Image of Viva Palma Nova Hotel

Viva Palma Nova Hotel

5 of 37 hotels in Palma Nova

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
Avinguda de Cas Saboners, 7, 07181 Palmanova, Spain

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Daz Fellows
7 years 4 months ago
my friend and myself went to the viva palma nova last may for 2 weeks, and we both thought the hotel was great. we are going back twice in 2010. i am in a wheelchair, but the hotel as got a couple of rooms for wheelchair users. we thought the staff were very nice and very helpful indeed. the shower could be doing with being a bit bigger. our cleaner was very nice, our room was cleaned 5 days a week. our beds and towels were changed twice a week. the day that we were coming home we had our lunch at the pool side bar, and we thought that the food was alright. every time we had a beer at the pool side bar, all the staff came up us and chatted and had a good laugh with me. i thought that was brilliant, because i love a good laugh. that why we are going back every year from now on.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Miller
7 years 11 months ago
Our room was basic but very clean -cleaner came almost every day + got change of bedding.no kettle or toaster pool area fab, the childrens pool was lovely with slides + waterfalls but was not happy that patrons let their kids swim naked + we never saw anyone using the actual toilets!!! bouncy castle nice idea as was the adult only hammock area. we used the indoor pool+spa + the little gym. as it was end of season entertainment was poor, bingo quiz etc 2 nights shows karaoke was dire apart from last girl. but the prices for drinks were so high we went out.we went to pirate show which itself was great- but the inclusive food+drink was awful we bought beer instead + 8 people squashed into seating only suitable for 6 max + the people squashed with us took more than their fair share of the littlefood including my sons chicken nuggets !we went to the es foguero dinner show same price the wine etc was lovely +food ok + table for 4 could easily have seated 6 but no greed here much better night all in.also enjoyed golf at palmanova went twice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Leona, Rory, Kelsey, Claire
11 years 2 months ago
We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, and booked it on the internet independently. It was pretty good value.

We got parked outside the hotel no problem everyday, and it was easy to get to. The location was great cos the beach was literally a 5 minute walk down the stairs opposite the hotel, and the main strip of magalluf was also handy. Despite it's central location it was very quiet.

The lobby was nice, lots of marble, nice and cool. The room was a reasonable size, hae everything we needed EXCEPT a kettle - take a travel kettle!!! The beds were comfy and the air con was GREAT! There was also a free tv but the only english channels were CNN (which only worked half the time for some reason) and Eurosport, but you don't go to spain to watch the tv, do you? We were on the ground floor which appears to have converted the bathroom for disabled users. There is a walk in shower instead of a bath. This was fine for us, but the shower curtain was not long enough and every day the bathroom floor got soaked, so be careful! There was also a laundrette which was free.

We had a garden view, so did not get much sun on our balcony, but the litter of kittens there entertained us no end. Unfortunately, we were robbed on our second day. The thieves broke in by forcing the lock on the patio door and stole a few things. Three apartments were robbed that night. The reception staff said that this was the first time they had had a robbery and were very helpful to us - our rep from medhotels also helped out. We did not let it ruin our week! If this happens to you the spanish for robbery is el robo!

The grounds were really nice, there was a kids club, shooting, mini golf, pool, table tennis. The swimming pool is not as large as it looks online, but was still good. Also, the indoor pool and jacuzzi is only open during the winter - they don't state this on the website. There was a major shortage of sunloungers cos people kept "reserving" them with towels even though they were not allowed. We drunkenly threw some into the pool at 4AM - serves them right! Don't think you will get a sun lounger unless you get up about 6AM. If you wait until 3 or 4pm there are usually plenty by then and it is still nice and hot.

The entertainment was awful, we could not stand it. The worst was when one of the crew dressed as Stevie Wonder and was then pushed off stage by another staff member - as in ha ha , he's blind. NOT FUNNY. Also the viva dance, with accompanying song. Makes you want to rip off your ears.

We tried some of the bar snacks which were good except the hot dogs, which made us bowk. They were microwaved! We tried looking for places in the resort, but food in magalluf ain't great. We went to Sopranos which is just downhill from the hotel and then ate there every night - it was fantastic and really good value. GO TO SOPRANOS!!!

There were only scandinavian people there until the day before we left when lots of irish and welsh people turned up. We did not mind this but if you are looking to make friends, maybe you should go somewhere else, unless you are fluent in swedish.

We would probably go back here, cos the benefits far outweighed the bad points and we had a great time. Next time we would ask for a first floor apartment tho!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
The aparthotel is in a great position, just down a slight hill and turn right to Magalluf or left to Palma Nova, best of both worlds.

The staff here are really friendly and helpful.

The 2 weeks we stayed we were almost the only English people here, everyone else seemed to be from Sweden, Iceland, Finland and the like but all spoke excellent English and were very friendly.

There is a full entertainment programme in the day with many sports and competitions if you want to take part. We didn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kelsey
11 years 3 months ago
I recently stayed in the hotel and it was great. The hotel is very clean it has a lot of marble like on the staircase and most of the floors! It is great for familys because if you are with your kids then there is a lot for them to do such as kids clubs the entertainment is mostly for kids and many more things for them.

Also the beach is only like a 5/10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel has two rather large swimming pools, gym, tennis court, target shooting place, supermarket, room were they show movies at night, bars, resteraunt and many more.

Unfortunatly when we stayed we got robbed along with our two neighbours but it was only because we were on the ground floor so if you are going to book a room then my advice is to get a room that is not on the ground floor and make sure that you have holiday insurance!

Even though we had no mobile phones and no music because of the robbery it didnt put us off one bit and the staff were helpful with the issue!

The only thing that put us off on our holiday was that one night the entertainers were trying to be funny by playing a sick joke based on Stevie Wonder being blind! The entertainment crew dressed up as him and his helper that was supposed to be Stevie's carer pushed him off the stage thinking it was funny because he couldn't see! Then to make it even worse the impersonater kept on deliberatly falling into the crowed! We didn't think that it was very funny and we weren't impressed but don't let that put you off!

There aren't very many people from Britain most are from Scandanavia. And if you stay at the hotel then you simply MUST check out the small resteraunt wich is directly across from the hotel it is called SOPRANOS almost every night we whent there for dinner!!

I would recomend this hotel to anyone!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Maria Mc Cluskey
11 years 4 months ago
The hotel was very clean, it was a lovely hotel it was not far from the beach.

The entertainment didn't go on for long.

I went in May with my parents, it was quite warm but the evenings got cold.

The indoor lounge in the hotel never opened, it only opened in the high season we were informed which we thought was ridiculous but we would return to this hotel again but it won't be my first choice.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gem
11 years 6 months ago
We booked this holiday last minute and didn't have much choice where we stayed.

When arriving outside the hotel it looked very nice and recently built or renovated.

When we arrived we were dealt with very speedily by the hotel reception staff who all spoke dual languages and were very helpful.

The apartment was fantastic with a balcony, lounge and TV area, kitchen area that was very well stocked and a separate bathroom and bedroom. Very clean and well thought out with enough space for four people.

As we travelled out of season there was not any entertainment at the hotel, but all amenities were open to include the gym, indoor and outdoor pools and sports areas.

We were self catering and never tried any of the food in the hotel as Palma Nova and Magaluf have some excellent eating places (Try Tom Brown's in Magaluf)

Location was super. Description said the hotel was on a steep incline, but steep in Spain is obviously not the same as steep in England. A two minute walk led you into Palma Nova and the many shops, bars and restaurants. A five minute walk either down the steps adjacent to the hotel or down and to the left at the bottom of the street led you to the beach. Furthermore a leisurely 10 minute walk through the shopping area led you to Magaluf. What more could you ask for?
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
CPH
14 years 3 months ago
Located at the more quieter part of Palma Nova, walking distance to the Son Matias beach is app. 5 min. and to centre of Magalluf app. 10-15 min.

The hotel is exceptionally clean,has a great and beautiful pool area with lots of sun beds. Furthermore there is an indoor pool.

Activities during daytime and entertainment arranged by the staff every night.

Never tried the restaurant, but the snack bar was very good. The hotel has a small but well equipped supermarket with long opening hours.

The staff was very kind and helpful, ex our toilet went out of order in the middle of a one-day strike, still it was repaired immediately!

The only negative comment I can think of is, that the view from some apartments at the ground floor is very limited by palms and plants.

I can highly recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: