Image of Anfora Playa Hotel

Anfora Playa Hotel

16 of 19 hotels in Es Cana

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
2 stars
Playa de es Cana,, Santa Eulalia,, Ibiza,, Balearics

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alison Jenkins
7 years 5 months ago
Bar staff very hard working and friendly nothing too much trouble they are very helpful. Reception the same day or night very helpful.
Beds can get a bit uncomfortable and rooms are hot due to no air conditioning but you can hire a fan.
Food was good something for everyone to enjoy - not fancy as this would push the price up but we ate fine.
Location great on the flat and right in the middle of Es Cana.
Pools cleaned regularly - snacks in the day very nice.
Drink prices in the hotel ok not as pricey as outside really.
Entertainment good and finishes at 12.00 midnight.
Yes would go back to this hotel - did everything it says on the tin !!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
Hotel kept extremely clean. Room had plenty of space for 4 beds. Only downside no air conditioning in rooms but can hire a fan. Public rooms are air conditioned. Plenty of choice at mealtimes. Soup and salad bar good. Main evening meal could be a bit hit and miss but always found something to eat. Pools checked by maintenance guy daily, very clean. Excellent location close to beach, shops,bars. Staff friendly. Courtesy room available to change in before flight home.Entertainment good and caters for wide age range staying at hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Laura
7 years 5 months ago
We stayed in the Anfora Playa Hotel a few weeks ago, and the reviews re the staff are right. They have excellent customer service at this hotel, BUT had the rooms been air conditioned and our balcony not been above the kitchen and what sounded like some kind or generator/place where they collect the rubbish at 5am every morning, then I would go back --well so long as we got a different room. I don't think we were very lucky with the lack of view and the noise PLUS the horrible lack of air conditioning!

Es Cana anyway is a lovely region, and I felt sorry for those who just lazed around the pool all day doing nothing but sweat in the sun--when if you just walked 20 minutes down the road past the hippy market area, you could find the most gorgeous quiet secluded coves near a great campsite area and another great beach. Also if you walked in the other direction past the main beach for 20-25 mins you can reach another excellent beach with great waves.

The Hotel food was terrible and on the penultimate day we actually saw what looked like a cockroach in the dining room which we weren't too happy about. We ate out after seeing that, but we had a lovely holiday. Sharpe were great who we saw on the Sunday eve and some of the other entertainment was pretty good too (I didn't expect much at all for 2 star!).

Anyway, I'd recommend it as a base but they need to sack the chef and install air conditioning in each room, then it will be way more comfortable. Many nights I had to get so drunk that I would pass out in order to have uninterrupted sleep...and I would no way recommend doing that!

Hope this is helpful, especially the bits about the nearby beaches worth exploring!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Andy
8 years 4 months ago
firstly i know a holiday is what you make of it, which is true, however things need to improve otherwise i feel people will not put up with the standard being offered, yes i know its only rated 2 star which i feel they are being generous, when you have to sleep on camp beds, eat very poor meals indeed, on the plus side the staff are excellent, esp toni which he ensures a good time is being had, by not just the kids, he was excellent indeed, location of the hotel was very good, would we go back im not too sure, probably not.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
GARETH
8 years 4 months ago
Its beyhond me why people are saying the Hotel is so bad, heres how I rate this hotel.

There are some bad points granted!
I think the Hotel is in some desperate need of new caterers! The ones they have right now need shooting for thee lack of creative flare!!
Definantly bring money to eat out if you are going to be staying here as the food gets VERY BORING even after just two visits to the place!

I read one review about ear infections and am soory to say this is still a case! 3 children we heard of came down with this infection whilst we were staying there so yes the pool although a nice temp to swim in needs to be better cleaned!

The rooms.....NEED AIR CONIDTIONING! THE PLACE IS LIKE A SAUNA IN THE HEIGHT OF SUMMER!
Although VERY VERY clean and well look after they need modernising, although I have heard the Lady who owns the hotel will be doing this in the winter of 2008 so hopefully when I next visit it will be done!

I am not going to complain about the noise as when we were there there was no noise! There were only younger children there and no drunk teenagers and the only time they were making noise was during the hours of entertainment which finish's at 12am! If you go to Ibiza and are in bed beofre then IBIA is not for you Im affrad or at least a hotel with its own entertainment, go to the Panormama GOLD hotel over the raod for the 60+ if you do!!

The staff at this hotel are A* they are VERY VERY friendly and would bend over backwards to help you! They truely are on the nose for customer service and pat on the back is needed!

I think that other than those I have spoken about this Hotel is a very nice hotel indeed and upon the 6th time I have stayed here Im already looking to book my 7th!


ANFORA PLAYA IS A 2* HOTEL NOT THE RITS! You pay for you get people!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jo Barlow
8 years 5 months ago
This hotel is certainly in need of a makeover, it is dated and although clean gives the overall impression of being shabby - The pools were acceptable but if you were up later than 9.00 am you would struggle for a bed although the ones that had towels on were not used until the afternoon.

The food was only avarage, we managed to eat at both breakfast & dinner but if you are a fussy eater you would struggle to find anyhting half decent to eat, my children lived on chips& gravy and ice cream for the whole week, not acceptable really as this holiday although not the most expensive was not the cheapest either so the food should of been of a higher quality.

The noise in the hotel was unbeleivable, I am a heavy sleeper and I was still woken at stupid hours like 0300-0400 am with other guests screaming, shouting, swearing,arguing,smashing glasses, throwing each other into the pool, the list is endless, the night staff failed to deal with this night after night so it was allowed to continue - this was what put me off the most - I would not return to this hotel, my own safety & the safety of my family is paramount and I felt quite vunrable so please be warned !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
8 years 5 months ago
Good value for money hotel I have stayed in 4 and 5* hotels before so was a bit worried I needn't have been though hotel was very clean and had good facilites.

Food was good cooked brekfast cereals continenal.Evening meal was good also soup salad bar and adults and kids meals.

There was a daytime and evening enterainment programme run by Toni which was good and there was always different entertinment each night.

Only downside not much for our 18month old to do but swimming pool was a hit.

Ask for a room at the back or side of the hotel as it is a bit quieter we never had any problems that we mentioned in the previous report.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Farley
8 years 7 months ago
Hotel anfora playa, Es Cana. Rooms are very basic but cleaned daily. Unfortunately this year the weather was particularly bad out of 14 days we had 4 days of sunshine.

Spent quite alot of the time in the room could do with updating and perhaps a Tv. The food at breakfast was good always something to find. But in the evening the meals we were not that good, especially if the chef was cooking on the grill would only turn the meat once, which was usually reddy in colour.

The soup was always excellent. The entertainment team Ana and Tony were excellent during the day and evening. Happy hour is a joke normally you get 2 for price of 1 but in the Anfora Playa 1/3rd off drinks and they are expensive.

Enjoyed the time we spent there but would go there again, reception told us we had a sunny room we were in the front no sun at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Southworth Family
9 years 4 months ago
we booked this hotel in desparation due to a cock up by a firm which will remain nameless. The staff on taking the booking were extremely polite kind and helpful. When we arrived at the hotel we were shocked at the amount of noise going on in the Hotel. The entertainment could be heard over the whole resort and we were placed in room directly over the "stage" even though we had our baby 17 months old with us. We did request to be moved and the receptionist agreed that she would move on on the Weds(we arrived on Monday so 2 nights of sheer hell). The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful and if you could win an award for that then this hotel would be top notch. Unfotunately everything else, the rooms the noise the food etc etc let the place down.

DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES STAY HERE IF YOU HAVE A SMALL CHILD WHO DOES NOT REACT WELL TO EXCESSIVE NOISE
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Davis
9 years 5 months ago
Just arrived home from the holiday from hell staying at the Anfora Playa. The food was so disgusting it was not for human consumption. we stayed for two weeks and ate out most of the time so make sure you budget for eating out if you dont want to starve.

The first week we could get a sunbed easily but the second week we were sat waiting until 9.40 for them to clean around pool area and open the gates. I cant say that I seen them actually clean the large pool which was why so many were coming down with ear infections. Both my children had the infections in both ears.

The hotel could do with a complete makeover and add the all important airconditioning. never would I go back again, its only good if you need to lose weight.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: