18 independent reviews of the Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel
Address: Cala Gran Av Cala Gran, de SA, 2, 07660 Cala D'Or, Spain
Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel
Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel Location
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Cala D Or


3/5
Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel is rated 3.44 out of 5 from 18 Reviews
61% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (18 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 2 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 5 stars

Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel Reviews

1/5
1

janet carruthers visited the Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in May 2010
The food at this hotel is disgusting. Thank god there is a Burger King close by. Captain Birdseye was sxtremely busy in the kitchen. Chicken nuggets and chips at lucnch time eery day there was no other choice of meal for all inclusive guests. evening guest food was just as bad one night we got veal goulashwith all sort of gristle in it (not possible if the meat was really veal) It cost

Tour Operator: travel direct
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Mrs Thomas visited the Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel in April 2008
A bit worried having read the reviews after we booked this hotel, but we needn\'t have been. A nice clean hotel, The staff were very friendly. Having booked all inclusive, although not a big choice of food mostlely continental style, but there was always something nice to eat. We were told that it was\'nt very busy in April so the staff had time to stop and talk amd we found them very friendly and helpful and very efficient.

Tour Operator: Teletex

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Dawn & Ross stayed at Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in September 2006
We were very disapointed in this hotel. The food was terrible and we ate out five of the seven nights of our stay. The walls in between the rooms in the hotel are paper thin and you can hear everything that is going on in the room next door, (even brushing their teeth)!

The best thing about the hotel is location - other than that we did not think much of it at all and found one gentleman on Reception very rude.

Cala D\'Or is a lovely resort but this hotel is poor and I would not go back if they paid me.

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Jayne and david visited the Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in August 2006
When we arrived at the hotel we was told that our room had been let out and if we accepted the apartment we could upgrade to AI for free.

The apartment was like a prison cell so we declined their offer but had to stay one night in the cell!

Once our room was sorted out the next day, we had a brilliant time, the staff were friendly and the hotel was spotless.

The food was rubbish but we always find this with buffet style service.

As we were leaving there were more couples told that their rooms were double booked, aparantly this happens a lot, as Im told.

Would rather have had self catering as we ate out most of the time.

All in all, a most fantastic holiday, wouldnt go back only because we like to try different places.

Tour Operator: 2cantravel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

SIMON visited the Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel in August 2006
My family and I stayed at this hotel on all inclusive basis. After reading the holiday reports we were a bit worried that we hadn't booked the right holiday.

As we arrived the hotel looked good, and as we booked in the hotel staff were helpful. The room was clean and enough space for four of us.

In our first full day we managed to get sun beds even though I set my alarm for seven each day to get the spot we wanted. The bar serves from 10.30 till 11.30 for all inclusive but still managed to get free booze after then.

There was a slight smell of the drains each day in the mornings.

The food was served buffet style help yourself. There was a good choice of food, for breakfast dinner and tea. Dinner was served all during the ...
day at the pool bar or between 1.00 and 2.30 you could eat in the restaurant.

The hotel is in a good location close to all the shops, bars and restaurants. The Cala Gran beach is a stones throw away, nice white sand and clear water.

The entertainment was good activities during the day for all ages and in the evening different shows.

This hotel isn

Read More

Tour Operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

tony and gail brunskill stayed at Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in June 2006
Superb location only 100 meters from the beach, food of a reasonable standard and plenty of choice even for children.

The staff were helpful and the rooms cleaned daily but can not comment on the entertainment as we never drank at the hotel pool side bar.

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Joanne Gaines stayed at Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in June 2006
The rooms were big and spacious - we had a two bed apartment - cleaned regularly. Staff nice and friendly however the lift kept breaking down so was difficult with a buggy up two flights of stairs! The entertainment in the hotel wasnt up to much really. Kids disco time kept changing and only lasted half an hour and the adult entertainment was usually boy/girl group with keyboard but at least they tried!!

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Stuart and Lauren visited the Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in April 2006
Me and my partner stayed in the apartment side of the complex, which was very basic. There was no oven or microwave and it was supposed to be self catering. The hotel on the other hand was very nice, clean and the staff were very friendly. One down side was that we asked for a wake up call on the morning we were supposed to leave, we never got that call and we could have missed our bus to Palma airport. Luckily we were awake!!

The maids came and changed our towels everyday if they were left in the bathtub. Good service on that account.

Never tried the hotel food but it did smell very nice.

The location is excellent because you have Cala Gran beach on your doorstep, and the town is only a stones throw away.

The hotel staff are very ...
pleasant and always willing to help you out.

Entertainment wasn't much kop though you had some Spanish dude changing the CD\'s on the stereo every so often and the music wasn\'t to my taste, so there is room for improvement on that side of things.

I would definitely go back to hotel Cala Gran again, me and my partner are probably going to go again later this year. It has made a really good impression on us and we are well satisfied with it. I would recommend Cala D'or to families and couples.

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

nadine had a holiday at Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in April 2006
Hi me and my partner have just got back from staying at the Cala Gran apartments after reading some of the feed back on various sites I was a little worried about what I would find, but we found the hotel staff really friendly and the room was clean and towels changed everyday.

We stayed in a 1 bedroon apartment and this was ample for a couple, we overlooked the pool(and there are 4 to choose from) and was quiet at night.

The beach was about a minute walk.

Tour Operator: fleetway travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jack had a holiday at Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in April 2006
Appartment was nice, fully equipped, with one bedroom, balcony overlooked pool area, on 3rd floor, so quite a lot of steps.
Staff friendly, efficient and polite.
Good location for beach and night-life.
Didn\'t try the hotel bar as there were lots of others nearby.

Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Nath visited the Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel in April 2006
Hey, well just got back from staying in the Cala Gran!

We had a top laugh! I was a bit disappointed with the food, as we were all inclusive but it was edible!!

There was 10 of us so you can imagine we were all there to get drunk!! but when we sent someone the bar we were to find everyone had to get there own drinks which was daft !!

The rooms were always tidy and were very nice !!

The nightlife was really quiet at this time and was a bit rubbish because in every bar there was about 10 people which were all locals and also the nightclubs were all shut!! gutted !! but I can imagine it to be good in the summer, Linekars and Vibe bar were the best so go there!!They have top ...
English bar staff.

The entertainment was not good in the hotel, they had Spanish dancing and things on which was for the older generation and the DJ played rubbish music but I luv him he's mint !!

I would recommend the place as a whole for families with young children and for couples! It isn't a place for teens my age 16,17.

The beach was nice but can imagine it to be heaving in the summer and the water is Baltic !! sooo cold !!

I would go back as the group I was with made the holiday, and the Cala Gran was mint !! Nath xxxx

Read More

Tour Operator: Monarch

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Tracey visited the Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in September 2005
The best thing about these apartments is the location. Only minutes away from the beach, and nightlife with an excellent choice of bars and restaurants.

The apartment itself was basic but had all the things you need, if, like me, you don\'t intend to cook whilst on holiday. However, the cleanliness was very poor. The maids visited daily but only seemed to empty the bins. There was also a frequent bad drains smell, which although might not have been the fault of the complex, was very unpleasant.

The pool area nearest the apartments was very pleasant, with ample sunbeds although again the pool didn\'t seem to be very clean, and there was no life guard.

I would rate these apartments as 2* rather than 3.

Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Peter had a holiday at Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel in September 2005
An excellent location with bars and restaurants only 10 mins away either towards Cala d\'Or or Cala Esmeralda areas. Nearest beach 2 mins walk.

We had a one bedroom apartment and these overlooked the pool, the studio apartments overlooked a garden area. The apartment had an electric kettle, toaster, oven, fridge and ample cutlery and crockery. There is also a TV with Sky showing Sky News, BBC2, BBC3, BBC4 and a couple of childrens channels. There is also a phone, airconditioning and a safe.

Cleaners came every day to empty the bins and if you left your towels in the bath they would change them as well. Rooms were cleaned every other day and bedlinen changed once a week.

There are three pools. two at front of the hotel and one at the back by the appartments. ...
The rear pool had plenty of sunbeds and the pool area was clean and tidy. The pool itself was clean.

There are two bars in the front of the hotel, one by the pool and one upstairs. The one upstairs was quiet and relaxing, the one downstairs was where all the entertainment took place.

There are three supermarkets within easy walk, one to the front and right of the hotel and two to the rear. All are well stocked.

Only downside was the Tropical Bar that had live music on every night form 10pm until midnight. However, we only listen to them once during our stay due to us staying in because of a major storm.

Will definately be visiting Cala Gran again and also into the same apartments.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Kay stayed at Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in August 2005
We stayed on the Cala Gran Hotel on a half board basis. We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, lovely decor and the rooms were spacious. Areas such as bars, lounges and toilets were also very clean and well decorated and furnished.

The pool areas were crowded (well it is August) but clean. We found the pool area below the Costa Del Sur reception area to be the quietest, although the water was very cold (it did not warm up in the day as it appeared that cold water was piped in)and we did have to get up early to secure sunbeds, but this is usual!.

We found the down point of this hotel to be the quality of the food. We stayed on a half board basis and we are all seasoned worldwide travellers who enjoy all types of cuisine ...
- we do not expect \'English\' food abroad and the suggestion the because this is \'continental\' food and \'we just weren\'t used to it\' are laughable! Even we found boiled dogfish unacceptable; there was rarely any fresh fruit, and many items ran out completely at breakfast by 9.30. Our children range from 5 to 12 and they are used to eating many varieties of food, but they felt the same as the adults. We ended up eating out almost every night and many of our party went out to eat breakfast.

On arrival, because 4 of our party travelled later due to a family bereavement, at 4am we were told we were \'not on the list\', we were offered no help or explanation by hotel staff and were told to \'sit on the couches\' (up all night, 2 exhausted children). We had to contact our tour rep ourselves, who came down but was told there was no room - we finally got into our room at the Cala Gran at 1pm. Our tour operator had emailed ahead and so had we, to ensure that they were aware of our late arrival. We found several staff helpful during our stay - they extended our room for us on the day of return which we appreciated, however we did find some staff not so helpful.

Overall we might return to this hotel, but on a room only basis,

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

DenBob visited the Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or in June 2005
My partner and I were looking forward to our holiday in the Cala Gran Hotel, Majorca and upon arrival we were shown to our room which was more like a dungeon. It was damp and there was no natural light and certainly no view. After a visit to the reception we were moved to another room the following morning which at least had light. The room was cleaned every day and new towels were given when requested. We paid 12euros and got our deposit back. We were informed that the TV had to be paid for which was not mentioned in the brochure.

We booked on a half board basis and found the food to be awful. We had our 15month old daughter with us and there was nothing for her to eat. I ...
hardly call braised tongue, grilled dogfish, and black hard boiled eggs a diet for anyone. For breakfast there was no fresh fruit or yoghurts and no milk jugs to pour milk into your tea/coffee/or cereal. Therefore we were left with a wet tablecloth of milk whilst trying to eat. We therefore ended up eating out of the hotel accomodation each day.

There are 3 pools in the hotel grounds, however, not enough sunbeds to go round. The ones that are there are mostly broken. The brochure said the hotel was situated in landscaped gardens, but the grass area was mud, especially around the pool. It was unsafe for our daughter because of the different levels and various trip hazards.

Overall we would not recommed this hotel to anyone. The hotel is tired and dated and not worth the good money we paid. There was much better accomodation in Cala D\'or for the same money.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

leo stayed at Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or in June 2005
Just thought we would write after reading the comments raised by Denbob. I felt I had to write just incase anybody who has already booked their holiday, maybe having panic attacks by now.

We were amazed at their dissatisfaction with the hotel. We also travelled with our young son around the same week as them but found it to be an enjoyable experience all round.

The rooms although being rather basic were IMMACULATE. We had fresh towels and bins emptied everyday.

I am always fascinated when people find fault with food abroad..... this is a foreign country!!!

As for the sunbeds, we did encounter a couple of broken ones and perhaps they should have been removed but there were stacks of others for the guests to use.

The beach access was fantastic and within a couple of ...
minutes you were on a small beautiful beach that was fully equipped with everything from toilets and showers to snack bars and ice cream places.

All in all, this was an excellent holiday and we would cetainly go back.

The location of the hotel is the biggest bonus, we saw number of other apartments that looked nice, but they were quite a walk or were too big for our liking.

Every holiday is a personal experience, but at the end of the day, the Cala Gran are clean, tidy in a fab location with the added bonus of air conditioning and 3 pools to choose from.

Don\'t be put off !!!!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: airtour

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Degsy stayed at Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or in October 2004
Upon arrival we were helped to our room by a member of staff. Don\'t know if this is a standard service or because we had a baby in a buggy, a 5 & a 3 year old, 3 suitcases and a load of hand luggage!!!

Had to tackle about 5 steps each time we left or returned to the room but this was no big issue.

The appts where overlooking the pool (which was freezing!) and we had a huge patio area as we where on the ground floor. The rooms were spotless and were cleaned every day. Unfortunately for us, the maid always seemed to come when the kids were asleep so the bedroom didn\'t get much of a clean! Whenever I asked for extra things like blankets (well it is October!!!), sheets and pillows, they were ...
always delivered there and then.
The room had air conditioning (which wasn\'t needed) and a TV (which had to be paid for). The kitchen was well equipped with 3 ring cooker, kettle and usual bits and bobs.
There was a safe tucked away in the wardrobe which cost

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Dangermouse visited the Cala Gran Costa Del Sur Aparthotel, Cala D Or, Spain in August 2003
Highest apts are only 4th floor however no lifts. All overlook either the swimming pools (inc kiddies pool) or gardens! Kiddies playground.and Kids club most afternoons, access to beach via subway tunnel under road.
Rooms are a little small but have all mod-cons & air conditioning. Very clean with service every day.
Apts are right in Cala D\'or, so central to all shops, bars etc. At night no problem with noise, as set back from street.
Bars offer food all day long aswell as nearby supermarkets for day to day needs.

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars
Share