Image of Samoa Hotel

Samoa Hotel

5 of 10 hotels in Calas de Mallorca

4 out of 5 from 82 reviews
3 stars
Hotasa Samoa, Carre Formentor, S/N, 07689 Manacor (Mallorca), Spain

82 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    42
  • Good
    15
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jason
10 years 2 months ago
After reading some reports from other websites we felt like "what have we done". I am not really one to complain much as all hotels across spain are nearly the same when it comes to rooms and service.
Well were do I start ?
Here goes then, I am as honest as I can be.
The hotel was very clean, the only mess I saw was down to the people, gready brits getting very drunk due to all-inclusive and being sick in toilets. Hotel very quick to stop serving drunken people and very quick to clean up mess.
Rooms were basic, as the brochure says, but clean and shower always warm. "be careful of the glass balcony, can be very embarrassing".
The food is what you would expect of from being in a different country, if you like fish then your sorted, some nights it was just salad and chips (lots of chips)due to menu not suiting my taste. Food was good, just a bit repentative the second week. I am a fussy eater but always found somethign to eat, Pork chops/steaks, beef steaks, lamb chops/steaks, spag bol and fish loads of it. Somedays I couldn't face the menu but we ate out across the road 6 euros for chicken curry & chips/rice.
There was a snack bar that was also stocked up, self service of Pizza, Burger, Chips (yes chips)hotdogs and salad bar, "now the snack bar was the only complaint I have about the hotel, it shut at 18:00 and not 23:00 as shown in the brochure" If open til midnight 90% of hotel complaints would disappear.
The enterainment was really good, just one bad show, if you don't like cheesey shows then its not for you, I really enjoyed the shows. The kids clubs were good what I say of them and the adult daytime sports was brill. The entertainment team worked very hard and make a difference to your holiday (some very funny shows).
On a whole, Hotel very good,rooms basic but clean, food good/average, drinks very good (not shy with meassures), entertainment brilliant. If you have a young family don't be put off by the reports.
The only time I got a bit angry was the due to the people on holiday and not the hotel, people leaving mess in toilets, and people being very greedy and bad mannered in dining area, but thats what we expect of English/British abroad. All-inclusive seems to turn some people into Pigs and there was plenty at the Somoa.
If you are reading this and you have booked a holiday with the Somoa then you should have a good time, but please don't expect 5 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Cs
10 years 2 months ago
For the money me and my patner paid we both had a brilliant holiday. Hotel was always clean, there was always food avaliable and there was a choice of meats fish chips potatoes etc. The hotel staff were helpful and can all speak excellent english. The entertainment was the standard hotel shows however they are watchable!My only concern about this hotel is the safety of the room, as the glass on our door to the balcony smashed when it was a breezy morning due to it being so thin however the hotel acted on this very quickly and did apologise. I would recommend this to all ages and families as there is so much going on in this one hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
John+jill
10 years 2 months ago
The hotel was very clean and the rooms were cleaned everyday,fresh towels and bedding.The rooms were not very big for four of us but adiquate,after all you only sleep in them.The bar and reception staff was very pleasant and always happy to help.On the other hand the waiting staff in the restaurant were extremely ignorant and at one stage even pushed my son out of the way instead of saying to him excuse me.The food was very poor,sometimes they would stop putting food out because it was getting close to end of serving time even though there is a stated time to dine,you still expect to get the same amount of choice as everybody else.On two occasions there was cow's tongue which was not to mine nor my family's thought of decent food.We will not be visiting this hotel again,which is a shame because it was a lovely resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Evelyn Hannah
10 years 2 months ago
we had previously been to hotel samoa and had a grat time but my how things have changed. the standards of this hotel have seen a massive decline in everything from food to staff to the caveman of a security guard they chose to patrol this hotel. The food was unedible therefore we had to eat out most evenings which is hard to swallow if you have paid out for all inclusive; hotel staff not willing to listen to customers complaints and my there were a few. secirity guard had actually physically manhandled my son whilst hotel staff stood by and watched thankfully we were going home on the night of this incident and i couldnt wait to see the back of this place,would go back to the resort but never this. hotel.Can i give a big thankyou to the entertainment staff especially angelo and kevin who made sure my kids had a ball, if it wasnt for them this hotel would be unbearable. So if you want a good holiday never visit this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Phil Williams
10 years 4 months ago
For an all inclusive hotel we thought this was good value after all we only paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: XL

Recommended
Jim
10 years 11 months ago
Just returned from a one week stay at the Samoa. Good clean hotel.

No air con, but not needed, room size good and although we never got involved with the entertainment, there was plenty on offer for all. Food was ok in that there was always something that could be eaten, although after 4 days we tired of the routine!.

Close to beach, and lovely friendly staff. There was a sickness bug at time, which we suffered but the staff were great at helping us, and I in no way blame the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro

10 years 11 months ago
This hotel is best described as 'cheap and cheerful'. You only get what you pay for and having paid only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel City Direct (On line)

Fiona
11 years ago
Just back from a week at the Hotel Samoa.

Food was average there was never anything you couldn't eat always a variety however people still moaned about it.

The hotel was clean however the rooms weren't cleaned very well.

Staff were very friendly.

All rooms SHOULD have air conditioning we hired a fan but it wasn't that great.

The one big moan I have about this hotel was the kids club one afternoon my 4 year old son was in the club which shut at 5pm I went back at 4.50pm to collect him to find the doors into the club were locked and none of the staff around luckily he was near by playing with some of the older kids but this is not right he should not have been left on his own I did complain but the hotel didn't seem to bothered and I was given no explanation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Seguro

Recommended
Donna, Andy, Liam And Ellie
11 years 1 month ago
The hotel is very clean and welcoming ... the
entertainment team are fantastic especially Kevin! The food was nice and always hot but could be repetetive, but there was always something we liked!

The pool was nice but you did have to be up before 8.30 to have the chance to get a sunbed!

The evening entertainment was brilliant, the kids disco was brilliant and the team got everyone involved. The adult shows were really good with different acts each night including magic show, grease tribute, four tops tribute etc.

We would definitely visit this hotel again ... a big hi to Leroy, Vicky and Reece if you read this!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel City Direct

Recommended
Sandra
11 years 1 month ago
Hotel Samoa, Calas de Mallorca all inclusive the hotel was clean but needed modernising in some areas.

The food was ok puddings same things everyday needed more variety own fault if you went hungry food available in snack bar if you got fed up with dining hall

Entertainment staff worked very hard things to do during day got everybody involved hotel "dances" fab only let down their shows were awful needed more outside entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: archers

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.