Image of Sur Hotel

Sur Hotel

12 of 17 hotels in Cala Bona

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
1 star
Passeig MarĂ­tim, 25, 07559 Son Servera (Mallorca), Spain

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 2 months ago
There are very good reasons why this hotel is cheap
1. The lift does not, and has not worked for months, the rooms are on 3 floors above the reception. The dining room is below reception. People with mobility problems with stairs should definitely not go here.

2. This hotel has problems with its hot water supply - sometimes it works sometimes not. The owner of the hotel is not interested in any complaints and would prefer if guests went elsewhere.

3. The bedrooms were cleaned every day, and towels replaced as required.

4. The food - the 'chef' has learnt to use a tin opener - tinned sardines, tuna, mussels, fruit etc. The boiled potatoes were superb. Extremely limited choice for dinner - meat or fish with veg and gravy.

Breakfast - eggs are either boiled, scrambled or fried; bacon swimming in fat, tinned tomatoes and beans. Jam from a jar - topped up daily, honey did not move all week.

5. Pago-pago-beach is on the ground floor - a very loud 'musical' venue which is on until 3 - 4am.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
9 years 3 months ago
warning.warning.warning.under no cicumstances should you ever consider staying in hotel sur.below the hotel is a bar called pago-pago,and they play live music there until 3am in the morning.the hotel food is atrocious ,you get food served one day,and if it not eaten,then it is served the next.the hotel staff are very unhelpful,they will not serve a cup of tea with your evening meal.all the hotel is bothered about is the bar,and attracting young people to it,where they seem to make most of there money.i would say the hotel was built around the 1970"s and no money has been spent on re-furbishment,but the management do not seem to care.if anyone you know has booked to stay in hotel sur,then please pray for them,you have been warned.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Dave And Annette
10 years 4 months ago
Hotel in general was clean but pool area was not cleaned once during our stay.

All the hotel staff were friendly.

The food was ok but the tables and condiments were not that clean.

We think as it is above a pub it is not suitable for children.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mrs Jackie Hilton
10 years 4 months ago
Hotel Don Jamie (Cala Mallor)

Room basic but very clean. Nice clean hotel. Pool area clean but on small side, limited amount of space for sun beds. Cleaners very polite, hotel staff hardly spoke any English at all, this did create lots of problems even with the simplest of questions.

Hotel food we found very bland, boring repetitive and lacking in variety, and we are not fussy eaters, food seemed to geared for German guests.

Hotel entertainment was absolutely diabolical, the acts were very poorly done, and they only seemed to understand German and Spanish language.

We would not go back to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Roy/christine
11 years 2 months ago
Hotel first class clean food very good staff brilliant.
mario could not do enough for us. Would recommend/pity Thomson was not as good ideal for beach & bars/well done sur.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carole And John
11 years 4 months ago
This holiday was only booked about 6 weeks in advance but we were pleased with the price and location of the hotel.

It was cleaned every day and the entertainment was good every night.

The pool was small but a bit too deep for non-swimming children.

The food was nice but there could have been some fruit for breakfast!

I would return to this hotel if it was with another adult, but not with children.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ross & Emily
11 years 4 months ago
We stayed half board, the room was small but very clean. The rooms were very hot no air conditioning and we were not told about hiring fsns until the last day.

We were not to keen on the evening meals however the breakfasts were reasonable.

It was nice place in a quite area, the hotel staff on the whole were ok. On the 3rd day we had a bottle of perfume stolen from our room. We informed the Manager but all he said was that he had agency staff in and that he could not help us. This incident spoiled our holiday because we were very nervous about leaving items out. For peace of mind we had to lock everything of any value in our suitcases and safe. We did not stay for the evening entertainment we went into cala millor. a good pub in Cala Millor was The British Bulldog great entertainment and food was good too. I will not be visiting this hotel again. Also it cost us 80 Euros each way in a taxi from Airport.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
13 years 4 months ago
The Sur is a no frills hotel,The room was on the small side especially after we had hired a fridge.
The rooms were cleaned well and regularly.
There was no air conditioning so we ran two small
Fans more or less continually as it was very hot.
The hotel is located 100 metres from Cala Bona beach
And Cala Bona harbour 3/5 minutes walk.
The food was generally good,plenty of variety at both
Breakfast and dinner.
The pool area was fine with plenty of sunbeds.
The hotel staff were very good.Tony who worked the bar
In the daytime,Rual and Hector who worked at night were
Really friendly and entertaining.
Drink prices were about 8 euros for two long drinks
With big measures of Bacardi,Brandy etc.
There was entertainment three nights a week.
Wednesday,Friday and Sunday nights and thankfully
No kareoke.
Sunday nights featured Tony the barman on vocals and guitar with a keyboard player.Rual and Hector helping out on percussion(pots and pans) on a couple of songs.
Smashing night.
The Sur is a reasonably priced hotel and is good value
For money.If it had air con this would be a really
Good place to stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: