20 independent reviews of the Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124 Triq It - Torri, Tas-Sliema SLM 1605, Malta
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa Location
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Sliema


3/5
Preluna Hotel & Spa Preluna Hotel & Spa is rated 2.9 out of 5 from 20 Reviews
60% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (20 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 4 stars

Preluna Hotel & Spa Reviews

5/5
5

David Bramwell visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema, Malta in January 2009
Just another four weeks in the Preluna and we will be back next January for another four weeks. This time our half baod stay cost us

Tour Operator: Cheveron

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

jen and kelvin jones had a holiday at Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema, Malta in September 2008
this hotel is over priced and slightly run down. the reception areas and public rooms are clean and modern but the hotel corridors are rarely cleaned and the bedrooms are dated and dirty. however, the beds were clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was cleaned every day, although the towels were not changed very often. we had a superior room on the eleventh floor, with wonderful views of the sea and coastline. be careful when booking as some rooms have no windows at all. the breakfasts were quite nice, bacon sausages, beans etc. the position of this hotel is very convenient for everything, buses, walks, bars and restaurants. in fact, an ideal location. we have no complaints about the staff apart from telling the maid off for ...
knocking on the door on several occasions to wake us up to clean the room.

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Brian Leonard visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa in January 2008
Stayed 2 weeks ,very good price

Tour Operator: Mercury Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

2/5
2

maizie visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema, Malta in October 2007
we arrived on the night at this hotel and after requesting a low floor due to health issues, we found we were on the eleventh floor with two lifts that did not work so we had to go up in the service lift.
What we could make out in our room was rather shabby and the pictures we had seen of the lovely room with a sea view, balcony, fruit and a mini bar had been overly embelished. In the morning we found we had a partial sea view with a window that did not open and our mini bar was a rusty fridge that was noisy.
We even had a window over our bed which overlooked an internal fire escape. Fortunately it had a wide curtian across it. The beds were on castors and glided across the room when you sat ...
on them.
Underneath the bed was dust and debris which had not been cleaned in a while, especially the headboard end.
the food was ok with poached eggs, little sausages and cereal. There was a skyview room which was good and you could see the sea or the rooftops and was good for reading and relaxing in the day. The rooftop golf was good but there must have been some sewage pipes situated there and the smell was disgusting at times.
The roof sun terrace was ok for a sit in the sun and there was an indoor pool with a steam and sauna room and a gym.
It all looked very tired, in need of a refurb and the rating was more 2.5 than 4 star. there are loads of timeshare touts in Sliema and there is a floor in the hotel devoted to them so its very difficult to escape them. They show you the room that you see in brochure and tell you this is what a timeshare can give you.
You would hope that booking a week away with a reputable agent could also give you this room but that is not the reality.
The promenade is good and buses are great value.
I wouldnt go back as it wasnt what we expected and that seemed to be the consensus of most of the first timers I spoke to.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook/airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Julie visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa in August 2007
Just returned from a week\'s stay at The Preluna. I have never stayed in a 4* hotel before so I can\'t compare it to any other. Although a decent hotel, it appeared no different from some 3* accommodation that I have stayed at in other countries.

We stayed in a Family Suite on the 5th floor of the block. The room was clean but in need of refurbishment. The room consisted of two bedrooms and one bathroom which led off the first bedroom. Access to the 2nd bedroom was via the first so we had to walk through the 1st bedroom to reach the bathroom. This is OK if you have small children but could be really awkward if four adults are sharing the suite.

Facilities in the suite ...
were basic and sparse. There is only one wardrobe which was in the 2nd bedroom. There wasn\'t one in the first, only drawers of which there were none in the second room which also had no mirror or plug sockets. This was quite annoying as we had to keep going into each others rooms. So much for privacy! Our daughters are 13 and 17 with the youngest getting rather embarrassed with us walking through her room all the time.

There was a fridge/minibar in the 1st room but this didn\'t work. We informed reception on arrival but it still wasn\'t working when we left so no cold drinks for us. The aircon was insufficient. It barely worked. We had to keep the ceiling fans on whilst in the rooms as it was so hot. The fans are really noisy so it is worth investing in a pair of earplugs if you want to remain cool and sleep at night!

As we were at the back of the hotel we had a \'city view\' which was mainly a view of the other side of the hotel plus a half built construction. If we stood on the far left of the balcony we did get a \'city view\'!

The Spa pool is small but quite relaxing. It was pretty quiet most times. It was very stufffy in there though and you do need to take your own towel unless you are all inclusive.

The Triton restaurant was fine although some tables are a little bit close together. It is best to go early or late as it can get rather busy and you may have to queue to get a table. The food was good. Lots of choice with a different theme each evening. During busy breakfast times they were short of teaspoons, cups and glasses but after 10 mins or so they were replaced. Our daughter has Coeliac Disease which means that she has to have a special diet. We met with the catering manager who was really helpful and said that if there wasn\'t anything that she could eat at dinner they would provide an alternative. Luckily, she managed to find something each evening even if it was a little repetitive.

We had no problems with the lifts but they are small and slow. They will nearly always stop at every floor. Do visit the Sea view lounge on the 13th floor of the block. It is empty during the day and you get fantastic views of Sliema, Valletta and St Julians. The sun terrace on the towers block also gives great views and the chance to sunbathe. It does get very hot though and there is little shade.

We briefly visited the outdoor pool but weren\'t very impressed. It is quite small and rather tatty. Also the golf on the roof isn\'t great and they also don\'t tell you that you have to pay for it until you check out. It was 2 or 3 LM per person. Not worth the money.

The Preluna is in a great part of Sliema though. Although Tower Road appears rather busy it is much quieter than Sliema Creek/Harbour. The buses stop not far from the hotel which is great for getting around.

Beware of Time Share touts (Yellow or blue t-shirts saying Beach Club on the front) outside the hotel who pretend to work for the Preluna. We were approached by one who said that he was promoting the Preluna and showed us a card not unlike the ones used by the hotel to enter the rooms. He reeled off a list of travel companies (but not the one we were with which appeared odd if he worked for the hotel.) He said that part of the hotel (the block) was closing in October to be refurbished and that they were running a special promotion and if we went with him to look at the new rooms, over the road, we could have a free meal, drink and

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Julie visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema in April 2007
The hotel is NOT 4star.....
You will not be assisted in any way if you are having problems. The hotel is very unprofessionally managed.
I was unhappy about everyhting in that hotel.
I would not recommend that hotel....
I have details on the web site for the Preluna Hotel.
J


Tour Operator: Go Way
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Liverpool Lou visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema, Malta in February 2007
Quick and easy check in at the hotel with a glass of fresh orange provided. We were on the 10th floor of hotel block and had an inland view. Room was quiet during the evening (except for the hailstones rattling the window) and basically comfortable if not a little dated. Tea and coffe making facilities are provided and replenished daily.
The all inclusive option allows free access to the indoor swimming pool in the Feel Good Spa plus use of steam room and sauna. It takes a bit of getting used to as to which bar/cafe is open at certain times for the restrictions on the all inclusive food & drink. The Towers cafe is not the most comfortable place to sit and depending on the weather can be very cold. Food on the whole was o.k. in the Triton restaurant ...
for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Sometimes it could have been a little hotter though and if you get there late on in the timings there will be a big queue.
Towers lounge and cafe have televisions screening live British football.
The location of the hotel is great for the bus routes around the island and it is only a short walk into Sliema for the ferry to Valetta of you fancy a change from the bus (the bus is far cheaper though) The Prom is a flat easy walk into St Julians.
Hotel staff are the usual mix from friendly and cheerful to downright grumpy. Evening entertainment is the normal hotel style \"crooners and strummers\" using a lot of echo on the microphone to make them sound good but as we were there early in the season there was no other entertainment in the area. I suspect in high season there would be lots of choice.
Would we return to the hotel again ? Probably if we were on a budget.

Read More

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

David Bramwell visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema in September 2006
Our third visit to the Preluna Towers in Sliema. The hotel isn\'t as fresh as a newly built hotel but we always find excellent accommodation, friendly and professional staff, excellent food - variety and amounts. Facilities suited us to the full. Finest position in Sliema with transport outside the front door. It is true that for the time being the Argyle Restaurent has been moved to the Sky Room, but this didn\'t worry us one bit. All in all we will certainly use the Preluna again.

Tour Operator: Mercury Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Christine Lightfoot had a holiday at Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema, Malta in July 2006
We were half board the first week and All inclusive the second week.

The Bedroom and cleanliness was excellent, we had a lovely view looking out over the sea.

The lifts were always out of order and when we complained nothing seem to be done that day.

The service in the restaurant was terrible some days the waiters never took our dirty dishes away at all and the food could have been better in the Triton it was mostly the same everyday.

The steaks in the Argyle Restaurant were not fillet steaks and when the waiter flambe them the sauce was very watery and not thick and creamy. When we visited the restaurant and ordered peppered steaks one was very fatty and was the scragg end of a sirloin and when we complained the staff wasn\'t very nice and when they showed us other ...
[pieces of steak they was the same.
If they were fillet I must be a monkeys uncle.

We will certainly not be staying here again, and my opinion is the hotel should be re-rated to a 3 star or a two plus until they get there act together.

When we used to eat in the Argyle restaurant in the
1980\'s for about ten years we always used to have excellent flambe steaks.



Read More

Tour Operator: Mercury
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Christine Lightfoot stayed at Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema, Malta in July 2006
We were half board the first week and All inclusive the second week.

The Bedroom and cleanliness was excellent, we had a lovely view looking out over the sea.

The lifts were always out of order and when we complained nothing seem to be done that day.

The service in the restaurant was terrible some days the waiters never took our dirty dishes away at all and the food could have been better in the Titron it was mostly the same everyday.

The steaks in the Argyle Restauran were not fillet steaks and when the waiter flombaye them the sauce was very watery and not thick and creamy. When we visited the restaurant and ordered peppered steaks one was very fatty and was the scragg end of a surloin and when we complained the staff wasn\'t very nice and when they showed us other ...
[ieces of steak they was the same
if they were fillet I must be a monkeys uncle.l

We will certainly not be staying here again, and my opinion is the hotel should be re-rated to a 3 star or a two plus until they get there act together.

When we used to eat in the Argyle restaurant in the
1980\'s for about ten years we always used to have excellent flombaye steaks.



Read More

Tour Operator: Mercury
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

chris bowen visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema in July 2006
I stayed in the Preluna once again,having visited this hotel on many ocassions.

I have always found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming.All rooms i,ve stayed in have been clean and well maintained.We stayed on a B+B basis to give us the freedom to eat out with friends.

We had a lovely stay,however here are some of my concerns.
The hotel has very little entertainment for families and the younger people who stay there.The Venus Nightclub was closed and the Argyle was moved to the Skyroom,hence nothing to do in the evenings.

More worrying is part of the hotel has attracted holiday ownership or in another word,Timeshare.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Wavecrest visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema, Malta in April 2006
We really enjoyed our stay here. Staff were great, room (a suite) was good, the food was fantastic, location was perfect for us.

The Big crane was still there, but it did not obstruct our view of the sea (and what a view it was).

The only negative aspect of our stay in Malta & at the Preluna was having to come home

Tour Operator: Self

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jack Barker visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema, Malta in January 2006
First time at Preluna. The reception area is excellent and the staff very friendly at any time of night or day.

Our room on 5th floor was very good with magnificent sea views.

The buffet breakfasts and dinners were superb.

The cleaning staff did a magnificent job and were always friendly and efficient.

Excellent gym facilities as well as indoor, small but adequate swimming pool. It even boasts a roof top mini-9 hole golf course Bus stops directly outside hotel very convenient for getting about.

Excellent location 10 minutes walk from shops and ferry to Valletta. Far enough away from night clubs but within walking distance on a Beautiful promenade.

Would definitely visit this hotel again.


Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jason Salt had a holiday at Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema in November 2005
I visited the Preluna Hotel last month (November) with my wife.

The hotel itself is located on a beautiful long promenade just by the sea and the Sliema shopping district is only a minute walk away. There are bus stops just next to the hotel thus making it very easy to move about.

The room and public areas are in condition. (Probably refurbished within the last couple of years). The room was always clean and the receptionists were always helpful (even at early hours of the morning).

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the hotel staff for making this holiday one to remember. Thank You Preluna.


Tour Operator: direct through hotel website

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

elaine visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema, Malta in November 2004
I

Tour Operator: going places

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

angie had a holiday at Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema, Malta in August 2004
It was our first time in Malta and the Preluna Hotel proved to be excellent. Yes there is building work next to the hotel but it did not disturb us in the slightest. We stayed all inclusive and enjoyed every meal at the hotel - we could have eaten out but there was no reason too. The cafe was excellent too - many afternoons spent there drinking tea! The outdoor pool accross the road was very clean and we were able to get a sunlounger every time we visited - the bar was very handy for cold drinks round the pool. The entertainment was sufficient for us - we are not nightclubbers - music and singing. The sunroof bar was our favourite with panoromic views of Silema. The hotel staff were very helpful ...
and friendly. Strongly recommended - we will be going again!

Read More

Tour Operator: sunspot

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

speks had a holiday at Preluna Hotel & Spa, Sliema in August 2004
preluna hotel..
men.. i need to check out whoever the body is that rates hotels in malta. the website looked fantastic but the actual site was a different matter. for a 4 star hotel, the rooms came out of a deluxe motel. when i complained, iwas told \" you have one of our better rooms\" what??
when i wanted stuff fixed no one showed up.. even after calling several times.
the breakfast area was nasty. The food was ok but it was just uhhh. the juice glasses werent washed and i had to rinse them out with hot water before use EACH TIME. the houskeeping staff didnt do a great job of cleaning the room either.
the only good thing about this hotel is the location..and the fitness gym
a total WASTE of money.

Tour Operator: lastminute.com
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

0/5
0

Blackcatlass visited the Preluna Hotel & Spa in July 2003
Visitors going to this hotel might be forewarned that there is a lot of building work going on around this particular hotel. When I say around the Hotel, I actually mean slap bang in the middle - of Preluna Towers and Preluna Hotel. Don\'t know what the noise situation was like I only passed during siesta time, but this is one hotel I\'m glad I didn\'t stay at recently! The cafe bar downstairs was still fully functioning though I\'d check out the full facts of the building works with your tour operators just to be on the safe side.

Sheila - just back from Sliema and passing Preluna regularly over the last two weeks.

Tour Operator: Unknown
Review Rating


0/5
0

Pipiwoo stayed at Preluna Hotel & Spa in May 2002
I have just returned from the Preluna, and found the hotel to be excellent. The food in the restaurant is delicious, and I think the dining area has just been re-done. There is an a-la carte restaurant within the hotel which serves the most delicious steaks. The fitness centre is great, except you have to pay extra to use the gym.

The rooms were clean and well-maintained, and the staff very friendly.

In all, the hotel is a good base to explore Malta, but there is enough within the hotel to stay and relax.

Tour Operator: Unknown
Review Rating


0/5
0

Maltab had a holiday at Preluna Hotel & Spa in January 2002
I have stayed at the Preluna at least ten times. The location is excellent for the shops and with Valletta a short bus journey away, with a bus stop opposite the hotel, you are really staying in a prime position. The hotel opened a new fitness centre at the end of October with excellent facilities. The staff are very friendly and helpfuland if you choose not to eat in the hotels restuarant, then there is the fabulous Argyle a la carte restuarant situated within the hotel, serving delicous seafood and steaks. This may sound like something you read from the brochures but I can honestly say that this is a lovely hotel, I had my wedding reception at the hotel,and I've already booked to go back to this hotel twice this year.


Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Share