28 independent reviews of the Praia da Oura Club Hotel
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, 8200 Albufeira, Portugal
Praia da Oura Club Hotel
Praia da Oura Club Hotel Location
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Praia da Oura


3/5
Praia da Oura Club Hotel Praia da Oura Club Hotel is rated 2.64 out of 5 from 28 Reviews
54% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (28 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Praia da Oura Club Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Clean and spacious"
Lewis visited the Praia da Oura Club Hotel in June 2013
When we arrived in the room it was clean spacious and well equipped. We stayed on the fifth floor in a one bedroom room which was nicely done up. The rest of the hotel was very nice and clean with the glass roof and garden walk through. The only complain I have is that the beds were a bit hard but I just put a duvet over the mattress and it was fine. I also liked the fact that the air con is free and is powerful.

The pool was also a nice size and there was plenty of sunbeds. I would highly recommend to stay here if you want a very relaxing easy holiday as it has a supermarket next door pharmacy across the road very very cheap tobacco and cigarette shop to take back home and car hire nearby and a beach 400 metres away.


Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

julie d stayed at Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura, Portugal in October 2008
just back from club prira da oura.had a great time hubby and i.location great our studio was small but well equipped was in the shade so didnt have the sun throughout the day.but the pool was a great sun trap.
entertainment all through the day was good had a try of the ball room dancing pedro was the entertainment team what a dancer.all the team great excellent at what they do.
cpo do agreat buffet breakfast for 6.50euro,s tried the buffet evening menu at jackies bar good 18.50.also the portuguese eve 22.50 if booked on the day of welcomr mrning.
tried specials at ancora up strip.
also happy house chinese buffet 8.95euro,s not very hot that night but really nice.
also tried the royal chinese further up it was reccommended to us.they do set meals and singles had a load for 34euros including a beer ...
and jug of sangaria.
also tried the sunset bbq over beach view other complex.
real buzz with the bingo built up thru the week for the snowball on friday just missed it.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Grant Bevan stayed at Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura in May 2007
Our experience of large hotel complexes has been mixed in the past so I was hoping, more than expecting, a nice hotel and facilities.

I am pleased to report that the hotel, facilities and staff all exceded my expectations. Our room was a lot larger than usual and we couldn\'t fault the cleanliness from arrival to departing our room. The balconies are huge with two sun loungers/parosal and a table and four chairs.

Maybe it was due to our visit being early in the season (May 07), but the cutlery, plates, etc, seemed brand new. Cannot fault the room at all.

The location to the beach is excellent but please do beware of cardiac hill. You will only walk up it once! You can walk up the hill from Reception (past the swimming pool) and cut ...
through the Hotel giving a much more gentle path leading to the bottom of the Strip.

We booked a day trip to Vilamoura via Reception and the staff were always more than helpful to offer advice and assistance.

We didn\'t really use the hotel entertainment but it always seemed popular with other residents.

If you are staying at CPO I hope you have a stay as good as ours. Happy holidays!


Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

C Murphy visited the Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura, Portugal in August 2006
We have just returned from out holidays and have nothing but praise for the hotel. The staff are helpful and very pleasant, the gardens are stunning and the pool and rooms are spotless. When we got there it was late at night when we were taken to our room and we felt it was too far away from the pool where we usually like, so we requested a room nearer the poolside and they were very helpful, informing us that we could move to another room at change over, but in the two days waiting time we fell in love with our room which was on the ground floor a few steps up from the beach so we became \'beach bums\' for the fortnight! So much so, when we return, (and we will), we will ask for the same room!

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Kath and Andrew stayed at Praia da Oura Club Hotel in April 2006
This club/ hotel is a large complex with beautiful gardens and plenty of space.

You have the choice of 2 pools, we found the one next to the hotel much quieter with very few children.

Praia D\'Ouras position is perfect for the beach, and the \"Strip\" which is just 5-10 minutes walk away.

If you get a room overlooking the bowling green you also get a sea view and this may be worth requesting a few weeks before you depart.

The reception staff were really helpful, especially Angelo who spent over an hour looking for another room for us. Be warned some of the studios to sleep 2-3 people are minute.

The club has a good piano bar for the evenings which is relaxing for us couples to sit and talk and another bar next to the bowling green to ...
sit and watch the world go by during the day.

The maids came almost daily and were always very polite they even washed up for us!! There always seemed to be people working, cleaning and tidying throughout the hotel.The kitchenettes were well stocked and there was a TV in our room.

If you want a car ask at reception. They recommend Auto Jardin who arrived promptly with maps and were keen to plan out scenic routes we could follow.

We did not stay for any entertainment in the main bar although there seemed to be lots going on especially for children.

Welcome meeting very short and Reps were quick to disappear when we were told about our 4 hour delay.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

P BURKITT visited the Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura, Portugal in March 2006
Stayed at Clube Praia de Oura Hotel. Very clean, maid came in everyday except Sunday.

The hotel staff were excellent.

The entertainment wasn\'t up to much a bit cheesy.

Tour Operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Connolly had a holiday at Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura in July 2005
I have just returned from two weeks in Club Praia De Oura and just to give you a taste of how good it is - I have already booked it again for next year.

The complex itself is in a superb location near to the beach and also close enough to the main strip which is full of bars and restaurants.

The beach and sea were both very clean and are only a couple of mins walk from anywhere in the complex.

We were lucky enough to have a sea view which was spectacular especially at night when you could see the fishing boats lit up.

The entertainment in the complex was second to none. I am not usually into the organised entertainment kind of thing but both myself and my daughter took part in ...
quite a few of the activities like aqua aerobics/ pool volley ball / kids club (obviously my daughter and not me!). You could get involved if you wanted or not - it was up to you. They also had evening entertainment on for the kids like face painting or talent competitions.

We stayed in a studio apt and although it was small it was fine for us as we really only used it as a base. The apt was cleaned nearly every day and we had more than enough clean towels. The equipment in the kitchen was all pretty new and there were plenty of pots and pans to make a good meal if you choose to cook in. As there was no air con in the rooms they did get very hot at night but we requested an extra fan and it was delivered up to our room within an hour.

The staff at the complex were all very helpful and there are plenty of notice boards around letting you know what's going on.

Overall we had a superb time and I would highly recommend the complex. Probably mostly suited to families or couples - not really a singles holiday type of place.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Sharon, Paul stayed at Praia da Oura Club Hotel in July 2005
Due to a terrorist blast in our planned destination of Kusadasi, Turkey, a couple of days before scheduled to go on holiday we changed to this Algarve holiday.

We were initially disappointed at losing our 5 star B&B in favour of this 3 star self -catering accommodation but at the end of our stay we would recommend the resort.

We had asked for a high room with pool view and double bed. We were given a studio which had small single beds (but thankfully not sofa beds) which did not have a pool view but the very helpful and friendly young lady on reception assured us it was a very nice appt in Block k - a quiet part of the complex and she thought we would like it. If not, we could go to reception the next day and ...
they would try to change it.

The room was quite spacious and we had a fully equipped kitchen and breakfast bar and a welcome bottle of wine with the resort\'s compliments (I had dropped them an e-mail before arriving, so this may have been the reason for it). We kept the room, and found it well placed for going to the pool at the Oura Praia hotel across the road. It was also close to the supermarket and you could easily access the bars, strip etc avoiding the steep hill from reception. You could put a card out on the days you wanted the room servicing, which we did every other day and received fresh bedding, towels and tea towels.

Could not fault the cleanliness at the whole resort, bins everywhere for litter. Maintenance was also excellent, we had a problem with a shower just trickling, which was fixed same day. Also toilet stopped flushing which was promptly fixed. We also reported that the umbrella blew off the balcony and received a brand new one the same day. We also asked for extra pillows and coathangers which promptly arrived.

If you need anything it is easier to contact the hotel than your rep who we felt was less than helpful. She was more interested that we all ticked the excellent box to guarantee her next resort in Barbados than being genuiunly interested in her current holiday makers.

She slagged off local transport as unreliable when asked and in favour, promoted the First Choice trips. We learned later that Portugal has excellent public transport and has a fantastic train service that can take you as far as Lisbon within a couple of hours. The trips with the rep are expensive and offer poor value for money. The same trips are available cheaper direct from CPO, but are even cheaper if booked outside of the resort.

Slide n Splash is an excellent day out but the bus picks up at so many hotels in Alburfiera that we were still within the resort over an hour after being at our pick up stop at the designated time.

Beach at the resort is fantastic, although sunbeds I felt were a bit expensive at 13 euros. Most people sit on towels and have umbrellas that you can buy in resort for around 7 euros. Main pool at the CPO is loud and crowded but great if you like loads of organised entertainment.

Careful around the pool edge it can be very slippy, one young boy smashed his head open and was taken away in an ambulance during our stay. There is a quieter children\'s pool and lovely gardends and an aviary and childrens playground. If you just want to sunbathe there are 2 sun terraces that we found always had spare beds and umbrellas. If people reserved sunbeds at either pool at CPO or OP accross the road, these were removed - much to some people\'s annoyance, but is a fair system.

Eating at the OP during the day is very reasonable and there is a wide range to choose from. Breakfasts start at 3.5 euros which were great. On an evening, we prefered to avoid the strip for eating out and went to geordie pride, the cockerel for the sunday and mid week roasts. Father Ed\'s in the irish quarter was fun and lively and had a fantastic U2 tribute band.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Barbara Lyon stayed at Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura, Portugal in June 2005
We arrived quite late at night to find there was no room reserved for us. Had booked via a direct marketing call from the resort.

Called the CPO manager who didn't care - blamed others and said nothing to do with CPO !!!!!

We were taken by the shuttle driver (who said this happened all the time)to another complex miles from beach and CPO - on arrival the worst examples of British were drunk in the lobby - no staff anywhere to be seen.

We didn\'t stay. It cost us around

Tour Operator: Direct booking
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Michael had a holiday at Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura, Portugal in October 2004
After deciding to take a late 10 day holiday on the Algarve I would just like to say that this hotel was excellent and met all expectations ...(and I am fussy so believe me this is meant as a real compliment).

The apartment over looked the sea was impeccably clean and a pleasure to spend time in. My only disappointment would be the lack of single people in the complex and the resort for that matter which could mainly be due to the time of the year.

The location was superb (ask for a sea view) no complaints there infact everything gets a full recommendation........ say no more!!!!


Tour Operator: CPO

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

spike morton had a holiday at Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura in October 2004
Stayed self catering only because we have the choice to try different restaurants, but I must say the food in the complex restaurants was top quality but a little over priced compared to places around town, still if you fancied a night in the complex it has all you want.

The location was easily the best, and after seeing the town were glad we were not halfway up the 'strip' or better still right at the top as this would be a nightmare to get to the beach each day.

The staff were most helpfull, we only needed directions for places to visit and communication wasn't a problem.

The apartment was very clean and had good quality furniture and was in a good position, but would hate to be on the road side with no sea view or sun to ...
sit in.

Went to a couple of shows and was quite impressed with the 'acts' - something for everyone.

Didn

Read More

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

rob had a holiday at Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura, Portugal in August 2004
We spent two weeks in Aug 04.

In the two weeks we were there two mobile phones, walkman, a pair of jeans, tops, bra, bags were stolen when we were out of the room, no sign of a break in. Reported to hotel staff nothing done, still no word from hotel.

Direct holiday insurance will only cover phones, but want me to see if phones were covered when bought.

Never any room at pool, reported seen a rat outside room to hotel staff never heard any thing back. We will never be returning to this poor hotel and would not recommend this place to anyone. The police were rude and unhelpful.

Tour Operator: direct holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Jake had a holiday at Praia da Oura Club Hotel in July 2004
The location of the hotel is excellant, next to the beach and a short walk from \'the strip\'....As I said on the resort report page everything is brilliant, cleanliness is super, maids clean every other day, the food was really nice (i recommend the chesseburger and chips!!) All the hotel people were really nice, i didnt really speak to reception that much, i was round the pool making friends and playing water basketball, which is ran by the hotel entertainers, its a lot of fun, any ages can play! The nightly entertainment was as good as you could expect and I would definately go there again

Tour Operator: Direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Taylor had a holiday at Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura, Portugal in July 2004
Hotel studio apartment was clean with large sea view balcony - even sun beds on balcony + table chairs and parasol.
Bed was pull ot style and required making everyday - bit of a pain. Maim problem was no air con -- fan fixed to wall but too high to reach without chair! All equipment in room excellent clean and newish . towels only changed 3 times in seven days. Beds were not touched.

Food and pool area good and much to entertain children in the evenings. Beer prices similar to Strip and botted beer better than draught.

RECEPTION QUICK AND EFFICIENT.
Taxis 5 euros to any where in Albuerfria and arrrived almost immediately.

Beach and sea practically on door step - excellent.


Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Lammie visited the Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura, Portugal in July 2004
Having read all reports before going, we were really looking forward to going, and we did have a great time.

Just a few things, our room was a 10-15 min walk to the pool because of stairs and we couldn\'t get the buggy down them so we had to walk the long way. After arriving at the pool at around 9:30am we could not get a sunbed due to the amount of beds covered with towels!!

Our room was clean enough, just we didn\'t have much of a view, we looked onto the shop!

Staff were great!!

Can\'t really comment of the entertainment because we never used it. We were always out!

I would definitely go back to Algarve!!

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

mike and julie visited the Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura, Portugal in June 2004
When you get to the airport it

Tour Operator: comos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Gill visited the Praia da Oura Club Hotel in May 2004
I have just returned from a week at CPO along with my two teenage children, there is some building work going on at the rear of K block but Direct holidays are not placing any of their customers there. We were in block J which is near the supermarket, about three minutes walk through the complex to the pool and about 10 minutes to the beach.

We never managed to get a sunbed by the pool but there was plenty of lawn to stretch out on. The whole complex was very well kept, the apartment we had was one of the older ones and though the furniture was a little shabby and the bathroom could do with a refit it was spotlessly clean, the maids changed the towels and cleaned every other day. The kitchen had recently been refurbished though ...
we only used the kettle and fridge.

To avoid \"cardiac hill\" it is easier to head through the grounds towards the hotel and then turn left towards The Strip, you then have to pass the Sizzling Stone which has to be one of the best restaurants in the area.

The hotel has it\'s own bus which runs to the old town of Albufeira unfortunatly the last return jouney is at 8.30pm but as there is a set taxi fare of 5 euros it is quite easy to get back.

I cannot make any comment on the entertainment as we didn\'t go to any of the shows. We were not bothered by any time share people though we did witness people being shown round. We are already talking about going back next year.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

0/5
0

Tall Chapy had a holiday at Praia da Oura Club Hotel in August 2003
Couple with one small child. - 1st 2 weeks in August 2003

Building work -
Building work is directly behind Oura Praia & one side of Block K. While we were there very little work was being carried out. This I believe was due to the fact that the first 2 weeks in August are like a national holiday in Portugal.More on this later

We stayed in Club Praia da Oura.
To be honest we only ever went to Oura Praia to take a short cut to the supermarket.

Oura Praia -
Interior extremely well kept.
When you book a room I would recommend that you only book a room with view of the pool, (Front facade could do with a wash.)as the front faces a main road & the rear backs on to the building site & a small road which should become busier ...
when completed.

Club Praia da Oura
Is well managed & very well maintained. Porter brings your bags to your room.

The k block is detached from the main complex & is a little isolated (No pool view,no sea view) & backs on to the small road mentioned above. Blocks A,B & C have pool views & some could have sea views. Block D,E & F all have sea views, with F block fronting directly towards the sea.

Facilities :
Club Praia da Oura Bars:
We never had a drink in these the whole length of the stay. Too pricey

Club Praia da Oura Resturant(s):
Too pricey, also heard the food was only ok
One thing I did not like was that they kids entertainment & then through in a buffet & had charged of kids

Read More

Tour Operator: Unknown
Review Rating


0/5
0

Pandora had a holiday at Praia da Oura Club Hotel, Praia da Oura, Portugal in June 2003
THE HOTEL
Returned last night from Club Praia da Oura/ Oura Praia Hotel.

I would like to echo what fitzy has said about the major building work going on. Panorama had not informed us of it either - had they I would not have gone as the ripped up pavement and dust track road alone were a nuisance but there was quite a lot of noise from the diggers and cranes. Not to mention the heckling from the builders.

The studio we had originally was large and airy. In the kitchen there was a fridge with ice box, two halogen cooking rings and a microwave/grill combination. The instructions were in the kitchen although we never used the micro!

When we were moved (because of the building noise) the studio we had then was significantly smaller than the first we lost out on some cupboard ...
space and drawers and a dining table with three chairs became a breakfast bar with two.

The third bed for our daughter was a fold-up variety but we left it down all week. Bed linen is only changed once a week so I\'m glad we moved midweek so we got some clean! Towels are changed twice a week from what I gather.

On site there is an Alisuper supermarket which is well priced - no dearer than others around. By the Oura Praia is a Marrachino supermarket which is much bigger. These two chains seem to dominate the area and it is worth shopping round as they are cheaper on different items!

THE POOLS
The pool at the Oura Praia is ideal for families as it has a shallow and deep end which allows the bigger kids to swim and play safely. There is a splash pool there as well.

The main pool at CPO is large and deep all round - unsuitable for kids. BEWARE at the bar end there is a glass panel to allow people in the reception area bar to see swimmers although only their undersides and legs - make sure you aren\'t caught out adjusting your swimwear in front of an audience!!!

Nearby are two jacuzzis with a short stay policy although whilst we were there the teenagers used them constantly as a pick up bar!

The kids pool at CPO is large and shallow with a bridge over it. There are no sunbeds in this area but there are benches and lots of grass to lounge on if you take a mat or towel.

Down a flight of steps from the kids pool are two jacuzzis often free wchich are either nice and warm or freezing cold depending on the day you catch them! Next to these is a seldom used sauna which is free.

BARS
There are bars dotted around the complex although these are expensive at 2.5 Euros a pint. There is a piano bar by the CPO reception which looks really nice.

At night there is entertainment laid on but when we arrived at 10 to the Oura Praia it was almost deserted and looked awful. Other holidaymakers told us later how poor the entertainment was. The CPO entertainment appeared to be better attended judging by the drunken state of the people we saw staggering out.

OTHER FACILITIES
There is a daytime entertainment programme laid on at the CPO but you need to look and listen hard to find out what is happening and when. I didn\'t meet anyone who had used the facility!

There is a hut by the CPO which is used for the kids club. I didn\'t use the facility as the location of the hut - in a busy area by a main road and the reception did not seem ideal and there never seemed to be any kids there!

In the Oura Praia there is a gym which is free to use as long as you bring a top, trainers and a towel.

TIMESHARE
The front of the Oura Praia is where the touts live offering scratchcards to people and then pulling the winners in for a \"free tour\". It is quite amusing sitting anywhere in the complex seeing how many people are taken on these tours.

From what I gather after the rep meetings (I didn\'t go to mine) you are handed over to a CPO rep for a tour which turns out to be a timeshare pitch. There are maps everywhere and do you really need to be told \"this is a pool\", \"here is reception\".

Contrary to what we bleived would happen nobody rang our room or gave us invitations to timeshare meetings we were left alone. The only time a CPO rep spoke to us was outside the Oura reception and when I asked how he had the nerve to sell timeshare in a building site he admitted how awkward it was making his job.

Read More

Tour Operator: Unknown
Review Rating


0/5
0

fitzy1 had a holiday at Praia da Oura Club Hotel in May 2003
Having just returned from a stay at CPO, (we last stayed there 8 years ago) we found it to be just as good as our first visit. Just one thing that potential visitors ought to be warned about, they tell you in the brochure that CPO now is part of and shares all facilities with it\'s sister hotel, the Oura Praia. What the brochures didnt tell us was that the Oura praia, impressive as it was, is currently a building site. A very large complex is being built directly across the very narrow road from it, and also all the pavements and kerbs around the Oura Praia are being replaced, which means each time you enter or leave the hotel, you are walking on rubble. We were allocated a room in Oura Praia, and our balcony on the first floor ...
immediately faced the buiding work. We stayed put for that night, but we were woken at 6 a.m next morning by the steady stream of construction traffic, JCB\'s etc. I asked for a move to CPO, and after a bit of negotiating, we were given a lovely quiet room just by the supermarket. Moving rooms was not without trauma though, as it was very difficult getting the luggage trolley up and down Cardiac Hill, made worse by the absence of any proper pavements! The rest of the holiday was perfect, but I feel Direct holidays ought to have warned us, and there were many people complainig long and loud to their reps!

Read More

Tour Operator: Unknown
Review Rating

Share