Image of Sentido Cala Vinas Hotel

Sentido Cala Vinas Hotel

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Sentido Cala Viñas Hotel, 07181 Cala Viñas - Calvià, Spain
A superb seafront position, with wonderful views across the bay. Relax by the spacious pool and take advantage of the fantastic sports facilities. At night, enjoy live music in the piano bar or venture into bustling Magaluf.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Carol
Lovely clean and friendly
5 years 7 months ago
The hotel was lovely clean and staff very friendly, room basic no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. It’s only a 15mins walk from Magaluf centre or 5 euros taxi great night out food was mainly English as we had steak pie cottage pie chicken roast pork & turkey the fish was great. There was different soup every lunch and eve dinner, good range of salads, wine and water on tap.

The entertainment was poor but the staff made it ok. The beach is 1min walk from hotel the sunbeds and parasols are 3.30 euros each worth it if staying for a few hours, but the beach was very clean.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bliss!
5 years 8 months ago
I travelled alone, with Saga holidays for a one week holiday early May 2011. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was bliss from check in to leaving. The hotel is adult only i.e. 18 years plus. I love children but really enjoyed this holiday. It does make a difference, being adult only and the overall ambience was very relaxing. The ages of guests ranged from late teens to the not so young, with a good overall mix.

At check in, guests are greeted with a refreshing glass of orange. Check in was very quick and with a choice of 5 lifts, in no time at all, I was in my twin bedded room on the 8th floor with an absolutely glorious view of the bay from the private terrace. I think most of the rooms have a sea view and all have a balcony / terrace. Every morning, I sat on the terrace with a cup of tea just 'drinking in' those lovely views, listening to the sea, before going down to breakfast. Bliss.

There is a hair dryer in the bathroom, which was not very powerful but I had taken my own anyway, so was not a problem.

The room was a fair size, with air conditioning and had a flat screen TV with some English channels - BBC news, sky news and sports. A fridge was also available.

The bed was very comfortable and I managed to get some very good night’s sleep, unusual for me on holiday so as a result, I was very relaxed and chilled out.

There is a safe in the room but I think the cost of 24 euros a week hire is excessive. There is also a 10 euro deposit, refunded when the key is returned. Nevertheless, I did hire the safe!

Wi-Fi is available in several areas of the hotel - lounge area and conference areas but as I had forgotten my netbook, I didn't use it. I did see others access it without any problems. The hotel does provide PC access but I think it was about 1 euro for about 10 minutes. There is a spar supermarket down the road from the hotel, on the left, which I understand is cheaper i.e. 1 euro for 15 minutes.

I found all the staff to be wonderful and looked after guests very well. All reception staff spoke very good English, with most of the other staff being able to converse in English. Indeed, they spoke many languages, which always makes me feel slightly ashamed that I don't try a bit harder with languages.

The hotel was very clean.

The restaurant is spacious with lovely views of the gorgeous bay and the small beach. The food was perfectly adequate, some meals better than others but that is personal choice. I am vegetarian and always found something suitable. The staff were very efficient and courteous. there are a variety of tables to sit 2 / 4 / 6 or larger groups and guests can choose where to sit. The 2 seated tables are round the periphery of the restaurant, affording excellent views of the bay.

Packed lunches can be ordered at reception up to 19.00 hours, for the following day. Be warned, they are huge!!

I was all inclusive, with full board and inclusive drinks but snacks were not available on that tariff.

The pool bar is open from 10.00 until 17.00 and the lounge bar from 13.00 - 15.00 and then 18.00 - 24.00. Drinks- wine, sangria and chilled water- are also available on tap in the restaurant.

I did not participate in the hotel entertainment so cannot comment on that aspect but I did hear that Will and the other entertainment staff were very committed and very funny. There was a full entertainment programme.

There is an outdoor pool which was kept immaculate with a very helpful lifeguard who ensured the overall pool area was tidy and also an indoor pool which has a Jacuzzi, and a spa and a beauty / leisure centre.

There were ample sun loungers available and at the time, ample sun shades but I am not sure if there would be sufficient shades in peak times. However, I was told that the quota of hotel sunshades is set by the regional governance (in order to encourage people to use / pay for private owned loungers /shades on the beach)so it is not the hotels fault. Breaches are not treated lightly!!

There is a beach to the side of the hotel which is easily accessible in a matter of minutes. The cove is lovely and clear and several people swum in the sea.

Although I had a drink tray in the room, my understanding was that it was a gesture from the hotel for Saga guests. It may be prudent to take a kettle, otherwise.

Cala Vinas is about 15 - 20 minutes stroll to Magaluf but is a world away from the general noise and bustle of Magaluf. To be honest, there isn't too much in the area around the hotel - a few bars, restaurants, supermarkets, hairdresser, and other hotels etc - but I just loved it, going for leisurely walks, daydreaming in the sun. Even though I was all inclusive, I always pop into local bars for a glass of vino ( or two) or buy bits and pieces from supermarkets, I think that is only fair to support the locals.

There are buses available for a couple of euros to Magaluf and I think taxis were about 5 or 6 euros, each way.

I certainly intend to return to the Sentido Cala Vinas and would not hesitate to recommend it.

I must add that this was my first holiday with Saga and it will not be my last. Pat, the Saga rep was wonderful and she looks after her guests very well and as such, is an asset to this hotel and to Saga.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sylvia McNulty
8 years 7 months ago
I visited this hotel 5 years ago and was pleasantly surprised that it had a makeover and a new snack bar added.

Everything about this hotel just ticks all the right boxes if you are looking for quality accomodation, excellent food and it's own bay for safe swimming and sunbathing. There is also an indoor spa pool with various

There is a kids club and entertainment in the evening in the snack bar area and in the in the lounge bar a piano.

The staff do everything to make sure you have a lovely holiday and we certainly did so a big thanks to the entertainment team for all their efforts.

would definately go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
C.norbury
9 years 4 months ago
The hotel was clean, most of the staff were friendly enough, our room was spacious but looking a bit tired,
the bidet was cracked the patio tiles also broken and door onto balcony did'nt lock very well not really 4 star standard I thought.

The location was excellent right next to sea in a little bay, my kids loved jumping in and there were steps straight into the sea.

The beach was small but a few metres away,I noticed a lot of rubbish on it in a morning that the tide had washed on it, but there was a guy there every morning cleaning most of it up.

The entertainment was ok nothing to write home about.

There is'nt much to do outside the hotel, three or four shops couple of bars, but Magaluf nearby if you want more.

Would visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carson Graham
10 years 5 months ago
Having stayed here some years ago we were looking forward to the hotel we remembered.
This is now without doubt probably the most disgusting property we have had the misfortune to have visited or stayed,in ever...yes ever...

Glasses and ash trays left in public areas.......four star ?...I don't think so..........three ...perhaps considering the view. Two...that's more like it...

Food, just disgusting, with most of the client's, or people who have obviously been relocated here (due to their own hotel overbooked) being used to this sort of pig food........

I understand the budget allocated now does not allow for superior food to be ordered by the company control.

What they refer to as an all day buffet, is withering salad, cold pizza, and fly filled burgers..no thanks.

The staff are naturally depressed , recalling the former glory of the wonderful Cala Vinas..how sad....

Entertainment, well if you require a typical 18 to 30's noise level pool disco, starting at high noon, then join the lines for the plastic cups of the 99% all inclusive beer clients or the red and white tepid wines served through the same tubes.

Basically now, no interior bar, no indoor pool open, a deserted cave, used as a store that is advertised as a bbq !!

Evening entertainment terrible, unless you call a thirteen year old boy, vomiting up all around the pool deck , entertainment? But to me his parents remark of, he has been drinking all day, did really not compensate for an evening of so called entertainment by a bunch of drinking Spanish amateurs...and English football hooligan louts !

We understand that this hotel from end of October, is home for many selected unfortunate pensioners on the island, who are treated to winter breaks.

I actually would have liked to have thought that their own home care packages would have exceeded the slush served in the cala vinas hotel.

Stay clear of this place, till it is knocked down and re built as a five star luxury hotel and spa, (I understand) shortly....then it's days of glory and cliental will return.............


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
David Cater
10 years 5 months ago
Having read the hotel reviews before leaving I was slightly worried because we booked a family holiday of 30. Don't worry about this hotel, it's fine. We all had a great time.

The hotel reception is excellent with good working air con. Very clean hotel and yr rooms are also cleaned every day - and are cleaned!

Food is ok and you are not restricted to the amount of drinks you can have at the bar. The best part for us was the location - right on top of the beach and only 5 mins by cab to magaluf.

The entertainment is not great but ok. We went out every night to maguluf if want to keep the night going. If some nights you want an early night, it's not problem because the hotel closes sharp at mid night so at least you can sleep - not like some hotels!

I've stayed at much worse - you will enjoy this holiday.
The bad points - I think they need to address the BBQ advertisement as this is clearly not available.

The snack food during the day is terrible and most of the staff have a serious attitude problem.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
This is the second year running that we have been to this lovely hotel.

We booked this hotel off teletext and it is remarkable value for money.

The public areas and rooms are spotlessly clean. I saw no sign of full ashtrays and dirty pots that have been mentioned in other reviews.

The dining room was brifght and air conditioned. The food was excellent. Each day there was always pasta, rice and potatoes (not just chips like some hotels), a wide selection in the cold buffet and a choice of hot meats and fish. As was the case last year there was some queuing to get into the dining room at busy times.

The snacks were ok (bread, ham, cheese, pasta, burgers, icecream etc.) - but who needs the snacks anyway when you can eat as much as you want at breakfast, lunch and tea!

If you want a quiet, get away from it all location then this hotel is ideal. The seafront location is perfect. However, if you like a little stroll after your evening meal there is not very much to see or do in the vicinity. Magaluf is just a 4 euro taxi ride away if you want over the top nightlife!

The hotel staff were courteous and efficient but not particualy friendly.

The entertainment was ok - no better or worse than any other Spanish all inclusive hotel I have stayed at in the past. Children's mini disco - with tunes that really get in your head, bingo and acts such as singers, flamenco, karaoke and magicians. The couple in the animation team worked really hard all day long.

The only complaints that I had was that you had to get up quite early for a chance of a sunbed and very few had a parasol for shade. Also there was a problem with sewage for short periods of time a couple of times during the week in the sea adjacent to the hotel - which I accept was not the hotel's fault - but was offputting never the less.

All in all the adults and children I was travelling with all enjoyed themselves and although we will be trying somewhere new next year, I would not rule out returning to this hotel in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Debra, Simon & Chloe
11 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday at this hotel. The location is fab, virtually in the sea. It is a quiet, partly residential area, but there are a few bars/restaurants & shops right by the hotel, which was enough for us.

The hotel in the main was very clean, but the public areas could have done with having cups etc cleared away more quickly.

We stayed all inclusive & the food & selection of drinks were very good. The only slight grumble I have is that the nice indoor bar was hardly open in the day & closed at 9pm, forcing you to use the outdoor bar & drink out of plastic cups & listen to bingo in several languages. This is fair enough if you are all inclusive, but I wouldn't be happy if I had paid to stay half board in a 4 star hotel that didn't have an indoor bar for most of the day.

That said it was lovely in there when the pianist was in. The bar & waiting staff were all polite & most were friendly.

The brochures no longer accurately depict the standard of the hotel as only 1 restaurant is available & no a la carte & the barbecue area is not used anymore either. That is a shame because it looks like it used to be nice. The restaurant is large & very noisy, not somewhere for a quiet meal for 2.

The pool area is ok with plenty of sun beds & the majority of the families were nice ordinary people. I would say about 50% English.

On the whole it is a good hotel, but shop around for prices as some people had paid a lot of money for half board when the majority of brits had booked on the web/tv & paid far less.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Breen
11 years 4 months ago
By no means a 4 star hotel. Very impressive on arrival with its beautiful reception area and views over the sea but this was short lived. The corridors were musty and dirty with carpets and furniture about 20 years old. The rooms were too small to accommodate 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 & 9. We were tripping over each other for 2 weeks. They too could do with being updated, the furniture must be antique and there wasn't any tea/coffee making facitlies in the rooms.

We were half board but the majority of the other guests were all inclusive. Drinks were served in plastic cups, including tea and coffee, and served from the pool bar for the most of the day and night. Not the kind of little luxuries we were expecting from a 4 star hotel.

The advertised a la carte restaurant was closed the whole time we were there, the barbeque area was abandoned and unused, the indoor pool was closed for the summer and the gym and beauticians were closed 'due to illness'. Very misleading!

There was a life guard at the pool most of the day and I would say this was this hotel's only redeeming feature. Entertainment was poor, hard to listen to as it was in English, Spanish and German. We did have a good time but this was down to meeting a lovely family from York (Hi Ally, Tom, Sel and Rob)with whom we made our own entertainment with.

We would definately not be visiting this hotel ever again and if you are expecting some luxury from this '4 star hotel' - don't!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
11 years 5 months ago
We travelled to the Cala Vinas on 22.7.05 after booking it off teletext. Taxis were plentiful at Palma airport, the journey took 25 minutes and cost 34 Euros. In our opinion this was much more convenient than getting a coach transfer.

When we arrived at the hotel we were very surprised at the quality and opulence. Our room was clean, fairly large and had a wonderful view of the small sandy bay. The rest of the hotel was equally impressive. The lounge bar was lovely especially when pianist was on the grand piano. The dining room was large, bright and spacious and had a row of tables for two overlooking the sea. Our party found that the food was excellent, hot and varied. I would add though that as the week progressed there was some queing in the evening to get into the restaurant as the 6 weeks holidays got underway.

The location was fairly quiet with just one other large hotel and several apartment complexes. There were 2 mini markets, a bar and a Chinese restaurant just round the corner from the hotel which we did not try as we were all inclusive. The hotel is only a short taxi ride to Magaluf or about a 20 minute walk (which is hilly)if you want more action.

The hotel is maybe 3 minutes away from the beach, but we mostly stayed around the pool area which is large and clean.

The staff were polite and helpful.

The entertainment was typical of most Spanish resort hotels - mini disco and bingo each night. During our stay there were also Flamenco dancers, a magician, a male singer and a group.

We enjoyed this hotel so much that we have already booked again for next year!



















Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: