Image of Viva Blue Aparthotel

Viva Blue Aparthotel

2 of 17 hotels in Playa de Muro

5 out of 5 from 19 reviews
4 stars
Passeig de Bateman, s/n, Playa de Muro 07408 Muro, Spain

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wright Family
7 years 2 months ago
We stayed in the Viva Blue Hotel in Plays De Muro for one week in August.
First impressions were very good as we pulled up and following check in we were not disappointed. I feel it was at the nicer end of Playa de Muro. The whole complex was absolutely spotless.
The rooms were spacious, the kitchen basic, however we ate out apart from breakfast so it did not matter to us. Lovely balcony with pool view.
Pool was fabulous, very big - cool but considering the temperatures it was exactly what we needed (my children are very fussy when it comes to pool temperature and they had no problems getting in so that is saying something!)Also one main point here is the sunbed availability - there were lots to go round and hsrdly any reserving! There were still some available at 9.30am and if towels that were put out were not being used by 10am then they were removed.
We ate out of the complex in the evenings so cannot comment on the food in the restuarant but we used the pool bar for lunch everyday and the food was good and reasonably priced.
The evening entertainment was very good, various shows ie. mamma mia, thriller, grease, beijing acrobats. Along with the usual kids disco etc.
This complex was a real mix of nationalities, swedish, dutch, british and german. I think brits only made up about 10% of the holidaymakers but this did not spoil our holiday at all as everyone was friendly.
I would certainly recommend this hotel - we would definately go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gray
9 years 2 months ago
We booked this hotel as we had stayed at the Viva Menorca in 2005 and found that to be of a good standard.Viva Blue is a even better apart from the resort it is in ,Playa de Muro is a row of shops and restaurants along a main road with no real centre(no nice marina or square to sit by ).The hotel is kept very tidy by an army of cleaners and gardeners who start at 7am every day.All the staff are very helpful especially the reception staff.There were ants in our room but they were taken care of straight away in fact the cleaner was already in our room by the time we walked back from reception after we had reported them.The beach is only a five minute walk away and very shallow for a long way out.Block 2 with a pool view are probably the best rooms to get,we were in 4 looking onto the football pitch.If you put towels on sunbeds before 9am and don't stay with them the attendant removes them,we watched him one day remove some three times off a prime location at the pools edge.The food in the buffet restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice or you could eat outside by the stage with waiter service ordering from a menu.The entertainment on an evening was as good as you would expect in a hotel,you are not going to get the real Elvis or Tom Jones in a hotel.Always something to do round the pool during the day if you wanted to get involved.I loved the hotel but the resort it is in could do with tidying up.Having said this if you want 2 weeks in a good family hotel I would recommend the Viva Blue.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lee Sanderson
9 years 2 months ago
I always read this site prior to booking a holiday so it is only fair to leave a report. I agree with most of the postive and negative reports prior to mine so i will be brief. Hope my comments help.

GOOD POINTS;
A fantastic family complex that will be enjoyed by even the most fussy of people.
Good sized accomodation that is well equiped, although no kettle to make babies bottle ???
Good double balcony with lovely views over the complex.
Lots of entertainment for the kids which they all enjoyed although not to my personal liking.
All staff were wonderful and helpful especially reception.
Pool area very nice with lots of sunbeds.
Lunchtime food in snackbar was excellent with good choice, well cooked and cheap.
Lovely beach.
Porto Pollensa and Can Picafort - Lovely towns

BAD POINTS
Playa de Muro. Basically it is a main road that heads to Alcudia with a few bars, restaurants and shops. No cosmopolitan feel about it which we come to expect from Spain.
Evening meal in Viva Blue - bland, uncooked, boring and expensive.
Mosquitos - Because the apartments are next to a marshland (where the females lay their eggs)the place is infiltrated by millions of mosquitos. You could see people brushing them away in the evening constantly. It totally ruined most of our evening meals. I have been to Egypt and far east and never known so many.

If these apartment were somewhere else i would definately return however i wouldnt go back because of Playa de Muro and the Mosquitos.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Geany
9 years 3 months ago
We have recently returned from Viva Blue having spent a week there.

I would definately recommend the hotel, the apartments were first class, very clean and the food was exceptional.

The pool area was also very clean, the only downside was you had to be up early to reserve your sunbed.

The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel doesnt have too many Brits staying, it was mostly German and Swiss but that was fine.

The only other downside to the hotel was the high chairs available for infants - they were to say the least poor. If thats the only thing to complain about!!!

I relied on this site prior to booking so felt it only fair to post a brief review.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
McMahon
10 years 3 months ago
The Hotel was very clean and well kept around the swimming pool area.

The pool was always a lovely warm temperature and very safe for the children.

We were self catering but we found the food was the best at the Hotel you could watch the show and eat outside at the same time. The breakfast was very good to.

The beach nearby was very clean and nice.

The only downside to the holiday was that there were hardly any English folk at the hotel we liked that but it spoilt the holiday a little for our 11 year old daughter and 8 year old son. They did make some friends but it was very hard to find English children.

The apartments are excellent great air-con and very clean. The busy road going across to the beach could be quite tricky to get across another crossing would be good.

We had a good holiday at the end of the day the entertainment team work really hard and are very good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bradford
10 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Viva Blue recently and had a fantastic time. It was our first visit to this hotel but we would certainly go there again.

The cleanlinss of hotel was absolutley first class and the apartments were really good too. Air Conditioning was very effective and kithenette was basic but adequate. We had a couple fo issues with a plug socket and with the air con but on both occasions they got sorted out within the hour!!

Apart from the fact the hotel had no sea views at all, it was in a good location close to shops, bars and restaurants etc. Would recommend the Oasis Bar for food and the live entertainment was good too.

Pool area was also spotless, but you do need to be down there by 8.30am to get sunbeds. Towels that had been left got removed by hotel staff at about 9am each day, which is a good thing!! Both pools are great and maintanied a pleasant temparature throughout the 2 weeks.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from a two week holiday at Viva Blue. We couldn't fault the hotel in any way. It was ideally situated in the resort. Only minutes away from the beach (which is beautiful) and the restaurants and shops in the resort.

All the staff were polite and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble. You only had to ask.

The rooms were cleaned 5 days out of 7. If you needed clean towels or bedding, you just put your old ones on the floor or in the bath and they were changed. If you wanted clean towels/bedding on a day when your room was not cleaned, you could go to reception and ask and they would be brought to your room within the hour. The rooms were air conditioned (very effective), nicely furnished, had a separate sink area with large mirror and hair dryer. The shower was very good too with plenty of hot water. There was a good size balcony which could be accessed from both the bedroom and the living area with a table and chairs, and an airer to dry your towels.

Downstairs from reception, there was a very well equiped gym (for the more enthusiastic), a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. There was also a laundry room with two washing machines and a tumble dryer. These were free to use during our stay. In the laundry room, there was also an iron and ironing board should you need it.

The hotel also had an on site shop which was well stocked and open from 8 in the morning til 10 at night. They baked their own bread rolls in there which were lovely.

There was an odd mix of holiday makers at the hotel. The two weeks we were there, there were very few english. Mainly norweigan, german, swedish, icelandic, but we didn't really find this a problem as now our children are slightly older we didn't tend to stay at the hotel in the evenings. With the resort being 2 minutes walk away, we would venture out to a different restaurant every evening. The hotel did lay on a full day and evening entertainment programme nevertheless.

We would recommend the Oasis bar and restaurant just a short walk away on the main strip. The food was good. The staff were excellent. There was a large play area at the back with a bouncy castle, trampolines and sit on rides etc for the kids and you could sit and relax and watch a different tribute band every night, from Elvis Presley, Abba, Four Tops, Kool & the Gang. There was something for everyone.

Another good place to visit (whether you have kids or not) is the Maze across the road. It is behind the "exotic cocktail" bar. What a very friendly place! Both the staff in the Maze and in the bar itself. You can safely lose your children for an hour while you have a drink or you can join in with them and lose yourselves!! There are watch points above the maze on raised decking areas so you can watch your children and other people trying to find their way.

We did venture out of the resort and took a bus to Puerto Pollensa. The buses were very regular, air conditioned and nice and clean and cheap.

We also went to the water park up the road in Alcudia which is a nice day out, with or without children.

We would recommend this holiday to couples and families. My parents (aged 60 and 62) went there last year and recommended it to us.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sarah Lennon
10 years 5 months ago
What a lovely complex!

Very clean and well laid out. Rooms were of a good size for a family with adequate kitchen facilities. All apartments were located right by the pool and the on site supermarket was extremely handy. Pool Bar food was fairly priced and they even did takeaways.

Dont't miss out on the chocolate waffles! When we stayed there was a mix of visitors from England, Germany and Sweeden. So you did need to make an effort to get a lounger before 10.00am so not too bad.

We went half board and our children loved the breakfast pancakes and choice of puddings in the evening however by the end of the week the dinners did seem to be a bit repetative. Hotel had a good position just set back from the main road, nearest beach and shops only a 5 minute walk away. The only downside for us was the evening entertainment as this was geared towards young children.

Could not fault anything else the staff were very helpful, they even let us keep our room until 2.00am in the morning (we should have left at mid-day the day before).

I would definately visit Vive Blue again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Andrea
11 years 3 months ago
Apartments were very clean, the only complaints I would have was a bad smell in the bathroom this was due to no ventilation.

No kettle supplied but you could rent one for 11 euro per week you could probably buy one for less.

Pool area was also very clean, no problem getting a sunbed as you couldn't reserve a bed before 9 am and if you did you had to stay with it or your towels would be lifted by the pool attendant.

The apartments were a 5 minute walk away from the beautiful beach (7 euro 2 sunbeds & parasol). Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby (recommend restautant Oasis for food and entertainment).

Friendly staff, entertainment not to our taste. Would recommend these apartments to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Helen
11 years 4 months ago
First Family trip aboard. And what a trip, we loved every minute of it. You could not fault how clean the hotel was cleaning staff always busy in all areas of the hotel. We had a appartment in block four overlooking the pool area and this was really spacious.

Staff always helpful and friendly and spoke very good english All the staff were very good with children and my two where always being given lollys by them.

The entertainment is repeated on the second week, but some of the shows where really good and my four year old thought Cinderalla was especially great. My Six year old did get quite bored with them. All the Entertainment staff were really friendly and after the shows came down to talk to the guests.

I did find some things in the onsite shop a little expensive so I suggest you just walk to the main street for any thing you may need.

Pool is excellent for young children as it starts off very shallow, with loads of sunbeds round the pool, you were not suspose to save sunbeds with towels but after the first day, when we did not get one, we did learn that everyone does it. Also a good tip the hotel hires pool towels it was a 20 euro refunable deposit for 4 towels and these were changed at reception every day.

There was not many english people when we stayed there it was mostly German and Swedish. So any announcements where made in three different languages.

I would have not a problem in recommending these appartments to anyone who is looking for a holiday in Alcudia. They certainly deserve the 4 stars they have got.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: