64 independent reviews of Kyrenia, North Cyprus
Kyrenia Location

3/5
Kyrenia is rated 3 out of 5 from 64 Reviews

Kyrenia Hotels

Kyrenia Reviews

4/5


L. Kennett visited here on July 2006
We stayed at Oscars which is only about 5 mins away from town centre. Kyrenia very nice harbour plenty to eat although charge you a lot more to eat by the harbour! Boat trips excellent value for money. We went on the Amanda Suzanne boat which was 20 pounds for 6 hours. There are nice beaches but you have to be able to drive to get to them!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

2/5


pat and george visited here on May 2006
We have given beach a low rating as Pia Bella is not near a beach. We did not visit a beach this tim e round as was quite happy in the hotel surroundings. The hotel entertainment is a b.b.q. once a week which we did not bother with this year. The walk as i mentioned in review is quite noisy with lots of traffic and also a bit dusty. They need to sort the walk down to the harbour. Kyrenia is a pretty harbour and worth exploring day and evening.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Donna James visited here on April 2006
Girne is having alot of regeneration and as a result the roads are being dug up, twice in some areas as they clearly forgot to put the drains in! The areas they have \'done-up\' are fab and some pedestrianised which makes live somewhat safer.

Shops are fab if you wanted to go shopping, alothough the bars and cafes were far more appealling and reasonably priced. Cheapest was a bar facing the square called the Window Cafe.

The beach was small, although the inlets were picturesque and often housed interesting restaurants which were very popular with the locals. We were recommended one by other guests of the hotel, it was a slog to get there through some local housing but well ...
worth it. (Peanuts)

With all resorts in towns the dumping of rubbish is unfortunate but you get used to it!

We visited most places using this hotel as a base and I can recommend Kantara and St Helarion Castles, scary roads but well worth it. They are high up in the Five Finger Mountains so choose your days to visit. Don\'t go in cloud, one you won\'t be able to see the fabulous views and 2 you won\'t be able to see where you are going on the roads. Wear walking boots, underfoot can be quite slippery.

We followed a Rough Guide and it was very accurate. Recommend a visit to the Tourist Information Office in Girne, west of the harbour in a stone building to collect some maps. Certainly not OS but a start!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Tony Adams visited here on March 2006
Kyrenia is getting bigger by the year, as house-hunters (mainly British) flock to the village, eager to snap up a bargain-priced villa or flat.

It is not the unspoiled paradise it was, given the amount of construction work going on, in and around its boundaries.

Where there are bulldozers, bricks and cement, there is dust - great clouds of the stuff swirl around you at times when a lorry thunders past.

But, despite those shortcoming, I am still a huge Kyrenia fan. There is so much history to unearth there, while the harbour area is simply stunning, whether you visit by day or night.

I understand there IS entertainment on offer for those who seek it beyond midnight, but I never did. Not ...
that I\'m a cocoa-and-slippers kind of guy. Some good company at a bar, along with a cold beer or brandy sour suits me just fine.

And if that lights your candle, too, then Kyrenia could be just the place to head for on holiday.

Given that I was there in March, none of the pay-as-you-go beach complexes had opened, hence my lowly mark of 1.
But I could see that Escape Beach was getting itself in shape for an Easter opening, and will no doubt again prove a huge attraction for visitors over the summer.

Kyrenia is still stuck in a bit of a time warp, however. Other Mediterranean resorts have a much tighter commercial grip on the 21st century and are flourishing as a result, but not this North Cyprus charmer.

Long may that continue!



Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

1/5


Keith Belson visited here on March 2006
If you want peace and quiet but also with the possibility to be within walking distance of town and nearby restaurants ( Archways is excellent)and bars then this is your choice star choice! St Hilarion is behind this hotel and there is a good path to ascend to this magnificent castle directly behind the hotel, if you are reasonably fit.

The hotel staff were extreemly friendly and helpful. There is an indoor heated pool as well as an excellent outdoor pool. The area surrounding the pool is green and luxurious with abundent birdsong.

Next time I visit Northern Cyprus I will definately stay at The Ship.

I stayed at the Bella Pais for the first week and although the hotel was fine the ...
Ship is far superior.

Hire car at exceelnt rates can be arranged by the reception for pickup at the hotel!

If you are due to visit Kyrenia ( Girne, pronounced Gear Nah ) do yourself a favour and stay at the Ship.

Also I recommend the Animal Rescue Center in Beshparmak. You are welcome to take the doggies for a spectacular walk around Five Finger Mountain. It\'s Fun!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


Elaine Key visited here on December 2005
Kyrenia is a fairly large town and with the villa developments springing up everywhere it can only get bigger. The harbour is very picturesque, with plenty of bars and restaurants and a walk around the castle is an interesting way to spend a morning. There didn\'t seem to be any decent beaches at all in the area, unless they were all situated in the grounds of the big hotel complexes on the outskirts of town, which we didn\'t visit.

Shopping seems to consist of either general souvenire-type shops or ones selling designer knock-offs. The prices of these seemed fairly reasonable for things like jeans and tops, but somewhat inflated for watches (25+)and handbags (40+) compared to what you ...
see in Asia, although the quality may have been slightly better.

On the whole, I\'d say that Kyrenia is a good place to visit off-season as an alternative to a city break. It makes a good base for exploring the rest of Northern Cyprus and car hire is very cheap. But the lack of beaches and proliferation of \"holiday village\" developments mean that I personally wouldn\'t go there for a summer holiday since I like to soak up the sun on a quiet beach during the day and enjoy local bars and restaurants in the evenings and I think that it would be necessary to have a car and do a fair bit of driving around for the whole holiday in order to do both, so not exactly a \"vegging out\" holiday. I enjoyed our week there and am glad we went, but having \"been there, done that\", I wouldn\'t be in any hurry to return.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Joan Farley visited here on September 2005
There are not many beaches around the Ship Inn. However, the receptionist told us of a beach that was attached to a private hotel called the L.A. We went there on the bus(they run every ten minutes) and we could hire beds, umbrellas for a small fee. It was a lovely place and we spent some considerable time there.If you hire a car you can probably find other beaches.
I don\'t think we would visit this resort again as we like beaches and you have to go out to find them but if we hired a car then we would certainly visit.
WE enjoyed visiting the castle and seeing the remains of the merchant ship dating 300b.c. That was a real privilege.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

1/5


Mr Ditchfield visited here on August 2005
Very poor around the man made beach, some steps to the rocks were not accessable as were unsafe and un-maintained.

Lots of interuptions by surveyors, who did not excuse themselves and made sunbathing uncomfortable for my wife, this continued over several days.

The drinks by the pool were expensive, a friend had purchased a can of pop from the mini bar in her room, taken it to the pool and was told by staff that she could not drink it their as she had not purchased it from the pool bar, staff informed her that it was more expensive and she must purchase from them.

My party included a young boy of 12 and he was forced to eat his sweets and crisps ...
out of his ruck sack.

We would not recommend this resout for a restful holiday, more like a concentration camp.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Andrea Warner visited here on August 2005
Kyrenia ia a lovely town, which is currently undergoing quite a lot of expansion. There is a lot of building work going on, but we still loved it. The harbour area is particularly picturesque with the imposing castle in the background. The castle is well worth a look. There are numerous restaurants both in the harbour area and in the town centre. We lparticularly liked the Loving Tree restaurant which overlooked the beach area. There is quite a lot of rubbish in places. I am not sure who is responsible for this, the tourists or the locals! There are also numerous shops, selling more than the usual tacky souvenirs. There are bargains to be had, particularly the jewellery. The people ...
are very friendly and the whole place has a wonderful atmosphere. The beaches either side of the town are very good, especially Turtle Beach which is a short drive away.
We would come back here again.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

1/5


Mr Roy visited here on August 2005
Kyrenia is a pretty harbour area with no beach but our initial reaction when we first saw the surroundings was negative. You get hassled by the restaurants to eat in theirs which rebounds on them because you can\'t read the menus so most people tended to visit the harbour once and then find places to eat to suit them. There was little entertainment on offer here but then it is an unsophisticted location though with the huge building programme for cheap villas and apartments I think things will change and not for the better. We would not visit again simply because we saw the main attractions by car and think TRNC will get ruined by tourism. Its charm for ...
us was that it was not crowded but an 8 hour power cut seems to be the shape of things to come and we felt that infrastructure wil not cope with demands from all the homes they hope to sell.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

5/5


Marie Henshaw visited here on August 2005
The resort was very clean the cleaners were out early every morning making sure everything was clean and ready for the day.

The beach is very good, clean and safe and a nice change from the swimming pool area which can be very busy especially at weekends when the public can visit.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Fay visited here on August 2005
Club Acapulco is 8 kms from a disappointing Kyrenia. Traffic jams by day. Restaurants in harbour were expensive - wine 15.00 per bottle, soft drinks 2.00, spirits/beer 2.25.

Local supermarket did not take visa and the restaurant we ate in although when we asked, confirmed they did accept visa, when it came to pay the bill they would not accept it - luckily we had cash on us!!!!!

Main hotels in Kyrenia were were all set on main road - some had their pool area on the other side of the road - worth checking. Our children desperately wanted to buy souvenirs but we could find nothing authentic or even vaguely tasteful.

You could buy ...
a plastic London bus or Eiffel tower at a ridiculous price but nothing compared to main land Turkey.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Clare Bond visited here on August 2005
Kyrenia is an interesting base for a holiday with easy access to many historic sites. St Hilarion Castle gives spectacular views but there are lots of steps, especially up to the very top but it is worth the climb. A particular highlight of our holiday was a visit to the turtle project about 10 miles to the east of Kyrenia run by Exeter university protecting and monitoring loggerhead and green turtles - if you time it right you can accompany them to see nests being hatched out around 18:00 and watch the baby turtles scurrying down to the sea.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Kerri Davies visited here on July 2005
Kyrenia harbour at night has to be one of the nicest place on earth, the entertainment is all about having a fantastic meal then sitting back and soaking in the atmosphere.

There is no beach in Kyrenia, so take a bus ride and find a beach, there are some lovely ones. Some of the back streets of Kyrenia are a bit dirty, but you will find that all over the world.

I loved Kyrenia and would go back, there were 15 of us and everyone one of us loved it. The scenery surrounding the harbour is beautiful.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


chris rogers visited here on June 2005
kyrenia is hyped as unspoilt in all the brochures - great if you like building sites and lorries (not to mention the dust)
if you like unspoilt peace and quiet go to the east side of northern cyprus - if you like building sites kyrenia is just great.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


Shaz visited here on June 2005
Arrived here early June 2005 we had 10 in party 6 adults and 4 children aged 3 to 10 in all , we arrived a day after flash flood thunder storms which the country have not had for 33 yrs.

It was unfortunate the water pool with slides was out of use because of this for a few days. We found the food to be lovely a wide variety to choose from and catered for children too. The drinks in the hotel were very expensive and you were unable to buy from outside the hotel unless it was sold on site(which we did most nights in secret from the local supermarket, purchased wine/spirits and kept hidden in our suitcases and ...
bags) or else if found were confiscated by hotel staff until you left, although saying this the lager was approx 2.50 but so was a can of coke!.

We also found kids ice creams varied a cornetto was approx 2.50 but we managed to convince our children to have the \"max\" ones which were 80p!!!. We stayed the 1st night in the hotel as we arrived late and our bungalows had been flooded due to the storms, the hotel was very clean and in fact no different to the inside of the bungalows in which the next morning we moved into. We actually all preferred the bungalows , more private and with the children didnt matter about them playing outside.

The maids cleaned 7 days a week all very nice but didnt speak any english. The beach was lovely plenty of sunbeds and the sea clean , the sand was extremely hot from the sun and tortured your feet walking on it.

The swimming pool were great, there is a indoor one a kids pool inside and a jacuzzi also turkish massage , hairdresser , beautician a gym and health spa.Outside was the huge pool with 2 seperate kids pools the water slides were great and always in use, we had waiter service for drinks , food etc by the pool.

During our 2nd week they provided day entertainment such as aerobics, polo, darts and volleyball.There was not much eve entertainment for adults although just as we were leaving the outdoor disco was being set up, there were a few bars too but we stayed at the beach bar which provided childrens entertainment .

There was also a mini club which our children enjoyed going to . We all found this holiday very good especially if you have children, it did not matter about being 7 miles out as you really do not need to leave the site (only for your contra band run which we did a few times).

We would def recommend this hotel. PS the night of the supposed invasion was not as bad it only happened once and we were all invited to see the bride and groom !!!!!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


David Rose visited here on June 2005
The resort of Kyrenia is very quite compared to most european destinations but that is what appealed to us, if your looking for discos and nightclubs you wont find many of either if any. If your looking for fantastic food in a fantastic Harbour setting then this is for you. We found everyboby very friendly and polite and extremely customer orientated. There is some building work ongoing and there does seem to be a lot of men walking up and down without thier lady folk but to be honest we didn\'t have a problem with either. The biggest compliment I can pay the place is to say that we can\'t wait to get back there.

David
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Carol Matthews visited here on June 2005
The main Kyrenia harbour is spotless, lots of little bars and cafe\'s. Entertainment is mainly quiet as no music is allowed after 12.00, but the local waiters provide enough entertainment for everybody. Food is very cheap and the beaches are absolutely spotless although you will have to take car/taxi to get to them.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


kris visited here on June 2005
7 miles from kyrenia hotel with bungalows situated around greenary,lovely sandy beach good entertainment and excellent choice of food , catering for children too,pools brilliant and water slides great fun, would def recommend and would go back next year .
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


sara b visited here on June 2005
Kyrenia harbour definately worth a visit at night. Very cheap at the harbour for food and drinks. For all 6 of us to have a meal and drinks all night was cheaper than just drinking at the hotel.

Bellapais Monastry is also worth a visit. Turtle Beach boring for children.

This resort is very traditional and is unspoilt like the South side of Cyprus
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Altinkaya Holiday Village Bungalows & Hotel  stars Altinkaya Holiday Village Bungalows & Hotel
Address: Kurtulus Street, Ozanköy, Cyprus

Latest Review: Aug 2007

Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

4/5
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel  stars Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel
Address: Kazafani, Cyprus

Latest Review: Aug 2005

Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

3/5
Club Acapulco Hotel  stars Club Acapulco Hotel
Address: Catalkoy Kyrenia Zypern, Cyprus

Latest Review: Oct 2009

Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

2/5
Colonnade Club Hotel  stars Colonnade Club Hotel
Elegant is the perfect description for this small, sophisticated hotel set in the foothills, just one mile from Kyrenia, with wonderful view of the city. The standards here are among the best available in Northern Cyprus. Each tastefully decorated.

Latest Review: Oct 2004

Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

3/5
Dome Hotel  stars Dome Hotel
Address: Karsiyaka Kyrenia, North Cyprus, Кирения, Cyprus

Latest Review: May 2009

Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

3/5
Jasmine Court Hotel  stars Jasmine Court Hotel
Address: Yasemin Sokak, Kyrenia, Cyprus

Latest Review: Jun 2008

Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

4/5
Oscar Hotel  stars Oscar Hotel
Address: Hasan Esat Isık Sokak, Hasan Esat Işık Sokak 16, Kyrenia 195, Cyprus

Latest Review: Sep 2006

Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

5/5
Osman Apartments  stars Osman Apartments
Address: Osman hotel, Şehit Kemal Celal Sokak, Kyrenia, Cyprus

Latest Review: Jul 2011

Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

4/5
Pia Bella Hotel  stars Pia Bella Hotel
Address: Kyrenia, Cyprus

Latest Review: Feb 2014

Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

4/5
Sempati Hotel  stars Sempati Hotel
The Hotel Sempati is a comfortable family-run hotel which offers friendly service together with high standards. The hotel is situated 10 miles west of Kyrenia in a particularly tranquil area with a wonderful mountain backdrop and spectacular views.

Latest Review: Apr 2010

Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

4/5
Ship Inn Holiday Complex Hotel  stars Ship Inn Holiday Complex Hotel
Address: İstiklal Sokak, Agios Georgios, Cyprus

Latest Review: Sep 2010

Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia

0/5
The Hideway Club Hotel  stars The Hideway Club Hotel
The Hideaway Club Hotel in North Cyprus, just three miles outside of Kyrenia, is a collection of Connoisseur suites and Connoisseur club rooms in a wonderfully well run boutique hotel. The Hotel policy of no children under the age of 12 creates a unique,

Latest Review: Sep 2006

Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Kyrenia
Share