Image of Vila Gale Tavira Hotel

Vila Gale Tavira Hotel

1 of 6 hotels in Tavira

4 out of 5 from 5 reviews
4 stars
Rua 4 de Outubro, 8800-362 Tavira, Portugal

5 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Just a nice hotel
4 years ago
We have been to this hotel twice and we are going back again this October, this report is a bit late but this is how I see it.

We all ways stay B&B here as there are some great restaurants in the town; it is three stories high build round a good size pool with children’s pool and plenty of sun beds with shades, pool bar for drink and snacks.

It has a nice lobby said to be Moorish with plenty of soft sofas a small shop and nice reception staff, who can give lots of help if needed. Breakfast is all ways good with plenty of hot and cold food in a nice big room.

The bedrooms are a far size with room for an extra bed and good size balcony’s, bathroom has a bath with shower and plenty of hot water, towels change every day, and this year they had new Mattresses for the beds.

We all ways go out at night so don't have a view on the entertainment though I think they put shows on most nights.

The hotel is a nice walk into town via a strait road or by the river and it only takes 5 minutes to get to the town centre, so all in all if you are thinking of going to Tavira this hotel could be just the job as the other big hotel is up a steep hill and the other one another Vila Gale is a long way out of the town. So we are looking forward to our next visit to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Location:
Entertainment:
Going back again
4 years ago
I have been to this hotel twice so far and will be going back again this October 2013; this report is from July 2012 our second visit. Tavira is not like the wild party towns say like Albufeira though there is nothing wrong with Albufeira we are going there this July 2013, it is more relaxed and this goes for the hotel as well.

It is only three floors high set round a nice sized pool, that you have to pay extra for a room with pool view, this year we just got what we got and had a sea view just and a view of the salt pans.

Some say it is over do a upgrade well we find it ok they did renew all the beds when we were there so this was good as they must have been old for them to do this. Only ever stay B&B and find the food to very nice with plenty on offer.

There is never a rush for the pool so you can get a sun bed most times of the day, there is a bar and cafe for food and drink round the pool. I have given the entertainment only a 1 this is because we went out every night and never looked in on it. The hotel staff all go out of their way to help you, and we have no problem with the cleanliness of the hotel.

As I say we will be back later in the year and look forward to some nice nights out and a nice rest in this laid back town and hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years ago
This was the fourth time I've stayed here. Booked via Expedia.co.uk who usually do a better price than direct bookings with hotel. Hotel is definately much better than any 3 star I've ever stayed in but there is something about it that isn't quite four star, I suspect it's the rather petty way they charge extra for so many things including parking. Still, they're not things I use so I suppose I'm not having to pay via the room cost. Building is low rise with just 2
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
We stayed here for 2 nights in September whilst tourning Spain/ Portugal .
On arrival the first thing we thought was that it was no where as good as the last 4 star hotel we stayed in.

I have no complaints about the hotel other than its not what we expected from a 4 star hotel considering the cost .

The staff were friendly and the location was good although the view from our balcony was of a dusty car park and a main road . The hotel had a car park priced at 4.5 euros per day .

The bedroom was clean and basic but didnt have any wow factor . 2 single beds were pushed together instead of a double. An extra charge was made for the safe.
Breakfast was not brilliant and on the last day the breakfast was cold especially the baked beans that had not been heated up at all.

One night we asked at the bar for a bucket of ice. We were given some ice cubes in a plastic bag .Never ate in the restaurant ( assumed it was same chef who cooked breakfast).

The outdoor pool was ok. The hotel advertised sauna, gym etc but there was an extra charge to use these. The indoor pool was free but a headcap must be worn, the hotel happily sold these.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Baker
11 years 10 months ago
This hotel is well deserving of it's 4 star status, the rooms were spotlessly clean,the breakfast buffet had enough choice to feed an army ranging from fresh fruit to egg bacon sausage etc,we did not eat on any other occassion (lunch/evening).The location of this hotel is excellent 5 minutes from good traditional shops and restaurants,underground car park if you hire a car,a good swimming pool with sun loungers that didn't get to crowded.To sum up-good quality hotel with an upmarket feel about it,many portugese people were staying there which speaks volumes, and outnumbered other nationalities--recommended.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Tavira