Image of Tucan Hotel

Tucan Hotel

8 of 37 hotels in Cala D Or

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Carre Boulevard d'Or, 4, 07660 Cala d'Or, Spain

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ken The Pen
6 years 6 months ago
Only complaint regarding hotel is rooms are in need of refurbishment although they are very clean they are outdated. staff in the bar leave a lot to be desired, no tip poor service. rest of staff throughout hotel excellent we found the receptionists very very helpfull with local bus times places to visit phone calls home etc.
we will definately be going back as no complaints apart from the minor ones stated
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Frank
8 years 3 months ago
Position is Excellent, very close to Cala Gran beach and the pedestrian centre of Cala D'Or.

Rooms are more of a 3 star. Ageing rooms of dark wood, or painted synthetics, rather old fashioned, not very large. Ventilation seemed rather poor. Adequate, nothing more. Rooms near the lift (6 in all ?) small doubles are to be avoided as they had toilets so close to the bath resulting in a kneecapping unless you were a small child. Servicing was OK.

Food was overall OK but not quite the choice you would expect for a 4 star, tomatoes were always green, never saw a ripe one, bread often ran out 1
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pat And Denis
9 years 6 months ago
Well we came back on Saturday from the Tucan again. Wondered if it could possibly be as good again as last time - we have travelled a lot and my husband does not like going back to the same place twice but we enjoyed it so much last time thought we would try it and it was even better!

Fabulous food (put on over half a stone in a week!).

Rooms spotless and lovely.

Pool and area immaculate.

Staff very friendly - greeted us like old friends. Could not fault hotel at all. In great place. Right near beach, shops and bars but not noisy at all.

Entertainment better last time as we went in July then and it is outside. At this time of year it is inside and not as good.

Absolutely great - everyone we met had been before and were on return visits - most 6/7 times - one family been going there for thirty years!

We will definitely go back. Definitely recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Angie
9 years 7 months ago
Just returned from 1 week holiday to the Tucan hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Having visited many 4star hotels bth in europe & usa I would have to say that this hotel is a very high 3star hotel & not 4star. It just lacked that little bit of luxury to make it 4star.

In saying this the hotel was spotless, maid service daily.Breakfast was adequate-something to suit everyone.

Pool area really good with nice padded cushions for the loungers-although you did have to be an early riser to guarantee a bed in a good spot.Location of hotel is great, 2min walk to nearest beach at Cala Gran, pedestrianised area starts across the road from hotel which has lovely bars, cafes & some superb restaurants. 15min walk to marina area.

Not a rowdy resort in May, ideal for couples & families.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel as so many restaurants were recommended to us before we went that I didn't want to eat in hotel. Heard mixed reviews on food quality in the evening but I would say due to high standard of food in the many nearby restaurants to try 7 get bed & breakfast at the Tucan if possible.

Entertainment was available most nights but thats not really our kind of thing so can't comment although people did seem to go to it.

Definitely a good hotel in fab location to spend a week or so at, especially if you get a good deal for it.

Would go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
Although we enjoyed our holiday to this hotel it is NOT a 4**** hotel.

Rooms were o.k but did not have iron or ironing board and no tea or coffee facilities or safety deposit boxes these were at reception not really convenient.

Pool area was large clean and well kept but there was no pool towels and you were not allowed to take towels from room.

Dining room clean and tidy but meals were not really that good lots of dishes with nothing to tell you what they were but i will try anything once so was quite surprised by some of things i tried. food tepid most of the time microwave provided to heat your meal.

When we arrived we asked how services were paid for in hotel i.e at the bar or for pool side snacks and we were told we could pay cash or charge them to our room. We charged a few times but staff seemed to dislike this method as one night at the bar we told the waiter to charge our order to our room and he stormed off talking away in Spanish and shouting at the barman who took the order maybe its do with tips after that we just used cash.

Staff were all very nice from reception to cleaners they are a credit to the hotel with the exception of our bar waiter.

Cala D Or is a nice place to visit masses of restaurants but all selling much the same.

As I said we enjoyed our holiday but would not return to this area of Majorca
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
George Mc Colm
11 years 3 months ago
My wife and I stayed in the Grand Tucan hotel on a half board basis. The rooms and hotel were spotless,
the towels were changed every day.

All meals were buffet style and plenty of choice both at breakfast and dinner,five star rating. Bar and cleaning staff were great as were the dining room staff,reception staff a wee bit stand offish but polite.

There was entertainment every night and first class,something for everyone, young and old. My wife and I will most definitely be returning.

p.s. the pool area is beautiful,and spotless a lot of hard work goes into the upkeep and gardens.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pat And Denis
11 years 5 months ago
Absolutely loved this hotel, so much so we are going back next week!

Food fabulous, rooms great, position marvellous. There was no way it could have been bettered.

When we were there there were loads of people on return visits - speaks for itself! Not the cheapest but well worth it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie Duckworth
12 years 4 months ago
We have stayed twice at this hotel. Excellent service and friendly staff.

The food was excellent. Location central to the many shops. Good entertainment. Would recommened to any one worth a stay there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: