89 independent reviews of Sliema, Malta
Sliema Location

2/5
Sliema is rated 2 out of 5 from 89 Reviews

Sliema Hotels

Sliema Reviews

1/5


DR Morris visited here on February 2007
Sliema is a resort which is run down and badly in need of a facelift,however that would mean even more building work having to take place and there is more than enough at moment to entertain you....there are notices everywhere asking dog owners to clean up after there animals,well sorry to say its not working and the promenade is a danger zone for you!!!no beaches and no entertainment
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


johanna visited here on December 2006
The resort was really good the hotel looks over the bay of st julians which is lovely.
Steve in the marina bar across the road is a really nice guy.
And the plough and anchor a few doors down is great for a quiet drink, If you want nightlife head for paceville through st julians.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
2 stars

2/5


Julie Hornett visited here on September 2006
The resort appeared to be better on the front waterside than the side we were on. There was a good selection of shops in Sliema which were always busy. The cafes and bars on the front looked very good and, again, were always busy. As we were all inclusive we did not try any out. The beach is rocky and you need to be careful how you tread over it. There were dog faeces in the street and on the steps down to the lido, even though people are asked to clean up after their pets. We were not very impressed with Malta and this was our first, and will be our only, time there.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
2 stars

1/5


Kim & Pat visited here on September 2006
This resort has nothing to offer at all. We were staying at the St. Julians Bay end of this resort and it is lacking in any amenities at all. A couple of bars and tired looking restaurants are all it has to offer. St Julians Bay has some nice restaurants and a couple of nice pubs. The other end of Sliema seemed much nicer with shops and the bay overlooking Valletta but we were quite a long way from this.
The buildings are tired looking and the landscape is scattered with big cranes in every direction. Most people we met seemed to be really tired of looking after the tourists and you couldn\'t help feeling that they wished we would all go away.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


alan jones visited here on August 2006
As always sliema is sliema, Not a hotspot for entertainment but plenty of bars and good restaurants. I just like to have a good meal in the evening then a walk on the prom to work some of the calories off. I had a great two weeks there.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Mr D Gregory visited here on August 2006
Sliema has a good selection of shops cafes restaurants and is ideal for getting boat trips around the islands and to Valletta.There are regular buses running from here aswell.There is alot of building work in progress in the town and it can be quite dusty at times.Great views to be had of Valletta from here.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


chris bowen visited here on July 2006
Inspite of building more and more apartments.Sliema is still lacking in entertainment for the evenings.

There is only so much sitting in pavement cafes you can do.

Nothing for families to do in the evening.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

1/5


The Real Holidaymaker visited here on July 2006
Along with most Malta resorts Sliema is dirty and smelly, I find it a shame that I am having to put this sort of thing in my report as I realy like Malta and have been 5 times, but this year (2006) I found it has lost its majic for me and the wife.
On our first visit to Malta in 1993 we fell in love with the place, its history its walled towns and its very good museums. But this holiday just gone more or less put us of and it may well be our last.
Some of the things I would like to bring up may seem trivial but these are the things I think can make or brake a ...
holiday, the first was the lack of entertainment in the pubs (they did put up T Vs for the football, if you call that entertainment) if you had a drink out side of a bar you got all the fumes from the old busses and cars, or even got your seat bumped by one as the seats in some of the bars were nearly on the road.
The pavements were full of holes and dusty, there were signs with clean up after your dog but there was still dog poo all over the pavements.
Prices for trips seem to risen to the point of priceing them selfs out of us going on there trips, and the museums prices are far to high. Taxi\'s are a rip of, and along with other places that have joined the E U prices in Malta have risen to much from what they used to be.
The last thing is all the building work its all just to much, it only tuck four years to build Valletta way back in 1567 to 1571 and with non of those big cranes. Stop the building, clean up the streets and stop ripping the tourist off, then you my start to get them back again.

Dave

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Alan Nelless visited here on May 2006
The part of Sliema we stayed in is on the Balluta bay side and was very clean and tidy.
The beach area and rocks along the bay were tidy and my only reservation was the allowance of dogs onto it as they did at times become a pest with no visible owners in attendance.
We would have no reservations going back and miss it already after only 5 days.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Martin & Chris visited here on April 2006
Much of Sliema facing the harbour and sea is being destroyed by high faceless concrete developments shoe-horned in between little old houses that in many instances seem to have deliberately been left to decay. A local told us this was due to their draconian rental laws squezing the life out of the traditional rental market and forcing everyone to purchase outright. Having said that, there are some lovely places to be found a bit off the beaten track. It was moderately clean but a bit patchy.

Sliema has no beach! However, dring the summer if you are a good swimmer, you could probably swim off the rocks but it was a bit cold in April ...
for that!

For entertainment (of the sort we were interested in that is), there a lot of small restraunts and cafes where you can eat well and reasonably cheaply. If you want an even wider choice either further along the coast or in the capiytal Valetta, these are only a quick 10 minutes and ~38p by bus away.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Laura visited here on April 2006
This is a spa resort and the facilities in the bedroom I had were enought to keep me occupied during the week. Unfortunately, I had booked spa treatments from London but thought there was no need to cancel and to treat myself.

My package allowed me access to the Spa Sante every day and the staff were sooooo friendly, polite and professional... I was amazed. They were so hard working and pleasant whilst working, I was thoroughly impressed. There was no strict requirement to visit once a day and they were extremely flexible.

My package also had a Thalasso exercise thrown in each day. The staff tried their best to accomodate you if they were full and occassionally, additional classes ...
were put on to cater for those who may have missed an earlier session.

The treatments were great although they became a bit repetitive after a while. I felt that if another person scrubbed or had jets aimed at my body one more time, my skin would just peel off :0)

It was very relaxing and the environment was really clean and lovely with soft music and pleasant faces.
THe treatments were pricey, but they were done well and worth the money.
I was thoroughly spoiled and enjoyed myself.....

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Jack Barker visited here on January 2006
This part of Sliema is suited to elderly couples and families. Well served by buses to Valletta and all parts of the islnd. We did not seek outside entertainment. There is no beach as such but a flat rocky front. We did not go onto the beach as we were too busy on trips around the island.

We would definitely visit this resort again.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

1/5


Robert Williams visited here on December 2005
Traffic is the biggest problem, some drivers very dangerous, the buses are very useful to visit various areas in Malta, you can take a bus to the Gozo ferry, and see the island at the same time.You will find the people very friendly and the language is no barrier
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


alan jones visited here on December 2005
sliema as always was great an ideal base for gettig around. lots of great restaurants and bars. this is not a beach resort but it has great transport links for the rest of the island. it was great for christmas with lots of decorations and piped carols on every street.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


Jason Salt visited here on November 2005
Sliema is extremly convienient with a good shopping area in the middle. As Paceville and St.Julians is so noisy with the nightlife going into the early hours of the morning, I think Sliema is the best place to stay.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


steve and pat visited here on September 2005
in our opinion the best resort in malta,sliema/st julian\'s is where we like to be plenty of restaurants and bars nivce food stunning views to see while you enjoy your meal and nightlife for the ones that want to party all night,lovely clean promenade to walk along
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

2/5


R. Humphreys visited here on August 2005
Silema like most resorts in Malta doesnt have a beach, but that doesnt stop anyone diving in from almost Anywhere the sea is very blue and mostly clean,with safe bathing.
Food and drink are to be found almost everywhere in Silema, bars and resturants on every road and yes theres macdonalds burger king and even kfc!!! but there are also local resturants, Rabbit is a local dish lovely fried or in a stew!! you v got to try it. Malta is old very old and they try hard to keep it clean,but there is dust actually a light sand blown in from Libiya about 35miles away.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Ivan visited here on July 2005
The resort, like the rest of Malta is a bit dusty, and there is quite a bit of biulding work on going throughout. However it was pleasant enough, and has plent of shops, and quite a good selection of restaurants, although it by no means a lively resort.

Most people seem to spend the evenings sitiing ans strolling along the habour front.

There is no beach, but there are plenty of rocks to go lie on, which is what most of the locals seem to do.

Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Mandy visited here on July 2005
The resort is more suited to couples, singles or older families as the younger ones do start to miss not having a beach. It would be an ideal short city break for shopping. Shops are as good as a large UK city with all the variety. Though Sliema is very hot and dusty.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Barnett visited here on June 2005
No-one goes to Malta for the beaches. As a base for visting Valletta (5 min, 60p ferry ride) it is ideal.

Plenty of shops, including some British favourites like M&S, and restaurants. Frequent and cheap buses cover the whole island, but poor sign posting makes joining the main road network a challenge. Also, local drivers see a hire car as a challenge to be overtaken as soon as possible, if not sooner.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
1 stars
Quick hotel find:
3/5
Bayview Hotel  stars Bayview Hotel
Address: 143 Triq Ix - Xatt, Tas-Sliema, Malta

Latest Review: Jun 2012

Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Sliema

2/5
Crowne Plaza Hotel  stars Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 11 Triq Tigne', Tas-Sliema SLM3172, Malt

Latest Review: Aug 2005

Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in Sliema

4/5
Fortina Hotel  stars Fortina Hotel
Address: Triq Tigne', Malta SLM 15, Malta

Latest Review: Aug 2014

Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Sliema

3/5
Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel  stars Howard Johnson Diplomat Hotel
Address: 173 Tower Road, Sliema SLM10, Malta

Latest Review: Oct 2008

Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Sliema

4/5
Imperial Hotel  stars Imperial Hotel
Address: Rudolph Ln, Sliema SLM1241, Malta

Latest Review: Jun 2013

Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Sliema

4/5
Kennedy Nova Hotel  stars Kennedy Nova Hotel
The Hotel Kennedy Nova is elegantly decorated and offers a personal friendly service. Outstanding views of the capital Valletta can be enjoyed from the terraces by the roof top swimming pool. The Hotel is just a five minute walk from the centre of Sliema.

Latest Review: Jul 2006

Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Sliema

5/5
Marina Hotel  stars Marina Hotel
Address: 163 Tigne Sea Front, Valletta SLM 15, Malta

Latest Review: Nov 2005

Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Sliema

3/5
Park Hotel  stars Park Hotel
Address: L. Graham, Sliema, Malta

Latest Review: Feb 2007

Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Sliema

3/5
Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel  stars Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel
The Hotel Plaza and Plaza Regency are sister hotels joined by an internal walkway. Guests return year after year to the warm welcome of this hotel. Set on a beautiful sea front, located near a 3km promenade, with local shops, bars and restaurants.

Latest Review: Aug 2014

Ranked #12 of 16 hotels in Sliema

3/5
Plevna Hotel  stars Plevna Hotel
Address: Thornton, Sliema, Malta

Latest Review: Dec 2009

Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Sliema

3/5
Preluna Hotel & Spa  stars Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124 Triq It - Torri, Tas-Sliema SLM 1605, Malta

Latest Review: Jan 2009

Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Sliema

4/5
Roma Hotel  stars Roma Hotel
Address: 115 The Strand, Sliema, 00000, Malta

Latest Review: May 2007

Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Sliema

4/5
Sliema Chalet Hotel  stars Sliema Chalet Hotel
Address: Dive Systems Malta, Tower Point - Exiles Triq It - Torri, Malta SLM 08, Malt

Latest Review: Sep 2008

Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Sliema

2/5
Tigne Court Hotel  stars Tigne Court Hotel
Address: Tas-Sliema, Malta

Latest Review: Aug 2004

Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in Sliema

4/5
Victoria Hotel  stars Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema SLM 1807, Malta

Latest Review: Oct 2007

Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Sliema

4/5
Waterfront Hotel  stars Waterfront Hotel
Address: 115 The Strand, Sliema, GZR1027, Malta

Latest Review: Jun 2011

Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Sliema
Share