Image of Insotel Club Cala Mandia Hotel

Insotel Club Cala Mandia Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Porto Cristo

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Passeig de Federico GarcĂ­a Lorca, 07680 Manacor, Mallorca, Spain
Perched on the edge of the picturesque cove of Cala Mandia, this large modern complex offers all the family a great selection of activities and entertainment. Other accommodation blocks, all with their own pool, are seperated by minor roads. Access to the

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Deborah
10 years 2 months ago
After spending a weeks holiday 17-24 October 2006, it was an eye opener to us all. It was a Premiure Holiday by First Choice, nothing luxerious in the rooms. Which was a let down, but we didn't let it get us down.

The Hotel as four blocks 2 acroos the road and one down the hill and the main one with the restuarant and bar area. Each block as a swimming pool and bar and eating area but these not on the main site are not open out of season as they where not open when we went.

There is entertainment all day with on site Hotel reps, kids mini disco.

The hotel was over run by Germans think they left there manners at home.

The food was excellant, no upset tummys first all inclusive I've been on, but well worth its money.

No problems with the Hotel on the people being rude, this hotel is a swipe card with your picture on and not a wrist ban.

Well worth a visit as it is a good way to relax and enjoy yourself.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Debbie & Extended Family
10 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the hotel 17-24 Oct 2006 and what an eye opener it was. It is classed as a 4* premiure hotel only thing that was 4* was the reception area.

Rooms were basic nothing spectacular to them. What! Not a kettle only a pan to boil water unless you hired one.

We stayed on an all inclusive basis, couldn't fault that on the food and drinks. Only the main resturant was open, so some ended up queing.....just go to the bar and have a drink till queues go down.

The scuba diving place was closed as this time of year is classed out of season.Others places around had shut down as well.

The hotel has a very lot of German people staying there. I'd go back if the price was right, but I wouldn't pay full price. Just make the holiday how you want it to be like we did, enjoy it as you've saved all year to go there!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
The hotel was clean, rooms were clean but equipment in the room and kitchen was very poor no kettle (but you can hire one from reception ), a cooker that melted the top of the fridge, a tv with 2 english channels cnn and euro sport .the rooms are small, if taking a baby the travel cot is in the lounge because there is no room for one in the bed room,do not take a double buggy as the is no way on this planet you will get one in the lift.

The staff are a bit hit and miss, few are ok but the others are really rude, we had fingers clicked at us, the receptionist shouted at me it, just wasnt nice. When in the resturant do not leave your plate with food on unattended, even looking the other way! otherwise it will be gone. They just pick it up and take it and that got really annoying when i had spent ages cutting the babies food up and I look away for a second and they cleared it up. Other guests also complained very vocally about this but nothing appeared to change.

The pool area is nice really clean but be careful as the tiles are really slippy we saw at least 7 people slip or fall it is really dangerous.

The entertainment is so so for adults but the kids disco is a must.

The hotel is mainly german guests there were only 5 other english families/couples there when we were. The hotel is spread out over 4 blocks and DO NOT go for block 'd' as it miles away.

If booked with first choice chances are you will be in a ground floor room as the companys health and saftey wont let you have a balcony unless you are in 'A' block why this is i dont know.

The beach is great,not far to walk to at all.

Food is good but does get a bit 'samey' - drinks are good as they are international and the measures are NOT uk standards ! Wine in resturant, go for the rose trust me, it's the best out of the 3. the disco is really funny, music is awful its just so bad its good you have to go to it but you have to pay for drinks in there so get them from the bar first before the it shuts at 11.30 and carry them in. the all inclusive finishes at 12 miday and you need to leave your room then not very good when your flight isnt till 4 in the moring but you can pay 20 euros and keep your room till 8.

The hotel is ok I would not class it as a four star at all more of a 3, we enjoyed it but would not go back.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Clare
10 years 3 months ago
Our group was made up of a 57 yr old, 2 thirysomethings, two 15yr olds and two children under two.We had a lot of expectations for this hotel, as we had a lot of us with different needs to please and generally I would say that this complex did that.

Our main concern was that before we arrived we received a letter from First Choice to say building work in area - for anyone visiting in 2006 - we never saw it let alone heard any thing - the hotel is just too big!

The entrance is grand and worthy of 4 star status but rooms are very average and only on a par with 3 star.

Reception staff can be rude but I think, having listened to how other guests spoke to them, they expect everyone to speak to them badly and have grown accustomed to it - which is unfortunate.

It is a large complex spread over 4 blocks - ABC are in close proximity and D is miles away. A is where the entertainment and restaurant is so good for a short walk but probably abit noisy.

We were in a ground floor room in block C, had no problems and used that pool. First choice will only put customers in ground floor - so you won't get a sea view and you will get the noise of people above.

The rooms were clean, towels changed daily rooms swept with bed linen changes 3 times a week. Couldn't fault cleanliness.

Facilities are limited, don't expect a full kitchen.
Our only problem was that the fridge melted from heat of hob so had to hire a kettle!
We reported 2 faults -technician out within 30 mins - can't get better than that.
In the corner of the bedroom is a locked cupboard with the drain for all the other rooms waste so it wasn't too pleasant hearing that lot rushing down!

The food in the hotel was probably some of the best I have had on an all inclusive basis.
Fish, carvery, paella, pasta, soups, griddle with seafood/fish/steaks cooked while u wait. Fresh fruit ice cream cakes - I would defy anyone to say they couldn't find something.
Wine, beer, soft drinks and water served with lunch and dinner. Breakfast wasn't great, but lunch and dinner fine. Eat in the smaller circular restaurant - better atmosphere. Plenty of high chairs but be warned - only sit on a table appropriate for the number in your party. We sat at a table for 8 when there were 6 and got moved - this is because larger tables are limited in numbers so sit at the right table.
The staff are a bit quick to clear plates. It gets busy after 8 pm and one lunchtime couldnt find a seat for 30 mins.
The hotel is mainly German and Italian guests and they prefer to eat late. We ate at 7 and never had a problem.
The drinks from the bar are excellent - all international drinks as well as local - proper stuff, bacardi, gordons, tia maria etc and the staff weren't too concerned with how many you ordered - the only good thing about them really! We ate in a la carte. Same food as main area in grill the pizzaria is better and the staff seem more relaxed so book if you can - you at least miss the mad rush at buffet

The hotel is in a lovely bay with blue sea and a sandy beach. Sunbeds and parasols 3.50e per item per day. About 500 yards down steps/ramp.
There are a few shops and restaurants in the vacinity of hotel - they stock baby food, nappies and even cow & gate cartons!(nappies mega expensive, take enough!)

The staff are something else. Very rude and abrupt even when you attempt to speak the language.
This is what let the place down for us really.
When you save all year for your much needed holiday, you at least expect to be spoken to with some manners! - particularly give that it is advertised as 4*!

The daytime entertainment is very good - kids clubs from aged 2 up to 17. Scuba diving taster, shooting archery and loads more. The evening entertaiment is a bit of a farce! They turn a 15 min laugh into 1 hour of boredom because they have to do everything in about 5 languages. They have a hard job but a few more professional shows would help! The mini disco is ace. My 2 year old loved it!

Overall we all had a good time.
I would recommend this hotel if you have children (particulaly little ones) but not for couples unless you like to do lots of activities and can speak other languages to mix with other guests - Brits are few and far between.

It is a massive complex (over 2000 rooms) so don't go if you prefer small and friendly.

I would go back with my kids because you know it is clean and a good standard of food - no one was ill.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kelly
10 years 3 months ago
We booked our flights direct with BMI and the hotel through Eclipsedirect.co.uk which is a discount of First Choice as this worked out much cheaper. We stayed all inclusive. The hotel has a website - Insotel.com and you can book accommodation only through them quite cheaply too. I emailed the hotel direct beforehand and asked for a room on the ground floor and close to all the facilities and that is exactly what we got.

The rooms are of a good size, nice big balcony, TV, fridge but no kettle. We turned the travel cot on it's side and managed to get it into the main bedroom with a bit of manoeuvring as my mum was sleeping in the lounge on the sofa bed. We stayed all inclusive so the lack of kitchen facilities did not bother us.

We stayed in Block A. Block B and C are across the road from the main building and have a pool and a bar but you can use any of the pools and bars/snack bars during your stay.

There is also an indoor pool. Block D is nearer the beach and furthest away from the other blocks. All the daytime and evening entertainment takes places in Block A. If you like to be near everything and don't mind the noise ask for block A otherwise ask for block B or C. if you prefer real piece and quite go for block D.

The hotel has a few steps but there are ramps everywhere so very accessible for pushchairs. There is a children
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tom Mattack
10 years 4 months ago
Me, my father, my mother and sister stayed in the Insotel Club Cala Mandia for 14 days (2 weeks )and overall we found it fantastic.

There was a few let downs such as: There was a fire in the indoor swimming pool the first few days we were there. My mum got food poisoning and really wasn't well for about 3 days. The first room we stayed in was right on top of the disco so up until 3am we didn't get any sleep! But though these were a major let down they were soon sorted out.

The weather was fantastic, the beach was beautiful, the entertainment was good. If you are going there then I would highly recommend going on the bike rides they organise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sally Harris
11 years 3 months ago
I stayed at the Insotel Cala Mandia at the beginning of September with my 11 year old daughter, who had a lovely time - she specially enjoyed the evening entertainment.

I felt very comfortable there and always got a sunbed in a convenient position. The beach was very nice and the sea conditions were perfect.

The food on the first two-three days was excellent but I noticed that as the week went on the food quality and choice did deteriorate (I put this down to guest numbers not being as high as in the height of summer).

Most of the staff I encountered were helpful and friendly - especially when they realised that I wasn't german!!!

The only thing that I did find off-puting was that there were hundreds of toddlers there and when they were in the dining room the noise of crying and screaming was deafening - not good when you're trying to enjoy a relaing evening meal. This made me put off having dinner until the restaurant was practically closing just to get some peace.

However, saying all that, I had a thoroughly enjoyab le week and would definitely return. I was lucky enough to stay in complex A and I would urge anyone going there to request this block as it is the one that houses the restaurants and is nearest to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brown
11 years 5 months ago
The hotel itself is modern and clean.

The public areas were constantly being cleaned and updated, but there were areas which to my mind needed repair to make them safe. For example, missing tiles around the pool which could easily cut a bare foot. The hotel is very big (1900 when we were there).

It is divided into 4 sections, separated by small roads. Areas A, B and C are very convienient for all facilties, but I would not of wanted to be in section D, which was further away.

The All inclusive was good value, although we gave the waitor our card one night for drinks and he did not return. Our card was lost, and we were a bit suspicious. We were told it is very common and given a copy without question.

The hotel is very very busy indeed. (we did go in July)In one week we did not manage to get a sun bed even once! However, there were lots of poolside chairs. We did not manage to get a booking for the grill or pizza resturants either, despite trying every day. Apparently you have to book at around 8 in the morning for the next evening.
The food in the buffet resturant was good, although not always hot. You had to queue for chips and I have to say there was a lot of rudeness from other guests, even towards children, who were pushed around by some guests if the happened to get in their way.

The plates were not always clean and I repeatedly spotted one of the grill staff use the same utensils for raw and cooked meat, which is most definately a health hazard. I did not eat meat from then on.

On one day we were moved quite rudely by the waitor because we had sat at a table for 5 people and we were only 4. This was despite the fact that we had started to eat. It took us a long time to find another table, plates in hand. We tried to stand our ground, but the head waitor was fetched and we were made to move with no help.

The hotel caters mainly for German and Spanish tourists. There were very few english at all- which was not a problem for us.

The room was adequate. Not immaculate in decoration, but clean. There was a suspect smell, which we traced to the air conditioning - a bit like urine. It was definately not the matresses. We ened up buying a plug in air freshner to mask it.

The pools were clean - one in each area - with a baby splash pool and a childrens pool separately. Our 4 and 6 year old were able to play in the kids pool alone (water was chest height) whilst we sat right beside the pool.
Did not use the kids club, but it looked very good, and there is a show for the kids every night.

Staff a bit grumpy and not that helpful. We were given no feedback when we complained about the smell in the room or being rudely moved in the resturant.

I usually stay in 5* and am very fussy. Would not go back, but still had a reasonable time. Very family friendly hotel, even with a tiny baby.

Really only for families. Couples, young party animals and olders people would hate it as it is swarming with kids.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Keith Wines
11 years 6 months ago
This is a very classy 4 star hotel but seeing as the locals call it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tony
13 years 2 months ago
We enjoyed our stay and the area. It was quite at this time of the year although there were still a large number of people staying in the hotel.
The food selection and quality were really great.
We rode mountain bikes into town which was only 10 minutes away at a leisurely pace.
Close to cave Drax and the town was quite lovely.
The beach was very close and not crowded but again, this was during the fall.
A small store was just across the street with a really good selection on basics to include food and drink.
The nightly entertainment was great and had a different theme every night. The kids really enjoyed the show each night for them which was participatory.
Would definitely visit again and recommend it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: