18 independent reviews of the Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero, No.2 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Location
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Playa del Carmen


5/5
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Iberostar Tucan Hotel is rated 4.78 out of 5 from 18 Reviews
100% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (18 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 5 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 5 stars

Iberostar Tucan Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Family holiday - Just perfect!"
Lydia Houghton had a holiday at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen, Mexico in December 2012
We travelled as a family. Staff made us feel very welcome with refreshing iced drinks.

The kids loved the jungle setting and spotting all the wildlife. The room was a fairly good size although pretty basic but the kids loved sitting on the balcony among the jungle treetops and watching the parrots and monkeys.

The hotel lobby and grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The buffet was so good that we didn't feel the need to try all the restaurants. The entertainment team were great and the pool was huge.
It really was fabulous.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"An excellent resort"
Phil Masters visited the Iberostar Tucan Hotel in February 2011
The Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal is an excellent hotel with staff that really do work very hard to please you.

Check in was very quick even though it was nearly midnight, due to a 6 hour flight delay from Manchester. Taken to our room on a golf cart with our luggage.

Room was a junior suite with sea view, cleanliness was excellent with a basket of fruit and flowers on arrival. The room maid worked hard to clean and present us with a different towel sculpture every day. (The russian doll was fantastic). If I had to pick a small thing, the table in the room, when moved only slightly, made a noise that came from hell, and people in other rooms like us heard the noise that would waken the dead. Felt pads on the legs would be a great advantage. You ...
would understand why I had said this if you go.

Beach and drink service excellent, 20-30 peso/day tip guaranteed you as many drinks as you like brought to your sunbed; the waitress was so hard working and so pleasant with it. Sun shades plentiful, weather fantastic, what more do you want.

Walking around the hotel gardens is a true safari of animals although had to wait to the last day to see the monkeys.

A little disappointed at the buffet meals at times in the evening but breakfast and lunch very good. Sit there and watch the Koi Carp, Swans and Egret in as much as possible a natural environment. Only used the specialist restaurants once (our choice)and had to book three days in advance, mainly due to people booking multiple evening meals at once. Steakhouse very good with excellent waiters who made you feel at home.

Trip out to Chichen Itza good but thwart with people asking for tips for the waiters, tips for the dancers, tips for the washroom and the inevitable tips for the drivers.

Walked to Playa del Carmen, very hot but good banter with the shopkeepers, none of which I found annoying.

Overall a good holiday well worth the money, despite the long flight there. Yes, if I went back to Mexico would stay there again, not that we go anywhere twice.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Bev & Nigel visited the Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen, Mexico in October 2007
This is our third Iberostar holiday having stayed at IB Hacienda Domiuncus in 2005 and IB Bahia Del Forte (Brazil) 2006. We stayed at the IB Tucan 29/09 - 13/10/2007

Pros
Excellent service in Tucan lobby bar. Cleanliness of all public areas was excellent. Good beach drinks service on the beach both waitress and self service.

Great bar service at the Disco. Plenty of shade available at beach and pool. Beach sandy and clean, sea blue and not too cold - dependant on weather it is either calm or a tad more interesting!

Pool very warm sometimes too hot. Jungle and gardens were excellent - clean tidy and interesting. Daytime activities well organised and no pressure to join in
Steakhouse and Japanese al a carte worth a visit.

Swim up bar is isolated but adults only. ...
Towels and sheets changed everyday. Towel art. Plenty to do outside complex.

Cons
Rooms had very poor storage (no draws). Beds were hard but have experience worse in Goa.
Bathroom although very clean needed an update and refurbishment.

Buffet selection although mainly good, some nights limited selection especially if you ate after 20.00 hrs.

Poll/beach bar lacked atmosphere and character
Not 5 star in comparison to other Caribbean 5 star hotels.

Taking all the above into account my biggest disappointment was the weather (although I do not blame the hotel for that). Expected showers and some rain however the level of rain experienced during the 2nd week was more than I have experienced in Wales in October!!

Trips
Chitchen Itsa - beautiful site and ruins, shame about the return coach trip (3 hours) left hotel at 7.50 returned 20.30 a long time in the coach and a tiring day, however I wouldn\'t have missed it

Captain Hook - boat trip from Cancun
Excellent fun, worth the $80, food great and bar service excellent
Great fun and suitable for all ages. Don\'t go along unless you want a fun evening and a laugh

Final comments
Excellent company - hello to
James and Laura, Trevor and Rose, Ted and Joy.
Thank you for adding to our holiday - we had a ball!!

If you are looking for an all inclusive complex near 5th Avenue with lots of shops, restaurants and bars which caters for all age groups try the Tucan.

However if you are looking for better food, a little bit of luxury and a smaller hotel don\'t consider the Tucan

Compared to the other 2 IB hotels I found the Tucan expensive and more basic, however the location was superb

Please feel free to ask any questions and if you have already booked you could do a lot worse than the Tucan. Would I return? To Playacar without a doubt to the Tucan the jury is still out and I would need to get it at a cheaper price

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Bates visited the Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen, Mexico in September 2007
We have just got back from the Tucan and I want to go straight back. We were a party of 10 with a mix of ages and everyone loved it.

I didnt like the airport experience as soon as we arrived we had people trying to take our bags.We tried to say we would take them ourselves but they walk off with them anyway which is a bit worrying and then they ask for a tip.

The hotel and grounds are stunning. We stayed in block 11 which was near the pool and beach and had lovely views.The only down side is that the hotel opposite has just started renovating so it can be quite noisey first thing and the balcony gets really dusty.We had towel art left on the bed every day by the cleaner.

The pool is huge and there is ...
a really nice swim up pool bar which was nice and far cooler than the main pool. The hotel is literally in the middle of a jungle.There are some lovely walks between blocks and the reception area where you will see wild monkeys, peacocks, iguanas and lots of other animals.

The food was good.The buffet restaurant was ok but did get a bit samey after a while.They have themed restaurants which you have to book up asap.We went to the japanese and steak house twice which were really good and we tried the mexican and italian which we didnt enjoy so much.

There a few shops in playacar just a few minutes walk away but we found it better to get a taxi into playa del carmen where there are loads of shops and you can haggle.The bell boys at reception will get you a taxi within minutes.

There are lots of trips on offer and we went to the Coba pyramid and Mayan village which was a brilliant experience.The women really appreciated the soaps from out of the hotel bathroom which we took and sweets for the kids.Its not so good if you have asthma as the humidity in the jungle can cause problems.

Hotel staff were brilliant especially the star friends team.Some of the evening shows were really good especially the Hollywood show.

We would definately go back to this hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jayne & Steven Smith stayed at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen in July 2007
Absolutely fantastic. What more could be said.
This was the most perfect holiday we have ever been on.

We have only been back a week and are already looking at going there for Christmas this year.

The rooms, grounds, public areas were kept spotlessly clean.
The food whether in the buffet restaurants or the a la carte was top class.
The staff were helpful, courteous, always smiling and willing to do anything you asked.
The entertainment was suitable for all ages

We could not fault anything.

Hasta La Vista.

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

carroll had a holiday at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen, Mexico in May 2007
We stayed at the Iberostar Tucan the first 2 weeks of May.

The first impression of the Hotel was how nice it looked, and how clean. Victor, our room attendent made towel art everyday. Our fridge was stocked up every day with water, soft drinks, and bottled beer.

We were lucky that we had a beach front room which was fantastic. the hotel is made up of 2 identicle hotels, which you can use either. The jungle going through the middle of the hotels is fantastic, monkeys, flamingos, peacocks,parrots, and another little animal that I have no idea what you call, along with others that I have not mentioned.

The food in the 2 buffet areas was really nice with loads of choice, the waiters will keep bringing you wine, tea, coffee, juice, anything you want. The only reason I ...
gave the food a 4 is because sometimes birds will fly through the area because it only has a roof, and they will sit at tables which have been left untill they have got a few crumbs. This did not bother me at all, but i could see it might bother others. Not once did i see a bird go to a table where someone was seated.

The 5 a-la-cartes, Mexican, fish, steakhouse, Italian,and Japaneese were all fantastic, but we enjoyed the Italian and the steakhouse the best. The onion rings in the steakhouse was something else. You book these as soon as you can as they get booked up quickly. The location of the hotel was fantastic. You could walk to the shopping area of Playacar 7 mins away, but you could not get drinks or food here. Playa-del-Carmen was a 30 min walk on a nice flat road, through a residential area and past the entrances to the other hotels, or you can take a taxi from the hotel for 5 dollars. Here you can take the ferry over to Cozamel, take a direct bus to Cancun which is 50 mins away and cost 3 dollars each.

There are loads of shops and bars in Playa-del Carmen to keep anyone entertained if you want a few hours away from the hotel. There is a nightclub on site and both hotel lobbys have a bar, where you can go to the bar or have waiter service, you can also get popcorn with your drinks.

The main entertainment was the usual childrens disco, games, dancing, singing audience participation if you wanted it etc etc. It was anything you wanted it to be for all ages families and couples.

The hotel staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. They do not expect tips, but we did give tips, on the beach waiters were coming round taking our orders and bringing our drinks, they really do go beyond the call of duty.

This hotel and its location was fantastic in my opinion, but you will have to go to find out for your self.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

vasey stayed at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen, Mexico in April 2007
We stayed at the Tucan/quetzal between 20.04.07 and 30.04.07, the hotels were at approx. 85% capacity and never felt crowded, there was always plenty of room, whether in and around the pool or in the restaurants.

The food was plentiful and varied, the only negative was that the buffet food was often barely warm.

The staff were always cleaning wherever we went and always had a cheery Ola! for everyone, the entertainment staff were good and not in your face to join in all the time.

The location was good, a 5 minute walk from the small plaza of Playacar where there were a few shops to browse of an evening, it was also where you went to get the coaches for trips to tulum and chitchen itza etc.

We both ended up with an upset tum in the last few days ...
but were told by a few people that there was a nasty bug going round, not just our hotel either, it was unpleasant but not debilitating.

All in all a unique hotel with various wildlife including the very noisy peacocks and monkeys, the only creatures I felt sorry for were a pair of large Galapagos tortoise, they were confined to a small concrete pen whereas the other animals were free to roam about the grounds, as the tortoises are so long lived I did feel the enclosure was not suitable for them.

The a la carte eateries we tried were the Italian - very good, the steak house - not so good, and the Japanese - which was by far the best, for both food and entertainment value.

The rooms were lovely, large with good air con, nice balconies and a powerful shower with plenty of hot water, the only downside was an occasional overpowering smell from some of the drains as you walked around the complex.

It is a lovely complex with enough to keep everyone happy, there were families of all ages there, and it seems a popular choice for weddings, probably because of the jungle setting.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Parkins stayed at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen, Mexico in January 2007
We travelled with First choice and stood in the line at Gatwick north for 1hr 20min, never again.

Hotel was spotless, room was good but no drawers for clothes only shelves which we thought odd!, all rooms are the same apparently. We stayed 2 weeks so kept underwear etc in suit cases. Room had a safe and mini bar, no charge. Hairdryer and a large shower in bathroom.

The grounds of the hotel can only be described as a wild life sanctury, it\'s hard to descibe but there were a troop of monkeys, flemingo\'s and other variaty of wild life.

Food was excellent, they even fried my tomatoes at breakfast when I asked. We tried all the a\'la carte restaurants, they were all good, the one we liked most was the Italian, the service in all restaurants outstanding and all of the ...
staff through out the whole of the hotel were a credit.

The bars all had waiter service and the service was good, there were plenty of waiters, drinks were flowing, refills were offered before glasses were empty. The entertainment was as good as you\'ll get anywhere, day or night.

We will visit this hotel again, it was value for money and outstanding service!

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Mal stayed at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen in August 2006
Wow! what a hotel. The hotel itself, is kept spotlessly clean, as is the grounds. It was wonderful to walk through the grounds, day or night, not knowing what you would see. To be surrounded by the waterfalls, gullies full with fish, lakes with flamingos, monkeys and other animals, was fantastic.

The rooms were lovely as was the towel sculptures that were left every day, always decorated with fresh flowers and petals sprinkled on the bed along with chocolates. (To think I went to Leysdown for my honeymoon. But I am making up for it now!) I could go on and on but now onto the food.... Yes, this was too, great.

Extensive choice from the buffet restaurants - but the a la carte steak and Italian was fantastic. We liked these so much we never got the ...
chance to visit the others. From breakfast to the late night snacks, there was something for everyone. The chefs catered for every need. Waiters needed a bit of a\'nudge\' in the buffet restaurants, but in the a la carte they were there for you from the minute you walked in.

All of the staff were extremely friendly and made you feel so welcome. Francesca in the lobby bar was simply lovely - she worked So hard and definitely kept us entertained. I think the only thing that could be improved was the entertainment.

On a few occasions, the shows were good. But a lot of it depended on audience participation. O.K. if you like that sort of thing. But it was very dated.

Would I visit this hotel again? Without a doubt. I have already booked to go back to this hotel next year.

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jenkins family visited the Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen, Mexico in July 2006
Just arrived back from our two week stay at Iberostar Tucan.
Absolutely first class.
It is a wonderful hotel.

The quality of the food is unbelievable in our opinion. The buffets are always fresh and top quality, so much variety that I dare anybody to comment out saying that there was nothing they liked!
The five themed (bookable) restaurants are excellent and the food, again, first class.

All of the staff, throughout the hotel, bars, restaurants, pool areas plus the Star Entertainment team members could not do enough for you. Very friendly and helpful.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody and would definitely wish to return at some time in the future.

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jocelyn stayed at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen, Mexico in July 2006
If you are a fan of all inclusive holidays you will love this place.

Personally I don\'t like all inclusive resorts we only booked this to fit in with those we were travelling with but we still had a great time.

Hotel grounds are beautifully kept, super hotel itself with spacious grounds. Buffet food is fine not the best you have ever eaten but good with plenty of choice and well presented.

Rooms are comfortable and spacious with great AC
Beach busy but lovely fine white sand. Never enough umbrellas unless you want to get up early.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of entertainment to keep the kids and adults happy during your visit.

All in all for this type of holiday a great place to stay.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

The Owen Family visited the Iberostar Tucan Hotel in June 2006
We stayed in the Iberostar Tucan for two weeks in June.

It was truly the most wonderful holiday of our lives. The food was fab, the rooms were fab, the grounds were fab, the beach was fab (you get the general idea now???)

The rooms were totally spotless and were cleaned every single day - we would send someone up to the rooms every afternoon to see what towel sculpture the maid (a man - yes they do clean!!!!) had left for us, our daughter was SO excited to see where they had left her teddy every day too, he was usually tucked up in bed or with said towel scultpure and sometimes rose petals too.

The real praise however must be for the staff. We have been on hols before and praised staff for friendliness etc but these people really are the ...
best. They work hideous hours, they ALWAYS have a smile and a hug for you. Our favourite was Angelo, he had a six pack to die for ladies plus the most warm and wonderful personality you could ever wish for. We celebrated a birthday whilst there and they made such a fuss it was lovely.

We have been back now for 7 weeks and we are counting the days - usually you count the days till you go away, we have been counting the days that we\'ve missed out on that wonderful place. We will be back in 2008 for our tenth wedding anniversary because there is nowhere in the world we would rather be.

Dont think about booking this hotel for your holiday -JUST DO IT

We hope you fall in love with this place as much as we did.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

The Joneses had a holiday at Iberostar Tucan Hotel in March 2006
We just got home and I can truthfully say that this is the only holiday that we\'ve been on when we didn\'t want to come home.

We wanted a holiday that would give us the best of both worlds, interesting excursions plus plenty of chill out time and this fitted the bill perfectly.

This has to be the best all inclusive we\'ve had.In two weeks we had 6 reservations for the a la cartes, the Italian and Japanese being our favourites. I know some people don\'t like A.I because they like to try other places to eat, and I think having the a la cartes addresses that isssue with the added bonus of it costing no extra. However I have to say the buffets whether it be breakfast, lunch and tea were also good- lots of choice, good quality and well cooked. ...
Even the ice cream cones by the pool were the nice quality waffle cones with a choice of 6 flavours of soft scoop.
Cocktails could be had from 10am and for those who like their premium brands they were available too. Even the mini bar contained proper branded coke and sprite etc.

The hotel was amazingly kept- they were always maintaining something even though nothing looked like it needed doing!! There was even one guy who just went round the pool clearing rubbish even down to little bits of twig!!

I thought the location of the hotel was perfect. It\'s in Playacar which is a bit of a residential/hotel zone and there are numerous other big hotels there which means that you aren\'t too isolated. On the transfer we passed some that looked to be miles from no-where, but here there was a little plaza of shops 5 minutes walk away and Playa del carmen was a few minutes by Taxi($5) We only did Playa once as it takes \'looky looky\' to a whole new dimension, but the bartering was fun. For the most part bartering is expected and I don\'t think we paid the asking price for much. I think you have to view it a bit like Ebay, decide what you are prepared to pay and stick to it!!

The staff were wonderful and work so hard. We tried to tip where possible,although it certainly isn\'t expected and on the bar service you had to be quick if you wanted to because they don\'t hang around. The star friends entertainment team were brilliant, they worked a long day and were always so good humoured. The kids club staff were great- they would take them from 10:15 right through until 4:30. Our girls loved it, they even had them doing productions of Cats and Grease- just wonderful!

I think what made this hotel for us as much as anything was the grounds-the animals roamimg around were such a novelty.Numerous types of birds-Peacocks who stood on the path in front of you, Monkeys swinging in the trees, big hamster things, iguanas etc etc. It really was a stunning place.

I could go on and on, but if anyone has any specific questions please get in touch. We will go back one day that\'s for sure and for anyone who\'s thinking about going you won\'t be disappointed.

Pam

Read More

Tour Operator: Eclipse

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Happy Honeymooner stayed at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen, Mexico in February 2006
What a fantastic place to honeymoon!!!!

Hotel & rooms are being cleaned all the time. Lad who cleaned the pool area never stopped!

Food was to die for! We ate in the japanese 3 times its was sooo good. We loved the buffet - excellent choice - you must have the fajitas! Think all my holiday weight gain was down to them! Really big variety of food in the buffet - lunch at the beach/pool area was a little samey - burgers, pizza, wedges everyday.

Hotel staff very pleasant - all very friendly.
Entertainment was a little bit repetitive & not that great but by the time we had a meal & a few drinks we were ready for bed - we were on honeymoon!!!!

Tour Operator: My Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Fusspot visited the Iberostar Tucan Hotel in July 2005
Just returned from a 2 week (12 July - 26th July) stay in the Tucan - stay.

Great food, staff, facilities, scenery and wildlife. Only downside were the mosquitos - despite using lots of mosquito repellant and Hurricane Emily.

Hurricane Emily struck on the last day of our holiday. Hurricane Emily was a category 4, we were evacuated from our rooms and spent 17 hours with another family in a room near the lobby.

The staff were fantastic reassuring some guests who were really scared and they stayed in contact with guests during the hurricane - ringing the guests evacuated to rooms during the hurricane advising them to move into the bathrooms for 3 hours incase windows smashed etc. when I am sure alot of the staff must have been worried about their own homes and family.

The next morning ...
the place had been devastated. There were palm trees down everywhere, the beach and beach huts had gone and were now in the pool. The theatre had been totally destroyed as the palapa roof had gone, the seating area was completely flooded.

All the rooms from building 15 onwards were flooded including ours which was on the 3rd floor! All the monkeys had disappeared and I don\'t think that they will be back for a while as their trees and food supply has gone.

It was very upsetting. The staff were amazing working around the clock, the main buffet restaurant was up and running by 10am and by Monday the beach and all the speciality restaurants including the beachfront restaurants were up and running.

The childrens pool and activity pool were also open and by Saturday (6 days after Emily) the main pool had been cleared, cleaned and was open!

The 5 speciality restaurants are Italian, Mexican, Tropical, Steak House, Japanese. We tried the Italian which was great, Steak House - so, so and Japanese which was good. Apparently the Mexican and Tropical are also very good. The two buffet restaurants are excellent.

Hotel rooms are spacious and clean. Maid service is excellent - towels are changed every day and the mini bar is topped up everyday. We always left a US$2 tip everyday for the maid as a thankyou.

Drinks are in plentiful supply as are ice creams etc. by the pool and beach. The drink waitresses are execellent - made me feel very lazy!

Activities are good - you get 1 free hour everyday on non-motorised watersports such as canoeing etc.

The Star Team are great both with the adults and children. There is also stall by the pool/beach where you can choose ceramic ornaments/pots to paint from US $20 which they then polish up for you to collect the next day. They looked lovely.

The Star Team evening entertainment is of a good standard - they practise hard every day. The disco is good as well.
Twice a week (friday and Sunday nights) they usually have market stalls set up by the Tucan Buffet restaurant - look out for the man doing pictures using paint spray-cans - he is really good and they are great value US $20.

I ordered 2 of Chichen Itza which I was going to pay and collect on the Sunday night but thanks to Hurricane Emily he couldn\'t come and was unable to come back before we left!

I will definitely return to the Tucan again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Eclipse/First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Staceylc had a holiday at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen in September 2004
Our room was very spacious and comfortable. We even slept with the air conditioning on, it was so quiet!!

All rooms have a mini bar with soft drinks, water & beer and you can get room service, although we didn\'t use it.

We usually return from holiday craving certain foods but this year I couldn\'t have asked for more. The food was delicious and waiting staff were vey friendly.

The beach was beautiful but a little bit busy for my liking. And the entertainment, well, we\'re not usually into the usual shows etc. but they went all out to make sure everyone was entertained. They had live bands and professional dancers. Highly ammusing team.

We\'re going back in May 2006 to get married in this hotel.

Tour Operator: Eclipse

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

lin donald had a holiday at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen, Mexico in August 2004
food was varied and plentiful. a la carte restaurants we visited were the steak house \'la marimba\' and the italian restaurant. bech buffet was extremely good. the fussiest of eaters are well catered for here, adult or child. late breakfast advertised as \'continental\'!!! was provided for late risers. we found this very amusing, as there was as much food and variation here as at any other time of the day.

all the staff were very friendly and made a big fuss of the children. the majority of staff spoke english and the language barrier was not a problem. all areas of the hotel were immaculately kept, with no litter seen anywhere. staff were always smartly dressed and the chefs were no exception, i had more food on my lap than anyone!!

we enjoyed the location of the hotel, as it ...
was in a quieter area. although tis does not mean that you were board, nor does it mean you were in the middle of nowhere. the hotel was low rise at three stories, and rooms were spotlessly clean. maid service each day was a treat in itself. clean sheets every day and a little added extra of chocolates on your pillow, a towel folded into a swan or fan shape, petals on the bed and even our daughter\'s special teddy was tucked in bed when we arrived back each day to our room. we could not fault any of the hotel staff from our arrival to our departure. this included everyone from staff at reception, cleaners, gardeners, entertainment staff, maintenance, maids, room service {which is also included in the price of your holiday}, everyone we met was unbelievably friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

another bonus was the mini bar in the room which was stocked with local beer, water and soft drinks and was refilled every other day, all free of charge. welcoming when you are thirsty and you want to rest in your room for a while.

the entertainment was based on a two week rota, which meant you weren\'t seeing the same things night after night. children\'s entertainment always finished with the \'club dance\', which was just as popular with the adults!!!!! adults entertainment followed this, but did not contain anything that was inappropriate for children. the \'star friends\' who provide the entertainment worked harder than you would believe, but they helped to make our holiday truly memorable.

would we visit this hotel again?.....most definately.

p.s. don\'t want to spoil the surprise, but the jungle path that leads from the hotel to the pool is very interesting. plenty of wild animals cross your path but it is completely safe, providing you pay attention to where you are going and not at what is going on above you???!!!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: direct holidays/my travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Will Gaskell visited the Iberostar Tucan Hotel, Playa del Carmen in August 2004
We are seasoned travellers to the Caribbean and always All Inclusive. The Iberostar Tucan was just excellent in all categories. We already regard Iberostar as masters of their trade but this time they have excelled even their high standards.

The food was just phenomenal in choice and quality. It could not be faulted in any way and if you get the chance to walk round their kitchens - take it - it is like a computer controlled environment where hygiene and cleanliness rule. No holiday tummies for us this year!

The rooms are large and airy with all the comforts you would expect of Iberostar. Room service is also excellent with plenty of choice available.

The staff - well they are Mexican and Iberostar trained - just see for yourself what an excellent mix that is.

The entertainment is gala type shows and themed ...
nights. We do not go for that as a family but each to their own. Our two boys enjoyed it and the disco afterwards especially with all the American girls that were there in droves.

The huge grounds are fantastic with spectacular landscaping and views. Again this is Iberostar\'s speciality and once again they have not let us down.

This was certainly one of the best holidays we have had and would not hesitate recommending it to anyone.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share