Image of Riviera Maya

Riviera Maya Holidays

4 out of 5 from 22 reviews

Hotels in Riviera Maya, Mexico

Image of Azul Beach Hotel, by Karisma
2 of 9 hotels in Riviera Maya
1 Review
Image of Barcelo Maya Beach Hotel
7 of 9 hotels in Riviera Maya
1 Review
Image of Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort Hotel
4 of 9 hotels in Riviera Maya
all the rooms are clean well maintained.we stayed in an upgraded suit,and it was superb,fridge filled every day,you have your own plunge pool 2 televisions biggest bathroom ive ever seen.we tried all restaurants except the suishe.the shows are so good.
The steakhouse restaurant is a must for a delicious meal.
15 Reviews
Image of Catalonia Royal Tulum
7 of 9 hotels in Riviera Maya
Ask for a room on the top floor as these get the sun & are handy for drying things on your balcony
1 Review
Image of El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma
5 of 9 hotels in Riviera Maya
You can get your concierge to book ALL the restaurants in advance -we only found out when back in the UK.
Book somewhere else
13 Reviews
Image of Grand Riviera Maya Princess Hotel
3 of 9 hotels in Riviera Maya
4 Reviews
Image of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa
6 of 9 hotels in Riviera Maya
2 Reviews
Image of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
1 of 9 hotels in Riviera Maya
2 Reviews
Image of Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel
7 of 9 hotels in Riviera Maya
1 Review

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Kerry Glover
5 years 8 months ago
Riviera Maya is amazing. Much quieter than cancun ( we'e visited both several times.
for nightlife outside of resort stick to cancun. for families, riviera maya is more up market and quieter.
not a lot to do outside of resort for us - hence why we select a hotel with everything included, but for older children or couples there is lots of local activitys including xcaret, dolphin trips etc.
my partner likes to escape the family for a day on a sea fishing trip which he looks forward to from the day we book the holiday.
shopping isnt great - cancun is far better.
cancun airport has been massively improved, far more shops & eateries including TGI Fridays, bubba gumps.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Liz
6 years 2 months ago
We visited Playa Del Carmen which is one of the nearest resorts to the el Dorado Royale.
The resort was clean and there were plenty of bars, cafes, shops and resturants that were open until after 10pm.
One thing to be careful of is getting short changed in the shops and more specifically the restaurants though, as if you pay in US dollars they will give you change in Mexican Pesos and often try and short change you.
We used the free shuttle bus from the hotel to go to Playa however you can get taxis there at your own leisure.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Elaine Ashworth
6 years 2 months ago
The hotel was absolutely spotless clean, with great entertainment, food and a lovely beach so clean amazing sunbeds and service on the beach first class. We would definitely return to this amazing hotel, first class everything, if you want total luxury stay at this all inclusive adult only hotel. The location was supurb and amazing food, and service.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Alison
6 years 9 months ago
The resort where the hotel is situated is very quiet. there are beach walks for through the day (beware of nudist beach) but unless you get a taxi into Cancun you only have the hotel entertainment at night which is OK. The young ones used to double up and get a taxi into Cancun for the Discos etc and they had no complaints as they could chill through the day around the pool.

The beach at the resort was poor but I have heard that Cancun itself was just as bad due to storms taking the sand away. Due to the winds etc there were some days where the sea was full of seawead. I normally dont go to pools at hotels and much prefer the sea but on this occasion it didnt bother me in the least.

Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Sue & Chris
7 years ago
Did not see much of cancun as the hotel was secluded as most of them are. Went on a few trips which were really good. Xelha which is a lake which has a lazy river going through mango groves and snorkelling and various other activities. Jungle tour which is jet skis and snorkelling in the sea. A must is to go to Coco Bongos nightclub it has the most amazing shows in it never seen anything like it.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Sarah
8 years ago
Only complaint about beach, was rubbish and being used as an ashtray.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Tracey And Dave
8 years 2 months ago
The resort was spotless..nothing out of place..
The entertainment was good, quite a laugh most nights..
The beach was damaged a few years ago withthe hurricane, so if you want golden sands then this is not the place to be.But there are lots of places to sunbathe, just there are some ugly parts of the beach as well. We lived on the beach every single day! that was were the breeze was..
We met some lovely people..
Hi to Hannah, Graham, Stewart and Steph..all good fun!!
Wish we were still there, on the Harvey Wallbangers again..well just have to dream!
Would reccommend this place to anyone wanting a fab romantic, relaxing resort..
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Lucy Kirk
8 years 3 months ago
We didn't reall venture outside of the hotel much as we were on an AI basis so the marks that I have given are just a very rough guide really. The beach in this area has been damaged by hurricanes and in our hotel anyway there were huge sandbags to stop the waves. The sea tended to be quite rough but the beach is very well tended and people are working hard to get the beach back to how it used to be.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Mr & Mrs Clayton
8 years 6 months ago
only one word can say how good this resort was
FANTASTIC no complaints .
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Gary And Debbie
8 years 9 months ago
We were not made aware of how remote the resort was. Taxi's were $34 each way to Cancun.

We were not told how rare the shuttle service was - we were not told that it could be days to get a booking - and we were not told that there was a stand-by arrangement which meant that we could always get on the shuttle.

Entertainment was of a very low standard during much of the evenings
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma
El Dorado Seaside Suites, by Karisma
Riviera Maya, Mexico
Cold Pools and Poor beaches
Image of Catalonia Royal Tulum
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Riviera Maya, Mexico
Lovely adults only hotel
Image of Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort Hotel
Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort Hotel
Riviera Maya, Mexico
Fantastic holiday
Image of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel & Spa
Riviera Maya, Mexico
The best place I've ever stayed
Image of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Riviera Maya, Mexico
My husband and I stayed at the Iberostar Grand Par…
Image of Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel
Riviera Maya, Mexico
Having booked Ocean Coral way back in November for…
Image of Grand Riviera Maya Princess Hotel
Grand Riviera Maya Princess Hotel
Riviera Maya, Mexico
The hotel was the best one we have ever stayed in.…
Other popular destinations
Image of Cancun
Cancun
Yucatan Peninsula
Image of Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen
Yucatan Peninsula
Image of Playacar
Playacar
Yucatan Peninsula
Image of Cozumel
Cozumel
Yucatan Peninsula
Image of Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta
Pacific Coast
Image of Puerto Morelos
Puerto Morelos
Yucatan Peninsula
Image of Huatulco
Huatulco
Pacific Coast