Image of Costa Azul Hotel

Costa Azul Hotel

2 of 9 hotels in Palma de Mallorca

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Avenida Gabriel Roca 7, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mike Murphy
7 years 6 months ago
As previous visitor comments the Costa Azul is an above average 3 star hotel which has friendly & helpful staff, particularly the Reception. The price of drinks within the Hotel is reasonable compared to outside. It is in a good location overlooking the fabulous harbour with Palma Cathredal about a 20 minute walk away. We stayed half board for 9 nights and enjoyed it, although the main road is directly in front of the Hotel, traffic noise can be intrusive . The breakfast in the hotel was slightly below average with less variety as we have had in other hotels. The main evening meals are buffet style with a reasonable amount of choice but the vegetables were always 'well done'. Unfortunately, the restaurant for evening meals did not open until 20.00 hours! The indoor/outdoor Pool area is 'very small' and the pool bar closes in the evening for some reason. The main Bar area allows smoking and consequently some nights the atmosphere was rather unpleasant. Don't bother ordering mid day snacks within the Hotel-over priced for what you get. Maid Service every day and with a smile. Yes, I would recommend this Hotel for its location and value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr S Fordham
7 years 9 months ago
We stayed in this hotel from the 3rd of March for two nights we booked it because it is so close to palma city and we werent dissapointed it is a nice clean freindly hotel with superb views loooking out over the harbour the higher floor you are on the better the view

ideal for visiting palma just a short walk away
and the no1 bus from the airport stops right outside
a very nice hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mr & Mrs K Phipps
7 years 9 months ago
We could not fault this Hotel at all. It was very nice and very clean.Our room was very nice and spacious. The staff could not of been any nicer. We had a room on the 4th floor at the front with a sea/harbour view which was fantastic.We were staying Bed & Breakfast and the buffet breakfast i would give 10/10,eat as much as you like english and continental,great.We would stay there again for sure.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mrs Ann Fitzsimmons
8 years 5 months ago
Stayed here for 4 days in July . We would say this is a great hotel for location and the rooms were spacious and were very clean. We were allocated rooms 100 and 101 on the first floor overlooking the Marina.

Everyone comments on the road outside but to be honest it was not a problem the doors are triple glazed so you do not hear a thing during the night and you are out all day. There are crossings to get accross the road so we did not see this as a problem whatsoever!

The breakfast is the usual fare expected in a 3 star hotel. The staff are attentive and helpful.

The hotel bar prices are cheap compared to some of the bars around the resort.

The only snag was that a football team were staying while we were there and took over the small pool area which we felt a little intimidated by their presence as did a lot of the other guests as there was lots of banter going on jumping in and out of the pool singing etc. They were not aggressive just mad and noisy and not suited to this lovely establishment!!and we wondered why they didn't go to Magaluf as they seemed to just stay there all day drinking and it did spoil our once or twice visit late afternoon for a relax on the pool teraces.

We went to Soller by the old fashioned rickety train!!which is a great day out and we also visited (by taxi 15 euros) to Purto Nouls which is a lovely upmarket resort with fantastic restaurants and bars overlooking the harbour a bit more pricey but woth every penny the food we ate in a restaurant called Wellies was delicious. Enjoy!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
8 years 7 months ago
Stayed 5 nights what a brillant location opposite harbour bus stop just outside hotel the road is busy but there is a ped crossing not to far away.

The staff were very helpful and friendly we were lucky and got a family room which was very large kept very clean nice bathroom.

Breakfast was good better than at home.

The drink prices in the bar were reseanable.

We would definitely use it again because of the location and cleanliness I would say top end of 3 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
This is a cheap and cheerful hotel for Palma city, as most are expensive. The location is great, the breakfast was quite poor, staff fine, room o.k. very clean but the beds were like sleeping on planks of wood!! Bar prices cheap, but we didn't stay in as no entertainment.

Fab restaurant to the right of the hotel no 27 P.M. Italian named Picasso, very reasonable, popular with locals, have to book for a Saturday.

We have been to Palma before and normally book the Sol hotels which I prefer.

Very small indoor swimming pool not worth going in, but then you are in the city. No I probably wouldn't stay here again if I was truthful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Graham A Coles
9 years 11 months ago
Myself and three fellow golfers found this hotel great for our tour.

Perfect views over the marina and cathedral. Staff very friendly,helpful and good fun.

Taxis cheap and easy for our needs. Food good,breakfast very good.

For those of you that have given this hotel a very negative review we suggest you stay in a five star hotel and pay the price.

The Costa Azul is great value for money!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Buckley
10 years 4 months ago
Just returned from a two week stay at this hotel.
Cleanliness of room pretty poor, surfaces generally mucky, smears on the mirrors and a thick layer of dust on everything. Maid service was stated as daily, however, this was sporadic and standard of cleaning poor.

Stayed on a B&B basis, breakfast was ok a good variety of continental cakes etc however bread was hard and somehow the chefs burnt the boiled eggs.

Location of the hotel was a little hit and miss. Palma was a nice stroll of about 15 minutes walk. As you turn right out of the hotel approx 500 yards there are many italian and indian restaurants for an evening meal (try the indian next door to the hotel 29.50 euros set menu of 5 courses and as much red wine as you can drink)
Be warned the hotel is on the main Palma road, well i would call it a motorway (6 lines of traffic) busy morning noon and night. It can be very noisy especially with the window open. If the noise of the traffic does not disturb you the old air conditioning unit will.

Hotel staff were faultless helpfull in every way.

Entertainment 2 x per week tues/thurs usually a singer very poor.

I would not visit this hotel again. It was not good value for money. The rooms were out dated and in desperate need of refurbishment. I recommend you take a radio and a hairdryer. (The radio was broken when we got there.

The hotel does have a pool of sorts, it is an inside pool and the size of a postage stamp approx 10 x 15 feet. So if you were looking forward to a nice swim please, dont be too disappointed.

The only thing the hotel has got going for it was the beautiful view of the harbour, unfortunately this was spoilt by the noise of the traffic and the quality of the hotel.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
11 years 3 months ago
I can't believe no-one's reviewed this hotel yet!

This hotel is great. We are going back there this year.
It is in a perfect position in Palma, everywhere is in walking distance.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the waiting staff.

Food was good. Not a huge variation, but same standard as the four * hotel I stayed in in Tenerife.

Rooms were very clean and spacious. We were on the 6th floor and had a fantastic view of the harbour and Palma Cathedral. Make sure you look out the window when it's dark, the Cathedral looks amazing.

We didn't see any entertainment whilst we were there, so can't comment.

Don't hesitate to visit this hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: