Image of Son Matias Beach Hotel

Son Matias Beach Hotel

2 of 37 hotels in Palma Nova

5 out of 5 from 30 reviews
3 stars
Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Spain

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    20
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Great for coulples adults only
4 years 1 month ago
We have used this hotel before and the standard and quality is still 5 star, you could not get better staff nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything and the position of the hotel was right on the beach, and if you wanted livery night life it was only a 10 minute walk away.

The food was very good, there are plenty of bars near the hotel we used to have a drink at them and then go back to the hotel for the shows that they put on.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Pherdy/chris
Great adults only
5 years 6 months ago
The Son Matias hotel is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Although suited for the older retiring couples we were pleasantly surprised how easy we fitted in both of us being 53yrs young. Very clean and fresh feel, friendly hard working staff the food 5* with plenty of choice (too much sometimes).

Entertainment every night with no tiny tots doing a peter kay trouser slide on the dance floor, with it been adults only hotel. Traditional bingo and some nights a quiz. Internet to hand in reception for the avid ebayer and facebook chat etc.

The location very good for Magaluf if you want a mad night.
We will rebook this hotel again, almost forgot they serve john smiths beer very nice pint.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
No kids allowed
5 years 7 months ago
A medium size hotel that we are looking forward to going back to.

Very friendly and sociable. Could not fault anything; the staff just want to help.

Food is good quality. Rooms an OK size but not massive but in a wonderful position almost on the beach and every room has a sea view.

The entertainment was first class every night; the first hotel we have stayed in that we didn't go out looking for entertainment.

Mainly older people and no kids allowed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Thomson
6 years 2 months ago
i was suprised at the age of most people here as i expected a lot younger but my god these "oldies" had tons of energy and bopped till they dropped.
the location is literally to die for with 3 seconds to the beach through the private key coded gates..pool and all public areas were spotless..sun beds were great as they work on a ticket system where one of the staff comes around each hour and if they are unoccupied with towels on they would get a ticket on them and if the next check an hour later the ticket remained then the towels would be rolled up and put in safekeeping as they say its a fair way to make sure that people dont put their towels on beds and just go out for the day...
it works..
the staff work tirelessly and the resort rep chris is a little gem...
the entertainment was a surprise as it was very good...there was a michael jackson tribute on when i was there and he was amazing and had a standing ovation...
the food in the restaurant was amazing as in the fact the choice was endless...always a carved meat and lots of little extras...i have never seen so many different type of desert ever...
the main thing for me though was how peaceful it was as there areno kids under 16...never really thought about what this would be like having never done adult only before..i thought i had gone deaf,lol..
anyway to sum it up...smashing hotel all sea view rooms..great staff great location..try it you will be glas you have..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Roy Davis
6 years 4 months ago
The food selection is first class,there was some sort of joint being carved every night,as well as 2/3 choices of main course,with over 20 choices for dessert,it is all buffet sevice so you could have exactly what you wanted.The staff give a very good service.The hotel was spotless although our room was not cleaned sometimes till lunch time.The location is right on the beach,you could not get any closer to a superb sandy beach,and there is nice size swimming pool,now with new steps into it as well as a disabled lift into the pool,which has a sunbathing area right next to the promenade where you will find a pool grill and bar staffed by one of several english staff who work at the hotel.This was our second visit in 3 years and would have no hesitation in going back.There was live entertainment every night preceeded by dancing,quizzes and bingo.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bill And Margaret
6 years 11 months ago
This was our first visit to this hotel. The rooms were a little on the small side, but in good decorative order, with enough wardrobe and drawer space for our belongings. Our room had tea/coffee making facilities and had superb views of the beach and sea.

The hotel was right on the beach and felt very "British", with breakfasts and dinner to suit the UK visitors. The food was of a very high quality with plenty of choice and the restaurant staff were courteous and attentive, especially the Maitre D' Javier.

Most of the guests were middle-aged to elderly, though we did meet some couples in their 40's/50's.

There was bingo, quizzes, etc. for the day-time entertainment, though went out each night so cannot comment on the night-time entertainment.

We will certainly be returning to this hotel!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 1 month ago
this was our third visit to this well run hotel. its a very clean hotel with coffee making facilities, tv, fridge and safety deposit box in room.the food was excellent with even roast beef and yorkshire pudding for sunday dinner.never had the same thing twice.its location is superb with every room having a sea view.the staff are very friendly and helpful. the entertainment is very good with different tribute bands on every night.will definitely be back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
R Thompson
7 years 5 months ago
we travelled here without any prior knowledge apart from location pictures. it is well situated for the beach and local shops. you quickly get into the routine, as most of the guests ,probably 90% are british. the breakfasts are great, all tastes from corn flakes to full english are presented on a help yourself basis. the big let-down however is the main evening meal, which due to the variety offered, is a bit of a jumble.it would be better to have less choice, say three main dishes which are well prepared instead of such a big range which were below par. for example, turkey would be one night, then turkey in some sauce ,then another night turkey curry. you get the idea. no children is a big bonus, most guests were middle to elderly. (we are in our sixties).the shows were fairly good in the large well appointed main lounge, but you have to endure 30 minutes of bingo before they started.there was a quiz running at all times in the main bar organised by the hard-working entertainment staff who did try to make everyone happy. all staff were helpful and polite and the pool was clear and surrounding areas tidy.rooms were clean and modern ,receiving all british tv stations.so, apart from the main meals it was a very pleasant stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
JB
7 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the Son Matias for nearly a month in November and had a great time.
The hotel is a little smaller than the usual ones in Majorca, with just 135 rooms over 9 floors. It
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tracey Ibbetson
8 years 5 months ago
Stayed in the son matias for two nights of a four day break and I must say that everything about this hotel is excellent.

The location is spot on with some superb views over the bay from the rooms.

We found the staff to be really friendly and always very helpful.

The food was of top quality with plenty to choose from , cant really comment on the entertainment because we didnt see any , but by looking at the boards in the hotel there looked to be always things going on.

I would recommend this hotel and we will be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: