Image of Tropico Playa Hotel

Tropico Playa Hotel

23 of 37 hotels in Palma Nova

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
2 stars
Avinguda del Mar, 38, 07181 Palma Nova, Spain

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Staff really looked after us
6 years 5 months ago
This has to be one of the best 3 star hotels we have star hotels we have stayed in. Spotless everywhere. Great maid service, our maid looked after us so well.

The food was some of the best we have had in a hotel. For a small hotel the choice is fantastic. Breakfast consisted of the usual cold buffet with a good selection of pastries. Hot was sausage, bacon (not too fatty), fried, scrambled and boiled eggs. Tomatoes beans and on several occasions black pudding. Coffee, tea and juices. Evening meal soup and a great cold salad selection with cooked chicken or salmon or seafood on most nights. Chips, potatoes and a pasta selection. Always hot and cold pizza. Plenty of veg for those that like English food. Shepherd’s pie, cooked chicken, roast beef and other cooked meats. Deserts were all cold, ice-cream, jelly, cakes and various other types. Loads of fresh fruit and cheese and biscuits every day.

The food was always piping hot and always replenished even if you went in late. You did have to queue to get in on a few occasions but it was well worth it. We hate queues but we never moaned once. In the 9 days we were there the menu was never repeated.

The location was the best straight opposite the beach. On an evening we sat in the outside bar watching the waves whilst sipping our drinks which were great prices. 1.5 euros for a pint of lager. Wine 2 euros for a good size glass. Soft drinks, 1 euro or 1.5 euros for a pint of soft drink. Very reasonable for a hotel bar.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Some of the best we have met. We really felt that we had been looked after all holiday. Thank you to all the staff.

Entertainment was ok a few shows but nothing outstanding.

I would visit this hotel and I would book direct because they are a lot cheaper than the tour operators. Child prices with the hotel are up to 14 years old, tour operators 12 years old.

Rumour has it that it will be all inclusive through the tour operators, I hope it doesn’t because why spoil something that’s perfect already.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Garry
7 years 3 months ago
HOTEL ROOMS VERY BASIC BUT CLEANED EVERY DAY.THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD INDEED WITH PLENTY OF CHOICE THE ONLY DOWN SIDE WAS THE RESTURATENT WAS SMALL HAD TO QUEUE UP OUTSIDE ON A COUPLE OF TIMES.THE LOCATION WAS OK ACROSS THE ROAD FROM THE BEECH AND A 10 MIN WALK TO MAGALUF,HOTEL STAFF OK,WAS OUT MOST NIGHTS SO CANT COMMENT ON THE ENTERRAINMENT,I WOULD STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Tom
7 years 4 months ago
A whole week at this hotel, what is there to say other than thank god it wasn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Louise
7 years 6 months ago
The hotel was very clean, staff were all friendly. Maids came and made beds everyday,towels were changed every other day. Geradine was fab who ran the kids club as was Gail who ran the poolside snack bar. My only complaint about the hotel was the prices of food and drink, it was very expensive compared to the prices you paid elsewhere in the resort. Also the night time entertainment was a bit poor, we went to the North and South pub every night which was fantastic for the kids,there was a bouncy castle and loads of other toys suitable for kids of all ages. The spar shops are a bit expensive but if you go to the Eroski supermarket(near Mimosa Park Hotel) you will find things a lot cheaper.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 6 months ago
stayed in this hotel half board and the fod was excellent, lots of choice and variation. our room was very clean. the location was great with the beach just across the road. most hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. there was entertainment on every night and varied from siners to magicians and all was very good, worth watching. i will definately go back to the tropico playa as itis a great hotel to stay in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr A Clephane
9 years 3 months ago
Hotel very noisey children &adults running around screeming at 2am, police called out to noisey people. Food had chops with no meat,meals very poor, stewed apples in restaurant for 4 days looked like same apples restaurant very crowded too many tables for amount of room,Entertainment same as last few years told by people been before poor entertainment. would go back again but not this hotel.Have been going on holidays for over 40 years first time bad report.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lisa
9 years 6 months ago

We went to this hotel this year for our third time and I can honestly say that we won't be going again.

The food was either under raw or burnt. The maid never cleaned our room properly as we were in the hotel at the back of the hotel all 77 steps to get to our room.

No wonder you never saw any one but the cleaner and no wonder she got away with so much. However the maid was given a lesson on cleanliness that was a little bit better. My partner wrote in the dust on the headboard clean me and it was still there the day we left. We were there 2 weeks.

As I said when told manager she just offered us an omelette regarding the food and if she couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Elle
9 years 6 months ago
The hotel was okay!
Nothing special, the food was horrible we ended up getting a mcdonalds nearly avey night, we would go in and try the hotel food and end up leaving and goin across the road a 2second walk to mcdonalds.
the girls on reception and the first choice rep james were really good.
the only good thing which i would say is the fab location right on the beach front, couldnt be much better!
I didnt see the hotel entertainment any night as we were always out so i dont no what it was like.
i probably wouldnt go back to this hotel as i was disapointed with it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Michelle
10 years 4 months ago
Just returned from a week half board.

Our room was at the back of the hotel and we had to walk up 54 steps (yes we did count them!) to the room and with/without luggage it is quite a trek. There was no view from the balcony just the side wall of another hotel and the sun never quite reached it so we never sat out there and our clothes we put out overnight were still damp in the morning! Make sure you request sea view when you book which is front of the hotel with a lift!!

The room was fairly basic with no TV or fridge although you could hire a fridge for the week for 49 euro. Cleaners came every day and we did get fresh towels although sometimes the floors were still a little sandy and we could have done with a broom being left in the room to enable us to sweep the sand away yourself.

We found the food to be excellent with different foods to try each night, and they always supplied chips and salads. Restaurant staff were polite but quite reserved and did not make any effort to get to know people and have a laugh although they did keep the restaurant tidy and when you finished with your plate they always took them away for you.

Never sat with the entertainment as we always went out and it would be finished when we returned so don't know what this was like.

Receptionist very helpful and we found we asked her more questions than we did the the rep from First choice, also she could book you onto trips herself so we didn't use the rep.

Never went into the pool as it is so tiny and always seemed to be full of kids with lilos and inflatables although there are signs saying these are not allowed in the pool. Also there are signs saying no towels on sunbeds without people using them but they always seemed to be taken yet there were only a few people about, so went to the beach most days although we did miss the lazing about the pool without sand getting in between your toes and other places!

On the whole a very enjoyable holiday and would probably go back to Palmanova again but may be tempted to try a different hotel just for the pool area!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Armstrong
10 years 4 months ago
Stayed in August, we had a fine time.

Hotel is great, get a sea view room. Very clean. Food - great choice. Great nightlife. Staff very polite.

The beach is just across the road.

Will definitely go there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: