Image of Blau Punta Reina Resort

Blau Punta Reina Resort

2 of 3 hotels in Porto Cristo

4 out of 5 from 6 reviews
3 stars
Apartado de Correos 82 Cala Mandia Porto Cristo Mallorca

6 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Stu
12 years 5 months ago
Booked a late deal (AOA) with Lunn Poly 5 days before we departed (7/7/04 for a fortnight). The hotel itself is of an OK standard. It was clean, had a/c etc. The dining hall is, as already noted, very loud and full of kids running round. The food itself is good but did get a bit "samey" by the end of week 2.
The hotel is classed 4T's but is officially only 3 star. It got the extra T based on all the facilities: squash, tennis, football, gym, sauna, jacuzzi - the list goes on. However it is simply not targeted to British holiday makers e.g. the satellite TV the brochure boasts only carries 1 english channel - BBC World (there's half a dozen german channels). Families we met were complaining because their children couldnt join the kids club - it was Spansih and German only.
The hotel carries no Thomson noticeboard (or any other UK tour opertator for that matter). The flags over the door are of 2 german and 1 french holiday company. The manager of the hotel even admitted to me that it wasnt really geared up for Brits - "they (the British) stay in Cala Bona and Cala Millor, not here" he told me. Every British person I spoke to wanted to move - the tour operator would not move anyone. When we arrived there were 8 Brits there - the number had swelled to 30 by the time we left. 95% of which had booked late deals/AOA. It looks like it's being used as an overspill for late deal customers. We went with Thomsons and their parent company TUI's German tour operator was the main company there.

Even though we went half board, we were put in a self-catering appartment which was of 2 star standard at best.

Overall, it was OK - we paid next to nothing for 2 weeks half board so i cant really grumble. If i'd paid the full brochure price for a 4T half-board holiday i'd be hopping mad. One family we met left after their first week and paid to got to a hotel in Cala Bona and are hoping to claim the money back when they get back to the UK. The Thomson rep, who finally arrived half way through our first week, was most unhelpful and the Guest Services Manager who graced us with a visit was simply a robot programmed to say "it's a late deal so tough luck - you haven't got any rights".

If you like sitting doing nothing all day you'll love it here because there's simply nothing to do. However, if you like popping into a few bars and looking round a few shops you're stuffed.
The hotel is part of the www.blau-hotels.com chain.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Bryce
12 years 5 months ago
Hotel was clean & tidy.

Very disappointed with the fact that Thomson do not advise that it's a foreign entertainment program, geared to the majority of guests from France, Spain & Germany(99% German). This made it impossible for the children to participate & make friends. Not the type of holiday we expected after reading the brochure.

We asked to be relocated, but were told this would cost 600 Euros. We refused to pay this and are continuing our complaint back home.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mrs Allen
12 years 6 months ago
We stayed at this hotel with 2 children 6 and 2. We were self catering, but bought half board direct with the hotel, cheaper than through Airtours UK.
Food hall loud and busy, but clean. Food variety limited! Kids well catered for. Pizziara at the poolside a little gem, few kids nice al a carte menu. cheaper than the food hall.

Swimming pools lovely, a bit of a fight for a sunbed!!reserve before breakfast for a good seat.Location, out on a limb, but very pretty. Porto Cristo very quiet.

Entertainment team very good, put on a show every night, amusing! Lovely setting for the evening entertainment in an outside square with waiter service. The only drawback we can say is there were very few British to talk to, and the staff/ enertaiment teams English was limited, therefore we didn't use the kids clubs! The Germans, Italians, French and Spanish loved it, and were very friendly to us few Brits!

7 / 10, and would return for a week.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
John
13 years 3 months ago
We were initially taken aback by the lack of Brits in the hotel and geared ourselves up for the ultimate German Package Holiday.

However we were very pleased with the hotel and facilities.

All the staff were multi-lingual and seemed genuinly keen to accommadate.

The onsite restaurants and bars were excellent and the staff offered the best service I've experienced from a hotel.

The entertainment was varied and when nesessary performed in a variety of languages to cater for all the guests.

The German people are noted for their high standards and this was reflected in the hotel. Much better standards than most I have stayed in.

Another point to note is that there is good selection of German Beers on site which are a tad expensive, about
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Judith
14 years 5 months ago
we booked a last minute deal and were booked as all adults.with the result we were put in a wild hotel in magaluf.fortunately we were not the only family in this situation and we all were moved straight away.we were very fortunate and got moved to the punta reina.I agree the hotel had a lot of german people in it but they were a lot better than the young ones in magaluf. My son joined in the kids club and had a great time.We met another lovely English couple from Leicester with two kids. The hotel was spotless and had everything you needed.A British couple had a bar and eating area just down the road also a lovely Chinese restaurant not too far away. We had a lovely holiday at the Punta Reina. I would recommend it definately a nice quiet location.Apartments are spotless.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rodlee
14 years 6 months ago
We went with Thomsons in June 2002. The complex comprises of a main hotel and adjoining self catering apartments & is mainly occuppied by Germans,Italians and Spanish.


The food is good, but pretty predictable after a few days. Don't expect a peaceful meal as the dining hall is over run with babies and young children.If you have young children then they are well catered for during the day and the evening entertainment was again geared up for children and left us rather bored,with most of the commentary in foreign languages.


There are lovely sandy coves either side of it but STEEP steps to get to them. There is very little to do in Cala Mandia with a few bars/restuarants close by.


About 2 miles to Caves of Drach and Porto Cristo which can be reached easily by bus.


Not the best place I have stayed in by a long shot because of the lack of ammenties and entertainment for older couples. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday to get away from the kids then look elsewhere.

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: