Image of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Iberostar Tucan Hotel

7 of 17 hotels in Playa del Carmen

5 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars
Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lydia Houghton
Family holiday - Just perfect!
3 years 8 months ago
We travelled as a family. Staff made us feel very welcome with refreshing iced drinks.

The kids loved the jungle setting and spotting all the wildlife. The room was a fairly good size although pretty basic but the kids loved sitting on the balcony among the jungle treetops and watching the parrots and monkeys.

The hotel lobby and grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The buffet was so good that we didn't feel the need to try all the restaurants. The entertainment team were great and the pool was huge.
It really was fabulous.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
An excellent resort
5 years 6 months ago
The Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal is an excellent hotel with staff that really do work very hard to please you.

Check in was very quick even though it was nearly midnight, due to a 6 hour flight delay from Manchester. Taken to our room on a golf cart with our luggage.

Room was a junior suite with sea view, cleanliness was excellent with a basket of fruit and flowers on arrival. The room maid worked hard to clean and present us with a different towel sculpture every day. (The russian doll was fantastic). If I had to pick a small thing, the table in the room, when moved only slightly, made a noise that came from hell, and people in other rooms like us heard the noise that would waken the dead. Felt pads on the legs would be a great advantage. You would understand why I had said this if you go.

Beach and drink service excellent, 20-30 peso/day tip guaranteed you as many drinks as you like brought to your sunbed; the waitress was so hard working and so pleasant with it. Sun shades plentiful, weather fantastic, what more do you want.

Walking around the hotel gardens is a true safari of animals although had to wait to the last day to see the monkeys.

A little disappointed at the buffet meals at times in the evening but breakfast and lunch very good. Sit there and watch the Koi Carp, Swans and Egret in as much as possible a natural environment. Only used the specialist restaurants once (our choice)and had to book three days in advance, mainly due to people booking multiple evening meals at once. Steakhouse very good with excellent waiters who made you feel at home.

Trip out to Chichen Itza good but thwart with people asking for tips for the waiters, tips for the dancers, tips for the washroom and the inevitable tips for the drivers.

Walked to Playa del Carmen, very hot but good banter with the shopkeepers, none of which I found annoying.

Overall a good holiday well worth the money, despite the long flight there. Yes, if I went back to Mexico would stay there again, not that we go anywhere twice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 10 months ago
This is our third Iberostar holiday having stayed at IB Hacienda Domiuncus in 2005 and IB Bahia Del Forte (Brazil) 2006. We stayed at the IB Tucan 29/09 - 13/10/2007

Pros
Excellent service in Tucan lobby bar. Cleanliness of all public areas was excellent. Good beach drinks service on the beach both waitress and self service.

Great bar service at the Disco. Plenty of shade available at beach and pool. Beach sandy and clean, sea blue and not too cold - dependant on weather it is either calm or a tad more interesting!

Pool very warm sometimes too hot. Jungle and gardens were excellent - clean tidy and interesting. Daytime activities well organised and no pressure to join in
Steakhouse and Japanese al a carte worth a visit.

Swim up bar is isolated but adults only. Towels and sheets changed everyday. Towel art. Plenty to do outside complex.

Cons
Rooms had very poor storage (no draws). Beds were hard but have experience worse in Goa.
Bathroom although very clean needed an update and refurbishment.

Buffet selection although mainly good, some nights limited selection especially if you ate after 20.00 hrs.

Poll/beach bar lacked atmosphere and character
Not 5 star in comparison to other Caribbean 5 star hotels.

Taking all the above into account my biggest disappointment was the weather (although I do not blame the hotel for that). Expected showers and some rain however the level of rain experienced during the 2nd week was more than I have experienced in Wales in October!!

Trips
Chitchen Itsa - beautiful site and ruins, shame about the return coach trip (3 hours) left hotel at 7.50 returned 20.30 a long time in the coach and a tiring day, however I wouldn't have missed it

Captain Hook - boat trip from Cancun
Excellent fun, worth the $80, food great and bar service excellent
Great fun and suitable for all ages. Don't go along unless you want a fun evening and a laugh

Final comments
Excellent company - hello to
James and Laura, Trevor and Rose, Ted and Joy.
Thank you for adding to our holiday - we had a ball!!

If you are looking for an all inclusive complex near 5th Avenue with lots of shops, restaurants and bars which caters for all age groups try the Tucan.

However if you are looking for better food, a little bit of luxury and a smaller hotel don't consider the Tucan

Compared to the other 2 IB hotels I found the Tucan expensive and more basic, however the location was superb

Please feel free to ask any questions and if you have already booked you could do a lot worse than the Tucan. Would I return? To Playacar without a doubt to the Tucan the jury is still out and I would need to get it at a cheaper price
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bates
8 years 11 months ago
We have just got back from the Tucan and I want to go straight back. We were a party of 10 with a mix of ages and everyone loved it.

I didnt like the airport experience as soon as we arrived we had people trying to take our bags.We tried to say we would take them ourselves but they walk off with them anyway which is a bit worrying and then they ask for a tip.

The hotel and grounds are stunning. We stayed in block 11 which was near the pool and beach and had lovely views.The only down side is that the hotel opposite has just started renovating so it can be quite noisey first thing and the balcony gets really dusty.We had towel art left on the bed every day by the cleaner.

The pool is huge and there is a really nice swim up pool bar which was nice and far cooler than the main pool. The hotel is literally in the middle of a jungle.There are some lovely walks between blocks and the reception area where you will see wild monkeys, peacocks, iguanas and lots of other animals.

The food was good.The buffet restaurant was ok but did get a bit samey after a while.They have themed restaurants which you have to book up asap.We went to the japanese and steak house twice which were really good and we tried the mexican and italian which we didnt enjoy so much.

There a few shops in playacar just a few minutes walk away but we found it better to get a taxi into playa del carmen where there are loads of shops and you can haggle.The bell boys at reception will get you a taxi within minutes.

There are lots of trips on offer and we went to the Coba pyramid and Mayan village which was a brilliant experience.The women really appreciated the soaps from out of the hotel bathroom which we took and sweets for the kids.Its not so good if you have asthma as the humidity in the jungle can cause problems.

Hotel staff were brilliant especially the star friends team.Some of the evening shows were really good especially the Hollywood show.

We would definately go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jayne & Steven Smith
9 years 1 month ago
Absolutely fantastic. What more could be said.
This was the most perfect holiday we have ever been on.

We have only been back a week and are already looking at going there for Christmas this year.

The rooms, grounds, public areas were kept spotlessly clean.
The food whether in the buffet restaurants or the a la carte was top class.
The staff were helpful, courteous, always smiling and willing to do anything you asked.
The entertainment was suitable for all ages

We could not fault anything.

Hasta La Vista.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Iberostar Tucan the first 2 weeks of May.

The first impression of the Hotel was how nice it looked, and how clean. Victor, our room attendent made towel art everyday. Our fridge was stocked up every day with water, soft drinks, and bottled beer.

We were lucky that we had a beach front room which was fantastic. the hotel is made up of 2 identicle hotels, which you can use either. The jungle going through the middle of the hotels is fantastic, monkeys, flamingos, peacocks,parrots, and another little animal that I have no idea what you call, along with others that I have not mentioned.

The food in the 2 buffet areas was really nice with loads of choice, the waiters will keep bringing you wine, tea, coffee, juice, anything you want. The only reason I gave the food a 4 is because sometimes birds will fly through the area because it only has a roof, and they will sit at tables which have been left untill they have got a few crumbs. This did not bother me at all, but i could see it might bother others. Not once did i see a bird go to a table where someone was seated.

The 5 a-la-cartes, Mexican, fish, steakhouse, Italian,and Japaneese were all fantastic, but we enjoyed the Italian and the steakhouse the best. The onion rings in the steakhouse was something else. You book these as soon as you can as they get booked up quickly. The location of the hotel was fantastic. You could walk to the shopping area of Playacar 7 mins away, but you could not get drinks or food here. Playa-del-Carmen was a 30 min walk on a nice flat road, through a residential area and past the entrances to the other hotels, or you can take a taxi from the hotel for 5 dollars. Here you can take the ferry over to Cozamel, take a direct bus to Cancun which is 50 mins away and cost 3 dollars each.

There are loads of shops and bars in Playa-del Carmen to keep anyone entertained if you want a few hours away from the hotel. There is a nightclub on site and both hotel lobbys have a bar, where you can go to the bar or have waiter service, you can also get popcorn with your drinks.

The main entertainment was the usual childrens disco, games, dancing, singing audience participation if you wanted it etc etc. It was anything you wanted it to be for all ages families and couples.

The hotel staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. They do not expect tips, but we did give tips, on the beach waiters were coming round taking our orders and bringing our drinks, they really do go beyond the call of duty.

This hotel and its location was fantastic in my opinion, but you will have to go to find out for your self.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Vasey
9 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the Tucan/quetzal between 20.04.07 and 30.04.07, the hotels were at approx. 85% capacity and never felt crowded, there was always plenty of room, whether in and around the pool or in the restaurants.

The food was plentiful and varied, the only negative was that the buffet food was often barely warm.

The staff were always cleaning wherever we went and always had a cheery Ola! for everyone, the entertainment staff were good and not in your face to join in all the time.

The location was good, a 5 minute walk from the small plaza of Playacar where there were a few shops to browse of an evening, it was also where you went to get the coaches for trips to tulum and chitchen itza etc.

We both ended up with an upset tum in the last few days but were told by a few people that there was a nasty bug going round, not just our hotel either, it was unpleasant but not debilitating.

All in all a unique hotel with various wildlife including the very noisy peacocks and monkeys, the only creatures I felt sorry for were a pair of large Galapagos tortoise, they were confined to a small concrete pen whereas the other animals were free to roam about the grounds, as the tortoises are so long lived I did feel the enclosure was not suitable for them.

The a la carte eateries we tried were the Italian - very good, the steak house - not so good, and the Japanese - which was by far the best, for both food and entertainment value.

The rooms were lovely, large with good air con, nice balconies and a powerful shower with plenty of hot water, the only downside was an occasional overpowering smell from some of the drains as you walked around the complex.

It is a lovely complex with enough to keep everyone happy, there were families of all ages there, and it seems a popular choice for weddings, probably because of the jungle setting.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Parkins
9 years 7 months ago
We travelled with First choice and stood in the line at Gatwick north for 1hr 20min, never again.

Hotel was spotless, room was good but no drawers for clothes only shelves which we thought odd!, all rooms are the same apparently. We stayed 2 weeks so kept underwear etc in suit cases. Room had a safe and mini bar, no charge. Hairdryer and a large shower in bathroom.

The grounds of the hotel can only be described as a wild life sanctury, it's hard to descibe but there were a troop of monkeys, flemingo's and other variaty of wild life.

Food was excellent, they even fried my tomatoes at breakfast when I asked. We tried all the a'la carte restaurants, they were all good, the one we liked most was the Italian, the service in all restaurants outstanding and all of the staff through out the whole of the hotel were a credit.

The bars all had waiter service and the service was good, there were plenty of waiters, drinks were flowing, refills were offered before glasses were empty. The entertainment was as good as you'll get anywhere, day or night.

We will visit this hotel again, it was value for money and outstanding service!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mal
10 years ago
Wow! what a hotel. The hotel itself, is kept spotlessly clean, as is the grounds. It was wonderful to walk through the grounds, day or night, not knowing what you would see. To be surrounded by the waterfalls, gullies full with fish, lakes with flamingos, monkeys and other animals, was fantastic.

The rooms were lovely as was the towel sculptures that were left every day, always decorated with fresh flowers and petals sprinkled on the bed along with chocolates. (To think I went to Leysdown for my honeymoon. But I am making up for it now!) I could go on and on but now onto the food.... Yes, this was too, great.

Extensive choice from the buffet restaurants - but the a la carte steak and Italian was fantastic. We liked these so much we never got the chance to visit the others. From breakfast to the late night snacks, there was something for everyone. The chefs catered for every need. Waiters needed a bit of a'nudge' in the buffet restaurants, but in the a la carte they were there for you from the minute you walked in.

All of the staff were extremely friendly and made you feel so welcome. Francesca in the lobby bar was simply lovely - she worked So hard and definitely kept us entertained. I think the only thing that could be improved was the entertainment.

On a few occasions, the shows were good. But a lot of it depended on audience participation. O.K. if you like that sort of thing. But it was very dated.

Would I visit this hotel again? Without a doubt. I have already booked to go back to this hotel next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jenkins Family
10 years 1 month ago
Just arrived back from our two week stay at Iberostar Tucan.
Absolutely first class.
It is a wonderful hotel.

The quality of the food is unbelievable in our opinion. The buffets are always fresh and top quality, so much variety that I dare anybody to comment out saying that there was nothing they liked!
The five themed (bookable) restaurants are excellent and the food, again, first class.

All of the staff, throughout the hotel, bars, restaurants, pool areas plus the Star Entertainment team members could not do enough for you. Very friendly and helpful.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody and would definitely wish to return at some time in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: