Image of JS Sol De Alcudia Hotel

JS Sol De Alcudia Hotel

29 of 52 hotels in Alcudia

4 out of 5 from 54 reviews
3 stars
Avinguda de Venècia, 3 07410 Puerto de Alcudia, Spain

54 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    18
  • Very Good
    24
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Colin
Perfect location
5 years 4 months ago
After I read the reviews for this hotel I was worried about going but I needn’t have bothered. We all had a brilliant holiday and couldn’t have asked for anything more from this hotel.

The room was cleaned every other day and is in a perfect location for the beach and shops. It only does bar snacks but highly recommend woody woodpeckers and cheers for food which is just 2 minutes away.

I would also recommend the all-inclusive drinks package available but don’t book it until you get to the hotel. I would definitely go back to this hotel .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kirsty
5 years 4 months ago
We have stayed in this hotel before and was very much looking forward to going back there. This time it didn’t meet any of our expectations.

The hotel lobby and public areas were clean but the rooms were dirty. We had ants in the room constantly and little bugs biting us throughout the night. The bedding was only changed after we complained to out rep, and that had to be done twice. We asked for clean towels ourselves otherwise we wouldn’t have been given any.

The food in the hotel was exactly the same menu as we had 2 years ago, and it was the same quality. No brilliant but edible.

The hotel is located within a 5-10 minute walk from the beach. Also it is away from the main road so the only noise you can hear is the hotel putting their rubbish out at 1am, then the hotel next door putting their rubbish and glass bottles out at 2am, then peach pit shutting at 3am, and cheers shutting at 5am - no watch is needed during the night. But this noise is only heard if you are facing the road, if you are facing the pool (as we were previously, and requested again this year) then you don’t hear that much noise after the entertainment finishes at 12am.

The bar & reception staff are excellent, I really couldn’t praise them enough. As for the entertainment, we went back as the entertainer last time, Frankie, was excellent with kids and adults alike. This year we had a boy and girl, about 18 years old both of them, and they were more interested in the children, and if you didn’t have children you weren’t spoken to. They introduced themselves after we had been there a week, and that was only because they wanted to sell Bingo tickets. They also put on 2 shows, Grease and we will Rock you, both were appalling as they lip synced everything... even the script. We ended up most nights going across the road to Funny Bunny's and drinking the night away with Paco, who makes everyone feel like family.

I wouldn’t visit the hotel again as it is now catering for German families, and if you are not German you feel left out and intimidated.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Warren
6 years 3 months ago
Just arrived back from these apartments and found them to be clean. The beds were changed 3 times a week, clean towels. Lifts worked. We were self-catering but ate out all the time as the hob was useless, as it took nearly 2 weeks to boil a kettle. The location was good ten minutes from a beautiful beach restaurants entertainment. Have to agree with the rush for sunbeds and the size of pool. Our five year old loved the kid’s entertainment. It was noisy of a night but all outside music does stop at midnight and you are on holiday. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful Thomson’s reps were their all the time and were great. We have had a really good time so just go and enjoy it fabulous weather. The only downside to this holiday I would say is the cost of trips, marine land aqua land 155 euros for two adults and a five year old each trip.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ruth
I would definitely not stay here again.
6 years 3 months ago
We have just arrived from a fortnight at Sol de Alcudia Apartments. On arrival we were informed there was no room ready for us for another 2 and a half hours! After wandering around with hand luggage in 30 plus degrees, we were not amused. Eventually we got our room. These rooms are in desperate need of aircon and the fans only circulate hot air. The pool is too small for the number of guests in the hotel and the entertainment of an evening was diabolical. The rooms were noisy and we found it difficult to sleep in the evening and maid service was only twice a week. I would definitely not stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
6 years 3 months ago
Not long returned home from a 2 week SC stay at the Sol De Alcudia Apartments. We booked it with Thomson earlier on in the year. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. On arrival we found reception to be very friendly and helpful. We hired a fan for our 2 week stay, as it clearly stated in the brochure when we booked that there wasn't any air conditioning in the rooms. We also opted to use the safety deposit box in our room, which incurred a charge. We got lucky with our room as we got one that overlooked the pool. Some of the other rooms overlooked the side road where some of the bars, shops, and bins where. I would imagine staying in some of these rooms cold be noisy. Our room was a decent size for me, my husband and our 2 daughters (4 and 2), we requested a cot for our youngest daughter and our elder daughter slept on the sofa bed. The kitchenette area was basic, but we ate out all the time. There is a microwave, toaster, 2 electric rings, kettle (not an electric one, if you like your tea and coffee would recommend taking a travel plug in kettle). There is a TV mounted off the wall on a stand, if you want the remote control you need to hire it from reception. A few English channels, sky news, CBeebies, BBC1, BBC2, and BBC4! The maids kept our room very clean for us, and I’m sure they were changing our towels more often than what is stated in the brochure! We had read in a lot of reviews about there being a lot of mosquitos! I took all the sprays and took a plug to put in the room. Didn’t end up using any of the sprays. But a day or two before we came home I got 2 bites. The Pool area was nice, I did find the area surrounding the pool could get quite slippery at times with the water from the pool. The smaller pool was ideal for my 2 year old, she would have her armbands on and would be walking around in the pool. The big pool was nice, probably about 5ft deep all the way round. Plenty of sunbeds, but like most hotels there is a sign stating you cannot reserve sunbeds but everyone does. The pool area only opens at 9am and everybody starts queuing up in reception. Inflatables are allowed in the pool too, I have noticed some places don’t allow them. The pool snack bar was open from about 9am right through until about 9.30 serving drinks and snacks, food reasonably priced and very tasty too. We opted to do the all inclusive drinks package which was most definitely worth doing. We chose to do it once we got to the apartments as it was a lot cheaper than booking it through Thomson. The entertainment was good in the day and night. In the daytime there would be various activities involving the kids a lot, also the adults! Usually mid-afternoon the water activities would start. In the big pool it would be water volley and in the little pool water basketball for the smaller children. The same 2 girls would do the entertainment in the evening which would start at 8.30 with a children’s mini-disco (my girls both loved it) followed by cash bingo (may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but my MIL won 84 euros a couple of nights into our holiday!) They had a few different things on after the cash bingo, one night they had a reptile show! Lots of snakes, lizards etc. A chance to hold a big snake at the end and have your piccie taken. A parrot show on another night. A hypnotist on another night. The 2 girls would do quizzes, adult games involving audience participation. This part of the entertainment would go on until about 12. Sol De Alcudia location is really good, only a 5 minute walk from a stretch of restaurants/bars/supermarkets. Cheers we would always pass to head towards the restaurants. This year’s character was Upsy Daisy (my 2 year old was absolutely besotted with her), she would be at the front of Cheers waving hello to everyone as they pass and obviously getting people in to eat their too. We ate there twice, food was really nice followed by the kid’s entertainment and of course Upsy Daisy dancing. We also ate at S'amfora twice, lovely food! Ate at Ola's, thought this was abit pricy! There was also a nice Indian and a Chinese all you can eat buffet which was nice too. Beach isn’t too far, probably about a 10 minute walk. Beach is absolutely beautiful, sand is perfect and the sea is lovely. No rubbish or stones/pebbles in the sea. Very shallow to for quite a bit. Sunbeds and Parasol were not too dear either. Thomson Reps where always about at the times they said they would be. In the reception area, there was a timetable by their desk of when they would be around. We actually missed most of the welcome meeting but did manage to book 2 trips with them. One was to go to Marineland which is a must if you love Dolphins, and the other was the Pirate Show which was fantastic. Overall I would recommend the Sol De Alcudia, although they may be basic they are clean, friendly, and have a great location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Adams
6 years 3 months ago
this was a very noisy hotel, with microwave meals, coke for the kids more exspensive than lager the annex is the poor part of this hotel .do not book a holliday there if you have kids
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
KAVANAGH
6 years 3 months ago
just returned today from this super apartment block, extremely clean and well equipped modern rooms, excellent location, all bars and every manor of food you could ever want all a stones throw away and to top that the beach which is the cleanest ive ever been on is just ten mins walk. The only down side is the evening entertainment, great for the under 10's, naff other wise, pool games during daytime are fun, poolside snack bar, very good value but evening bar/drinks very expensive although on the last four days you can buy an all inclusive wrist band for under 1o euros pp, didnt appeal to us as their are soo many other places to spend your time, why stay on resort all day? great value and wouldnt hesitate to recommend, not so much for young couples/groups tho.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 3 months ago
The hotel is based in the centre of alcudia, close to the bars and restaurants, and about 5 mins walk from the beach. We went self-catering but also took the all-inclusive drinks option priced at approx £10 per day and was incredible value. The rooms are reasonably well equiped with kettle, toaster, microwave, free TV and a 2 ring cooker. Air conditioning would have been nice but you can hire fans at E20 per week,(a bit expensive). Safes are also E20 per week with a 5 Euro deposit.
The pool is quite small compared the size of the hotel which meant sunbeds were a premium but more were delivered the day before we left. The problem is the usual one, people claiming them and not using them till later in the day.
The pool bar is reasonably priced and as previously posted the breakfast with drink included at E3.20 is fantastic value. Bar snacks were the usual fare,ie burgers, pizzas etc but were cheap and tasty.
Pool tables, a games room plus internet access were also available.
Susan and Jenni, the hotel entertainers, did a good job with the kids but adult entertainment was a bit sparce, water volleyball, killer pool and darts provided a distraction during the day but the evening time was mainly kids, discos and songs, there were a couple of good acts on over the 2 weeks, hypnotist, magician, but we would have liked a couple of nights with maore adult orientated etertainment.
Bar staff were fantastic, and nothing was too much trouble. Wouold definitely visit these appartments again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Morrison
6 years 4 months ago
We were slightly worried after reading some of the reviews on these apartments but they were unfounded. Transfer from the airport was just 45 minutes and our first impression as we walked into the reception area was how clean it was. Our apartment was equally clean and spacious with a pool view but was let down by having no air conditioning. The kitchen was well equipped with fridge, hob, kettle and microwave. Towels and linen were changed twice a week but more often if you asked one of the maids. They hire out fans at reception but we decided to buy one from the old town and really needed it. The pools were both good sizes but the depth of the larger one was pretty deep - our 9 year old who is a good swimmer could just about manage to stand on her tiptoes at the shallowest part but felt out of place in the knee high childrens pool. The only thing missing from the morning rush to get sunbeds by the pool was the Benny Hill theme tune! Grown adults racing to get a bed, putting 3 or 4 towels down and then walking away again is a daily occurance. We used the snack bar once and would not do so again. This was a personal taste thing and it seemed pretty busy so maybe we chose an off day. Staff were helpful and approachable. The entertainment team - Jenny and Susan - worked hard and our children loved the childrens disco and bingo each evening. There are no no-smoking areas outside in the evening which we found difficult. We will certainly return if they install air conditioning.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Michelle
6 years 4 months ago
this hotel is an clean ! we got a cheap deal an we was all happy with the hitel !! the rist bands are worth the money !!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices