Image of Sol Cala D Or Apartments

Sol Cala D Or Apartments

9 of 37 hotels in Cala D Or

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
3 stars
Carrer dels Ravells, 0, 07660 Cala D'Or, Spain
Centrally located in the busy resort of Cala D'or, this self catering complex blends modern facilities and amenities with traditional Mediterranean architecture and design. The complex encompasses a large landscaped pool and creates an ideal base to soak up the sun.

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sally
6 years 5 months ago
The Sol Cala D'or is the ideal base for anyone staying in Cala D'or. It's central, within easy reach of beaches, bars, shops and many restaurants.

The staff are wonderful, all very friendly and polite.

We tried the food at the pool bar which was very nice. The pool and surrounding areas were clean as were the room.

We have stayed here before and would definitely go again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Charlotte
7 years 5 months ago
Been every year for the past 15 years, going again this year.
Everyone there's really friendly, never had a problem.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
We took a risk at this hotel. Prior to departure Med Hotels had overbooked a 4 star we wanted and gave a refund. I learnt a lesson there - you're never guaranteed a booking until you actually get in the room!! The words 'Booking confirmation' still means they'll move you if they seem fit.

Anyway, after struggling to find anything suitable/available we found ourselves in the Sol Cala D'or - not expecting too much. Pleasantly surprised. Location good, room OK - just like any other for the price range.

We didn't experience any noise problems but then again we always stopped off at the Karaoke on the way back from a night out with our 5 yr old to watch the last bits of 'singing' before turning in. You probably would hear it if you had an apartment near the bar but who goes to bed and sleeps before midnight on holiday!! Our room was away from the pool so that didn't effect us either.
Didn't use the pool - we preferred the sea to fighting for a sunbed which you will have to here.
Didn't see any hotel entertainment - there's a whole load of stuff to do in a very busy Cala D'or.
Tip: Hire a car. For 90 Euros we saved oh transfer fees and had freedom to explore hidden lagoonish coves. No fighting for beach space for us! The car also kept all beach clobber in it too.

Staff were very friendly to us! I heard no one else having any complaints too.

If you want a hotel in a good location for a reasonable cost then I'd recommend.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Joanne Kelly
8 years 4 months ago
First time self catering and was wary about coming having read other reviews pleased i took no notice. Had some meals at the hotel which had plenty of choice others ate there at times too. The staff were very friendly and great with the kids always happy to help and the maintanence staff were cheerful too. The location of the hotel is perfect easy access to the beach which is 2 minutes down the road, the square of restaurants and shops is just to the left when you leave the hotel it is in prime location. It only costs you 2 euro at the hotel to change travellers cheques some places charge 9. They stopped doing entertainment as not many people came but i think they should definately start again. i would stay here again dont know what others have complained for its brilliant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
James
8 years 5 months ago
Sol Cala D'or? What a joke of a hotel. I've been to Cala D'or three times now and this is the worst hotel I've stayed in on the Island, and infact anywhere in the world.

They claim It's a 3 star hotel, but don't be fooled by this. I have never stayed in such a poor complex. I'd give it 2 stars at best.

When we arrived our first impression, from the outside, was a good one. The hotel seemed quite modern looking. However, we were greeted by an older gentleman, who didn't even seem mildly interested in showing some form of customer service. Just a few grunts here and there, wave of the hand and a bit of pointing.

When we entered our room we were first shocked to see how dated the decor was. It's was a flash back from the 80's. Seriously, this room hadn't been updated for 20 years, and they have the cheek to call it modern? And the decorating they had done was to such a poor standard a small child could of done a better job. The walls, tiles, floor, finishing etc looked like it'd been done by a builder who'd been off his face on San Mageal. It was very small, and the bathroom had room for only person, which became quite awkward. The facilities were poor. The oven didn't even work properly. We found a bare socket with bare wires poking out of it. The mattress had stains on it, and there were cracks in the bathroom tiles and floor tiles.

Once we'd stomached the room we were then introduced to the incredible noise of the hotel. I'm not joking here - shut a door and the whole hotel wil hear it. And trying to get an early night(11-12) was not possible. Music, entertainment(which surrounds the hotel) goes indoors by midnight, but the hotel bar stays open until the last few go to bed. We had a 1st floor pool view room, and the slightest noise from the bar or someone walking past blasted through the flimsy 'doll house' doors and windows. Then we had to compete with the air-con.. It's 'quiet mode' made a noise so loud it was more comfortable turning it off and sleeping in the blistering heat. And then to top it off at 8am(after only a few hours sleep) the sunbed man comes out and slams down each bed which woke us up every morning. And get this - you have to stand and wait by an area, he comes over to you SLAMS down however many beds you want and then CHARGES you 2 euros each. We slept very little during our stay, and I know this sounds a bit daft but both myself and my girlfriend had nightmares every night. I'm sure this hotel was built on a pet cematary or something.

The bar staff were rude, and for some bizarre reason also slammed down everything. They spoke broke English and often sniggered and laughed in spanish, which I felt was quite often pointed at people around the bar. Asking for a beer etc seemed to be a hindrance to them. We were treated like pests.

It's a good job Cala D'or is a beautiful place, as we spent every minute we could away from the hotel. Walshies was quite good, and plenty of nice places to eat and drink. The sea is gorgeous!

In summary this hotel is nowhere near a 3 star, and don't be duped by the other reviews, I swear they've been put there by a third party trying to give the hotel a better reputation. Infact, I read all of the reviews on this site for this hotel and there were some bad ones which mirrored what I've said, but they seem to have dissapeared? I wished I'd have listened to them and went elsewhere.

This hotel was full of chavvy type families, and we're not snobs by any means, but it felt like we were in minehead during the day around the pool. Not exaclty the kind of escapism we were looking for..

The food was terrible, had a few meals there, and could've sworn they were frozen meals just heated in the microwave.

When we checked out we weren't even asked if we'd enjoyed our stay. Not even a goodbye. Just handed the key over and she carreid on typing away. We weren't really surprised as this was the general theme of the hotel.

I will never return to the Sol Cala D'or. They should be shut down for the trade descriptions act. How they managed to pull of a 3 star rating is beyond me. Incredible.

If you're thinking about booking with this hotel I strongly urge you not to make the mistake we did. Book else where, the hotel is disgrace and it's description is, in our eyes. a complete and utter lie.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
9 years 3 months ago
Had a fantastic holiday - first time DIY. Check-in was fast, had requested upper floor room but got given ground floor but had no problem with it. Very secure. Little gate at front of patio so children can't escape towards the pool without you noticing! Apartment was very clean, little on the small side but was fine as we only slept there. Beds quite hard! Didn't have any problems with noise from neighbours, walls seemed quite thick. Storage was a bit limited but think it was on par with most apartments I have been too. Pool area was fab, cleaned every day. Sun followed round pool all day. Had to get up for 8.30 to get beds - 3 euros each, brollies free. But there was no charge for the aircon so it equalled itself out really. Only ate breakfast at restaurant which was nice but preferred Walshies just up the road. Staff were very friendly. Didn't use kids club so can't comment but the girl who ran it seemed lovely and she was great with the other children. Location was pretty central, near the beach and the town centre but never had any problem with noise. The nearby kareoke bar closed at 12 which wasn't a problem. No entertainment except for a couple of pool tables and ping pong table round the rear of the hotel next to kids play park.

Ate at our usual restaurant the Acuarius at the marina every night - we just love it there. Did try the Botavera on the other side but didn't think it was as good as the Acuarius.

Cala Gran beach was lovely. Cocktail bars were great! Little resort train can get a little crowded on cloudy days but note that it is 3 euros return, not one way.

Shall hopefully be returning next year!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Marshall
9 years 6 months ago
Faultless. Good location, friendly staff, restaurant cheaper than and as good as any in resort and there
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Howard
10 years 4 months ago
Stayed at the Sol Cala Dor Apts for the second year.As last year Hotel was spotless and all staff were friendly and polite.

Food from the snack bar was good,can't really comment on the restaurant as we ate out every night.Only bad point was the lack of entertainment ,last year this was organised by Fausto with water polo,darts,pool comps etc,this year there was no entertainer at all.

There is a magic show on tuesday nights for the kids which is quite good and a "FOSFI" (???) show on thursdays which is so bad it really is entertaining.

Overall we had an excellent holiday and would come again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
G Ward
10 years 4 months ago
We arrived on the Saturday morning just in time for the football. Didn't have a problem finding a place to watch it. The Hollywood bar is right outside.

The hotel itself was fine.

The staff were always helpful, only problem, no entertainment.

The first 3 days we stayed at the pool, getting up at 8 o'clock to reserve are beds [2 euros x 5] nice at first but too quiet. As the week went on we ended up crossing the road to the Tropical Gardens hotel[D'Or] kids and adult entertainment and free sunbeds. Tried the beach a couple of times,nice but packed.

We went out every night for something to eat. You were spoilt for choice. I'd recommend the Aqua Marine for steaks[quality] the kids loved it. We always ended up back in the Tropical Gardens, they had a different group every night and the usual get your parents up time, were they make a show of you.

All in all it was a dear week. Being honest I would go back to Sol Cala D'or but only if they got poolside entertainment
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Adam
10 years 5 months ago
Good location with in easy walking distance of the resort centre and even closer to the beach.

Hotel staff friendly and helpful, particularly on reception.

Rooms were of a good standard and very clean as the maids came in regulary. We had a studio which was a good size.

The only problem being we was on the top floor so the roof was sloped and becomes quite low but I soon learned after banging my head.

Didn't eat in the hotel as we chose to sample the endless selection of restuarants nearby.

Would recommend staying here so much we are going back next summer, can't wait!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: