Image of Tropic Gardens Hotel

Tropic Gardens Hotel

21 of 25 hotels in Santa Eulalia

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
Pare Vicent Costa, 10, 07840 Santa Eularia Des Riu (Eivissa), Spain

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lorna Alsop
Would definitely return
3 years 11 months ago
Stayed for one week at Tropic Gardens with a 14 year old. Lots of kids around (didn't see much of mine after first day).

Booking in very quick and easy to find room. Rooms great - large bedroom, bathroom with bath and hairdryer. Living area - TV, bedsettee, kitchenette with kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge.

We were all inclusive - food varied and really good. However, pool bar serves food if you don't want to go into the restaurant - but only burgers, hotdogs and toasties. I felt the pool snacks were quite limited.

Pool bar - All drinks are served from behind the bar - usually a queue but the staff work very hard and we weren't waiting too long.

Evening bar - large horseshoe shaped bar but everyone lines up to be served so is very civilised. One evening had to wait about 20 minutes to be served - when we spoke to staff about this we were told to ask the waiters to get our drinks; the next evening we asked a waiter for the drinks and were served all night by him - didn't get up once.
After 11.30 drinks are served in plastic glasses - I think this is because they know people will be taking drinks back to their rooms.

Restaurant - food varied and lots of it. Closes at 9.30 but food still being prepared and coming into restaurant at 9.20. Although it was very busy when we were there, always found a table easily.

Pool - pool average size. Beds all taken by about 10 am but I was glad to see people on the sunbeds all day when they had reserved them. Pool towels had to be hired - 1.75 euros per towel per day (never had to do this in the past). Hired 3 towels - forgot to take them back at the end of the day. Kept them for the next day then returned them and got new ones - paid for day and kept for four days - reception don't keep a track of them.

Water - usually I have been given bottled water when I have been all inclusive. However, you buy a bottle of water here you pay half the price it says on the menu if you are all inclusive. A glass of water is free.
You can order a picnic if you plan to spend the day out - you each get a bottle of water, a bottle of pop, two pieces of fruit, a danish pastry and two cheese and ham sandwiches. So if you want some water ....
I ordered the picnic the day before we left and took the food to the airport to eat on the plane.

Location - about a 10 minute walk to harbour through a residential area which is quite pleasant. Main town looks very nice but only saw it early morning when not many people were around (too hot in day to venture away from pool). I think it may be a bit expensive to eat in town - 15.50 euros for ravioli.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Stewart
Nice clean hotel, not so good location
6 years 1 month ago
Stayed at this hotel on the 20th June 2011 found the hotel nice and clean with a friendly receptionist. Had a great room on the first floor overlooking the pool and sea. Plenty of sunbeds and no hassle getting one. Pool big and great for kids and adults.

The minus side to the hotel is its location being a good ten minute walk to the Marina and Santa Eulalia centre. The road leading back to the hotel from the Marina is not to well lit and can be a bit scary.

The entertainment was more for the children than the adults and we found it not to our taste. All entertainment and music stops at 11.00pm a bit early we thought.

We would not stay at this hotel again because of the location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
The Head Family
6 years 11 months ago
This is a lovely place to stay, in a quiet area right by the sea on the coastal path. it's a 15/20 minute walk into the main area of the harbour and beach.

A smaller beach is about 15 minutes away, the coastal walk from Mango's bar is worth doing to get there, or you can go via the main road. Turn right out of the hotel. The apartments are not that big, the living/kitchen area is quite small, but the bedroom is large. Storage limited. Kitchen equipment quite basic. No kettle or toaster in the apartment, but these were available to Thomson guests at no charge if you asked at reception.

Rooms cleaned 5 days of the week, towels changed whenever you asked, and sheets changed twice during our 11 night stay. The swimming pool is lovely, very warm. Sunbeds did have towels on them early in the morning, despite notices asking you not to do this. Nobody seemed to take any notice, staff or guests. If you don't like the full sun there are shady parts in the garden area that you can be in.

The hotel owns the supermarket opposite the apartments which is fine for all your basic needs, but was slightly more expensive than in the town. Didn't try the restaurant, evening entertainment usual type of thing. Overall a very pleasant place, and we would return. I wish I was still there!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Angela
Hotel staff were always so nice and helpful.
6 years 11 months ago
This was our first time staying at the Tropic Gardens and we really did enjoy ourselves. Rooms were cleaned 5 days a week and the hotel staff were always so nice and helpful.

The Entertainment was not great and we never ate in the restaurant. The town was only a ten min walk and if you turn right out of the hotel there was a nice snack bar called Mango's with a great view. If you headed to town there is also a great Tapas bar with great food.

The shop across the road was great but slightly over priced. You could get things cheaper at the supermarket in town.

The only two weak points about this hotel was the lack of space in the kitchen area especially if you were SC and that same old problem of people bagging their sunbeds at 7.30 in the morning.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sue
7 years 10 months ago
Family of 4 Stayed for 10 nights. Room was clean,one bedroom with 2 more decent sized sofa beds in kitchen/living area. Lots of clean towels. Maid came 8 out of 10 days we were there. Room had air con, bring your travel kettle, as there isn't one in the room. Small kitchen area with good size fridge, microwave and 3 cooking rings. Plenty of plates, cups etc.Staff were friendly and helpful, plenty of activities to keep our teenagers busy( water polo, volleyball, darts, pool, table tennis). There was also a kids club for the younger children.Hotel was a 10 minute walk into the centre, 5 euros if you need a taxi.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hotels 4 u

Recommended
Caroline
8 years 8 months ago
Had doubts about this holiday after reading reviews, but in the end it was a pretty uneventful, ok holiday. Food edible, but pretty awful, staff very good, room adequate. Weather amazing for october, not much entertainment, prob as was end of season and hotel about to close. Go here for a relaxing holiday, self catering probably better. I would not return as there are nicer hotels, and also I have been to Ibiza 3 times now, and each time I return it seems to smell more and more of wee. And unless you are German or Scandinavian, or like to go clubbing every night all night, there is not much to do.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medinland

Julie, Darren, Rachel & Dani
8 years 10 months ago
After booking this holiday 12 months in advance, we were really looking forward to visiting Ibiza but unfortunately although the resort met our expectations the accomodation definately did not. The Tropic Gardens was sold to us as a 4 star accomodation. It is certainly not 4 star. The weather was amazing, the entertainment team - Tony, Reme and the girls were the best we have encountered, they helped to make our daughters holiday, thank you to them. However, the accomodation leaves a lot to be desired both in standard and size. The apartment was the size of a postage stamp and definately not big enough for 2 adults and 2 teenage girls.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Edwards
8 years 10 months ago
I must admit I did have my reservations about this hotel on reading some of the reviews but I had no reason to worry. We arrived early hours of Saturday morning and after checking in, there was salad buffet waiting for us. We were AI and could not fault the food - variety, taste - superb.
Rooms were cleaned every day apart from Wed and Sund. We had a 1 bedroom apt, there was myself, husband, 2 sons, 18 and 12 and was plenty big enough.We had a sea view but you can request pool view if you wish.
We visited Mangos bar, turn left out of hotel and a 5 minute walk, bar overlooking the sea - lovely.
It was approx 10-15 minute walk to the town which was fine for us but mom and dad had a taxi which cost approx 5-7 Euros.
Overall fantastic hotel and staff are lovely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Rees
9 years 10 months ago
My daughter, son in law, four year old grandson and myself travelled on the night of 10th/11th August to Ibiza excited at the prospect of spending two weeks, all inclusive holiday, at the Tropic Garden, Santa Eulalia. This holiday had been booked in February, and paid for in full in May. This vacation was a much needed break after personnal traumas and bereavement, where we hoped we could relax and heal. However, on arriving at the airport we were presented with a letter dated 10th August saying that there was no accommodation at this hotel nor in this resort and that we had no choice other than to go to the other side of the island to San Antonio in an hotel that we had rejected already in the search for our `perfect` holiday destination. Utter disaster! Beware!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: My Travel

Chris
9 years 11 months ago
Stayed for 17 nights. When we arrived we were informed that there was a problem with our room and we had to stay 1 night in another (4 Star) hotel. For this inconvenience we managed to get upgraded to All inclusive for the entire stay :-) which obviously more than made up for everything. The hotel is very new and clean and the rooms are well laid out with some great views. The food was very good which meant we ate within the Hotel more than we expected. There was always a fresh grill with different meats on offer and the salad bar had a great choice. We had some friends visit and they paid roughly 30 euros for 2 adults and 3 kids for lunch which includes all alcohol and drinks. So if you have booked self catering you can still eat at the hotel for a reasonable price.

The childrens entertainment was good and our daughter made some good friends and used the kids club daily. The evening entertainment was your standard stuff but the staff really give it their all and the stage area is impressive. Getting drinks in the evening is a bit of a free for all but you soon get the hang of it. If you don't go all inclusive you will tend to go out more in the evening and the walk into town is pleasant. If you walk the opposite way you come to a nice bar called Mangos.

All in all it is a very nice hotel and the being German it is very efficient. I would say the make up of guests was 50% German 30% English and 20% Others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.