Image of D Or Tobago Hotel

D Or Tobago Hotel

29 of 37 hotels in Palma Nova

3 out of 5 from 30 reviews
3 stars

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Grant Family
7 years 5 months ago
Just returned from 11 days at The Tobago. Was a bit worried having read some of the reports after booking!! Excellent flight to start. Hotel across from beach. Room on 8th floor with excellent views across the bay. Our rooms had been refurbished, clean towels daily and beds changed three times. Free air con. Staff most helpful, especially waiters Felix and Salim. Normally we go S/C but had no complaints regarding the food, plenty to choose from.
No problem with getting a sun bed at the pool.

Only fault was that the lifts kept breaking down but we were allowed to use the service elevator.

My first visit to Palma Nova and I would certainly stay at The Tobago again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gill
8 years 5 months ago
We booked a short stay at this hotel for 5nts. I booked the flights through Jet2.com and the hotel through roomsnet.com. After reading some reviews I was very worried, especially about people arriving at the hotel to be double booked. So I confirmed everything up with roomsnet.com & I even emailled the hotel to confirm our booking. But sure enough when we arrived at the hotel we were double booked. I couldn't believe it!! I was so angry!! We were then sent to the Honolulu hotel to stay for the 1st night and told to return to the original hotel the next afternoon! I was so cross, especially because we had only booked the stay for 5nts and this was going to eat into our time!! I'll not talk to much about the Honlulu hotel other than it was a horrible hotel with loads of young men & women drinking & partying mad... So it was a great pleasure to finally get checked into our original hotel the next afternoon. The hotel Tabago upgraded us to full-board and gave us a free saftey depoist box. I felt this was inadequate but the spanish reception was very rude and clearly wasn't interested in giving us anything further.
The hotel Tabago is just ok in my opinion. It's full of spanish & other countries other than English. I would seriously advise anyone from the UK not to book this hotel as you will feel totally isolated. The food is only look warm and serves mainly pork for lunch, & dinner. The entertainment is next to none. The only night we looked in on it, it was a spanish singer on and loads of o.a.p's up dancing. I will never be returning to this hotel again. And I would seriously advise anyone who is, to cancel unless your spainish!! I would also advise anyone using roomsnet.com to make a hotel booking to think again... and there seems to be a recurring problem of double bookings.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Williams
8 years 6 months ago
hotel was cleaned daily in resturant tables cleared before you finished your meal. staff very unfriendly. to the point of rudeness. hotel location good on sea front at edge of the bay. entertainment very poor i personally wound not stay at this hotel again but would go back to palma nova for me holidys next year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
8 years 10 months ago
Tobago is in excellent location, very close to beach and all amenities, quieter area of town.

The room was a decent size and frequently cleaned. Very impressed with power of shower. Good balcony but doors have seen better days.

Some staff excellent, but there's always the odd one who lets side down.

Food varied from very good to what on earth is that? Restaurant can be a bit chaotic at peak times.

All in all, a very average Spanish 3* holiday hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
I travelled to the Tobago in March with a group of friends to celebrate my 50th birthday. I chose the Tobago as I have stayed there at least twice a year for the more than 15 years. I really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

I agree with a few comments that the rooms need updating and something needs to be done about the lack of locks on some balcony doors (although personally this time was the first that I have experienced an ill fitting balcony door). For most of the group it was the first time that they had stayed at the Tobago and they all thoroughly enjoyed the experience and are looking forward to repeating it next year!

The food was plentiful and the choice was fantastic, if it wasn't hot enough for you they supply a microwave to zap it!

All in all I have to say that the Tobago (especially in the winter months) is excellent value at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Stan And Val
9 years 9 months ago
Hotel Tobago- Palma Nova. Very comfortable.

Restaurant management could be better. Food variable--between great & hunt until you get something acceptable.

Room was spacious and kept very clean. Great shower.

Good location for beach & every day requirements
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Charlotte
9 years 10 months ago
We visited the hotel during the half term break.
Upon arrival the first thing we were really impressed with was the view from our 9th floor room-excellent view of the beach and the bay.

The room- no lock on the balcony door (not good for security or if you are a sleep walker!)doors rattled badly in the wind. The bath had patched of rust around it, we hired a television on which there was only one English channel, we were told there would be 6 so promptly went down to get our money back.

Unfortunately I was taken ill during the night and the male receptionist was very sympathetic and helpful, and a doctor arrived within twenty minutes.

The food in our opinion, was OK. On the last night however, we both found pieces of what looked remarkably like glass in our food!!!

Waiters and waitresses were really jolly and kind.
Maids were very polite, although our room was extremely dusty as the week progressed.

Pool area looked OK although a bit too nippy to venture out there.

If I were to go back again I would ask for a room with a secure locking balcony door as I have read about frequent robberies within the hotel.

It is true what people say about the older Spanish generation staying here- rowdy!!!

I also agree that they need to close the place over the winter and do a good refurb of the place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Guy
10 years 1 month ago
Hi just got back from a break staying in the hotel Tobago.
We were on the 3rd floor and were given a credit card type door key. The room was clean but could do with an up grade,
the patio door would not lock, the metal bath showed signs of rust and the shower head had a mind of its own! Tthe room was cleaned once a day with clean towels.

We were on a half board and really only eat toast in the morning although they had a full menu of the so called English breakfast,

The staff were fine apart from the bar man who seemed to ignore us when ever we went to the bar hence not bothering after the second attempt.

We had a TV in our room of which you had to hire a remote at 3 euros a day, nothing worth watching but does have a 24 hour porn channel so beware if you have children.

The hotel is in Palma Nova on the edge of the beach and only a short walk to Magaluf.

We would go back but not half board.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Martyn
10 years 2 months ago
16 golfers ages 34-63 we were put in this hotel by the Hawaii staff, after they said they were over booked. First night one of our doors was kicked and broken, and some one ran away realising we were in room. We had to get staff to open door. Next morning as we were leaving for golf, police were at reception and demanded 750euro and all our passports, or jail for damage to door. We paid only after police put batton up to the face of 60year old telling him to shut up and pay. While out at golf every room was robbed, money, phones, shirts, shoes. The rooms were turned over every time we left them, so on the last night one stayed in even then the thief tried to enter his room, but ran when he got to the door. When we complained to staff it was (no speak de English). We were told by local bar owner it was the most robbed hotel there and staff do nothing, as for door they earn from it every time a group stay there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
10 years 3 months ago
Excellent deal as always from Alpharooms so my report is based on the fact I paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: