Image of Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar Hotel

Grupotel Playa Camp de Mar Hotel

2 of 2 hotels in Camp de Mar

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
4 stars
Avenida Gabriel Covas Alemany 2 07160, Spain

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Caroline & Al.
Nice hotel, but beds need updating, the only let down!
6 years 5 months ago
Thought we would give it another go as we liked it last year and only booked it at the last minute.

Hotel is very striking in the reception area when you first walk in, very well presented. Staff have very good English skills and are very good at helping you out.

But the rooms are a big let-down, they need updating with new beds and furniture. Bed linen and beds are very poor quality; springs in the beds are now worn out and need replacing. Shame as this is a nice hotel.

Food is still excellent. Beautiful location, very quiet just a few shops and pubs. Beach is spot on; just go through the gate down a few steps and you’re on the beach. Talking to the other quests and they say the same.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sam
8 years 6 months ago
We went to this hotel with my 3 yr old and found the entertainment for the children very poor it was only for half an hour in the evening and it was in a language she did not understand.

The food at this hotel catered for adults only and there was not much my daughter could eat.

You will also need to ensure you set an alarm to secure a sunbed as they are all taken by 7am!!

The air conditioning in the room was pretty much non existent and only came on at certain times so you may find yourself sleeping at the other end of the bed at night so you get as much of the air-conditioning
as possible.

The hotel staff worked very hard and were always very polite.

Location of the hotel was great right by the beach.
But not many shops to look at.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
After Med cruise looking forward to a nice relaxed week in 4 star accomodation. After leaving transfer coach you are invited to carry your bags down concrete steps around the pool and into reception.

Reception and staff very nice, we had a very nice room with superb views (only one problem the only accessible electric point is in the "bathroom" health and safety?). Our room was next to the lift however our travelling companions had to walk what seemed like a labrinth of corridors to get to a lift. They did look at the option of using the emergency access stairway however this was filthy.

The lack of sunbeds and the fact that if you wished to use a sunbed outside the perimiter you had to pay put a real downer on the holiday, this after first class facilities with Thompson in Corfu the previous year.

The facilities in the evening left a lot to be desired -dining room like a cattle market with everyone rushing around (however no comlaints with the standard of food).

The bar area reminded me of a working mans club. We completed a complaint form with our rep who gave the impression of been helpful however we have heard nothing from Thompson - so much for customer service.

I would not recommend this hotel no way is it 4 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
John & Shirley
10 years 5 months ago
Well where to start. We have had Thompson gold holidays in the past and have been very impressed. But oh no not this time.

All started very well with a minibus transfer from Palma cattle market airport. We arrived at the hotel at approx 11.00pm Check in was fine and we were given our room which in all fairness had a wonderful sea view, but for a 4 star hotel was very small and was twin bedded rather than a double, also the air con was very poor.

First morning we made our way to the dining room via the only 2 lifts servicing a hotel this size, most of the time you may as well use the stairs as the lifts are always full.

It was just before 8.00 am and there must have been 10 - 15 people waiting by the door to the pool area with towels in hand, uh oh I thought that there were no Germans in this hotel, but over hearing them talking about where their towels were going to be put low and behold they are all Brits.

In we went for breakfast which was quite good no complaints with the selection or standard available. We left the breakfast room at 8.25 by which time there were 40 plus people waiting to claim the sunbeds.

At 8.30 the doors to the pool area were opened and the circus began, people pushing and shoving to get to a sunbed which they pulled to the place that they wanted. Then the scamper to fetch a blue foam cushion, and an umbrella. In about 20 Min's the area was deserted but the majority of sunbeds and umbrellas were reserved. This situation was repeated everyday. The pool area and pool itself is totally inadequate for a hotel of this size.

The hotel bar staff I understand are very busy but good manners and a smile would not be asking to much. The Thompson Gold reps have a great job doing not very much at all.

How many Thompson Gold wine stoppers would you like to win in their daily poolside quiz, you may even get the chance of a Thompson gold luggage label or the ultimate a Thompson Gold T Shirt.

The beach at Cap De Mar is beautiful and the rest of the island must know it, because several times a day the large pleasure boats turn up and deposit boatloads of people onto the beach for a couple of hours when this happens the people come of the boat and deposit their towels where ever there is the slightest space if it happens to be under your umbrella then so be it. Then as quickly as they appeared the boat returns to pick them up and they are replaced by another boat load.

This is a true report of some of our experiences at the hotel and resort despite the down sides we did enjoy our stay but would not return to this hotel. Make your own minds up if you dont mind the hassle of getting to the pool or on the beach then you will enjoy the views of some of the rich and famous peoples villas perched on the hillside overlooking the bay.

Just another quick note if you venture out in the evening there are only a handful of Bars to choose from one of them is Pepe's bar just over the island outside the hotel. The man is moody arrogant and can be exceptionally rude to his customers several couples we spoke to were abused by him and did not return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Julie Jepson
10 years 5 months ago
We stayed in Hotel camp de mar the hotel was lovely the food is the best I have ever had in any hotel the entertainment reps fantastic most of the hotel staff were polite helpful and friendly just a handful unhelpful. The manager was funny and very attententive to all his guests he ran a very tight ship. The entertaiment was poor in the hotel. The views and the beach/sea beautiful. The location was not good 5 little shops 2/3 little bars and if you want to go for a walk take oxygen as the hill they called cardiac hill is a killer even to the very fit.
Definitely will not be going again because of the location nothing else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
John
11 years 3 months ago
Its the location of the hotel that makes it great not the hotel itself which is very much standard fare althought the staff were nice and helpful and I could not complain about anything. Its just a little bland
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
BETH GARDINER
11 years 4 months ago
This is a lovely hotel in a great position from our balconey we could see the sea on 3 sides the view was fantastic. The only bad thing I can say about the room was it was quite basic and small.

The food was great with a good selection for all. The staff was very friendly and always stopped and chatted everytime they passed, most can speak english fluently.

The entertainment was quite varied with a disco, comedy shows and dancing acts.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gemma Petch
12 years 3 months ago
I stayed with family in the Playa Camp de Mar Thomson Gold hotel, infact I actually just got back this morning.

The half board basis was good because you could have a good breakfast and then go down earlier for you evening meal.

The hotel cleanliness I could not fault at all.

The food was excellent something for everyone in my opinion if you couldn't find something to eat you were very hard to suit.

Hotel location was excellent very quiet on the beach - fall asleep at night, or in the day, with the sound of the sea - my idea of heaven.

The hotel staff were excellent they were always willing to talk to you.

The entertainment in my opinion was excellent always something to do day and night from pool games to quizzes to Cabarets comedy acts etc.

I would certainly visit this hotel again, infact we are looking at booking this hotel for next year already
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Susie
12 years 3 months ago
We returned yesterday from this lovely hotel. There is very little to find fault with it. The cleanliness, food and staff could not be faulted.

The evening entertainment was excellent and the games throughout the day were great fun.

We feel the hotel is mainly geared for the much older age group as the only dancing in the evening was ballroom with an odd line dance thrown in. We had to ask for some disco music to be played.

We were lucky with the weather for late September as we never saw a cloud in the sky the whole week. There was a nice choice of trips too, although they were all rather expensive.

All in all, an excellent choice of location and hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alyson
12 years 4 months ago
We had a really good stay at the Panorama Marina in Ibiza,last year,and expected this hotel to be the same.
We were very disappointed. The room was basic, the food bland and the entertainment awful.

You had to queue at 8.00 every morning to get a sunbed,and everyone was packed like sardines around the pool. We would never go back to a Gold Hotel again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

What's nearby