Image of Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel

Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel

17 of 37 hotels in Cala D Or

4 out of 5 from 32 reviews
3 stars
Cala Ferrera-Felanitx, 07669 Cala Ferrera, Majorca, Spain

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mrs Smith
Not suitable for people with mobility problems
6 years 7 months ago
I visited this hotel with my daughter and a friend. My daughter has Multiple sclerosis and, although the hotel was clean and the position was good, right on the beach, it was no good for people with mobility problems, you have to use steps to the beach which are dangerous as there is no rail for people to hold onto, there is no other way of getting down onto the beach, therefore we never went onto it.

Also, there is a rope around the area of the outdoor bar, this rope is very flimsy and if you fell there is quite a drop onto the beach below, health and safety would have a field day if the hotel was in England.

The pool area is very small, and again people with mobility problems would not be able to get up the steps.

Entertainment was mixed, a lot of it was in Spanish.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lockett
7 years 4 months ago
We were booked for one week we had a night flight and got into our room approx 3.30a.m we went straight to bed, I was awakened by a noise outside when I woke up to see a young man looking through our patio doors which scared the living daylights out of me, by the time I woke my husband up he had gone. We reported it to the rep the next morning and they were surprised as they said they had not had any trouble like that at the hotel.
The room was very basic, ladies if you stay here you need to take your hairdryers although the hotel description says hairdryers are in the rooms, our room didn't have one. Although the room was very basic for a 3* it was spotless that was the only good thing about it. We went half board, the food was very plain and it was the same food everyday, no variety, the food was also cold. The restaurant was very unorganised and it was pandemoneum every meal time and one big free for all. If you wanted to secure a sunbed by the pool you would see people queing at half seven every morning to get one, the hotel had a serious lack of sunbeds to accommodate the amount of people staying at the hotel. There is another sunbed area around the side of the hotel overlooking the sea, and there was about 20/30 beds, in very poor condition and were chained together and not unleashed at all in the day so you couldn't move the bed around as the sun moved you were stuck in one postion, and this area was not too clean either, the ground was crazy paving and very uneven. This holiday cost us a lot of money, and we found ourselves eating out as the food was dreadful if you do decide to go to this hotel choose the self catering option which is what we should have done, if you are not fussy about eating very bland and basic cold food its fine.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
The Dove Family
7 years 4 months ago
We booked this hotel for our week away in the sun and after reading the reviews on here were a little bit wary ! We were given 2 rooms on the top floor (7)and tbh the rooms could do with a freshen up but nothing drastic i.e they still have wooden patio doors and no hairdryers but they are cleaned daily and we had a great view over the bay (would recommend a sea view as this is the nicer side of the hotel ).The hotel food can become a little 'samey' and it does get busy but you gotta expect this at peak times,we did find that being A.I,lunch times were a joy with the restaurant area nowhere near as busy and very good choices,there was however plenty of hot and cold food to choose from at all meal times which was always being topped up . The staff were very helpful throughout the hotel and everyone acknowledged the problem with the sunbeds around the pool area,but we struck a deal with the fella who rented out the beds and parasols on the beach and got a discount for booking 6 days hire ! Good to know that we had the same sunbeds all week as we were able to lock them up every night ! Can't really comment on the entertainment as it wasn't really our cup of tea but there were shows every night and was always busy.All in all we had a very relaxing holiday and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Juliet
8 years 2 months ago
Cleanliness fine, no concerns, was dissapointed to find no hairdryers in room, you could run down to reception to "borrow" one but who can be bothered. Also water pressure on 5th floor was poor.

Breakfast was ok, although one toaster only working which wasn't adequate for a busy dining room.

Location great, had a sea view, although balcony could be bigger, didn't want to spend much time there.

Staff ok, pleased to be offered a room to shower/change in on leaving late afternoon.

Entertainment ok, didn't spend too much time there, but the staff seemed to try very hard to please.

Was sad to find the barcelo in cala dor was not the same calibre as in Furtaventura, but then again its a 3* not a 4*,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
G Salmon
8 years 2 months ago
Stayed in this hotel as a final holiday for our family before winter, the hotel itself is quite clean in certain areas, the food is ok, but as others have said, sometimes food was either undercooked, or overcooked having being left under the grill for ages. There was not enough room or staff in the restaurant for the size of the hotel. The staff were quite rude sometimes, and generally could not be bothered with you if it was a perticular problem. There was no entertainment, except on the weekend when the Spanish turned up for their yearly "free holiday" so then the noise was loud. The brochure stated a "family hotel" with childrens entertaiment, there was none of this at all. My son is 2 and there was nothing for him. We arrived in this hotel totally out numbered by the amount of SAGA guests esp as we are a young family!!
I woul not recommend this hotel/resort to anyone!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Mr. M. Swann
8 years 3 months ago
Food was worst ever tasted. Wrote a letter to Barcelo which says it all: I wish to convey my experiences at one of your hotels which I have just visited with my family. Firstly, can I say that I deliberatley chose a Barcelo hotel as I have stayed at the Barcelo Pueblo in Benidorm on several occasions and believe that the Barcelo brand is a quality one. I stayed at the Barcelo Ponent Playa in Cala D'Or for 7 nights, returning on Thursday 18th September. I have no complaints about the room or hotel itself, as I thought that it was very good standard. However, I have to say that the Resteraunt is the worst I have ever experienced in over 20+ holidays in Spain. I have several issues which I would like to spell out: 1 - The organisation of the dining room was appalling. Virtually every meal included queing up waiting for food trays to be refilled. Often you were stood several minutes trying to make a meal up on your plate. Tables were not cleared quickly enough and many people ended up moving their own plates to the waste trolleys. The Chef who was working on the grill every morning (frying eggs) was hopeless. He could not fry eggs and bacon at the same time, so you queued for your egg then had to que for your bacon, so your egg was cold when you got back to the table. Also this Chef was a poor cook and struggled to fry an egg properly and was serving people with very runny eggs, which as you are aware can cause Salmonella and are pretty awful to the taste.

2 - The behaviour of some of the waiting staff was very poor and unfriendly. Some of the staff were helpful, but there were a few who were very rude and ignorrent. I found this appalling as there were a lot of elderly people in the hotel and I felt that I was unwelcome at times.

3 - The worst complaint I have is the quality of the food, which is the worst I have ever had in over 15 years of travel abroad. There was very little choice, some of the food was cold, some of the food was discoloured. Virtually every dish on the salad bar contained fish for some reason. Some of the dishes were presented in an awful state and looked absolutley disgusting, causing many people to leave the food because they were unsure what it was. Finally some of the menu combinations were silly - e.g. battered Brocolli florets, Onion rings and deep fried sponge cake for breakfast?

I could go on and on, but it was terrible. In the end my family ended up eating out for 3 out of the 7 nights and 3 out 7 breakfasts - avoid like the plague!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mr & Mrs Beasley
8 years 3 months ago
Hotel was ideally situated by the beach but on several occasions there was a sewarage smell coming from the sea. You were very lucky to get a sunbed by the pool only if you queued up at 7.15 am for the gate to be opened at 8.00am. We didn't!

Noisy rooms - you could hear your next door neighbours and if you went to bed before 12 you would be woken up by the loud banging doors. If you do go to this Hotel make sure you get a sea view room or a high floor as coaches deliver tourists well into the early hours of the morning under your windows.

Two sunbeds and an umbrella were 11 euros a day and at least some of these were reserved for the whole week.

Showers in the Hotel were salt water as was the basin supply. In our case the air conditioning we complained about for 7 days was not repaired when we left the hotel.

In the Hotel brochure men are required to wear long trousers in the evening in the restaurant but this dress code was not enforced. As for the restaurant there were not enough staff to clear the tables in the morning although the staff that were there tried their best. Food often looked re-cycled from the previous evening. The internet was expensive 1 euro for 10 minutes - outside you can use the internet 1 euro for 20 minutes. The resort is great, plenty of shopping and eating places , no noisy nightclubs except one which was below ground level and you couldn't hear it.

If you do go to Majorca please give yourself a treat and see the show "PIRATES" it is fantastic for all ages and we would highly recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Juliet John
8 years 3 months ago
Cleanliness fine. Please put in hair dryers though, which I beleive should be standard. Water pressure from shower (5th floor) poor, more like a dripping tap.

Food ok, more toasters would be useful.

Location great

Staff helpful, room available for showering/changing on last day.

Entertainment seemed ok, not realy my cup of tea, but the staff were trying hard to please.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Baker
8 years 3 months ago
A very clean Hotel,well situated beside what could be a nice little cove. Unfortunately with over 200 parasols and over 400 sunbeds there is little more than a walkway around the outside and a strip of sand in front of the sea.The resort itself is ideal if you just want to chill out and relax, there is the usual mix of bars resturaunts and gift shops, this is not night club land so I do not think it would appeal to the younger generation wich is why I think the local trips and excursions were usualy full.The local taxis and bus service are very inexpensive efficient and easy to use.One word of warning if you have any mobility problems this is not the resort for you it is not flat it is very hilly and steps abound some of the disabled ramps are more like the ski jumps in the Swiss Alps. As I have said this is a very clean Hotel the rooms are of a decent size and comfortably furnished there appears to be problems with the water pressure and the air conditioning seems to be controled by the Hotel.A sea view is essential and for an extra 13euros pp per night you can have one, else expect a room with a view of the barrier a wall or overlooking reception.
There are the usual activities but most of these come at a price 3.50euros for crazy golf 7.50euros for tennis etc etc etc..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Helen
8 years 6 months ago
Just got back from a week at the ponent playa, the hotel is set in an idlyic situation and we had a sea view room overlooking the cove and beach of cala ferrera. The staff were all friendly and very helpful espescially the bar staff. We didn'y stay for the evening entertainment as there we so many bars and restaurants to go to within walking distance of the hotel. The Carebel is a must if you like Karaoke. The food was buffet style and there was always plenty of choice and very nice. There is a boat that goes daily called the Starfish from the hotel which is well worth going on as it takes you all round the beautiful coves. A trip to Palma is also worth doing and is about 50 minutes by coach organised through the rep. The hotel was kept spotlessly clean, our room was cleaned daily, towels changed daily an sheets changed three times. All in all an excellent holiday and we will be going back again next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: