Image of Africamar Aparthotel

Africamar Aparthotel

12 of 20 hotels in Can Picafort

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
3 stars
Africamar, Carretera Alcudia- Arta, 43, 07458 Can Picafort, Spain

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Barbara Chadwick
7 years 5 months ago
I recently stayed at the africamar aparthotel and was a little worried after reading previous reviews. I was pleasantly surprised on arrival and was given a room at the back of the hotel (which is the quieter side) which had a great view from the balcony of the sea and port of alcudia in the distance and also part of the main street at the side of the hotel. I took the advice to hire a fan as there was no air-conditioning system in the rooms. the hire of this was 7 euros for the week and was well worth it. the hire of the safe key was 15 euros which includes a 5 euros deposit which is returned to you at the end of your stay. alhough i had booked 'room only' there was a kichen outside of my room with two ring hob/fridge/microwave and electric socket for use. the owners son let me use the fridge in this outside kitchen for my insulin and waived any fee for this. the fridge was a godsend and very useful for keeping water in for my portable kettle to make a 'nice cup of tea' late on the evening. it also kept my chocolate bars nice and cool for bringing back to england. it seemed to be that the outside kitchen was only being used by myself and the room next door and nohing was tampered with during my visit. the owners son also gave me the tv remote at no cost. the owner and her son (both scots - husband spanish) were very helpful during my stay and always had a smile on their faces and would do anything to help you. the bar staff were friendly and cleaning staff also would bring extra towels or toilet rolls etc. my room was cleaned 3 times during the week. the hotel itself was spotlessly clean. the swimming pool is a little small but perfect for dipping into when the sun gets a bit too much. there was plenty of room for several people in the pool at the same time either on the plastic sunbeds you can buy or playing pool games etc. i only noticed one night of entertainment at the hotel and that was bingo night were 3 games of bingo (line - then full house were played) line was for a bottle of champagne (local i think - probably cava) and then for full house a bottle of smirnoff vodka and a cash prize depending on how many people playing. the bingo was 'called' by one of the waiter who is a bit of a comedian and pleasant with it. it cost 5 euros for one strip of tickets or 1 euro for each seperate ticket so better to buy the full strip if your a regular player. he full house cash prizes ranged between 50 and 60 euros so worth it if you win. i'd like to thank the owners and staff at africamar for a great stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mark
7 years 7 months ago
We have just returned from a two week stay there.
The staff were freindly and helpful,if you book room only,be prepared no kettle or fridge facilities.
The hotel has had a refurb,so no complaints about our room.
David and Nacho behind the bar are great guys,and their service was excellent.
The lady boss is very helpful and is scottish but speaks perfect spanish,so anything translating or phoning she will do.
Plenty of bars and restuarants to eat at,and entertainment locally.
Big screen tv in main lounge and if you want something on just ask.
Going back next year
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
8 years 6 months ago
My partner and myself have just returned from a disappointing 11 day stay at the Africamar.

The studio with self catering facilities we had booked consisted of a tiny room barely big enough to be classed as a twin room.

The self catering facilities in the room consisted of a open fronted wardrobe type affair with two electric rings, a sink with a fridge underneath (door was rusting) and one electric point above the taps which was supposed to be used for the kettle and toaster. The first travel sized kettle in the room didn't work and it took reporting this twice and a third party intervening before it was replaced with another old travel sized kettle that worked precisely 3 times then stopped working.
The toaster casing had melted all around the slots where you put the bread in and I discovered why when I used it. It "toasted" one slice of bread to black/burnt and billowing out smoke in 20 seconds whilst the other slice was only lightly toasted on one side. I dread to think what would have happened had I turned my back on this toaster.
The electrical point was located almost directly above the taps which cannot possibly meet any kind of health and safety standards. This was one of only 2 electrical points available for use. The other was above one of the beds about 1 metre off the floor and when we attempted to use that for charging mobile phones, camera etc the plug constantly fell out as there was nothing but the bed to rest it on..!!
The 2 single beds (I had requested a double) were lumpy and uncomfortable and when we pushed them together were of different heights. The bed coverings looked and smelled as if they had never seen the inside of a washing machine. Ditto the curtains.....
The towels provided (1 small bath towel and 1 tiny hand towel each...... no more..!!)were threadbare and although they were changed twice during our 11 day stay there the second set actually had holes in them.

The in room phone was an old trim phone type and when my sister phoned me on the first night I could hear her but she couldn't hear me. This was also reported and also took two reports and third party intervention before it was replaced. The hotel manager also insisted on coming into the room to check this as well.... why would I lie about this..!!

There was no proper door on the bathroom, it was a sliding door that slid into the wall cavity not really affording you proper privacy.

There was no table either inside or on the balcony.

The water in the kitchen area never got above lukewarm so not really suitable for washing up in.

No cups or mugs provided - I went out and bought 2 mugs.

Dirty portable tv, apart from being a hazard as on an extendable arm that my partner constantly banged his head on, didn't work - no sound and only 2 channels. They expected you to pay to hire the remote control - we didn't bother..!!

Sheets changed only once during stay.

Studio not cleaned once - housekeeping appeared twice when we'd popped back to pick up something (we spent as little time as poss there), saw we were there and said "....later.." Later never came..... I resorted to sweeping it with a broom I found in the "communal" kitchen and cleaning it with Dettol wipes.

The wardrobe space for hanging clothes was tiny. Definately not suitable for 2 people. I hung my clothes on a hook on the wall underneath the dirty TV. At either end of the wardrobe were 2 doors that didn't open. We worked out that they housed all of the plumbing for the bathroom.

The bath was rusting, there was a gap between the bath and sink unit that was filthy and full of other peoples hair and there was a nasty looking stain behind our toilet the whole time we were there....!!!

The bathroom and studio were very poorly ventilated and must be unbearable in the height of summer.

The only mirror was in the bathroom and the light was so dim it was impossible to apply make-up or shave in there effectively.

The reception area was peppered with home printed signs "advising" you that only hotel guests allowed in rooms, fans for hire, tv remote controls for hire, only push lift button once, bar closes at 1.30am, rooms must be vacated by 12 noon on day of departure etc etc. It was like being transported back 30 years when the concept of customer care and standards did not exist.

I had booked the Africamar having read all of the review sites and felt on balance that it would be basic but ok particularly as it is advertised as a 3 star. IT IS NOT OK....... it is dirty, grubby, outdated and frankly I question the health and safety aspects of this establishment.
I have reported all of this to the company I booked with and suggested they schedule a health and safety and rating inspection. I cannot believe it qualifies for a 3 star rating. The standard is barely above what you'd expect from a youth hostel. The hotel management were never at reception for us to report any of this to and the only time I saw them after reporting the kettle and phone on our first full day there was when we checked out when I was sooooo glad to be leaving.......


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
9 years 5 months ago
The hotel is very clean, in a good location and the waitresses are very nice. Its very basic, with decent kitchen facilities in spacious room and is a good base for your holiday.

The food in the hotel is disgusting, very dodgy microwave type sandwiches. The lift kept breaking down (4 times whilst we was there and being on the 2nd floor with 2 kids and 2 buggies is a little bit of a problem).

The prices in the hotel are very good for fans, safety boxes, drinks, ice creams etc.

Overall if you are looking for a good base, with decent rooms, small but nice pool area and have a small budget then the Africamar would be perfect.

Oh and please remove your heeled shoes when you come in as its very noisey!! lol
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Gemma & Lee
9 years 5 months ago
When we booked the hotel on line we booked it as self catering with a double bed, when we got there we booked in as normal everything seemed nice but always does when you turn up earlie hours in the morning, we got to the hotel room and we where in room 204 we thought thats strange the kitchen is outside the room anyway we got in the room only to have 2 single beds which i was very annoyed about as we came on this holiday for a bit of romace.

we went down to complain about the room and they told us that that is what we booked, so you can imagine how annoyed i was as it wasn't.

then my partner noticed that if we wanted to use the kitchen facilitys we had to pay 35euros which just topped it of for us as at night it was very hot and the only water we could drink was hot drinking water which is discusting.

we made alot of friends at the hotel and managed to keep our water in there fridge which was really nice of them.

the only reason we all got chatting was because of the service the hotel gave us which was nothing.

the pool was never cleaned it was the same water you had as a shower in the evenings to what was in the pool it had mights in the water and everyone at the hotel court an ear infection which lasted the whole holiday, there was a young girl who was rushed to hospital as her ear was so bad it was bleeding.

i would not recoment that anyone goes to this hotel they say its a 3 star hotel more like a 1 star.

apart frpm hotel the resort was lovelly and would go back again just not to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Chris
9 years 6 months ago
We booked room only, and the rooms were basic, but pretty clean and everything worked! Public areas were nice and airy, clean and cool. Pool, small but really warm.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the bar was very reasonably priced and well stocked. The Africamar is towards the cheaper end of the spectrum, and you only get what you pay for.

The rooms need a refurb, and I got the impression that they are gradually doing this during the close seasons. Having said that, we were pleasantly suprised by the hotels' amenities. It's a solid, friendly hotel, ideal for those on a budget. (Don't expect the earth, though!)

Situated next to the Alcudia to Arta road, which is busy, but rarely seems to be too noisy. No problems with Mosquito's!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
We first stayed here 31/2 years ago and the hotel is now looking a bit worn and shabby and could do with a refurb.

The curtains in our apartment were very faded and not to clean around the edges. The cushions on the sofa beds were very dirty and felt sticky. The wardrobe doors needed a good clean and were very finger marked and sticky at the edges as were the patio doors and windows. Otherwise the apartment was clean,sheets and towels changed every few days.

We had a large 1 bed top floor apartment with 2 bathroons. Lounge with tv but only eurosport was in english there was supposed to be sky news but it would only stay on for a couple of mins. Then would turn itself off.

The pool and sun bathing area are very small and your feet are just about in the pool when you lie on the sunbed.

There is also a lot of traffic noise that can be a nuisance because there is no air con. so the doors have to open on a night.

The staff are very polite and friendly and will do their best for you.

This is a cheaper budget hotel and for what we paid it was OK but I don't think we will be going back,
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Alison Thompson
10 years 4 months ago
Initially we were booked into another hotel which was a nightmare from hell, so we were moved to the Africamar. The staff were aware of this and gave us such a warm welcome, complimentary drinks at the bar, etc.

Although August the hotel was not too busy, we were often the only ones around the pool in the mornings as many other guests went to the beach, which was only 2 mins away. Karolina, who worked at the bar, vitually adopted our youngest daughter during our stay! Our only problem was no table or chairs on the huge balcony, and this was sorted within 5 minutes of us raising it with reception!

Apartment was very clean, although the bathroom could do with a slight up-date as it looked a little "tired". There was a problem with the pool on our 2nd to last day, which resulted in it being emptied over the course of the day but we were still allowed to use it which was great fun for the younger kids as before it was quite deep for them (no kiddie area to it), but it was full again by the next morning, but it was then freezing for our last day.

No entertainment at all other than piped music but that was fine with us. Also, only snack food available at the hotel but as it is at the top of the main promenade there was a wide choice of restaurants all very reasonably priced. Soft drinks at hotel only 1 euro each, so very reasonable (and kids were often given freebies from Karolina!)

After a nightmare start to our holiday the Africamar was a haven!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
William
10 years 5 months ago
I needed a last minute holiday, for me and my two daughters, aged 7 and 4 years, in Mallorca, found it on the internet.

Although the main road, is directly outside the hotel, so were the local bus stops, and taxi ranks.

The hotel was close enough, or do l mean, far enough away from the beach, to enable us all, to walk through the streets, with out being hassled, by any one.

The staff, and owners, were very helpful, through out our two weeks stay, Max, and Karolina, who worked behind the bar, were very courteous.

Our room, albeit on the top floor, was big enough, for the three of us, and although there wasn't any air conditioning, the open balcony doors, were suffice.

l would return there again, we loved Can Picafort, the Africa Mar, just added to that love we developed for it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jim McClarence
10 years 7 months ago
Stayed for 7 days in may 06. For most of our stay we were the only guests at the hotel.

We had sole use of the pool for a week which was great.

No entertainment at the hotel but plenty of Bars and Restaurants close by.

Noisy main road at the front of the hotel but this was the only bad point we would have about our stay. Great if you want a quiet holiday in a very friendly hotel.

We would visit again in the future.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: