Image of Gran Santa Ponsa Apartments

Gran Santa Ponsa Apartments

5 of 27 hotels in Santa Ponsa

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
3 stars
Avinguda del Rei Jaume I, 1 07180 Santa Ponsa, Spain

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kittens41
7 years 3 months ago
The appartments are very noisy with no double glazing and broken locks on patio doors. Management do not give any consideration to where certain guests should be placed. Me and my partner are in our early fifties and we were placed next door to two sets of rowdy foul mouthed teenagers. Only stayed a week and only had one nights sleep due to noise from the bar and loud abusive tenagers shouting all night long.

I would not recommend these appartments to anyone
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Gloria
7 years 4 months ago
Found the Cleanliness really bad our bed linen was not changed for 2 weeks we were there..............

Staff are great particularly entertainment staff and miniclub staff.

Also feel that the hotel is better suited to older children rather than smallees. My Daughter was a bit intimidated by some of the older kids/teenages/young adults.

Hotel entertainment is OUTSIDE so noise will affect most apartments with particular focus on those overlooking the bar area (which ours was) means kids not getting to sleep until after 12 am.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lesley
7 years 4 months ago
We loved this place! We were originally booked for the Plazamar but on arrival told we were being moved to the Gran Santa Ponsa. Great location and 5 minute walk to the beach and irish centre. Apartments not that big but suited us fine as they gave us a one bedroomed apartment and we had only paid for a studio at plazamar so that was a bonus! Towels changed every day and sheets were changed 2-3 times in the week. Staff are great and reception staff were so helpful and nothing was a problen for them. Great pool area but hard to get a sun lounger after 9am as many people were going down and putting towels on 4-6 beds and then going off for the day which i think is a bit unfair to people who want to spend all day at the pool. Good sized bar and food served at pool area was also good. I would definately recommend these apartments and will definately be going back next year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ricky
7 years 5 months ago
We have planned to go back to santa ponsa in may but we will avoid this hotel. always noisy and dirty.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Laura
7 years 6 months ago
we stayed in the grand santa ponsa,loved it but thought the pool was to dangerous for the kids,we had 4 small kids with us and we just could not take our eyes off them at all.food was great and the staff was great,we got our beds changed every second day and fresh towels.suppermarket just across the road.kids club was great.would defientily go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
Firstly, we were a little disappointed with the size of our apartment. It was a little too small for all 4 of us plus an infant.
The pools are lovely and have lots of different levels, and the paddling and children's pools are sectioned off.
In the evening time, there was an entertainer who is absolutle fantastic- I don't know where she gets her energy and enthusiasm from! There is a kiddies disco and bingo every night, plus karaoke, parrot show, hypnotist on different nights. There is a pool table and a soccer ground with goalposts at the back of the bar to keep the boys /men entertained! Basically, everybody is kept happy.
Overall, a good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
Very clean hotel, across the road from supermarket and 5-minute walk from beach. Lovely bar area, excellent entertainment for kids. n the eveningtime, there's Bingo, so there's plenty to keep adults amused too!

On the down side, the room was far too small for our family of 3 children. And the pool, I felt, was quite dangerous, the paddling pool and children's pool had too easy an access to the deeper parts of the pool - it was very difficult to try and keep watching three children in the pool!

While excellent in every other way, that would put me off staying in that hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Fiona Blain
9 years 2 months ago
First time to Gran Santa Ponsa Apartments and we were thoroughly impressed! Staff are very friendly and any problems/queries are attended to immediately. First Class apartments and First Rate service. Highly Recommended.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
Me and my wife, our daughter, her partner and their 16 month old son (our grandson) stayed at the Gran Santa Ponsa for a week from the 29 Sept 2007. We had two x one bedroom aparts on the first floor (Nos 125 and 126).

I had requested (via email 1 week before we went), first floor, pool view and 'quiet' rooms away from the main road and bar, and we got exactly what we'd asked for. The aparts that back on to the main road can suffer from traffic noise and some are also directly above the pool bar area so there would be music and noise until 12 midnight, if that was an issue, eg young kids etc?

The Gran SP are in a great location only 5 mins walk to the prom and beach, and also the restaurants, bars and shops that line the prom and nearby area.

It is about 10 mins along the prom (flat) to the start of the street known as the 'Irsh Quarter' which has a good range of lively bars, music, cocktails etc. A 10 minute walk in the other direction, up the incline (slight hill) brings you to 'The Square' with more small bars, cafes, and shops.

The are live shows on in the square most nights (free), tribute shows (Westlife, Abba etc) and other entertainment from about 9.30pm. If the walk is too much you can get a bus from in front of the Plaza Hotel at the end of the prom. Taxi's are cheap and regular from the same place on the large round-about.

As for the Gran SP aparts themselves they are really good for families or couples. They have a large pool with various parts for different ages etc, e.g. kiddies pool, shallow bit, 1 meter and 2 meter parts, and a fountain in the middle!

Plenty of free sun beds, but no matteresses, and you have to pay about 1.50 Euro for a brollie for the day. There is a smallish lounge and pool bar with covered area and seating, breakfast is available and snacks/meals are served throughout the day.

We had a few drinks at the bar and prices were reasonable, but we didn't eat there as there are so many v.good restaurants in SP only 5 mins walk from the apartments.

The was entertainment on at the bar most nights but we went out and about in the resort, so I can't comment on it other than it did not seam to be more than average?
For Self Catering need there is a good superrmarket directly across the (main) road from the Aparts, and a larger hyper market 5 min walk up the road.

Both sell ALL your SC needs, and are cheap and well stocked for cheap water, softr drinks, beer etc at a fraction of the cost in bars and cafes, AND lovely fresh bread and bakery.

The Apartment rooms are very nice, nothing flash but well equipped, bright, and nicely furnished. The living area and kitchenette is smaller than the twin bedroom, which had a fitted wardrobe, two good sized twin beds, dressing table and a digital safe (paid for at reception).

The living area had free aircon unit which was very effective, although we did not need it much as it was warm and sunny first week Oct, but not scorching or too hot at night.

There are plenty of utensils and crockery for up to 4 people, plus toaster, kettle and micrwavr (free, but have to be requested in advance). Nice modern bathroom with full bath and powerful shower, AND plenty of hot water all day/night.

There was a good sized balcony with table/chairs. ALL rooms overlook the pool area, but those on the ground floor may be dark due to surrounding trees and hedges etc.

The maid service was efficient (but they don't work Sunday or Wednesday). Otherwise towels changed regularly and bedding twice in the week.

All staff at the Gran SP are friendly, polite and helpful, there was a life guard on duty at the pool most of the day and the pool area was always kept clean and tidy. There are NO ball games or rowdy behaviour allowed around the pool or generally in the Apart complex, which is a good thing for families etc, so these really would not suit a group of 'young' people wanting a 18-30's type holiday.... there can stay in Magaluf (10 minutes away by taxi!!!).

Overall we all really liked the Gran SP Aparts and wquld recommend it for a good, no frills, value for money holiday (
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Derek
9 years 2 months ago
1st Time staying here and would return again. Hotel was spotless, staff were very helpful.
We did eat in on a couple of occasions but there are plenty of places to eat outside of the hotel.
Weather was great, only had rain overnight midweek and for a couple of hours the next morning, ( friends stayed in alcudia the same week where the weather wasn't as good)
If you want a no frills holiday this is the place to go
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: