Image of Praia da Oura Club Hotel

Praia da Oura Club Hotel

1 of 2 hotels in Praia da Oura

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
3 stars
Rua Oliveira Martins, 8200 Albufeira, Portugal
To say that the Club Praia da Oura is impressive is an understatement. The location is difficult to beat, it is overflowing with facilities, the complex is extremely well managed and the grounds are bursting with flowers and plants in well tended gardens.

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lewis
Clean and spacious
3 years 3 months ago
When we arrived in the room it was clean spacious and well equipped. We stayed on the fifth floor in a one bedroom room which was nicely done up. The rest of the hotel was very nice and clean with the glass roof and garden walk through. The only complain I have is that the beds were a bit hard but I just put a duvet over the mattress and it was fine. I also liked the fact that the air con is free and is powerful.

The pool was also a nice size and there was plenty of sunbeds. I would highly recommend to stay here if you want a very relaxing easy holiday as it has a supermarket next door pharmacy across the road very very cheap tobacco and cigarette shop to take back home and car hire nearby and a beach 400 metres away.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Julie D
7 years 10 months ago
just back from club prira da oura.had a great time hubby and i.location great our studio was small but well equipped was in the shade so didnt have the sun throughout the day.but the pool was a great sun trap.
entertainment all through the day was good had a try of the ball room dancing pedro was the entertainment team what a dancer.all the team great excellent at what they do.
cpo do agreat buffet breakfast for 6.50euro,s tried the buffet evening menu at jackies bar good 18.50.also the portuguese eve 22.50 if booked on the day of welcomr mrning.
tried specials at ancora up strip.
also happy house chinese buffet 8.95euro,s not very hot that night but really nice.
also tried the royal chinese further up it was reccommended to us.they do set meals and singles had a load for 34euros including a beer and jug of sangaria.
also tried the sunset bbq over beach view other complex.
real buzz with the bingo built up thru the week for the snowball on friday just missed it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Grant Bevan
9 years 3 months ago
Our experience of large hotel complexes has been mixed in the past so I was hoping, more than expecting, a nice hotel and facilities.

I am pleased to report that the hotel, facilities and staff all exceded my expectations. Our room was a lot larger than usual and we couldn't fault the cleanliness from arrival to departing our room. The balconies are huge with two sun loungers/parosal and a table and four chairs.

Maybe it was due to our visit being early in the season (May 07), but the cutlery, plates, etc, seemed brand new. Cannot fault the room at all.

The location to the beach is excellent but please do beware of cardiac hill. You will only walk up it once! You can walk up the hill from Reception (past the swimming pool) and cut through the Hotel giving a much more gentle path leading to the bottom of the Strip.

We booked a day trip to Vilamoura via Reception and the staff were always more than helpful to offer advice and assistance.

We didn't really use the hotel entertainment but it always seemed popular with other residents.

If you are staying at CPO I hope you have a stay as good as ours. Happy holidays!

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years ago
We have just returned from out holidays and have nothing but praise for the hotel. The staff are helpful and very pleasant, the gardens are stunning and the pool and rooms are spotless. When we got there it was late at night when we were taken to our room and we felt it was too far away from the pool where we usually like, so we requested a room nearer the poolside and they were very helpful, informing us that we could move to another room at change over, but in the two days waiting time we fell in love with our room which was on the ground floor a few steps up from the beach so we became 'beach bums' for the fortnight! So much so, when we return, (and we will), we will ask for the same room!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kath And Andrew
10 years 4 months ago
This club/ hotel is a large complex with beautiful gardens and plenty of space.

You have the choice of 2 pools, we found the one next to the hotel much quieter with very few children.

Praia D'Ouras position is perfect for the beach, and the "Strip" which is just 5-10 minutes walk away.

If you get a room overlooking the bowling green you also get a sea view and this may be worth requesting a few weeks before you depart.

The reception staff were really helpful, especially Angelo who spent over an hour looking for another room for us. Be warned some of the studios to sleep 2-3 people are minute.

The club has a good piano bar for the evenings which is relaxing for us couples to sit and talk and another bar next to the bowling green to sit and watch the world go by during the day.

The maids came almost daily and were always very polite they even washed up for us!! There always seemed to be people working, cleaning and tidying throughout the hotel.The kitchenettes were well stocked and there was a TV in our room.

If you want a car ask at reception. They recommend Auto Jardin who arrived promptly with maps and were keen to plan out scenic routes we could follow.

We did not stay for any entertainment in the main bar although there seemed to be lots going on especially for children.

Welcome meeting very short and Reps were quick to disappear when we were told about our 4 hour delay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
P BURKITT
10 years 5 months ago
Stayed at Clube Praia de Oura Hotel. Very clean, maid came in everyday except Sunday.

The hotel staff were excellent.

The entertainment wasn't up to much a bit cheesy.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Connolly
11 years 1 month ago
I have just returned from two weeks in Club Praia De Oura and just to give you a taste of how good it is - I have already booked it again for next year.

The complex itself is in a superb location near to the beach and also close enough to the main strip which is full of bars and restaurants.

The beach and sea were both very clean and are only a couple of mins walk from anywhere in the complex.

We were lucky enough to have a sea view which was spectacular especially at night when you could see the fishing boats lit up.

The entertainment in the complex was second to none. I am not usually into the organised entertainment kind of thing but both myself and my daughter took part in quite a few of the activities like aqua aerobics/ pool volley ball / kids club (obviously my daughter and not me!). You could get involved if you wanted or not - it was up to you. They also had evening entertainment on for the kids like face painting or talent competitions.

We stayed in a studio apt and although it was small it was fine for us as we really only used it as a base. The apt was cleaned nearly every day and we had more than enough clean towels. The equipment in the kitchen was all pretty new and there were plenty of pots and pans to make a good meal if you choose to cook in. As there was no air con in the rooms they did get very hot at night but we requested an extra fan and it was delivered up to our room within an hour.

The staff at the complex were all very helpful and there are plenty of notice boards around letting you know what's going on.

Overall we had a superb time and I would highly recommend the complex. Probably mostly suited to families or couples - not really a singles holiday type of place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sharon, Paul
11 years 1 month ago
Due to a terrorist blast in our planned destination of Kusadasi, Turkey, a couple of days before scheduled to go on holiday we changed to this Algarve holiday.

We were initially disappointed at losing our 5 star B&B in favour of this 3 star self -catering accommodation but at the end of our stay we would recommend the resort.

We had asked for a high room with pool view and double bed. We were given a studio which had small single beds (but thankfully not sofa beds) which did not have a pool view but the very helpful and friendly young lady on reception assured us it was a very nice appt in Block k - a quiet part of the complex and she thought we would like it. If not, we could go to reception the next day and they would try to change it.

The room was quite spacious and we had a fully equipped kitchen and breakfast bar and a welcome bottle of wine with the resort's compliments (I had dropped them an e-mail before arriving, so this may have been the reason for it). We kept the room, and found it well placed for going to the pool at the Oura Praia hotel across the road. It was also close to the supermarket and you could easily access the bars, strip etc avoiding the steep hill from reception. You could put a card out on the days you wanted the room servicing, which we did every other day and received fresh bedding, towels and tea towels.

Could not fault the cleanliness at the whole resort, bins everywhere for litter. Maintenance was also excellent, we had a problem with a shower just trickling, which was fixed same day. Also toilet stopped flushing which was promptly fixed. We also reported that the umbrella blew off the balcony and received a brand new one the same day. We also asked for extra pillows and coathangers which promptly arrived.

If you need anything it is easier to contact the hotel than your rep who we felt was less than helpful. She was more interested that we all ticked the excellent box to guarantee her next resort in Barbados than being genuiunly interested in her current holiday makers.

She slagged off local transport as unreliable when asked and in favour, promoted the First Choice trips. We learned later that Portugal has excellent public transport and has a fantastic train service that can take you as far as Lisbon within a couple of hours. The trips with the rep are expensive and offer poor value for money. The same trips are available cheaper direct from CPO, but are even cheaper if booked outside of the resort.

Slide n Splash is an excellent day out but the bus picks up at so many hotels in Alburfiera that we were still within the resort over an hour after being at our pick up stop at the designated time.

Beach at the resort is fantastic, although sunbeds I felt were a bit expensive at 13 euros. Most people sit on towels and have umbrellas that you can buy in resort for around 7 euros. Main pool at the CPO is loud and crowded but great if you like loads of organised entertainment.

Careful around the pool edge it can be very slippy, one young boy smashed his head open and was taken away in an ambulance during our stay. There is a quieter children's pool and lovely gardends and an aviary and childrens playground. If you just want to sunbathe there are 2 sun terraces that we found always had spare beds and umbrellas. If people reserved sunbeds at either pool at CPO or OP accross the road, these were removed - much to some people's annoyance, but is a fair system.

Eating at the OP during the day is very reasonable and there is a wide range to choose from. Breakfasts start at 3.5 euros which were great. On an evening, we prefered to avoid the strip for eating out and went to geordie pride, the cockerel for the sunday and mid week roasts. Father Ed's in the irish quarter was fun and lively and had a fantastic U2 tribute band.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Barbara Lyon
11 years 2 months ago
We arrived quite late at night to find there was no room reserved for us. Had booked via a direct marketing call from the resort.

Called the CPO manager who didn't care - blamed others and said nothing to do with CPO !!!!!

We were taken by the shuttle driver (who said this happened all the time)to another complex miles from beach and CPO - on arrival the worst examples of British were drunk in the lobby - no staff anywhere to be seen.

We didn't stay. It cost us around
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Michael
11 years 10 months ago
After deciding to take a late 10 day holiday on the Algarve I would just like to say that this hotel was excellent and met all expectations ...(and I am fussy so believe me this is meant as a real compliment).

The apartment over looked the sea was impeccably clean and a pleasure to spend time in. My only disappointment would be the lack of single people in the complex and the resort for that matter which could mainly be due to the time of the year.

The location was superb (ask for a sea view) no complaints there infact everything gets a full recommendation........ say no more!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

What's nearby