Image of Club Cala Domingos Apartments

Club Cala Domingos Apartments

4 of 10 hotels in Calas de Mallorca

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
3 stars
Cales de Mallorca, Holiday apartment Cala Domingos, 07689 CALES DE MALLORCA, Spain

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nicky Crocker
10 years ago
We booked this quite late but had an amazing time. No one in our family (except me) had ever travelled abroad before, so this was a real adventure.

As we drove down the rickety old road into Cala de Mallorca - I started to panic everything looked a bit run down. However, when we reached the apartments, we could not have been more happy. It was bright clean and very friendly.

The pools were fantastic for the kids (we have five!!) and the entertainment was a credit to first choice - I am not a fan of evening entertainment but after this, I am a convert!! The kids clubs were good and there were poolside quizzes if you wanted to join in - but no hassle if not.

Although we were self catering, we ate in the hotel restaurant most evenings and I cannot stress enough that the food was fantastic!!! - not greasy but lovely tasting and freshly cooked.

The accomodation was superb, with fresh linen and a friendly maid service - we hate the high-rise appartments and so this suited us perfectly.

Our only disappointment is that we cannot book again this year as we cannot find a tour operator that has this hotel on its books.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 1 month ago
Once you get over the fact that you have to climb a hill to go anywhere this is actually a very nice resort. You stay in a villa style roomy apartment which is well laid out and surprisingly homely.

Down the "hill" is the complex with plenty of space, good sized pools, a nice restaurant, on site there is a snack bar and mini supermarket although with limited choice.

The Entertainment was low budget although loads for the kids, I must say that we had one very good entertainer who was a fantastic dancer and singer, 2 average perfomers and the Dan who is the weirdest looking talentless thing I have ever seen. He loves the sound of his own voice and after 2 weeks I could have cheerfully strangled him.

It's an "uphill" 10 minute walk to the village, tough for buggies but you can take the shortcut which avoids the beech but by the time you get to the centre you need a shower. We found after the first week we have seen and done everything

All in all it was a great holiday and we made a lot of friends and I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing break without fighting for sunbeds but not for those looking for a wild time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Daryll
10 years 1 month ago
The rooms were very spacious and very clean with a regular maid service who appeared to be there just about every time we returned to change for evening,

Although it was a bit of a walk up the hill to our room it wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
C Pearce
10 years 2 months ago
Club cala Domingos Apartments - Calas De Mallorca
Booked a week before we went just for a quick break.
Apartments not around the pool, massive advantage as you are not disturbed in the morning and people can't leave a towel on the sunbeds and return to their apartment. Went down to the pool around 11am every day and there were always plenty of sunbeds.

Read on holiday truths that the food in the restaurant was not good but tried it anyway. It was delicious. Particularly the grilled sole and the chefs special bread and butter pudding.

First choice entertainers excellent. Something for everyone. Never stopped working.

Went on a trip to see Pirates. Cost 60 euros each. The show was good if we hadn't been squashed in our seats like sardines unable to enjoy it. So many people made the room VERY hot and the food was sausages, chips, beans, chicken leg and coleslaw. Not much for the money paid.

All the apartments are individual with little turrets and look really good. Well kept gardens, no litter and no noise. Perfect for a relaxing break.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jeana
10 years 3 months ago
The overall cleanliness of the main pool, bar and dining areas appeared fine.

I had a problem with the lack of maid service in my apartment. Even though the literature states that there is a regular maid service that changes linen, towels and the bins, I was disgusted as, even after complaining, I never saw a maid until day number 6 and we were only there for a week!

The hotel reception staff and the First Choice staff didn't seem to have much authority over the cleaners! Apparently its all down to which maid you get allocated! Charming! So think its pot luck as friends that we made over there had an excellent daily maid service.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Smith
11 years ago
When we arrived the apartment was spotlessly clean, and the maids came in every day, with bed linen changed every other day.

The staff were all polite, and the First Choice reps were always around if you needed anything. The hotel entertainment was great on the nights that the reps were doing singing or dancing, but the rest of the time it was awful, such as a really dodgy magician, and a man with a huge puppet.

The swimming pool was lovely, and never too busy, and our little girl loved the splash pool.

The biggest complaint we had was with the food. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night but never again. It was discusting, greasy, undercooked food. This was a big problem, as the walk into town was quite a distance. It was fine during the day, but at night a walk across the beach in the pitch dark with a buggy wasn't great, yet if you wanted edible food there was no choice.

We wouldn't visit again, mainly because of the hotels out of the way location, and also because the resort is lifeless, tiny and dull.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Donna Kavanagh
11 years 1 month ago
Spent a week at Club Cala Domingos and my two boys had a wonderful time, it is one of the most relaxing holidays I have had as I did not see them all day. The entertainment team was fantastic and kept them entertained all day every day. Nathan was a diamond!!

My younger boy went into the kids twice a day and had lots of fun, painting, drawing etc etc. The older boy took part in every activity and won a certificate most days which he proudly showed everyone on his return from hols.

Nice size apartment, good kitchen facilities and good sized bathroom, bedroom a bit small and no air con but not too unbearable, good size balcony as well. Added bonus of pull out bed in the lounge which was well sized.

Good supermarket and selection of shops, bars etc not too far from apartments, but cannot comment on any as my two wanted to stay in each evening to take part in the entertainment which I have to say was very good!! The usual kids disco, bingo, pick a football team and then a show, like most spanish hotels etc. a bit the sameish but the kids loved it!! Especially when Mum got roped into taking part on a couple of evenings!!

A great weeks holiday
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Aaron B
11 years 2 months ago
The apartment is very spacios, good kitchen space.

The hotel entertainers are brill with dippy dinah silly susan and the best of them all greedy gareth in his romper suit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Claire
12 years ago
Having just returned from Club Cala Domingos we had a fantastic time. Special thanks to Kieran,Claire and Abbie the kids were entained for most of the day and a good part of the night. My kids absolutely loved them and they all put a lot of time and effort into the games / activities.

The apartments were very clean and spacious and our balcony had lovely views.

The only downside was the food at the bar area as it was not very nice so we lived off chips for the week.

The walk into town proved too much for me being 24 weeks pregnant with baby number 4 but we were more than happy to just relax by the pool.

Meke the swim instructor also taught my eldest children to swim and gain confidence in the water (which has continued at home).

I would definitely return in the future.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Steve Briggs
12 years ago
OH MY GOD!

This was an amazing location, but it has to be mentioned that the holiday would not have been the same without the First Choice holiday reps, Abbi, Keiran and Claire, not to mention Kate (also from Essex!!!)

We had the most amazing time, and the staff at the hotel were a huge asset to the holiday. I would recommend this resort and hotel to anyone!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: