Image of Marina Luz Hotel

Marina Luz Hotel

2 of 14 hotels in Can Pastilla

4 out of 5 from 22 reviews
3 stars
Estanco Cala Estancia, Camí de Can Pastilla, 07610 Palma, Cala Estancia (Mallorca), Spain

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ian Wilson
8 years 3 months ago
Returned from this hotel on 15/9/08. Having stayed here many times very disappointed in the food in the hotel. Whilst the hotel has undergone a major refurbishment the quality of the food has gone downhill since our previous visits. main complaint is that food was not hot :- warm only and compalints made by several gusts each night about the temperature of the food. Consider this must be improved before someone gets really ill!!!
Consider the hotel is now very overpriced and not worth the money and this was demonstrated by the lack of guests in the hotel.The dining room often had only a handfool of guests at night and the bar was often empty at night other than the staff on duty. Visited other hotels and they were delighted that so many Luz Marina guests were looking for somewhere else to stay next year due to the high cost of the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
8 years 5 months ago
The entertainment rating says it all, EVERTHING else about the hotel was first class.

Marina Hotels have upgraded the Luz to a 4 Star for adults only after a major refurbishment - and it would appear, due to the raised prices for the rooms, that this has been the cause of the VERY LOW occupancy rates when we stayed there.

The pool area has been decked in hardwood and the accommodation has had a big facelift, with new furniture etc. in the public areas.

This hotel is, in my opinion, significantly overpriced at the moment and I suspect the management will have to address very soon this if they wish to attract more guests. Interestingly enough, Marina Hotels are offering 25% discount across all available hotels for 2009 if booked direct now.

There were about 15 couples only staying during our visit at the height of the summer season - and the hotel manager was clearly very concerned about this as he went around asking for our comments and suggestions. The hotel was 85% empty - clearly Marina senior management had made a serious error of judgement overall.

The accommodation is excellent and the meals (waiter service at dinner) are superb, the hotel is immaculate and the staff, as always were gems - but the evening entertainment was absolutely DIRE.

Many of the guests were on B&B (we were upgraded free to HB as Fidelity Card holders, an offer wort 500 Euros)) so they visited local eating places in the evening and did not return to the hotel until late - the entertainment probabaly persuaded them to bale out elsewhere.

We had previously stayed in the Luz in October 2006 when they had "normal" popular entertainment at night - the usual suspects who do the hotel entertaainment circuit - and it was fine.

Now it's a grand piano player before dinner on a couple of nights and a Jazz trio playing the most obscure music (of their choice) to a handful of guests on two other evenings. One night we did have a decent band who played popular repertoire - except they kept taking 15 breaks and the hotel would not pay them to extend beyond their 11pm deadline.

On another night it was a duo doing popular Spanish material - which did not grab the guests attention at all.

As somebody's major annual holiday I would hesitate to recommend the Marina Luz as is, unless you like a very quite time in the evenings.

We would go back - but only for a 3 or 4 day short break.

I have a strong feeling that the Luz will have a dramatic change of pricing policy and entertainment approach in light of recent experiences. I suspect they will make half board the standard meal plan to keep guests in the hotel at nights and offer entertainment which will keepthem there and not spend their Euros in local bars.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Christine
8 years 8 months ago
Having stayed at this hotel for numerous years the proposed upgrade and al a carte status was very disappointing. (We were on a special half board basis). Food was non existant and when it was available we had to ask for it and it was either dried up and unedible or not cooked properly (ie chicken bloody).Waiters not able to speak English so unable to explain what we wanted. Had to keep asking for cutlery, condiments etc., No onestayed in for the pianist and preferred to go utside for better drinks not greatly overpriced as in the hotel. Recetion staff lovely as usual but everything else let it down. Rooms still small 3 star basis, not luxury advertised. Balcony furniture "to de for" where just brown plastic chairs, hardly to die for. Beach just rocks which locals use as a dogs toilet. View fantastic if in sea view room. Nothing else to get excited about. Now no children allowed but a walk to the main area of Ca'n Pastilla.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Debbie Oldfield
9 years 3 months ago
Just got back from a wonderful 4 night break with two work friends, I was a little worried on arrival because everyone seemed to be advanced in years and I didnt know how they would cope with three very livley thirty somethings looking for fun, I shouldnt have worried we were made to feel welcome by one and all and most of the clientelle have stayed here year after year. Which to me is testiment to how wonderful this hotel is. The hotel itself is very clean, everyone seems to be cleaning constantly, the staff are very accommodating, anything they can do for you they will. The food was absolutley beautiful, and there was a selection of nationalities at this hotel, dont be put off, everyone got on like a big family, we had a quiz night, there was us English, Germans, Spanish, Italians and Dutch and we had a good laugh. The hotel is situated just right, it is in a lovely quiet area but also close to a more livley area just up the road. Simon and Nick who work behind they bar befriended us and I am sure we will go back to visit some time soon they were amazing telling us all the wonderful places to explore and the bars to go to. Wouldnt miss going to this hotel and I have a feeling we will be booking to go back soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
--------
9 years 3 months ago
i stayed at this hotel with a group of friends and family in september this yr, we were made feel very welcome from the moment we arrived , i was the only one who had never been to spain before so didnt know what to expect.

the hotel was spotless all the time we were there, the food was great and sandra did a great job with the entertainment, i couldnt believe the hotel was only a 3 star.

the bar staff were great , very friendly and funny hopefully they will all be there agen next september especially nick and simon because it wouldnt be the same with out them.

by the end of our 2 week stay none of us wanted to go home and we cant wait til next yr to get back there.

i cant think of one single bad point about our whole holiday part from havin to go home lol
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
This hotel is fantastic, location is perfect, views across the bay are excellent.

Food was first class. Staff so friendly.

Will definitely visit again in the near future.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 2 months ago
We booked the Marina Luz independently having had such an enjoyable 7 day break the previous autumn in another of their Mallorca hotels.

We cannot fault Marina hotels in any significant areas - their standards are very high.

The Luz has an excellent location overlooking one end of the Bay of Palma and despite its close proximity to the airport, noise from planes was not an issue.

Food was good, with a varied selection of dishes.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

We stayed near the end of the season so the imported entertainment was less than during the peak times.

There were'nt many kids around - I hear the hotel is going adult only (suits us just fine)and being upgraded to 4 Star.

We are going back in 2008.

All in all an excellent
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
George.Currie.
10 years 7 months ago
This was our first stay at this hotel but will not be our last..we were with friends .

this Hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly ..5 minutes from the airport but the planes do not seem to make much noise.

I am told that it is full of plane spotters in April ..as this is a very flat area it is great for walkers or cyclists..and for the less mobile ( like me ) there is a little shop near the beach called "gadabouts" who rent out eletric buggies at a very reasonable rate which will let you go anywhere...I used one

The entertainment when we were there was first class.
if you want a good clean friendly hotel. Try the LUZ book direct with the hotel.

It really is first rate..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brian
10 years 8 months ago
The hotel was absolutely spotless all the time and as with most hotels the rooms were cleaned and the beds were made everyday.

Fresh towels will be provided daily if required. They are try to be more envoronmentally friendly so ask for you to put towels on the floor or in the bath if you want fresh ones (like alot of hotels in the UK). There was a kettle, tea bags and sugar (enough to make one cup a day) but no milk. The maid always left a few sweets each day. There was a haridryey on the wall in the bathroom similar to those you get in UK hotels which was great.

The food was great plenty of it and plenty of choice. There was a cavery nearly everday with a good selection of salads and colds meets, bread/ rolls, soup, a vegetarian section and a usually between 6-8 cold deserts plus a hot one with custard always on offer. There was also lots of fruit and veg available. In the morning there was endless supply (self service) of juice, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. There was also a good choice of cereal.

We rented a fridge for the week at a cost of 30 euro, which for us was money well spent as it meant we always had cold drinks and yogurts etc available for our 2 year old.

The hotel itself is literally a 6 minute drive from the airport. Taxi rates do vary though. When we arrived we were charged 18 euros and when we left the taxi booked by the hotel cost 13 euro. So it's probably worth arranging for the hotel to book your taxi to meet you at the hotel on arrival.

We thought the location was excellent as it was only a short walk to the nearest shops, bars and restaurants and importantly the chemist. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and will accomodate your needs wherever possible. It was very quiet there the last fews days of our holiday but still enjoyable.

Entertainment we saw was okay but I think due to the low numbers it was only the in-house guy for the last few days.

The hotal had a varied mix of people staying when we arrived; a large party of french pensioners; a spanish wedding party; a group of 25 guys (mixed ages) playing in a football tournament and a mix of couples and a few families. everyone seemed to get on well and behaved as you would expect in a 4* hotel. We didn't realise before we went that men have to where long trousers for dinner (jeans and tidy tracksuit bottoms seemed to be acceptable as well as trousers). I think they are quite strict on that.

All in all it was a good holiday and only the 2nd place we have said we would happily book to stay in again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mikki25
11 years 2 months ago
Booked this hotel following the reading of previous reviews and I must say that it was well worth a visit.

This hotel is only six minutes by Taxi from Palma airport and particularly well suited to couples and to those wishing to have a more relaxed vacation.

Although our break was at the very end of the summer season in Majorca our stay at the Luz was of a very high standard indeed.

We were there in the very last week prior to the Winter shutdown. In saying that, there was certainly no let up in the quality and standard of the accommodation, food and whatever else you care to mention.

Our room had a balcony, two single beds, kettle for tea/coffee, hairdryer, TV (which was limited) & full en-suite facilities. Towels were renewed daily and the room cleaned at least five times whilst we were there. Lifts all working. Hired a small fridge for 30 euros for the week and well worth it. Free air-con.

As a rule, my wife & I never stay on a half board basis but the deal we had with the tour operator gave us no choice. But it was first class. Breakfast was served between 08:00 & 10:00am with Dinner between 18:30 & 21:00pm. Plenty of choice to suit all especially for the British palate.

Staff were extremely polite & courteous and nothing was too much trouble. The pool area was always kept clean and getting a sunbed was no issue (lifeguard on hand). However, it was the end of season so I presume prime season would differ considerably.

Entertainment was provided every evening and the resident entertainer Maria kept everyone on their toes during the day. However, it didn't really float our boats so we took to our walking legs and got some exercise to lose some of those extra calories consumed during our stay. The hotel bar prices were fairly expensive but they have to pay for the entertainment somehow.

The location of the Marina Luz lies in a largely residential area around Ca'n Pastilla which is essentially the British end of the Bay of Palma/Arenal.

The only negative we could find was the fairly close proximity of the hotel to Palma airport; so noise pollution was apparent but not really a problem.

Hotel going independent for season 2006. So bookings will have to be made via web, fax or email.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: