14 independent reviews of the Viva Mallorca Aparthotel
Address: Avinguda de Santa Eulària, 7, 07458 Santa Margalida, Spain
Viva Mallorca Aparthotel
Viva Mallorca Aparthotel Location
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Can Picafort


4/5
Viva Mallorca Aparthotel Viva Mallorca Aparthotel is rated 4 out of 5 from 14 Reviews
93% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (14 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Viva Mallorca Aparthotel Reviews

2/5
2
"Miserable staff, poor food, freezing pool"
Nick visited the Viva Mallorca Aparthotel, Can Picafort, Spain in September 2010
We visited the Holiday Village at the end of September and we had rain 4 days out of 7. In bad weather there was nothing to do in that resort. Also when it rained the marble floors are a real danger, they were very very slippery. My children fell down several times.

The First Choice entertainer was really miserable. The All inclusive meals were not good at all, a LOT of soups (water and colour) and salads, and watered down drinks.

Such a hard beds. My 10 year old son was expected to sleep on the sofa in the living room. Can Picafort itself is very German oriented (with the exception of Son Baulo area) but clean and not as commercial as Alcudia.

The beach is lovely and the sea is clean and lovely and warm. The pool ...
in the hotel was frozen and my son had blue lips within minutes of going in. It took us more than 20 minutes walking with the children to reach the beach. All in all not as fantastic as it is sold to you and make sure you go when you are guaranteed the weather as there is absolutely nothing to do if no sun.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Lovena Pitchley visited the Viva Mallorca Aparthotel in August 2008
Have been with Viva before to Alcudia. Viva Mallorca was fabulous - clean, tidy, excellent staff. The rooms were well maintained throughout our 16 night stay.

The staff could not do enough to help. We were self catering but stayed at hotel to eat regularly as my two boys (8 and 5) loved being there for the entertainment and the sport.

During the day was busy and sometimes noisy so I would not recommend for a couple on a romantic break. First class destination for families with access to lots of pools and a beach that is in walking distance so you can mix the week up.

Caan Picafort itself was pleasant in the evening when we did venture out. We met lots of friends from the Uk and Europe.

Highly recommended.

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

The Slaters stayed at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel in August 2007
I cannot rate Viva highly enough, when we arrived they did not have our reservation, this was our first time not on a package and so a lesson learnt to email the hotel in advance. However, we had our booking info from alpharooms and they didn\'t make a drama out of this and fixed us up with a studio for the first 4 nights before moving us to a one bedroom apartment, which we had booked, for the remaining 7.
The studio was cramped for four of us but if your a couple then there is more than enough room. This was the case with the apartment for us. The rooms are well maintained with towel changes every day except Monday and Thursday. As mentioned there is no kettle and if you need to style your hair take your own ...
hairdryer.
The hotel is spotless with maids and maintenance men always on the go, I even saw one with a paint tin and brush touching up where the walls had been knocked which was a first.
There is a large pool with three sections all of different depths from toddlers to adult shoulder depth, another pool for the babies and a deep pool. Each have ample sunbeds with parasols, there is a notice asking for beds not to be reserved before 9am so people staked their claim and sat with the towels until 9 and then went for breakfast. If your not an early riser then there were still beds available upto 9:30-9:45 which was surprising at the height of the season.
The food was the standard fayre that you get on holiday, plenty of it and frequently refreshed. No complaints as we all ate well. Booked for self catering so we ate out 4 nights and the rest in the hotel paying as you in the restaurant. You can get pre-pay at approx 8euros breakfast, 15 euros dinner or both for 20 euros. Kids under 12 are half price and under 3 free.
The kids clubs are split into 4-7, 8-12 & 13-17. Ours only went a couple of times but you could come and go as you please, there was none of the pre-booking I

Read More

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

stephen kennedy stayed at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel, Can Picafort, Spain in July 2007
Stayed July 2007, with daughter aged 11. Apartments excellent, very spacious, clean, pool lovely, was all inclusive, but food could have been warmer. Breakfast quite cold. Nice pancakes for breakfast freshly made. The Grill not up to much, had to send meal back because cold. Entertainment very Butlins. Bingo great prize every night about 700 euros. Concerned about staff spraying fly spray about drinks machines.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Julie Duckworth stayed at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel, Can Picafort, Spain in September 2006
The hotel and amenities were wonderful. None of the embarrassing tattooed football wearing English people you tend to find abroad.

Loads of German and Dutch visitors also.

Very family orientated - slightly off putting that they allow their toddlers/children to wander round with no clothes on.

Entertainment wasn\'t brilliant, but at the moment with a toddler that didn\'t bother us.

Pool was warm enough to get into which helps.

The rooms were cleaned everyday and towels replaced when necessary. You can hire towels from the reception for a deposit of 10euros each and have them replaced three times a week.

The self catering rooms didn\'t have kettles or toasters so I would recommend you take your own if you can\'t do without.

Only had one snack meal at the bar during the day, but it was very nice.

Lovely hotel and we would consider going back.

Rooms were ...
very spacious and not at all dangerous for an inquisitive toddler.

Read More

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

kelly mackie had a holiday at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel in August 2006
I

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jasmyn visited the Viva Mallorca Aparthotel in June 2006
The complex itself is fantastic! Super clean, and very attractive. not for a family in such of a lively holiday though.

The entertainment is well intended, its fun just don

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Lisa stayed at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel in May 2006
Hotel Cleanliness: What can I say other than absoloutely fantastic. The maids never seem to stop and if they happen to be cleaning when you return to a room they try to make themselves invisible.I had six children over three rooms so you can imagine the mess they made!!!! but everything was always spotless on return without the feeling that they had gone through anything. Even early morning and late evening you would still see them out around the complex. If a glass is dropped just say to them and they will appear from nowhere to clear it.

Hotel Food: Again this is fantastic, a huge variety that definitely caters for everyone. Waiters always ready to take yor plate or glass, Hygiene in the dining areas was excellent and you will always see someone clearing the food bar tables etc...

Location: ...
The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the beach, If you walk the right way through the village there is an array of excellent value shops. Even though this is a quiter area of the island (not for clubbers) if you are looking for relaxation as well as entertained kids this is the place to go. The beach is fantastic.

Hotel Staff: They go out of the way to help with everything that you ask. Great rep team and kids club staff as well as reception and domestic staff. We were flying home on my son\'s 11th birthday and I asked the reps to organise a cake,balloons for the friday. They surpassed themselves. I left them 50 euros(not knowing how much it would cost) early in the week and they went into town to buy everything for a birthday and decorated a table in the restaraunt with ballon animals, tablecloth and all the things for a birthday including a cake and candles bought out by the waiters all for 18 euros!!!!!!!!!!!!! I even had card put through the door to say that everything was organised. Special thanks to Billy and Claire.

Entertainment: All the entertainment team tried hard although could be a bit repetitve. Although bearing in mind that these guys also join in with some of the daytime activities with the kids club they work really hard.

I would definitely return. Although I had a last minute change of group (literally 12 hours b4 we flew) the first choice team made everything go smoothly. Travelling with 6 children is always difficult, but this experience has made me want to do it a lot more often. Not only would I like to return to Viva I now want to try the other holiday villages. Enjoy your time at Viva.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

The Williams family (Mer) stayed at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel in July 2005
Hope my review isn\'t too long but I\'ve tried to give the sort of details I would have liked to know myself. I

Tour Operator: Suncentre

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Emily had a holiday at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel, Can Picafort in September 2004
Just returned from this hotel. Lovely big apartments, although the kitchen proved awkward to use, without a kettle/toaster/oven/lack of work surface etc etc. We went without....well we didn\'t actually as some friends of ours told us they were never checked in the buffet... so we were told to chance our luck and eat in. Play dumb if you were ever questioned...but we weren\'t. Not once...mind you we never ordered drinks with meals as they were put on your room bill and then they would have probably sussed us!!! Four nights we ate in and were never asked once!!!! Cheeky i know, but we paid over the odds!!! Well don\'t we all!!!

Entertainment....mmm bless emm it was all really professional looking but the singing left a lot to be desired...they crucified songs on the ABBA night, had us cringing on the ...
eurovision night....surprised patio doors weren\'t shattered, i couldn\'t do better though! You get the idea, but quite laughable/relaxing.

Pool areas, great, although slippy for the kids, hotel was full and so was the baby pool!!!

Beware, lots of german kids and babies running around naked and going in the baby pool. We all know what germs can do! We complained to reception that some babies were in the pool with no nappies on...disgusting...their response was pretty poor, the german receptionist said they could not do anything about this. Well i told her that this place would suffer if people went down with bugs. My advice tell your rep and get them to put pressure on the hotel.

Cleaners were every where all day from 7am cleaning outside til late at night. Very impressed.

The place is full of germans and a lot of the food is catered for them, us brits are 2nd place to them when it comes to everything in the resort and hotel. Don\'t know if they spent more money but it didn\'t bother us.

Bars resonably priced, lovely pina coladas etc!!!

Beware of travelling with JMC/Thomas Cook, you won\'t see a rep in the hotel unless you phone for an appointment. We didn\'t even get a welcome pack and the welcome meeting was held the day before we left!!! Even then we weren\'t inited and the time wasn\'t advertised. Lots of people were pleased with soverign so try them first before you book!

Overall we had a lovely holiday and we would go back there again...with a massive possy of brits to outnumber our european friends!!!!!!

Have a lovely time if you go...Best rooms to get are those in Block 1 with pool views, sun all day on the balcony and furthest from the noisy entertainment. Or if the noise doesn\'t bother you but you want the sun on your balcony then ask for block 5 facing a quite road! The layout means a lot of those with pool views don\'t get sun on the balconies til late afternoon. Not a lot of use if you want to top up your white bits!!!!

Enjoy

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Nicholls family had a holiday at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel, Can Picafort in July 2004
Brand new hotel for May 2004, joins the popular hotels viva chains in Mallorca.
First impressions fantastic, rooms spacious and light, all air-conditioned ( a sensor works on the patio door - if the door is open - the air conditioning switches off - we thought it was broken until we sussed this out!)
there were 5 in our party, so had a double room and a one bed apartment inter connecting - resulting in 2 bedrooms, living area, kitchen area, 2 bathrooms and 3 patio doors.We were lucky enough to also have our rooms overlooking the pools. Sheer luxury!
Bathrooms well equipped with shower cubicle, and seperate bath with additional shower attachment on the bath! - Very handy!
Kitchen - microwave, fridge and 2 ring electric hob. No kettle or toaster whichh surprised us - so may be worth investing in a travel ...
kettle if you like your early morning / late night cuppa! Therefore had to boil water in a saucepan.

Food - ate breakfast daily in the buffet restaurant - good value, loads of choice - worked out at

Read More

Tour Operator: d.i.y holiday

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

John had a holiday at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel in July 2004
brand new and only been open for 7 weeks when we arrived. i think we were the first people ever to stop in our room.
a light criticism first...there was no toaster and no cereal bowls. i enquired at the reception and got the customary shrug of the shoulders. only when i marched in to reception armed with a packet of frosies and a litre of milk (purchased from the onsite shop i should add) and asked how they suggested i eat them did they arrange for us to get some cereal bowls from the restaraunt.

now the good stuff.
~an onsite shop with reasonable prices was very useful although not sure why it had to shut on sundays which was a small irritant. we didn`t really buy stuff from anywhere else as we didn`t need to.
~ a choice of 3 pools, all ...
of which were suitable for kids and were spotlessly clean
~ beautiful layout of the apartments, ample sunbeds for all and a lovely poolside snack bar which i found very reasonably priced. (4 euros for burger & chips with salad) i should add that ice lollies from the shop were half the price of those at the snack bar so it was a 40 yard walk to the shop for a tight git like me.
~ superb day and evening entertainment, common language was english which again was good for us given that english presence in the hotel was probably less than 15%. they do a special childrens day where for 15 euros (i think) they look after the kids for a full day. they hav pony riding, t-shirt painting, pool games and other such stuff. our daughter loved it. the kids mini club had swings, slides, climbing frames and see-saws available all day.
~ rooms excellent, fully air conditioned as you would expect and maid service 5 times a week.
~ excellent staff, very on the ball! i took the bulb out of our balcony light fitting as they can`t be switched off and it was a wee bit bright and within 24hrs an electrician knocked on the door armed with a replacement bulb.
~ hot & cold buffet in the evenings at

Read More

Tour Operator: internet booking

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

ohare stayed at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel, Can Picafort, Spain in July 2004
Accomodation excellent--we had 2 rooms with inter connecting doors. as prev mentioned no cereal bowls and language barrier with reception staff. We were not made aware that you could pay in restaurant for meals as thought they were for half board customers only---on saying this i believe that during our 10 night stay that customers entering restaurant were only checked out once! entertainment for my 10/8/5 year olds was brilliant but everyone we spoke to who watched the evening entertainment (which is on a stage outside) were bitten by the mossies!!!! paid

Tour Operator: internet

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

paul had a holiday at Viva Mallorca Aparthotel, Can Picafort, Spain in June 2004
my family and i had an absoloutely fantastic time ! we had a family room with pool view - it was perfect.
the staff were very friendly throughout.the viva entertainment team were great and worked very hard with the kids activities & evening shows.-one of, if not the best family hoilday we,ve ever had !, really! - it was that good.
we got a great price with majorca-accommodation.com and flights with excelairways.com

Tour Operator: majorca-accommodation.com

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Share