Image of Protur Bahia Azul Apartments

Protur Bahia Azul Apartments

7 of 17 hotels in Cala Bona

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Iris, (Urb. Son Floriana) s/n 07559 Cala Bona Mallorca

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Margaret & John
6 years 5 months ago
The Bahia Azul Apartments are very nice, the only problem we found was that they are right on a main road and roundabout we wouldn't have stayed there if we had known as we prefer quiet areas. In the Thomson brochure it says that they are situated in a quiet residential area - they are in a residential area but the road is very noisy so it's definitely not quiet. The whole site is is kept immaculate and cleanliness is to a high standard. We were glad the bar closed at 6pm as we think there is nothing worse than having a noisy bar below your bedroom, especially if you fancy an early night. The Thomson rep was very good and so where the hotel staff over at the Floriana Resort Hotel.

The only reason I've put that we wouldn't visit again is purely because of the road.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Bill &joan
7 years 2 months ago
the apartment was excellent with fridge,microwave & 2 two hobs.however some apartments had high conifers touching the balconies which meant they were shaded all day.ours was fine with two balconies.the pool bar which was friendly as was the waiter closes at 6pm which is unusual,we've never known this before in all the resorts we have visited.the tv only has 2 english channels the rest were german.the floriana appears to cater exclusively for germans.10 min walk to the beach. marias bar just down the road is friendly & has snacks & drinks at reasonable prices.maria is a very nice girl,friendly & helpful.jackies on the sea front is also worth a visit.would like to thank tom,john,cath&ally for being very helpful&a good laugh.we had a good rep at the resort but the reps at the airport were useless
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mrs Goodman
8 years 3 months ago
apartments nice and modern, spotlessly clean, plenty of fresh towels and sheets.Most apartments overlook pool.nice and peaceful.
floriana resort has something going on most of the time.Food there very good. Paid 15 euros for evening meal as much as you can eat.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
D O'Leary
8 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from 1 weeks self catering in the Bahia Azul Apartments in Cala Bona Majorca. It is a small, quiet complex which belongs to the larger, busier complex on te opposite side of the street.
Overall opinion of the apartments is smart, clean, comfortable, quiet and set in a lovely location. Everything was well mainteined (gardens looked manicured and all paintwork was fresh and neat). Beds were comfortable, fresh and spacious. The bathroom was impressively clean and we had an almost endless supply of clean towels. We paid to keep our room for 6 extra hours on the last day which cost 25 euros which seemed good value.
We didn't get to meet a lot of the staff but those that we did deal with were efficient, respectful and helpful.




































































































Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Guy&chris Hodgkinson
8 years 4 months ago
we have been to bahia azul before and decided to return as we have 2 sons age 14 & 16 yrs who are very happy to relax by the pool sit at the pool bar and enjoy a drink and snack excellent food served from 10am to 6pm they always meet new friends staff are great to speak to and its only 5 mins walk to the beach shops more bars and harbour . they would both like to return so that says it all!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
We were dropped off at the Floriana Resort, just across a very quiet side road from the Bahia Azul. Booking in was very quick and the staff were very informative and helpful. We did see one family being taken to the Bahia Azul by golf buggy but we walked, it is literally a minutes walk!

We were on the first floor and had a one bedroomed apartment and a studio right next to each other.
The apartment and studio were both very spacious in my opinion. Our apartment had a nice living area with a kitchenette, complete with microwave and kettle (but this took ages to boil so it was quicker to use the microwave.) However, the microwave was more then 5 feet from the ground and so you had to be very careful when removing hot drinks from it. The fridge had a small freezer compartment which worked efficiently. Even tea towels were provided and these were replaced each time the maid came in. The bedroom and living area each had plenty of drawer and hanging space with hangers provided. The two beds in the bedroom were huge! The bathroom was very clean with a nice shower and even a hand soap dispenser. All of the towels and linen were spotlessly clean, and the pillows were obviously freshly laundered. We did find that there was no mirror in the bedroom, just one in the bathroom and one in the main living area. Unfortunately, the sockets in the main living area were some way from the mirror, but again a minor thing. There was a big safe in the room which could be hired at the Floriana reception for 14 euros a week with a refundable deposit. The great thing was that you made up your own code for the electronic safe and so there was no key to worry about losing! The apartment was thoroughly cleaned each day apart from Saturday and Wednesday in our case, and towels were replaced on these days too if you desired, the linen was replaced half way though our stay. Plenty of loo rolls! There was always plenty of hot water. One thing we did not have in the kitchen was a pair of scissors which we could have done with but we improvised with nail clippers! The balcony was of a nice size and we even had a clothes airer provided, although the studio did not have one. I should imagine that just about all apartments had a pool view, although a small amount, including ours, had the view obscured by tall trees, but this was a minor thing. The air-conditioning worked very efficiently, and blew into the main living area and the bedroom, although we did not need to use it a lot of the time, the apartment tended to stay quite cool. The front door went to the outside rather than to a corridoor and I think this kept it cooler. We had a key card along with another card which could be left in the electric slot had we wanted to leave the air-con or lights on when we were out, but the studio did not have the extra card.

The pool was very nice, clean and not too deep in parts for non swimmers. It gently sloped to the deeper part. There was also a childrens pool. The pool bar was very nice with friendly staff, and English music was played all of the time, but not too loudly. The pool bar snacks were very nice, and fairly priced. There was a pool table. Inflatables were allowed into the pool. Unfortunately, although it was requested that no sunbeds be reserved before 9am, it was necessary to get up somewhat earlier to make sure that you had somewhere to lie for the day. They could have done with maybe a dozen or so more beds. The ones they did have were very comfortable!

We did not use the Floriana facilities, although there seemed to be plenty to do over there. We found that it did seem geared up more to the German holidaymaker, this showed also with the tv in our apartment, the only English speaking programmes we had were Eurosport and CNN, the rest were either German or Spanish, but mostly German. It is a shame that as the Bahia Azul was only for English Guests, we did not have more English speaking channels tuned in. Still, you don't go on holiday to watch tv, do you? Although it is nice to have it on for background noise when you are getting ready in the evening. We only saw the Thomson rep once, to book Pirates, and she was very nice and helpful. There was no entertainment at the Bahia Azul when we were there, but that was no problem, as we could have easily gone over the road if we wanted to. The atmosphere around the pool was very relaxed.

The grounds were well cared for, and it was very quiet at night, but the complex was in a very nice residential area, and it felt very safe. The surrounding streets were very clean.

We found our way to the main shops and beach by coming down the steps by the pool table (opposite the Floriana) and turning right for a short way crossing the roads. At the roundabout we turned left and just a short walk took us to the beach. Just before you come across a Spar shop, which we used, however, we found the next Spar, just a short way further on the right, by the sea, a bit cheaper. There was a large supermaket called BIP which was a lot cheaper, this was by Sandancers, and the London Inn. If you turn left at the sea a pleasant walk will take you to the harbour area. Turn right at the sea and this will take you through Cala Bona and eventually to Cala Millor. We found the beach at Cala Bona to be nothing special, it was very sea-weedy and stoney, but a short walk along (about 10 minutes) finds you on a much nicer stretch of beach. It was very clean. We only walked as far as the lifeguards, here we found a break in the seaweed!

At the harbour area we ate at Smithys on the corner, good food, and Janet and Johns. Janet and Johns was a little bit dearer than some other restaurants but very nice food, and worth the short wait. One tip, try not to sit at the table inside by the toilets! Further up from Smithys, next to Papparrazi (which seemed to be very popular) was a lovely restaurant called El Senor Gato, which has only recently opened. This was our favourite restaurant, the food was superb.

Along the main Cala Bona beach front we ate at Donkey's Rest, very nice, and the Pizzeria close to it, which was also very nice. Cala Bona is quite laid back and come 10-11pm a lot of the shops were shut, so do your shopping before eating dinner!

Something very nice was that there were no restaurant staff hassling you to go into their restarant as you find in some holiday resorts, nor were there any looky-looky men. The man who sells red roses along the sea front only charged 3 euros for a beautiful flower, but he wasn't at all pushy.

We hired a six seater bike from the harbour area, which was great fun but very tiring so an hour was enough. There are a lot of bikes (some with motors!) on the prom so you need to keep your wits about you!

We went and saw Pirates, what a fabulous night, well worth the money in my opinion. We booked though Thomsons, and this ensured a Thomsons rep on the coach and going on an English speaking night. Be prepared for a bit of a wait though when you get there before they open the doors, it was very hot in the queue.

We thought that Cala Bona and the Bahia Azul was a good choice and would stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
I agree with the previous reviews.Spacious apartment in great surroundings.Well equipped kitchen.Microwave and toaster came in very handy.Plenty of hot water and a great view from the balcony.We were on the third floor.Only downside were the cot type single beds which were really uncomfortable and climbing up the stairs after a few drinks.It's about a ten minute stroll into the harbour in Cala Bona passing some really great houses.It's part of the Floriana complex and you can use the facilities there.We didn't use the Floriana but you have to check in there and it seemed to be geared more to the Germans.Could only see German newspapers for sale in the reception.We would go back again if they improved the beds.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
I agree with the previous reviews.Spacious apartment in great surroundings.Well equipped kitchen.Microwave and toaster came in very handy.Plenty of hot water and a great view from the balcony.We were on the third floor.Only downside were the cot type single beds which were really uncomfortable and climbing up the stairs after a few drinks.It's about a ten minute stroll into the harbour in Cala Bona passing some really great houses.It's part of the Floriana complex and you can use the facilities there.We didn't use the Floriana but you have to check in there and it seemed to be geared more to the Germans.Could only see German newspapers for sale in the reception.We would go back again if they improved the beds.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
I agree with the previous reviews.Spacious apartment in great surroundings.Well equipped kitchen.Microwave and toaster came in very handy.Plenty of hot water and a great view from the balcony.We were on the third floor.Only downside were the cot type single beds which were really uncomfortable and climbing up the stairs after a few drinks.It's about a ten minute stroll into the harbour in Cala Bona passing some really great houses.It's part of the Floriana complex and you can use the facilities there.We didn't use the Floriana but you have to check in there and it seemed to be geared more to the Germans.Could only see German newspapers for sale in the reception.We would go back again if they improved the beds.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Peter, Jen & Connor
9 years 5 months ago
The rooms were kept very clean, as were the pool, bar areas and the surrounding areas.

The food was fresh, plentiful and varied.

All the staff were multi linguists, helpful and always professional.

We would definitely return, as had many families that we met who had been to this resort on more than one occasion already.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: