free parking in hotel carpark.

Went out in evening so cannot comment on entertainment.
Basically, a good hotel just let down by a few minor details.

Read More

Tour Operator: direct booking

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Julie had a holiday at Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel, Bugibba in February 2006
The Hotel was excellent, very well situated by sea and near to bus terminus which takes you anywhere on the island.

The room and bathroom were very clean with large balcony and and also its own fridge and safe.

The facilities were great - gym, swimming pool, sauna etc all at no extra charge.

The food was fantastic, very large choice and loads of it. Breakfast consisted of whatever you wanted - rolls, cooked meats, toast, cereals, fresh fruit, pancakes, pastries and full cooked breakfasts - yummy. Evening meal choices were soup, pasta dishes, all kinds of salads, fish, meat dishes and veg etc - spoilt for choice and the desserts were wicked!

Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Did not really see entertainment so cannot comment on that.

Would definitely return to same hotel.

Tour Operator: Chevron

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Dick and Penny visited the Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel in October 2005
Probably one of the best holidays we have ever had. Hotel facilities were first class. Food was varied and of a high quality. The accommodation was also of a high quality and kept spotless in all public areas as was our room.

Staff at the Hotel could not do enough for you and were always friendly and helpful. Two examples of note. Firstly we received a handwritten note from our room-maid welcoming us and wishing us an enjoyable stay! An unprecedented circumstance.

Secondly, we received an unsolicited telephone call from the porter on the day of our departure asking if we required assistance with our luggage from our room, and, if so, when we needed it. A nice touch!

Hotel is handy for all areas of Bugibba and St Pauls Bay and 200 metres from bus ...
terminus where buses to all parts of Malta can be accessed at little cost.

Strongly recommended as a four-star establishment and as value for money. We intend to return.

Read More

Tour Operator: Sunspot

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

David Mallaburn had a holiday at Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel, Bugibba in September 2005
My wife and I both in our 60\'s spent a very enjoyable two weeks at the Grand Hotel.

Our rooms were cleaned daily and bedding changed every other day. The beds were very comfortable. Towels changed when you requested. The rooms were fairly large and airy with a nice balcony. We had a sea view, unfortunately partially hidden by a large casino which had been built between the hotel and the sea.

Although we were bed and breakfast (We hired a car and travelled around trying different restaurants etc) the meals were the same each day and not very exciting including 2 evening meals and snacks at the bars were expensive.

However facilities for every type of person were in this hotel, from the leisurely to the fit where there was a brilliant gym. and from the young ...
to the old, although evening entertainment was disappointing with what seemed to be karaoke each night and nothing else.

Read More

Tour Operator: Bellair

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

julie & callum stayed at Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel, Bugibba, Malta in August 2005
What can I say it

Tour Operator: malta direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Lesley Beddows visited the Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel, Bugibba in August 2005
The hotel staff are the most professionald helpful I have come across in a very long time.

The rooms were kept spotless as were the pool area. Lots to do for the little ones and also space for adults to be away from them if necessary.

Good pool towel service. We were on a bed and breakfast basis which was very adequate - liked the way you could eat breakfast outside which was nice and cooling. Worth getting rooms with sea views.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. One of the lights was not working on arrival within 10 mins of me ringing housekeeping this was put right.

Tour Operator: Booked direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jules visited the Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel in July 2005
We arrived at 4am and were greeted with a smile.

The room was large but was situated at the back of the hotel and the view was not good from the tiny balcony that was there. In fact the view resembled something from the Lebanon. If you do book this hotel make sure you specify that you want a pool or sea view. You will pay a supplement for this but it is well worth it. We did manage to change rooms after two nights. We got a pool view which was superb.

The bars and restaurants were excellent. The Sat night was a BBQ night. We booked for this but I was a bit dubious thinking it would not be that great. How wrong could I be! The food was nothing short of superb. We sat, overlooking ...
the sea, the sun setting over the horizon. It was excellent.

The hotel staff were very helpful, the food was superb. Real pride taken by the chefs.

The entertainment was very good too. Singers would perform on a stage by the pool. They were all good.

Just remember to specify a pool or sea view and you will have a great stay at a quality hotel.

I would definitely stay here again!

Read More

Tour Operator: Expedia

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Daw had a holiday at Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel in April 2005
On arrival the check in was very quick and efficient. It was a nice surprise to find that the safety deposit boxes were free. Also we thought it a good idea that the hotel did not use cash.

On arrival they took your card number and anything bought was put onto your room account to be settled either at the end of the holiday or when returning home. The rooms were very large with a nice balcony.

They were always kept spotlessly clean. The location was just a short walk from the bus station from which you could get a bus to anywhere on the island very cheaply. The food was good with plenty of choice. However if you went in late it would often be cold.

During our stay I slipped and fell in the restaurant (some fruit juice ...
had been spilt and not cleaned up). The restaurant staff were excellent and very caring and arranged for a doctor to come and see me at their expence.

On the whole the hotel made the holiday as we were not impressed with the resort.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Therese E Borg had a holiday at Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel in September 2004
As a Maltese I don\'t travel much but I like to have a vocation at my own country at a Hotel.

This was my first visit in this Hotel. It is situated 5 mins far from the sea by walk. My hubby and I found it very relaxing as this hotel is very quiet, clean and excelent service.

All rooms has a fan and air-conditioner installed, a tv and a bathroom. It has a big outdoor pool as big as a football pitch. Even it has a facility of an indoor pool and a sauna too.

Animation games are performed every day by the pool. An Aqua Gym is performed every day for half an hour in the pool too.

The pool is very crystal clear that you see the bottom of the pool ...
every second that you are in it swimming. Pool and bath towels are very clean.

Food is served as a buffet, breakfest and dinner and a good varity of food and tasty!

All the staff are very friendly!

My hubby and I are looking forward to book for the next summer! I highly recommend this Hotel!

Read More

Tour Operator: /

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Temple visited the Grand Mercure San Antonio Hotel, Bugibba, Malta in August 2004
Quick and efficient check in.

Hotel was very clean and staff very friendly.

Was a single mum with my daughter, but met up with a whole crowd of like for like people and had the most amazing holiday.

We didn't bother with hotel entertainment as we made our own, plus when some of the staff were off duty, they took us to nightclubs and showed us all around Malta. We had an awesome holiday.

Only downside is that you lay like sea lions by the pool. The beds are in rows and rows and very very close together. However, that is a great way to get to chat to people.

Excellent management team.


Tour Operator: Budget

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share