Image of Viva Mallorca Aparthotel

Viva Mallorca Aparthotel

8 of 20 hotels in Can Picafort

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
4 stars
Avinguda de Santa Eulària, 7, 07458 Santa Margalida, Spain

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Nick
Miserable staff, poor food, freezing pool
5 years 9 months ago
We visited the Holiday Village at the end of September and we had rain 4 days out of 7. In bad weather there was nothing to do in that resort. Also when it rained the marble floors are a real danger, they were very very slippery. My children fell down several times.

The First Choice entertainer was really miserable. The All inclusive meals were not good at all, a LOT of soups (water and colour) and salads, and watered down drinks.

Such a hard beds. My 10 year old son was expected to sleep on the sofa in the living room. Can Picafort itself is very German oriented (with the exception of Son Baulo area) but clean and not as commercial as Alcudia.

The beach is lovely and the sea is clean and lovely and warm. The pool in the hotel was frozen and my son had blue lips within minutes of going in. It took us more than 20 minutes walking with the children to reach the beach. All in all not as fantastic as it is sold to you and make sure you go when you are guaranteed the weather as there is absolutely nothing to do if no sun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lovena Pitchley
7 years 9 months ago
Have been with Viva before to Alcudia. Viva Mallorca was fabulous - clean, tidy, excellent staff. The rooms were well maintained throughout our 16 night stay.

The staff could not do enough to help. We were self catering but stayed at hotel to eat regularly as my two boys (8 and 5) loved being there for the entertainment and the sport.

During the day was busy and sometimes noisy so I would not recommend for a couple on a romantic break. First class destination for families with access to lots of pools and a beach that is in walking distance so you can mix the week up.

Caan Picafort itself was pleasant in the evening when we did venture out. We met lots of friends from the Uk and Europe.

Highly recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
The Slaters
8 years 9 months ago
I cannot rate Viva highly enough, when we arrived they did not have our reservation, this was our first time not on a package and so a lesson learnt to email the hotel in advance. However, we had our booking info from alpharooms and they didn't make a drama out of this and fixed us up with a studio for the first 4 nights before moving us to a one bedroom apartment, which we had booked, for the remaining 7.
The studio was cramped for four of us but if your a couple then there is more than enough room. This was the case with the apartment for us. The rooms are well maintained with towel changes every day except Monday and Thursday. As mentioned there is no kettle and if you need to style your hair take your own hairdryer.
The hotel is spotless with maids and maintenance men always on the go, I even saw one with a paint tin and brush touching up where the walls had been knocked which was a first.
There is a large pool with three sections all of different depths from toddlers to adult shoulder depth, another pool for the babies and a deep pool. Each have ample sunbeds with parasols, there is a notice asking for beds not to be reserved before 9am so people staked their claim and sat with the towels until 9 and then went for breakfast. If your not an early riser then there were still beds available upto 9:30-9:45 which was surprising at the height of the season.
The food was the standard fayre that you get on holiday, plenty of it and frequently refreshed. No complaints as we all ate well. Booked for self catering so we ate out 4 nights and the rest in the hotel paying as you in the restaurant. You can get pre-pay at approx 8euros breakfast, 15 euros dinner or both for 20 euros. Kids under 12 are half price and under 3 free.
The kids clubs are split into 4-7, 8-12 & 13-17. Ours only went a couple of times but you could come and go as you please, there was none of the pre-booking I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Stephen Kennedy
8 years 10 months ago
Stayed July 2007, with daughter aged 11. Apartments excellent, very spacious, clean, pool lovely, was all inclusive, but food could have been warmer. Breakfast quite cold. Nice pancakes for breakfast freshly made. The Grill not up to much, had to send meal back because cold. Entertainment very Butlins. Bingo great prize every night about 700 euros. Concerned about staff spraying fly spray about drinks machines.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie Duckworth
9 years 8 months ago
The hotel and amenities were wonderful. None of the embarrassing tattooed football wearing English people you tend to find abroad.

Loads of German and Dutch visitors also.

Very family orientated - slightly off putting that they allow their toddlers/children to wander round with no clothes on.

Entertainment wasn't brilliant, but at the moment with a toddler that didn't bother us.

Pool was warm enough to get into which helps.

The rooms were cleaned everyday and towels replaced when necessary. You can hire towels from the reception for a deposit of 10euros each and have them replaced three times a week.

The self catering rooms didn't have kettles or toasters so I would recommend you take your own if you can't do without.

Only had one snack meal at the bar during the day, but it was very nice.

Lovely hotel and we would consider going back.

Rooms were very spacious and not at all dangerous for an inquisitive toddler.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kelly Mackie
9 years 9 months ago
I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jasmyn
9 years 11 months ago
The complex itself is fantastic! Super clean, and very attractive. not for a family in such of a lively holiday though.

The entertainment is well intended, its fun just don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lisa
10 years ago
Hotel Cleanliness: What can I say other than absoloutely fantastic. The maids never seem to stop and if they happen to be cleaning when you return to a room they try to make themselves invisible.I had six children over three rooms so you can imagine the mess they made!!!! but everything was always spotless on return without the feeling that they had gone through anything. Even early morning and late evening you would still see them out around the complex. If a glass is dropped just say to them and they will appear from nowhere to clear it.

Hotel Food: Again this is fantastic, a huge variety that definitely caters for everyone. Waiters always ready to take yor plate or glass, Hygiene in the dining areas was excellent and you will always see someone clearing the food bar tables etc...

Location: The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the beach, If you walk the right way through the village there is an array of excellent value shops. Even though this is a quiter area of the island (not for clubbers) if you are looking for relaxation as well as entertained kids this is the place to go. The beach is fantastic.

Hotel Staff: They go out of the way to help with everything that you ask. Great rep team and kids club staff as well as reception and domestic staff. We were flying home on my son's 11th birthday and I asked the reps to organise a cake,balloons for the friday. They surpassed themselves. I left them 50 euros(not knowing how much it would cost) early in the week and they went into town to buy everything for a birthday and decorated a table in the restaraunt with ballon animals, tablecloth and all the things for a birthday including a cake and candles bought out by the waiters all for 18 euros!!!!!!!!!!!!! I even had card put through the door to say that everything was organised. Special thanks to Billy and Claire.

Entertainment: All the entertainment team tried hard although could be a bit repetitve. Although bearing in mind that these guys also join in with some of the daytime activities with the kids club they work really hard.

I would definitely return. Although I had a last minute change of group (literally 12 hours b4 we flew) the first choice team made everything go smoothly. Travelling with 6 children is always difficult, but this experience has made me want to do it a lot more often. Not only would I like to return to Viva I now want to try the other holiday villages. Enjoy your time at Viva.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
The Williams Family (Mer)
10 years 10 months ago
Hope my review isn't too long but I've tried to give the sort of details I would have liked to know myself. I
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Emily
11 years 8 months ago
Just returned from this hotel. Lovely big apartments, although the kitchen proved awkward to use, without a kettle/toaster/oven/lack of work surface etc etc. We went without....well we didn't actually as some friends of ours told us they were never checked in the buffet... so we were told to chance our luck and eat in. Play dumb if you were ever questioned...but we weren't. Not once...mind you we never ordered drinks with meals as they were put on your room bill and then they would have probably sussed us!!! Four nights we ate in and were never asked once!!!! Cheeky i know, but we paid over the odds!!! Well don't we all!!!

Entertainment....mmm bless emm it was all really professional looking but the singing left a lot to be desired...they crucified songs on the ABBA night, had us cringing on the eurovision night....surprised patio doors weren't shattered, i couldn't do better though! You get the idea, but quite laughable/relaxing.

Pool areas, great, although slippy for the kids, hotel was full and so was the baby pool!!!

Beware, lots of german kids and babies running around naked and going in the baby pool. We all know what germs can do! We complained to reception that some babies were in the pool with no nappies on...disgusting...their response was pretty poor, the german receptionist said they could not do anything about this. Well i told her that this place would suffer if people went down with bugs. My advice tell your rep and get them to put pressure on the hotel.

Cleaners were every where all day from 7am cleaning outside til late at night. Very impressed.

The place is full of germans and a lot of the food is catered for them, us brits are 2nd place to them when it comes to everything in the resort and hotel. Don't know if they spent more money but it didn't bother us.

Bars resonably priced, lovely pina coladas etc!!!

Beware of travelling with JMC/Thomas Cook, you won't see a rep in the hotel unless you phone for an appointment. We didn't even get a welcome pack and the welcome meeting was held the day before we left!!! Even then we weren't inited and the time wasn't advertised. Lots of people were pleased with soverign so try them first before you book!

Overall we had a lovely holiday and we would go back there again...with a massive possy of brits to outnumber our european friends!!!!!!

Have a lovely time if you go...Best rooms to get are those in Block 1 with pool views, sun all day on the balcony and furthest from the noisy entertainment. Or if the noise doesn't bother you but you want the sun on your balcony then ask for block 5 facing a quite road! The layout means a lot of those with pool views don't get sun on the balconies til late afternoon. Not a lot of use if you want to top up your white bits!!!!

Enjoy
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: