Image of Platja d Or Hotel

Platja d Or Hotel

31 of 52 hotels in Alcudia

4 out of 5 from 52 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de la Vidalba, 1 07400 Platja D'Alcudia, Spain

52 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    22
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
D Shaw
Adults only, relaxing hotel
2 years 6 months ago
We went as a couple and found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, amazing staff, lovely food and a stones throw from a fabulous beach!
Going to the old town is a lovely short trip by bus only 1.55 pp and they also hold a market that sells lovely craft and clothing items. Alcudia itself is a fairly quiet resort but has bars and places to eat. A nice trip to the next resort is calan picafort which is very picturesque. Would definitely recommend it and will also be going back there when we go to Majorca again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 6 months ago
This is a great hotel - no children! The entertainment was better that most - even the bingo was worth playing when you can win over 400/500 euros every night!
Right on the beach which is miles long and very shallow water for a long way out. The food was always good if not inspirational, meat, fish, paellas, salads and fresh and tinned veg. Good soups and excellent breakfast. The coffee in the hotel bar was the best I have ever had and I like good strong coffee. The drink measures were enormous - we had to ask for small ones as my husband got more tipsy than he intended! The pool was lovely and always enough sunbeds - we never had to save one. The beds were hard as mentioned by someone else, but we slept fine in them (they are all new mattresses).#
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a chill-out week. The buses to anywhere else on the island are really good, no need to hire a car or go on any expensive trips.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mark
7 years 2 months ago
On arrival at this hotel everything seems impressive, but stay there a few hours and you realise that you have been transported back to the 1970
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
7 years 4 months ago
This is only a 3 star hotel, as a base it is fine. It has good food choice and it was allways hot and cooked very well. Their are some points which really let the hotel down, this is an adults only hotel so we expected a few nice touches, but their was nothing. No candles out on the tables, no subtle lighting, no elegant glasses. The room was big enough but please please Platja D'or upgrade the beds. Their was not one couple we spoke to that liked the beds, they were hard (very) and although ours didn't squeek we could here next doors. The pool area. Now forget every cleche about the germans with the towels and sunloungers as Brits are worse. we only stoppped round the pool for one day as we found the beach a lot better but their were very few sun loungers available if you left it after 9am even if they were not used until the afternoon, but in our opinion buy a couple of lilo's and a parasol and head to the beach (you can hire the loungers and fixed parasols on the beach but 9 Euro a day) as the pool area has no breaze and no position has sun all day and you will need to try and move your lounger to the other side of the pool/garden. Food, as I said this was very nice with allways something to choose from and a good choice of salad. The lunch time is self serv drinks but evening is a waiter service for drinks, even sparkling wine (it was ok). The rules do say that gents have to wear long trousers which was fine for me but some people were just going in with what I would refer to as day shorts and nothing was said, but, I do feel that this was not advised before we went and we know of some people that did not use for a few days for fear of being told to leave as they did not take any long trousers. Bar. good measures and served usually with in a couple of minutes, but, on more than one occasion it was a 15 min wait as they had very few glasses and reduced the bar staff in order to collect them. I for one do not go on a holiday in order to que for a drink at the one and only bar. The bar,outside area & enterainment building were next to each other and if everyone chose to stop at the hotel for a night it could not cope with seating or bar service, as mentioned this was only a few occasions. Entertainment on the whole was fine, Bingo is plaid every night (sometimes twice) but dont knock it if you dont usually play as I groaned the first night when it came on until they announced the 500 euro house prize. I joined in the next night and one 4 times while their not allways the house but we won a few hundred euro's, which was nice. As i said at the start with a few tweaks this could be a better hotel but if you get a good deal to go you won't regret it. The hotel is about 50 meters from the beach, a 5.10 minute walk to Playa de maya (the closest town) and 30 min walk to Alcudia or a 10 min bus ride or 20 to old town.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Silverton
7 years 4 months ago
This was the first All inclusive holiday we had been on and we were extremely impressed. We stayed for 10 nights. The Hotel was always kept extremely clean with maids cleaning rooms, providing new sheets and towels each day.
The Restaurant staff were efficient. You got your own drinks at breakfast and at lunchtime and the staff served your drinks for the evening meal. There was an excellent choice of food with fresh fish available each day together with various meat dishes, salads and the Chef would provide speciality meals each evening. My wife and I had originally decided to eat a traditional Paella in Alcudia however we found that this was one of the speciality options at the hotel and found this to be excellent so no need to pay the 25 Euros we thought we would have to.
If you wanted to, we didn't, you could eat breakfast from 8.00am, sandwiches at 11.00am, lunch from 12.30pm, sandwiches at 3.00pm, cakes at 4.00pm, dinner from 6.30pm & cheese & biscuits from 10.00pm. Watch your waist line!!
You were not permitted to enter the pool area until 8.00am so, no need to panic re sunbeds. We found that the grassy area was the best place to choose as this got most of the sun during the day.
The pool was never crowded and it was nice to be able to swim without being dive bombed by children!
The excellent beach with shallow water was just across the side road and we tended to go there late afternoon.
Age range when we stayed at hotel was between 16 years and 85 years so good mixture of age groups.
Entertainment during the day was low key and you were never pressurised to join in. Evening entertainment comprised tribute bands and Bingo.
The bar staff were excellent. You formed a queue for your drinks but never had to wait for longer than 2 minutes as each person was limited to 2 drinks. Local beers and spirits or coffee were available. We saved a fortune.
You could walk to Alcudia either via the path along the beach or along the road. It takes around 45 minutes. Alcudia itself was not picturesque as it is a working port.
Another nice walk is around the lake across the road from the hotel.
Only criticism are the beds as mentioned by other posters they were extremely hard.
A number of people we spoke to had visited the hotel many times and we can understand why as we would not hesitate to return.
Final mention for the Thomson Rep Emma, she was always available at the hotel,if you needed her and was extremely efficient.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 4 months ago
this was the first time we have stayed at this hotel the hotel is not five star but more like three star good food, good entertainment, great location, the hotel staff are excellent a good mixture of uk residents so made meeting people very easy not really enough sun beds but much better to go to the beach because you got the sea breeze and did not roast, would i recommend this hotel to anyone else or go back again yes may even go back in 2010
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Steve
7 years 4 months ago
One Week in The Platja D'0r Hotel Acudia.......

There were 4 of us in our 40's booked all inclusive

The Hotel is quite modern and air conditioned in the public rooms and the bedrooms

The bedrooms are clean and spacious with plenty storage, the bathrooms however have a bath with a shower so you have to step into / out of the bath when washing, glass doors and surrounds make this very tricky when you and the floor is wet and we heard of at least two people falling over and needing medical help, you have to give a deposit for the TV remote which they refund but the TV is small with limited channels, air con in rooms worked well

Food, well if you are expecting classic Spanish dishes think again, lots of fish, great but look out for the bones, lamb cooked on the grill by the Chef also good, but too much processed food like Chicken Cordon Bleu and what they call Veal but was just processed beef burger in breadcrumbs in my opinion and every thing well over cooked, the restaurant if you could call it that was more like a serve yourself fast food place. If you and your friends like a long leisurely meal while talking about the days events go out to a nearby Restaurant.

The Bar, it's free there you go what more would you want, well the cocktails are very limited about two we counted and they were out of a bottle not mixed. Spirits were mostly unknown brands and the coke was that strange stuff out of the pump, loads of Lemon sorts out the strange taste we found, the bar closed dead on 11.45pm we were just getting going then...and there is no table service so you spend your evening going to the bar and back

The restaurant, when open on last day for early departure was in darkness, fellow guests even had to put on lights and toaster. Menu stand placed in front of doors - another ploy to keep as many out as possible perhaps!

Entertainment, geared for the over 60's we felt first world war songs, Comedy acts with jokes from the same world war and Bingo, saying that there was a tribute act on very funny and manic called Xerox we enjoyed them pity they had to mime the songs

The swimming pool was great just the place to go when it got to hot to sit outside, no one under 18 as its an adults only Hotel, and Emma the Thomson rep was very helpful

Would we go again? No. If it is your first time abroad and you are not adventurous about food well give it a go.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Julie
7 years 5 months ago
The hotel was spotless and staff constantly cleaning the hotel. The pool was clean, staff helpful and polite. The food good, hot and restaurant staff also hardworking. The hotel is ruined unfortunately by the many of the British guests. If overweight, heavily tattooed men (and women), drinking all day and selfishly throwing themselves onto Lilo's into the pool is your thing, you will love it. And we thought it was no kids?! We went to the beach most days due to the above and it is better. I wouldn't visit again due to the other guests. Certainly disappointing for a 4 T compared to others we have been on. The dress code at dinner not repected, many football shirts worn by the same people. We thought the entertainment was dreadful, but others enjoyed it. Unfortunately you cannot escape from it as all the outside table are located around the entertainment area. To say Butlins in the sun would be unfair to the hotel & its staff, but many of the guests make it feel that way.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mrs Little
7 years 5 months ago
Have just returned from a 2 week all inclusive break at this hotel and we had a fantastic holiday. The rooms, although basic, are spotlessly clean with air conditioning. The food is repeated over the 2 weeks, however, there is enough choice at lunchtimes and dinner times and there is meat and fish cooked fresh every night in front of you. The pool area is great and we didn't have to get up at 'stupid o clock' to put towels on beds!! The beach, located across a no through road, is lovely. All staff are really helpful and friendly. You can only get 2 drinks per person at the bar but this works really well and we didn't have to queue for drinks.
Daytime entertainment was the usual water polo, darts etc evening entertainment was mixed. Ranging from really good to average. Tribute bands were excellent especially the village people! We don't normally play bingo but when the prize money is 450 euros we decided to have a go!! We did a coulple of trips which were great, orange blossom trail is a good day out, and the best evening we had was at Son Amar, a brilliant night out well worth going to see. But for us the best part of the holiday was the fact that there were no children! Don't take that the wrong way we have children and we have spent the last 20 years at kids clubs and noisy pools!!! It was such a relaxed atmosphere and so quiet. In the evening we didn't have to sit through endless sounds of music man and agadoo!!
We would definately go back to this hotel, highly recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 6 months ago
Very pleasantly surprised as we had no great expectations of a European all-inclusive hotel. The hotel was the second part of a cruise & stay. We had originally booked with Island but it was cancelled when Thomson took over so we had very little choice of hotel. Apart from the days when we hired a car we ate every meal at the hotel including dinner every night, we have never done this before but the food was very good.Drinks at meal time were bottles of beer or wine from the fridge, you helped yourself at lunch or waiter service at dinner. Beer was St Miguel so no complaints there, my wife reckoned the wine was ok but nothing special.All meals were buffet service but never a problem finding a table and the food was always plentiful and hot. No waiting for the trays to be empty, the staff were replacing them before anything got cold. Entertainment was a bit holiday campish during the day but no one bullied you to take part. There was a quiz in the afternoon and another in the evening, prizes were either free bingo tickets or a bottle of Cava. We won the Cava on the 2nd day but decided not to enter again 'cos it tasted disgusting. Bingo was on every night and was very popular with over 500 euros to win. Once a week a cash quiz was held with 1 euro to enter, we won it and got 119 euros, not a bad start to our next holiday. The entertainment was mixed with one exceptional show, a Village People tribute band.
All in all we had a great time and would return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices