12 independent reviews of the Royal Atlas Hotel
Address: Agadir, Morocco
Royal Atlas Hotel
Royal Atlas Hotel Location
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Agadir


3/5
Royal Atlas Hotel Royal Atlas Hotel is rated 3.33 out of 5 from 12 Reviews
42% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (12 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 4 stars

Royal Atlas Hotel Reviews

3/5
3
"Not a Thomson Platinum hotel as advertised!"
Marchant visited the Royal Atlas Hotel, Agadir, Morocco in September 2010
We stayed in the Royal Atlas on all inclusive basis from 13/9/10 to 27/10/10. My wife got a very bad stomach from day 5 onwards, had to get some antibiotics from the pharmacy, birds were allowed to fly freely in the restaurant, adding I am sure to the stomach problems we encountered along with a great number of other couples.

The bar at the poolside ran out of water, alcohol and soft drinks on a regular basis. Restaurant staff were always arguing with each other sometimes quite loudly and bar staff were the same but seemed more friendly.

This is supposed to be a Thomson Platinum Hotel four star plus we would strongly disagree, 3 star possibly. We won't be returning.


Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Reynolds stayed at Royal Atlas Hotel, Agadir, Morocco in August 2009
Great hotel, food outstanding, staff friendly everything about this hotel is 5 * but would not recommend you go their with children, as there is almost nothing for them to do. The hotel staff are not tolerant to children. This is very much an adult hotel and would be best placed as a Thompson Gold.

The play area for children is poor and the evening adult was not suitable for children, would go back to this hotel, but not with children. it is very much a couples hotel,
The food in the hotel although great is not suilable for children and if you stay here be prepared to walk into the town to feed them

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3
"Food and service was a big issue!"
copley stayed at Royal Atlas Hotel in August 2009
The hotel was spotless and in an absolutely gorgeous location. For our family the main problem was the food. It looked fabulous, but was always tepid at best. We were very wary of eating it, many other families we met ended up with stomach upsets, and so we often ended up playing it safe by eating bread and chips (not my idea of a meal) or eating across the road at a pub.

Booking into the on site restaurants was also a problem, as although they were empty, we were told they were fully booked. We eventually got a table at the Italian by photographing it after being told it was full with 3 people in it. The other problem was service. The staff didn't seem to get that all inclusive meant that we had already paid, and so we ...
were often ignored at the bars, even when empty, and paying guests were always served first.

The pool was lovely, no problems getting sun loungers, and very peaceful. Security guards on the gate day and night made you feel very safe. My teenage daughter made many friends and we really enjoyed our holiday, apart from the food issues, which became more of an issue the longer we were there, not to mention an added expense. The rep tried and tried but his conversations with staff just went ignored.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

William had a holiday at Royal Atlas Hotel in November 2008
Hotel Royal Atlas Agadir is a most impressive hotel and well deserves its 5 star rating. We stayed on 3rd floor with side sea view and balcony. The room was very well equipt and room service was excellent. Even a bowl of fresh roses on the table.All food was buffet in the main restaurant with 2 optional a la carte meals Italian and Morocco at no extra charge.Eat till you drop!Please read the brochure and believe what you read !! Pools were immaculate and plenty of seating for sunbathing.All day free refreshment available. We could ask for no more.


Tour Operator: First Choiuce

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Wright visited the Royal Atlas Hotel, Agadir, Morocco in November 2008
We went to The Royal Atlas on recommendation from friends that had been the previous year and were returning. The room we had overlooked the beach and was spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were fantastic and our children were treated like royalty. The food was delicious but if you aren\'t open minded then go somewhere else. All the food was freshly cooked and piping hot and the desserts were gorgeous. The waiters in the restaurant were brilliant and kept the kids entertained whilst we went back for seconds!! The cleanliness of the hotel is to the highest standard and the pools were cleaned morning and night. Fresh towels and bed linen everyday brought by polite and friendly staff. There are plenty of sun loungers for everyone and even more on their private beach. Be patient though because they are ...
very laid back and don\'t rush around, clicking fingers to get their attention is perceived as rude and you will be ignored!!. The entertainment was okay but didn\'t usually start until 9.30pm and was aimed at adults rather than the children. The children played in the mini club which is situated near the beach front and they had a great time learning Arabic and French, although there isn\'t a lot to do for the children in the evening in the hotel we usually took them for a walk down the promenade. The hotel is situated across the promenade from the beach and 5 minutes walk to restaurant, bars, souks and shops which didn\'t help our wallets!! A perfect holiday for the full family and am already hoping to book for 2009.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

julie visited the Royal Atlas Hotel in October 2008
after reading various reports from other holiday makers i was nervous on just what to expect.the hotel was beautiful and very clean.the room was spacious and had great air conditioning,we had both a view of the pool and the beach.beds were very comforable and we never heard a thing through the night.the rooms were cleaned daily with clean towels every day.food was very good despite having to listen to other brits moaning \"its too spicey\"(they should stay in the uk and go to Skegness) there was plenty to choose from.Pool was cleaned morning and evening and there were ample supplies of sunbeds.staff were great and had good sense of humour.the royal atlas was a great place to unwind and the decor amazing.although entertainment was a slight disappointment but we went for the peace and quiet.on a positive note i would not hesitate to return

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

jmayo had a holiday at Royal Atlas Hotel, Agadir in March 2008
the royal atlas had some teething problems within its first yeas but the hotel has taken on board these issues and we encountered no real problems.
the all inclusive status is a little confusing with staff having to deal with customers on all board basis with no distinction between them, proving difficult for staff and labourious for guests.
staff mostly very friendly and helpful
food brilliant but if you are cooked breakfast and chips with every meal types you should stay in benidorm, this is africa you know!!!
my children ate well and had chips on occasions and burgers made of minced beef not that mc c***!!
the hotel location is the best in agadir and its interior is very special, a wonderful treat.
the animation team(entertainment)had the best deal
volleyball once a day and nil else to speake of
the hotel would be spoilt if it had ...
all day/night entertainment but some clever thinkng needed by the team.
brill holiday will go back again
building work obvious on the sea front but where possible the men worked by hand in warm weather to reduce disruption but had lorries delivering at times which was noisy
It did not disturb my afternoon snoozes by the pool of laughter of my children or socialising with newly mad friends though!!
cannot wait for building work to complete it will be beautiful

Read More

Tour Operator: firstchoice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Price stayed at Royal Atlas Hotel, Agadir in August 2007
I have just returned and thought I would let you know my experiences. Firstly let me say that the hotel is beautiful and once everything is complete and up and running it will definitely warrant its five star rating on appearance and facilities (not on food or service though). My main problem along with other people was that we were informed all the facilities were complete which was quite clear it wasnt as there were workmen all over the place and the following was not ready:-
Spa partly opened on 7th Aug and still had lots of workmen down there as only the steam room and sauna was open.
Gym opened on 4th Aug but there was exposed wires and no air-conditioning.
Hairdressers was not open, not that I would have used it anyway.
Games Room was not open

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Sandra visited the Royal Atlas Hotel in August 2007
I have just returned from what was supposed to be my first time abroad with my children (only second time ever abroad). This was a special holiday!!
Once the hotel is finished it will be very nice.

Whilst I was there most people were very ill and had to stay in their rooms for some of their holiday, my daughter and I were one of them.
I returned home late Wednesday and todate my 12 year old son is still ill. We were very lucky as they were going to remove us from the plane home due to my son being so ill. I begged them not to leave us in Morocco.

Majority of the staff were very helpful, however there is still the culture out there with the older men that women are not to be treated with respect - especially English !!!
The ...
manager of the restuarant is one of these men and was rude to me and my children. I also observed say to another guest English and spat! This is not the sort of behaviour you expect.

On arriving at the hotel I had very smelly mouldy pillows in the Wardrobe and no bedding for my son. only 2 towels were in the room, I called to reception and they sent a maid up who just let herself into my room without knocking. The second time i had to call them up the next day my daughter who is 15 was just getting out of the shower putting a towel around her when a man let himself into our room - again no knocking.

Both of my children had several cuts to their feet and arms from the pool whereby the tiles had come loose.

At one point (which i have photos to) they were drilling above the pool bar during the day, Ladders were propped at the side of the bar and wires trailed around the entrance to the toilets whilst young children were going in and out. This is not acceptable.

There was no entertainment except for a man on the piano and lady singer although very good, lets be realistic - how many times can you listen to the Titanic song!!! every night becomes a joke.

Despite asking almost every day i had no tea and coffee in my room.
At one stage I had the Manager of the rooms scrubbing my bath due to the state it was in. Not usuable even after he wiped with a soft cloth. A good hard scrubbing cloth was needed - I have no idea what had been in it.

I was assured by First Choice that NO building work would be going on - being woken at 6.30 am every day on your holiday is totally unacceptable, JCB\'s every day doing the beach promanade was a complete joke.

Food well what can i say - I am glad McDonald\'s was down the end of the road. Besides everything being covered in cheese - majority of the time it was uncooked. I remember opening the breakfast plate one day with Pork that was still very red and uncooked. Not surprising everyone was ill.

For the first 4 days there was no Ice Cream in the Hotel, then when it did arrive they had the cheek to ask us to pay for it. Also the first few days of arriving the late lunch was Burger and Handful of chips. By Saturday they changed the menu and again said we would have to pay for this.
Waiting for at least 45 minutes for the chips to arrive - most days you were dished up with a plate of Crisps yes you read correct Crisps and tom sauce.
Do they really think we are stupid!!!

The list just keeps going.

I am lost for words of how upset and gutted I am that this holiday was completely ruined for my children and I. The kids are soo pleased to be home.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

jones stayed at Royal Atlas Hotel, Agadir in August 2007
We have just arrived back from the Royal Atlas and yes it has a few teething problems but it is a lovely hotel and we did have a pretty good second week. It is very clean but it is a new hotel.

The service is very slow but they are improving and the food was what you expect all inclusive but we did have several upset stomachs in our group.

Building works all along promenade and we overlooked sidewhere work was going on from 7am till late.

I think in a few months this hotel will really be an exceptional hotel but for us it will come to late.

We also had money stolen from our hotel room and wasn,t the only one,s.





Tour Operator: firstchoice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

tania had a holiday at Royal Atlas Hotel, Agadir, Morocco in August 2007
i have just come back from the royal atlas and i agree with most of the reviews given about it. i did however think it was a beautiful hotel and i had no problems with the food or cleanliness or noise due to builders. i thought the food was lovelly but there was not a lot of choice not catered to children atall. a few problems with the all inclusive package and the what we could have which was annoying.

the pool was really nice. no entertainment at night was really boring.

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

0/5
0

steven T had a holiday at Royal Atlas Hotel, Agadir, Morocco in June 2007
We Booked to go to this hotel at the end of June and due to some of the comments about it not being ready we went to the travel agent and confirmed it is not!!! They had already moved our accommodation without telling us I would advise other people that are unsure to do the same.

I would still love to go to this property when built though.

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Share