Image of Miramar Golf Hotel

Miramar Golf Hotel

2 of 3 hotels in Port de Sant Miguel

3 out of 5 from 17 reviews
3 stars

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
S Ballantyne
9 years 11 months ago
We were looking to get away for a week in September 2007 and knew we wanted to go to Tunisia however having checked the reviews of this hotel we were concerned that we could end up regretting booking as they were so varied so we opted to go for a named on arrival and chance our luck. As it happens we ended up in the Mirimar Golf - neither of us were bothered as we knew that there would be ways of enjoying the holiday regardless.

The flight was delayed leaving Newcastle and forther delays at Monastir (with the stairs for the plane) led to us arriving at the hotel later than anticipated. Be warned this is the LAST drop off point on the coach and i can see why - it's probably the most isolated hotel in the resort. Our rep (Natalie) didn't even announce over the microphone what hotel we were at and since we werre sitting at the back of the bus we just had to presume since everyone else was getting off the bus that it was the last drop off point.

Once in the atmosphere in the lounge was so depressing (though in hindisght i realise this was because all the people sitting in there were waiting to be picked up to go home) still this wasn't a very welcoming feeling and was rather ominous of things to come.

We had to sign yet more visa type papers to get our keys to our room - having not had a drink for over 4 hours we were concerned that we couldn't change our money over until 10:30am the next morning however reception advised that we could sign the receipts at the bar and pay for it the next day.

We went up to the room using the lift as we were on the 3rd floor of the main hotel - the lift is pretty small and a bit jumpy when reaching the floor and has an odd smell inside however im glad to say it never broke down when we were there. Room was pretty basic - 2 single beds pushed together, a mirror/dresser table, cupboards that had stains on them and wouldnt shut properly, a wonky bedside table, 3 white basic chairs and table on the balcony, and a basic bathroom suite. Oh well.. we weren't too bothered as we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room anyway. The tv reception was fine however there was no UK channels apart from sky news and this only gave out audio occasionly. There was a channel called Dubai 1 which had english / american shows with arabic subtitles and for the most part kept us entertained when in the room.

We then went down to the bar area for a bite to eat as we hadn't eaten since 13:00 (having opted not to get a meal on board the plane) the guy asked whether i had come down for food and i said yes and was told to take a seat (expecting a menu) however we were promptyl given a plate of salad with what looked like cold battered chicken on the side - Not what i was expecting!! I don't even like Salad. However since we had just arrived and didnt want to look rude we managed to eat a bit of salad each and retreat back to the room to escape the mosquitos (which bizzarely didnt seem to be anywhere bar the bar area) with a bottle of mineral water for the night. It was only the next day when i realised that the prices they charged were scandalous. It worked out nearl
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Sharky
11 years 1 month ago
First time to Tunisia, absolutely brilliant through out! would def go there again, hotel staff was brilliant, pools very clean, only down side was out TV in our room was not giving good reception.

Beaches were superb, very clean and blue, hotel provided free transport to their own beach via horse ride, which was quite helpful.

Only downside to Tunisia is the men who harass you non stop specially if they see a girl with you, which made me loose my temper as they only interested in talking to girls, plus they like to get full on with girls over there too...so be careful! Shop keepers seem to annoy u a lot when u tel them you are just looking around.

The hotel evening entertainment wasn't as good as I thought, but then we would go to other hotels in the evening and use their entertainment.

All in all I loved every moment there! So definitely advise people to go there!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
Was quite dubious as this was a last minute break but costing
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panaroma

Recommended
Jacqui
11 years 2 months ago
The hotel was very clean, clean sheets and towels on a regular basis.

We stayed in the annexe, big room decorated to a high standard.

The hotel was about 20 mins walk from the resort, but plenty taxis and buses close by.

The food was plentiful if slightly repetitive after a while. However the food was often not hot, but because the staff did not light the gas heaters!

The hotel staff in general were very pleasant, helpful and friendly.

The entertainment staff tried very hard but the entertainment was quite poor in the evening. We ended up in other hotels nearby.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Timsmrs
11 years 3 months ago
We were allocation on arrival with 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 2yrs.

We had a huge room which was classed as a suite, it had a large bathroom,a room with twin beds in,a tv and plenty of wardrobes and a view overlooking the pool.

We also had another door which opened into a room with a large double bed,lots of space,chest of draws and a balcony overlooking the pool,this was nice but only small. We had to ask the hotel staff to put a lock on the inside of the room door as this could not be locked and opened from the inside, which ment our 2 year old could escape at any time,they did this for us with no problems.

The hotel staff were friendly,bebo the entertainer loved our kids,the free cart ride to the beach was great as was the private part of the beach. Not much for the kids to do and the pool was too deep for our little one,the indoor pool was the same.

We had a lovely holiday here but we would try another hotel next time only because of the pool and the poor entertainment.

We did see a drag act one night that was really good but we had to pay 10 dinars per adult but it was worth it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Kirsty
11 years 3 months ago
When we visited the miramar golf in may 06 we had a great time. The hotel was beautiful and big. We stayed in the new annexe part and the rooms were gorgeous.

The food wasnt all that brilliant but we survived! The entertainment was brilliant, the entertainers themselves were lovely.

There were 5 when we went. There was Adel who was the manager of the entertainment, Bebo, Dido, Mike and Azmi. They made us feel really welcome and the entertainment schedule was really good.

There was dancing around the pool, water aerobics, gym, football, french bowls and water pol during the day. At the night there was the drag queen show, which I think was well worth the money, it was fabulous, there was a crazy games show which was hilarious, a fakir show which was incredible if you like the idea of standing on a man while he's laid on a bed of nails.

The entertainment team did a cabaret show which was fantastic, Mike and Azmi are great dancers and so talented. There was a karaoke show which was a bit of a let down because not a lot of people would get up and sing so it was a bit of a waste. There was a quiz night aswell which was fun, but you have 2 be really brainy to know all the answers.

The rest of the staff and people who worked there were also really friendly, the reception people, the waiters, the jewellery man and the lifeguard, Lwel.

We enjoyed it so much that we have been back to the miramar golf 2 more times this year. Bit of a let down though because the second time there was only Bebo left out of the entertainers, he did a great job of trying to keep everyone amused though.

The third time we went there were 2 completely new entertainers, Momo and Chipo which were rubbish compared to the other people. They did the same shows all the time which got really boring.

When we visited back though all the staff recognised us and we met some great new people. The quad bike man, Khaled was lovely and so cute, he made us feel really welcome, he wasnt there the first time we went there but the other two times he was there.

The food got better each time we went, the last time we went was in October and the food was super, much more choice.

Overall I loved the holidays and the hotel. And I would definitely recommend the country and the Miramar Golf. The best place abroad we've ever been!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Donna
12 years ago
I arrived around ten thirty in the evening with my daughter to the sights and sounds of a traditional tunisian wedding.I must admit I did wonder what sort of hotel I had arrived at as I had never stayed in a hotel abroad where they hired out the main room for functions! The staff were very friendly and helpful.Being a lone female with a daughter some places can be quite daunting, but not here.Every member of staff was very friendly.At this time of night you wouldn't expect a fantastically clean reception with people having been walking through all day, but I had no complaints. Tables and ash trays were cleaned regularly and the floors and walls were spotless.
The location for this hotel is a ten minute walk to the beach and whilst we were there occassionally there was a horse and cart which would give you a lift all for the price of a tip.(Good old Eddie Murphy!)Port El Kantaoui is probably a fifteen/twenty minute walk.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Stuart
12 years 10 months ago
Initially the lobby of the hotel appeared dated and the furnishings could be modernised but over the week we were there you got used to it. The cleaners make sure that the floors are pretty much immaculate but there is something to be said for the housekeeping.

We stopped in the Miramar Residence, which is the new annexe next to the main building. The room itself had an authentic, rustic feel to the decor and was adequate for the star rating the hotel has. It was a lottery though as to whether you would get replacement toiletries and towels and the housekeeping ladies appeared to spend most of the day sat on the stairs in groups gossiping rather than working. I had to ask them to move just to get down the stairs!

The food was varied and didn't really repeat itself during the week. Neither of us are vegetarians but the choice appeared to cater for non veg & veg alike. If you decide to have a late dinner be warned that the food will be a bit less 'fresh' e.g. the meat becomes dried out and tough. Waiter service was friendly enough and we had no complaints there.

If you're a gym lover don't be fooled by the claim of a 'gym'. It's around the edge of the indoor pool but the equipment is rusty, poorly maintained and limited. They also list their own football pitch except there's no grass on it and it's just like waste ground at the back of the hotel. Both pools are good and clean.

The hotel is a 10 min walk from the beach and 5 min taxi drive from the main Marina area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jo
12 years 10 months ago
After reading the reviews published on this site, I was dreading staying in this hotel but as our holiday was already booked we obviously had to visit with an open mind.

To be honest we found the cleanliness very good, cleaners visited the rooms every day and will change your towels daily providing you leave your towels on the floor.

Generally the staff were pleasant but beware the hotel entertainment is diabolical.

Food wasn't too bad, although the menu did tend to be repeated there was something that was edible. Safty deposit boxes are available at a cost of 25 dinar, with 10 dinar returnable.

You have to be out of your rooms at 12.00pm but if you are unfortunate like ourselves to have an evening flight, we were able to keep our room until 6pm at a cost of 20 dinar.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

S Hudson
13 years ago
Stayed in the Miramar residence that is an annex of the main Hotel, just refurbished to a high standard.
Tv provided but only english chanel available was BBC world but good enough to keep up with news. Room was large air conditioned and very clean. Bathroom with shower all fully functional and clean. Hotel staff very friendly food good but a bit repetetive.
Outdoor pool well maintained and clean sunbeds and cushions always available small cost about
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.