Image of Hotasa Clumba Mar Hotel

Hotasa Clumba Mar Hotel

3 of 20 hotels in Can Picafort

4 out of 5 from 64 reviews
3 stars
Carrer d'Arenal, 24 07458 Santa Margalida, Spain
The Clumba Mar is the ideal choice for a great family holiday - the soft golden sands of Ca'n Picafort Beach are just a five-minute walk away.

64 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    23
  • Very Good
    29
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Steve Pickering
7 years 2 months ago
Arrived back today [15/10/09] from the Clumba Mar and wished we didnt have to.
So the Clumba Mar could do with a spruce up [LCD T.V.'s dont constitute a refurbishment]. But yet again it was quiet. The food was excellent. Staff always greeted us with a 'ola' and a smile. However now the bad news.
The Clumba Mar is no longer going to be offered by the TUI group as an option. According to rumour in Can Picafort, it is going to be run specifically for the German / Spanish market. So looks like the last time we will be visiting. Which is a shame as it is ideally located for everything.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Karen
7 years 5 months ago
we had a fantastic week,from the day we arrived till the day we left.we had plenty of fun and enjoyment.the food, drinks and every thing about the hotel got 100% in our family.we felt safe and relaxed in our rooms, by the pool and around the hotel areas.i would recommend to any family and single peopel.cant wait to go back.good value for money and we would give it a 4 ****.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lines
8 years 4 months ago
This Hotel and it's staff were all brilliant. We had no rep as we travelled indepentally, but the reception staff were all great, answered any queries we had ie re buses etc.
Yes there was some street noise, from dustbin men etc but not every day, and certainly did not spoil our enjoyment of the Hotel.
In my mind some people pay three star prices but expect Five star services.
Yes some times entertainment was not brilliant of a night but you could always walk to local bars with some very good entertainment.
I would definetly go back to this Hotel and recommend it to others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
The 'Darling' Family
8 years 5 months ago
Firstly - sorry it's a long review but after the recent, unjustified reviews, we want to set the record straight.....

My husband and I and our two daughters have just arrived back from the Clumba Mar and had a great time. After seeing the bad reviews we were a bit concerned but all I can say is, if you've booked and are also worried - don't be, the hotel is immaculate, the food good, staff lovely, pools great with loads of space and the location is perfect (about 50 yards from the shops and 200 yards to the gorgeous beach)...... and THERE IS NO BUG (the ONLY people we met who'd been ill were children who'd brought a bug with them from their nursery - and you'd get this anywhere hense, it's hardly the hotels fault!!).

Previous reviews have suggested that the re-use of the plastic glasses was causing a bug at the Clumba Mar yet, we know from first hand experience, that ALL the glasses were washed in dishwashers at this hotel (which is why most were still hot to the touch when put on the shelves ready for use !!) and this eliminates bacteria. The people who complained (on previous reviews) about having to use plastic glasses instead of real glasses should maybe read up on Spanish law before moaning as they would then know that real glasses are NOT permitted in any pool areas or surrounding pool bar/cafe areas in Spain for obvious safety reasons. In any case, 'real' glasses would be washed in exactly the same way as the plastic ones! ALL the 4* hotels we've been to have ALSO used plastic glasses in these areas so believe me, it's NOT just at the Clumba Mar. The Clumba Mar has wine glasses in the main restaurant so if you're 'that' fussy, you could always pour your Pepsi or beer into one of these during dinner.

ALL the staff showed the utmost cleanliness at this hotel and the pool/bar/restaurant areas remained immaculate at all times. Not only this but the NON-SMOKING environment made a welcome change and was lovely for us and our children.

Breakfast = Full English + Continential. The sausages and eggs were first class. NEVER did we find a hard egg yolk - even with the 'dippy eggs'.

Lunch = Buffet style in the smaller of the 2 hotel restaurants OR choice of snacks at the Caracus bar by the bigger pools. Buffet = Salads, Veg, Meats, Fish, Chips, Various Fruit, Cakes. Caracus Bar = Nachos with salsa & melted cheese, choice of sandwiches, hot-dog, chips.... ALL snacks are made fresh to order at the Caracus bar and the bar itself is air-conditioned, even though it is next to the swimming pool. Like the main hotel areas, this was very clean.

Dinner = Probably not as much choice as some 4* hotels we've been to but that said, still more than enough and very good quality (far better than we expected for a 3* hotel!). Dishes included fresh prawns, sword fish, salmon, paella, steak, lamb cutlets, mussels in a tomato/herb sauce, veal, pork, chicken pieces (inc. loads of breast pieces!), steak caserole, lasagne..... There was also the usual soup with mini french sticks, chips, potatoes, gravy, vegetables and a large selection of salads/pasta/rice/cheeses/ham.... There was also a childrens' selection in the corner. The deserts were great - gateaux, various cakes, creme caramel, jelly, custards, fresh fruit, cream and 4 flavous of icecream.

Ice cream is also available in little tubs during the day at both the Caracus and main hotel bars.

Drinks = Beer and soft drinks all self-serve. Spirits ARE NOT watered down at the Clumba Mar unlike at the local nigh clubs!! We tasted both and belive me, the Clumba Mar measures hit the spot far quicker than the drinks purchased elsewhere! NB: if you don't like the fizzy drinks or strong squash-type juices, just ask the bar for fresh juice and you'll get it (i.e the equivalent to Tropicana etc).

We normally book 4* hotels and to be honest, the ONLY difference we found between our usual hotels and the Clumba Mar is that at the Clumba Mar we had no hair-dryer or TV. We didn't miss these things at all and were very pleased with our room which had ample space and a lovely view. When we reported that the guard on our daughter's bed was a bit wobbly, it was fixed immediately. We didn't have to ask for extra pillows as there was already 2 per person and the AIR CONDITIONING WAS GREAT IN OUR ROOM AND THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE HOTEL!

Some guests reported that money/items were stolen from their rooms which we find hard to believe as we travelled with another family and we ALL left an assortment of electrical gadgets, watches and jewellery around and NONE were taken. We did however, do the sensible thing and hire a safe (approx 30E) for our documents, cards, money etc and let's face it, if you don't want to get anything stolen, don't leave it lying around in the first place!

The balcony doors gave very good sound proofing to our room and to be honest, the ONLY noise we heard during the night was the occasional moped as in Spain, they don't have noise restrictions on these vehicles. The walkways in the hotel are carpeted so you don't even get noise from guests' shoes!

OVERALL A GREAT FAMILY HOLIDAY AND WE'D NOT HESITATE TO BOOK AGAIN. WE'RE USED TO LARGE HOTELS AND THIS WAS LOVELY BY COMPARISON AS IT WAS FAR MORE FRIENDLY BOTH IN THE BARS AND AROUND THE POOLS. IT WAS LOVELY TO BE ABLE TO WALK AROUND THE POOL AREAS WITHOUT TRIPPING OVER ROWS AND ROWS OF SUN-BEDS AND EVEN MORE OF A LUXURY TO FIND THAT YOU COULD STILL GET A SUNBED AT 10AM AT THE END OF JULY!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Hull/Orrell
8 years 5 months ago
We arrived early hours of the morning having been delayed at Manchester airport. Reception staff were very helpful and i was impressed that they opened the restaurant to enable us to get drinks/food etc.

The rooms were quite small/basic but hey who stays in their room anyway. Cannot fault the cleanliness of the hotel. The maids came every day. We are not early risers so the most mornings the maids were unable to get in our room however, they always came back after we had gone out and left clean fresh towels each day.

The food was disappointing really and the wasn't much selection. Two of our children don't eat red meat so they weren't really catered for. Most hotels we have visited have always had a wide selection so there have always been something for everyone.

The stsff were nice and friendly but the hotel was seriously lacking entertainment. There was no animation team during the day and the evening entertainment was great if you were 60yr old and in a B&B at Blackpool. Last orders were at 11.45pm, which was fine but at 12 on the dot they wanted you out of the bar so they could lock up and go home. Once the bar was shut there was nowhere to go so most people ended up hanging around Reception area on the sofas or congregating outside the hotel steps.

The location of the hotel was fantastic, just a couple of minutes from the centre and all the shops & beach. The beach was great because there was a constant breeze that you didn't get around the pool.

Would i visit this hotel again?....... No.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Haslam
8 years 6 months ago
Just returned 8th June 2008. Although the hotel was very clean, the food and drinks were disgraceful, same old bland (chicken, veal, fish in breadcrumbs) food each day and drinks watered down or cheap local stuff. I am told that this is due to the hotel going all inclusive in 2006.
We arrived at 11.00 o
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Michelle
8 years 6 months ago
I am just back and yes there is sickness at the hotel but I believe there is sickness on many parts of the Island. Hotel staff are very friendly. Cleanliness is very high. Location two minutes from beach. C'an Picafort is generally very quiet at the moment. Evening entertainment is ok. Kids club fine if you have young ones. Bingo is played most evenings. Neil Diamond entertains one night and Elvis Presely another. The local bar is suffering because the hotel has gone all inclusive. Its a friendly local bar and the wine tastes better in there. The hotel serves all the drinks in plastic cups which is not very nice except in the restaurant in the evening you can have a wine glass.

A lot of people piled their plates high with food and I think over indulged!! My husband ate everything and was absolutely fine.

The only reason I would not go again is because I like to try different places. You should not have paid too much to go this hotel and you get what you pay for.

Overall a good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pauline
8 years 6 months ago
having booked this holiday for the kids entertainment which was stated in the brochure,well that was a joke. if you can call a ten minute mini disco for under 5's well fine but not when you have children 13 yrs with you.yes there is a bug going around the hotel and was told by the rep that it was air bourne and nothing to worry about. within 2 days 3 of our party had it.food ok (just ok)if you like chicken well then you be sick of the sight of it by the time your hols over.drinks served in plastic glasses, then washed and used again then most of the time we had to ask to have the glasses washed again as many of them were still dirty.couldn't fault the hotel staff, and the rooms although very basic were made up every day by maids and clean towels every day.overall wouldnt go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Ceejay
8 years 6 months ago
There is a vicious sickness bug at the Clumba Mar its been around for several weeks and yet Thomsons are still sending people there. Only go if you want to be ill for your holiday. Approximately a third of the guests while we were there caught it including me. It was still going strong as we were leaving some one threw up all over the floor outside the dining room. Hotel appeared clean but given the extent of the sickness bug they must have been doing something wrong.

Room - Basic but cleaned every day, about the only good point. No TV.

Food appalling - lukewarm if you were lucky but cold by the time you sat down. Appeared to be mainly deep fried frozen. Snacks at bar over road disgusting chicken or tuna sandwich was in fact just paste sandwiches. No Kids Club at all. So loads of screaming kids all day around pool. No entertainment staff.Just half hour mini disco in the evening for kids.

Drinks - Plastic glasses not very clean. You are not allowed to have a bottle of water, only a glass of water not good when a bug is rampaging throughout to have to share bottles of water with everyone else. One night we took a bottle of water to our table and the waiter took it away saying we weren't allowed a bottle only glasses.

Thomson Rep - No rep on coach from airport. Resort rep a joke he didn't tell us about welcome meeting and didn't seem to care about guests when we raised our concerns with him, he was only interested in himself telling us how he'd given up a 35k a year job to be there.

To sum up the worst holiday I've ever had Hotel Clumba Mar DO NOT GO THERE

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Big Bob
8 years 6 months ago
We have just returned from the Clumba Mar, June 08'.The hotel is a good as ever.We were scared due to bad reviews prior to the holiday.
But on arrival, the lovely Pedro was as professional as ever, he told us about the bug which the whole resort had suffered.The rooms were spotless and the food was as expected for this standard hotel.
Both pools very clean and well kept.The plastic glasses were not a problem, if you prefer a glass then pay for a 4X Hotel.We did not have any problems with a bug as reported in various reviews, but Im not saying that some people do not have problems when abroad generally .Good value holiday in a fantastically located Hotel with good staff and all of the 3X attributes one can expect.In general it is disapointing to read reviews written by folks who expect 5X luxuary when paying for a 3X Hotel.We are already looking forward to enjoying the Clumba Mar hospitality in 09.
The one thing I do agree with is that Thomson and the rep is and are a waste of space.No resort information "as Ive just arrived".
Book independantly both flights and accomadation as the reps one purpose is to flog trips which can be booked in the resort at a saving of 50% compared to the Thomson price ie Pirates adventure trip was "full" when speaking to the rep yet we booked the trip in the resort for 40 Euros per person cheaper on the night we wished to see the show.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: