Image of Preluna Hotel & Spa

Preluna Hotel & Spa

10 of 16 hotels in Sliema

3 out of 5 from 20 reviews
4 stars
124 Triq It - Torri, Tas-Sliema SLM 1605, Malta

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 6 months ago
Just another four weeks in the Preluna and we will be back next January for another four weeks. This time our half baod stay cost us
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jen And Kelvin Jones
7 years 10 months ago
this hotel is over priced and slightly run down. the reception areas and public rooms are clean and modern but the hotel corridors are rarely cleaned and the bedrooms are dated and dirty. however, the beds were clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was cleaned every day, although the towels were not changed very often. we had a superior room on the eleventh floor, with wonderful views of the sea and coastline. be careful when booking as some rooms have no windows at all. the breakfasts were quite nice, bacon sausages, beans etc. the position of this hotel is very convenient for everything, buses, walks, bars and restaurants. in fact, an ideal location. we have no complaints about the staff apart from telling the maid off for knocking on the door on several occasions to wake us up to clean the room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brian Leonard
8 years 6 months ago
Stayed 2 weeks ,very good price
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Maizie
8 years 9 months ago
we arrived on the night at this hotel and after requesting a low floor due to health issues, we found we were on the eleventh floor with two lifts that did not work so we had to go up in the service lift.
What we could make out in our room was rather shabby and the pictures we had seen of the lovely room with a sea view, balcony, fruit and a mini bar had been overly embelished. In the morning we found we had a partial sea view with a window that did not open and our mini bar was a rusty fridge that was noisy.
We even had a window over our bed which overlooked an internal fire escape. Fortunately it had a wide curtian across it. The beds were on castors and glided across the room when you sat on them.
Underneath the bed was dust and debris which had not been cleaned in a while, especially the headboard end.
the food was ok with poached eggs, little sausages and cereal. There was a skyview room which was good and you could see the sea or the rooftops and was good for reading and relaxing in the day. The rooftop golf was good but there must have been some sewage pipes situated there and the smell was disgusting at times.
The roof sun terrace was ok for a sit in the sun and there was an indoor pool with a steam and sauna room and a gym.
It all looked very tired, in need of a refurb and the rating was more 2.5 than 4 star. there are loads of timeshare touts in Sliema and there is a floor in the hotel devoted to them so its very difficult to escape them. They show you the room that you see in brochure and tell you this is what a timeshare can give you.
You would hope that booking a week away with a reputable agent could also give you this room but that is not the reality.
The promenade is good and buses are great value.
I wouldnt go back as it wasnt what we expected and that seemed to be the consensus of most of the first timers I spoke to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Julie
8 years 11 months ago
Just returned from a week's stay at The Preluna. I have never stayed in a 4* hotel before so I can't compare it to any other. Although a decent hotel, it appeared no different from some 3* accommodation that I have stayed at in other countries.

We stayed in a Family Suite on the 5th floor of the block. The room was clean but in need of refurbishment. The room consisted of two bedrooms and one bathroom which led off the first bedroom. Access to the 2nd bedroom was via the first so we had to walk through the 1st bedroom to reach the bathroom. This is OK if you have small children but could be really awkward if four adults are sharing the suite.

Facilities in the suite were basic and sparse. There is only one wardrobe which was in the 2nd bedroom. There wasn't one in the first, only drawers of which there were none in the second room which also had no mirror or plug sockets. This was quite annoying as we had to keep going into each others rooms. So much for privacy! Our daughters are 13 and 17 with the youngest getting rather embarrassed with us walking through her room all the time.

There was a fridge/minibar in the 1st room but this didn't work. We informed reception on arrival but it still wasn't working when we left so no cold drinks for us. The aircon was insufficient. It barely worked. We had to keep the ceiling fans on whilst in the rooms as it was so hot. The fans are really noisy so it is worth investing in a pair of earplugs if you want to remain cool and sleep at night!

As we were at the back of the hotel we had a 'city view' which was mainly a view of the other side of the hotel plus a half built construction. If we stood on the far left of the balcony we did get a 'city view'!

The Spa pool is small but quite relaxing. It was pretty quiet most times. It was very stufffy in there though and you do need to take your own towel unless you are all inclusive.

The Triton restaurant was fine although some tables are a little bit close together. It is best to go early or late as it can get rather busy and you may have to queue to get a table. The food was good. Lots of choice with a different theme each evening. During busy breakfast times they were short of teaspoons, cups and glasses but after 10 mins or so they were replaced. Our daughter has Coeliac Disease which means that she has to have a special diet. We met with the catering manager who was really helpful and said that if there wasn't anything that she could eat at dinner they would provide an alternative. Luckily, she managed to find something each evening even if it was a little repetitive.

We had no problems with the lifts but they are small and slow. They will nearly always stop at every floor. Do visit the Sea view lounge on the 13th floor of the block. It is empty during the day and you get fantastic views of Sliema, Valletta and St Julians. The sun terrace on the towers block also gives great views and the chance to sunbathe. It does get very hot though and there is little shade.

We briefly visited the outdoor pool but weren't very impressed. It is quite small and rather tatty. Also the golf on the roof isn't great and they also don't tell you that you have to pay for it until you check out. It was 2 or 3 LM per person. Not worth the money.

The Preluna is in a great part of Sliema though. Although Tower Road appears rather busy it is much quieter than Sliema Creek/Harbour. The buses stop not far from the hotel which is great for getting around.

Beware of Time Share touts (Yellow or blue t-shirts saying Beach Club on the front) outside the hotel who pretend to work for the Preluna. We were approached by one who said that he was promoting the Preluna and showed us a card not unlike the ones used by the hotel to enter the rooms. He reeled off a list of travel companies (but not the one we were with which appeared odd if he worked for the hotel.) He said that part of the hotel (the block) was closing in October to be refurbished and that they were running a special promotion and if we went with him to look at the new rooms, over the road, we could have a free meal, drink and
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie
9 years 3 months ago
The hotel is NOT 4star.....
You will not be assisted in any way if you are having problems. The hotel is very unprofessionally managed.
I was unhappy about everyhting in that hotel.
I would not recommend that hotel....
I have details on the web site for the Preluna Hotel.
J
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
9 years 5 months ago
Quick and easy check in at the hotel with a glass of fresh orange provided. We were on the 10th floor of hotel block and had an inland view. Room was quiet during the evening (except for the hailstones rattling the window) and basically comfortable if not a little dated. Tea and coffe making facilities are provided and replenished daily.
The all inclusive option allows free access to the indoor swimming pool in the Feel Good Spa plus use of steam room and sauna. It takes a bit of getting used to as to which bar/cafe is open at certain times for the restrictions on the all inclusive food & drink. The Towers cafe is not the most comfortable place to sit and depending on the weather can be very cold. Food on the whole was o.k. in the Triton restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Sometimes it could have been a little hotter though and if you get there late on in the timings there will be a big queue.
Towers lounge and cafe have televisions screening live British football.
The location of the hotel is great for the bus routes around the island and it is only a short walk into Sliema for the ferry to Valetta of you fancy a change from the bus (the bus is far cheaper though) The Prom is a flat easy walk into St Julians.
Hotel staff are the usual mix from friendly and cheerful to downright grumpy. Evening entertainment is the normal hotel style "crooners and strummers" using a lot of echo on the microphone to make them sound good but as we were there early in the season there was no other entertainment in the area. I suspect in high season there would be lots of choice.
Would we return to the hotel again ? Probably if we were on a budget.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Our third visit to the Preluna Towers in Sliema. The hotel isn't as fresh as a newly built hotel but we always find excellent accommodation, friendly and professional staff, excellent food - variety and amounts. Facilities suited us to the full. Finest position in Sliema with transport outside the front door. It is true that for the time being the Argyle Restaurent has been moved to the Sky Room, but this didn't worry us one bit. All in all we will certainly use the Preluna again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Christine Lightfoot
10 years ago
We were half board the first week and All inclusive the second week.

The Bedroom and cleanliness was excellent, we had a lovely view looking out over the sea.

The lifts were always out of order and when we complained nothing seem to be done that day.

The service in the restaurant was terrible some days the waiters never took our dirty dishes away at all and the food could have been better in the Triton it was mostly the same everyday.

The steaks in the Argyle Restaurant were not fillet steaks and when the waiter flambe them the sauce was very watery and not thick and creamy. When we visited the restaurant and ordered peppered steaks one was very fatty and was the scragg end of a sirloin and when we complained the staff wasn't very nice and when they showed us other [pieces of steak they was the same.
If they were fillet I must be a monkeys uncle.

We will certainly not be staying here again, and my opinion is the hotel should be re-rated to a 3 star or a two plus until they get there act together.

When we used to eat in the Argyle restaurant in the
1980's for about ten years we always used to have excellent flambe steaks.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Christine Lightfoot
10 years ago
We were half board the first week and All inclusive the second week.

The Bedroom and cleanliness was excellent, we had a lovely view looking out over the sea.

The lifts were always out of order and when we complained nothing seem to be done that day.

The service in the restaurant was terrible some days the waiters never took our dirty dishes away at all and the food could have been better in the Titron it was mostly the same everyday.

The steaks in the Argyle Restauran were not fillet steaks and when the waiter flombaye them the sauce was very watery and not thick and creamy. When we visited the restaurant and ordered peppered steaks one was very fatty and was the scragg end of a surloin and when we complained the staff wasn't very nice and when they showed us other [ieces of steak they was the same
if they were fillet I must be a monkeys uncle.l

We will certainly not be staying here again, and my opinion is the hotel should be re-rated to a 3 star or a two plus until they get there act together.

When we used to eat in the Argyle restaurant in the
1980's for about ten years we always used to have excellent flombaye steaks.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: