Image of Hotel Marina Panorama

Hotel Marina Panorama

7 of 19 hotels in Es Cana

4 out of 5 from 52 reviews
3 stars

52 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    23
  • Very Good
    22
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Scoop
Happy Return
4 years 8 months ago
We'd stayed at the Marina Panorama about 13 years previous and picked up a good deal to go back this year.

Not a lot had changed (although I believe the ownership had). I might have a false impression as it was the first trip abroad for about 10 years so I had lost touch a bit with what to expect. Wasn't disappointed though

The Thomson Gold standards I think do keep the Hotel on its toes although we did hear rumours that it was being considered as all inclusive next year - which in my opinion would be a great pity.

Hotel drink prices were, I thought, quite reasonable compared with local bars.

The resort seemed particularly quiet, but the Hotel seemed reasonably busy. Horror stories from earlier reviewers about sunbeds didn't materialise. We never had a problem finding a spot.

I mentioned in a forum resort review, a nice touch by the Hotel after we were asked at checking in if we'd stopped there before and said we had - although about 13 years ago. The evening after we had delivered to our room a bottle of wine, compliments of the manager, with a note thanking us for choosing their Hotel again

Very relaxing holiday with not really anything to complain about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jean Wilkinson
6 years 5 months ago
We stayed at this hotel last year and had a great holiday. This year it was still good with one or two exceptions. The hotel now charge you 40p for ice for each drink.

The sunbed situation was terrible. The doors opened at 8.00 am. People were queing from 7 am even lining towels up. I have never seen a queuing towel before. When the doors opened people rushed out actually running to get their spot, some people even went down the fire escape to get their first. Ridiculous.

It spoied our holiday and on the last two days we didn't even attempt to get a bed. A holiday is supposed to be relaxed but getting up at 7 am to secure a sunbed is not relaxing. Please could the hotel try to resolve as otherwise people are not going to book in future. No two for 1 at 9 pm. This year which was a shame as the drinks are quite expensive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Derek&jan
6 years 5 months ago
this was our 10th visit to the panarama,staff were great always there to help,very freindly,room was spotless,met up with freinds who have been before,entertainmet was not as good as it has been in previous years,day time entertainment was ok but sorry thomson 5 out of 10 realy has slipped,escana is great,people are so freindly.we will be back again.the reps were ok but could do a lot better.food choice is not as good as before but still ok.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Janet
6 years 5 months ago
Hotel room spotless, fridge provided. Noise above when furniture moved around. Spacious room. Food very good al a carte excellent. A good selection, fresh orange for breakfast a nice touch. Entertainment could have been better, X Factor show absolutely awful, same group provided excellent classical night.Staff are very friendly and helpful. Our main complaint was the sun beds, reserving them at 4am riddiculas. We made suggestions to hotel manager and Thompson rep to supply more beds where the entertainment is held, or chain them up until 8.30 ish. If they can resolve this we would go back. In other hotels they would police the area and take towells away if the bed was not used.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 7 months ago
Just returned from a fabulous holiday at the Hotel Panorama. Our room was lovely with a view overlooking the small harbour and sea. We had everything we needed in the room including Tea/coffee facilities, and toiletries in the bathroom together with a hairdryer. We also had a small fridge for our use. It was our first visit to a Thomson Gold hotel and I can really understand why people pay that little bit more for hotels in this category. The public areas of the hotel were beautiful and kept exceptionally clean. The pool area was beautiful and not too busy when we were there, so no trouble getting a sun bed. The food was among the best we have every had during a holiday. If anyone was not satisfied with the selection they must have been extremely hard to please - there was something for everyone with numerous selections for each course. At breakfast you must try one of Carmen's individually prepared omelettes - they were delicious!!! I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jill And Dave Richardson
6 years 7 months ago
This was our second visit to this hotel ,, it has changed hands since we were last there and we were delighted to see that many of the staff were still there from our first visit.
We had booked a sea view room as it was our birthday whilst away and to be honest the view is stunning,, however,, pay back time comes in the early hours of the morning when you are trying to get some sleep as there is Charlies Bar right next to the hotel which caters mainly for Brits on hols..The entertainmnent finishes about 12 midnight,, like most places in Es Cana but Charlies bar is allowed to carry on serving until 4am,. this would not be a problem if people go back to their accommodation quietly?? No , they have to shout to each other , over and over,, If we return to this hotel we d book a pool view room next time and get a good nights sleep.

The room as lovely.. tea and coffee supplied ,, fridge and hair dryer,, quite large room to be honest,, have stayed in far smaller.

Couldnt fault the restaurant,, lots and lots of choice,, we sat outside for every meal.. it was lovely and cool and not so busy as inside.
We were given a bottle of champagne and a birthday cake which was anice suprise as we hadnt told anyone,, they must have checked the passports when we when checked in

The usual rush for sun beds took place every morning,, but theres lots of beds,, we never had a problem getting 2 together when we did venture down there .

The day time entertainment can be a bit intrusive,, the music is a bit loud at times ,

The hotel has a couple of Happy Hours but be careful,,, in the afternoon the happy hour is in the bar at the front of the hotel.. buy one get one free,, usual stuff,, however the staff will not fetch you drink from there,, they use the pool bar bar and charge you full price!! Theres nothing to stop you fetching your drinks from the other bar,, !!!

All in all ,, its a a lovely hotel , and above all.... NO KIDS!!!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dave & Susan
7 years 4 months ago
Got dropped off bus on a corner asked rep which way to go but she just got back on the bus and left.

When we got into the hotel the staff were very nice and helpful. We got a room requested on 4th floor when we opened the door the smell was awful, they sent a maid up to the room and she agreed we could not stop in this room and given another room the next morning.

If you want a lounger round the pool I would advise you to be up before 7.30am as they start putting towels on to reserve them. I saw some being put on as early as 3am very sad people and feel something should be done about this as the pool area does not open until 8am. and signs up saying bed reserving is not allowed. By 8am all beds have towels on and no one on them.

Sounds like we had a bad holiday but may I say this is a very good hotel, good food, good staff, entertainment was varied
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jim And Ann
7 years 5 months ago
As visitors to Thomson Gold hotels for several years now, we found that this hotel itself could not be faulted. Staff were efficient and helpful. Carlos the lifeguard even took some time every day to teach my husband and me some Spanish! However, our big complaint was the reserving of pool side sunbeds. We have this complaint every year, but this year was the worst by far! We were appalled at the lack of respect and selfishness displayed by fellow guests! Despite the many signs around the hotel and even the manager telling guests at the Welcome meeting not to reserve the sunbeds, the majority of guests (90% or even higher!) were determined to "book" their sunbeds anyway. This particular hotel was the worst in our experience for this extremely irritating problem. During our entire 14 day holiday, not once were we able to get a pool side sunbed. Every day after breakfast we would go to the pool at 9am, only to find almost every sunbed booked and not a soul in sight. I suspected that these selfish gits had set their alarms at the crack of dawn, went to the pool with their towels and then went back to bed for a few hours content in the knowledge that no one else would have the privilege of using "their" sunbeds. Often many of the reserved sunbeds were not even used until well into the afternoon. When we complained to the Thomson Rep, we were told that she was well aware of this ongoing problem but did not know how the hotel could prevent it. Not very effective customer care! On our departure day, we had to get up for breakfast at 6:30am and we witnessed the reason why were never able to get a sunbed by the pool. Many of them at this time were covered with towels and hordes of people were still making their well trodden paths to "pole positions" around the pool. Thomson must address this anti social behaviour or they will lose a great deal of business. We will definitely not go back to this hotel due to the selfish majority of ignorant guests who are allowed to get away with this disgusting behaviour. I think the time has come for us to think about an alternative to Thomson Gold Holidays as this behaviour would appear to be par for the course now.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bob&May
7 years 5 months ago
This was our 9th visit to the Panorama Hotel and the hotel has returned to its previous high standard since it changed hands.Staff in all departments very helpful and freindly,and they all speak english.Thomson host Tony and his team worked tiresly day and night to keep everyone entertained(the best in the business).Plenty of sunbeds although many were
taken early there were always beds available for the late risers.Food of a very high standard,plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner,Al a Carte very dissapointing nice surroundings,good service,poor food.Did not stay in for entertainment due to the cost of drinks(very expensive compared to outside).
Will certainly return to this hotel as it the best
despite ever increasing thomson prices.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 6 months ago
food very good gala night every tues which includes lobster. Hotel lets you book a la carte once per week at no cost. seats in restaurant are close together but you have the option of eating on the open terrace. Good cabaret every night main caberet starts 2200pm finishes midnight.plenty of sunbeds and sunshades.pool quite large and inludes two jacussies.
Bedrooms are air conditioned(free)and include fridges. Hotel is adjacent to the marina and main beach.Staff are very friendly and helpful almost all speak english.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: