141 independent reviews of Cancun, Mexico
Cancun Location

4/5
Cancun is rated 4 out of 5 from 141 Reviews

Cancun Hotels

Cancun Reviews

4/5


Phil Harper visited here on November 2007
The whole cancun resort is spread over 24km of the hotel zone.
Hotel beaches are usually great but there is a lovely public beach directly behind the hard rock cafe.
Cheap snacks and tacos can be found in the markets and sidestreets otherwise we found eating in the bars quite expensive.
For a good night out visit senor frog\'s, great staff and great entertainment.
The overriding memory i have of Cancun is of going up and down the hotel zone in buses and taxis but maybe this would be different if we had been in a different hotel.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Rebecca visited here on November 2007
Cancun has something for everyone from the shops, bars and restaurants. The shopping is really good and the perfume and aftershave is much cheaper out there than it is back in the UK. The beaches are lovely and clean.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


martin visited here on September 2007
Cancun is a lovely resort if you like the built for tourist approach. The beach isnt the best of beaches as it shelved away quite steeply and was quite rocky the on the side where the sun was longest.I would not describe the beach as a typical carribean beach and wasnt that big.
All in all not my ideal resort but the hotel oh wow you couldnt beat it gold stars all round
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
2 stars

5/5


Kerry & Gareth visited here on August 2007
Cancun is brilliant. There is loads to do - lots of trips you can go on, such as Chichen Itza and the jungle tour. There isn\'t much in Cancun Centre but along the strip there are a few shopping mall type places where you can find Diesel and Zara to Louis Vitton. There are quite a few bars and clubs to go to. The Coco Bongo is the best club and well worth a visit.
You feel very safe in Cancun and the only thing that annoyed me was the people trying to sell you tours as you walk along - we just told them we were going home tomorrow.
I would defiantly go back to Cancun!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Kris Heslop visited here on August 2007
Cancun was a bit too full on for us, it was too much a \'party\' town and not the pace we were looking for althought thats not to say it wasn\'t pleasant.

The biggest irritation is the constant hankering for tips, this was not a problem in our hotel but when you go out to say a restaurant or bar everything is \'tip tip tip\' and they are not subtle about it so be warned. On one occassion I had the \'tip\' added to my bill for me and an incorrect bill provided (beer had been omitted) so the guy appeared to be asking for a US$20 tip and then also pocketing the cash for the omitted beer. He in effect ...
did himself out of a tip by doing so but that\'s because I hate being pushed like that. Put simply stabd your ground and don\'t just roll over for them!


Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


claire parker visited here on August 2007
never really went downtown that often as hotel had entertainment and we were AI lol.
Try swimming with dolphins, The Pirate Ship, Jet Skiis and Jungle trip.
Even had our teeth lasered in Las Americas shopping centre for £190!!!! me and my sister that is while the lads did a day out.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


June,Ian,Jayne,Neil,Abbie & Ellie visited here on July 2007
Despite the heat and humidity our holiday in the RIU Cancun was SUPER - possibly the best holiday weve had.
With the approach of hurricane Dean we were \'evacuated\' from the hotel a couple of days early but this was for safety reasons and full marks to Thompson for their consideration and organisation in getting some 2000 guests from the Cancun area in a very short time. We came home via Orlando where the accomodation and food did leave a lot to be desired. We will certainly visit this hotel again - but not in August.....too hot!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


foster visited here on July 2007
two families, including young teenagers , excellent all round holiday, open mind due to the negitive feedback left, but would visit again, nothing to complain about execpt the entertainment, but that did not bother us as we kept ourselves busy, lovely weather, polite staff, food of good standard along with excellent service, highly recommend. our stay was august 2008
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


kerry and colin visited here on July 2007
the resort was gorgeous too the entertainment was good especially at coco bongo\'s AMAZING if your goin visit here!
when we went it was just a week after the hurricane had hit so there wasnt much of a beach but you could still go down and sunbathe there and swim in the gorgeous clear blue sea!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Brendan Oldfield visited here on June 2007
Cancun was a great place, the sea is fantastic, the weather was really hot. I would definatley recommend the following places: Coco Bongo, Xel-Ha (Eco water park), Rain Forrest Cafe (in main shopping centre) and Cambernache (excellent resaurant in main shopping centre). The local people are very friendly and helpful, but do hassle you a bit when walking past their shops.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


Stephan Phelan visited here on May 2007
The resort was very clean. Cancun center is a very vibrant place with some excellant clubs and bars. The trips are very good too, especially swimming with Dolphins.
The beaches are fantastic, although the ocean can be very rough.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


michelle irvine visited here on April 2007
The location of the hotel is brilliant, ten minutes on the bus and your in the heart of everything. The nightlife is fantastic, catering for all age groups, coco bongos got to be the best place we have ever been to.

Our beach was spotless clean, there were always staff to clean up any litter or seaweed that had washed ashore.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


kasey visited here on April 2007
cancun in itself is a really nice resort there some amazing places to go i would recomend coco bongo and captin hooks pirate ship to anyone who\'s looking for a good night\'s entertainment coco bongo is a vegas style show that will blow you away , and the pirate ship is one red ship one green ship that take you out to sea where its an open bar and you have a really nice meal then the ship\'s come side by side i the sea an the pirates swing from boat to boat sword fighting with each other which is really good entertainment
all in all iam gutted to be home .
oh well theres always next year .
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Aileen visited here on March 2007
There is not much to do nearby, you have to get taxis or buses but we didn\'t want to do anything except relax. We went on a free shopping trip which the hotel puts on to Cancun but they took us to a flea market (selling mostly blankets and hammocks) and then a shopping centre selling rubbish! Waste of time really.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Steven McGuire visited here on March 2007
Cancun - WOW! It\'s amazing, so clean, the beaches are amazing, shopping at \"La Isla\" mall is great, nightlife is superb, restaurants are amazing!

You MUST swim with the dolphins - One of the greatest experiences in my life.

Mexican people are friendly and welcoming - GO NOW before a hurricane devistates the place once and for all (god forbid)
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


jen and joe visited here on January 2007
The staff is constantly cleaning the grounds and the rooms. The beds are a little on the hard side but the rest of the accomodations are perfect. If you like to have fun with a wide age group (I saw people from 21 to 60\'s), all of which were very fun-loving. All of the people we went with said they would go again. My husband is going on a guys-only trip later this year. Me and the girls will go next year. It was fantastic!!!!!!!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


paul johnson visited here on January 2007
the resort is not that bad really lovely beaches and first class transport service lots of great shops and resturantrs.but be carefull of flea markets as thease are not very nice.are quite intimerdating.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


Emma Allen visited here on December 2006
Cancun is a very nice place and i found it to be one of the places i felt most comfortable in. The hotel zone where are hotel was situated was very clean. The bars are about 10 minutes away by bus or you can get a taxi which is about 100 pesos (about £5). In the main strip you have Coco Bongo\'s, Senor frogs, Pat o\'briens and all the other popular bars and restaurants. If you go the opposite way you can get to Walmart which is a very big american dept store which is very cheap. The beaches in cancun are very clean, They have people on the beaches at the crack of dawn removing all the seaweed. I would definately go back to Cancun (sooner the better).
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


spencer visited here on December 2006
Cancun is a big resort and there are loads to do.
We went on Captain Hook, this was brill, the staff entertained you for the full 4hrs and lobster,steak or chichen for dinner,brill.
My husband and son went swimming with the Dolphins and thought it was brill.
Escarte was excellent, plenty to do and the night show was great.
Went out of hotel a few times just to look around, went to Pat O\'briens,Hard Rock Cafe,Margarettaville and other places aroung Flamingo Plaza Mall and i must say they were brill.
I will be going back to Cancun as it is well worth the money.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Polly visited here on November 2006
Cancun is fabulous.

Lots of clubs, the beaches are gorgeous and there\'s enough shops to satisfy even the biggest shopaholic.
Lots of silver jewellery and designer shops in the many shopping malls.

We were surprised with how much rebuilding is still going on after the hurricane last year.
Some of the large hotels in the hotel Zone are still being rebuilt and Dowtown Cancun still seems to be struggling with the after effects.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Aquamarina Beach Hotel  stars Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 4.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Mar 2006

Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4/5
Azul Sensatori Hotel by Karisma  stars Azul Sensatori Hotel by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico

Latest Review: Sep 2011

Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4/5
Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel  stars Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5, | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Jun 2009

Ranked #20 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel  stars Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel
Address: Kukulkan 24 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Jan 2013

Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4/5
BelleVue Beach Paradise Hotel  stars BelleVue Beach Paradise Hotel
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 19.5, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Mar 2009

Ranked #16 of 29 hotels in Cancun

3/5
Caribbean Princess Resort Hotel  stars Caribbean Princess Resort Hotel
Address: Calle Galeon D9-5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Jul 2007

Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Cancun

2/5
Club Verano Beat Hotel  stars Club Verano Beat Hotel
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 3 5, Cancun, QROO, 77500 Mexico

Latest Review: Nov 2007

Ranked #27 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4/5
Crown Paradise Club Hotel  stars Crown Paradise Club Hotel
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km 18.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Jul 2008

Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa  stars Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Cancun s/n, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Aug 2009

Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel  stars Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico

Latest Review: May 2009

Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4/5
Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa Hotel  stars Golden Parnassus Resort & Spa Hotel
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 14.5 Zona Hotelera | Retorno Sn. Miguelito Lt. 37, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Jun 2007

Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Cancun

3/5
Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa Hotel  stars Gran Caribe Real Resort & Spa Hotel
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km. 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Jun 2009

Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4/5
Grand Oasis Playa Hotel  stars Grand Oasis Playa Hotel
Oasis Playa stands on a beautiful slice of beach between the splendor of Nichupte lagoon and the lovely Carribean Sea. The hotel features elegant accommodations that let you see Cancun with glorious views of either the ocean, lagoon, or pool/garden.

Latest Review: Aug 2006

Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
Great Parnassus Resort and Spa  stars Great Parnassus Resort and Spa
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 16.9 Lote 52-04 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Aug 2011

Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort Hotel  stars Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort Hotel
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Sep 2008

Ranked #9 of 29 hotels in Cancun

2/5
Nichupte Destination Holistic Spa Hotel  stars Nichupte Destination Holistic Spa Hotel
Address: Blvd Kukulcan kM. 3.5 Esq Galeon, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Jul 2005

Ranked #27 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4/5
Oasis Palm Hotel  stars Oasis Palm Hotel
The Oasis Palm Beach is a magnificent beachfront resort, where its facilities will provide a great enjoyment of a holiday at the Caribbean Sea. The Oasis Palm Beach is tocated at the beggining of Cancun´s Hotel Zone, near shopping centres and bars.

Latest Review: May 2010

Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
Oasis Viva Beach Resort  stars Oasis Viva Beach Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 8.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Jul 2005

Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4/5
Occidental Caribbean Village Resort  stars Occidental Caribbean Village Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulkan Km 13.5 Cancun, Quintana Roo 77500 Cancun

Latest Review: Sep 2005

Ranked #14 of 29 hotels in Cancun

2/5
Ocean Spa Hotel  stars Ocean Spa Hotel
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 3.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: May 2006

Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
Riu Cancun Hotel  stars Riu Cancun Hotel
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 8.5, Manzana 50, Lote 5 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Sep 2010

Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4/5
Riu Caribe Hotel  stars Riu Caribe Hotel
Situated in Cancún’s bustling hotel zone with stunning views of the Caribbean sea, this impressive 24 hour All Inclusive Premier Choice hotel is perfect for couples and families. It is set on a white sandy beach and boasts a fantastic range of facilities.

Latest Review: Nov 2009

Ranked #12 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel  stars Riu Palace Las Americas Hotel
Riu Palace Las Americas and its magnificent architecture encompasses 372 deluxe junior suites and suites located in the very heart of Cancun’s exclusive hotel zone. Riu's tradition of luxury and style continues with amenities such as 24-hour All Inclusive.

Latest Review: Mar 2013

Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4/5
Sea Adventure Resort & Waterpark  stars Sea Adventure Resort & Waterpark
Address: Km 1.5 Carretera a Punta Juarez-Punta Sam, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Mar 2012

Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
Secrets Excellence Riviera Hotel  stars Secrets Excellence Riviera Hotel
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico

Latest Review: Mar 2007

Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
Temptation Resort & Spa Hotel  stars Temptation Resort & Spa Hotel
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 3.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Aug 2009

Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5/5
The Royal Cancun Resort  stars The Royal Cancun Resort
Address: Kukulkan Km 11.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico

Latest Review: Dec 2008

Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Cancun
Share