Image of Cala Galdana Hotel & D Aljandar Villas

Cala Galdana Hotel & D Aljandar Villas

2 of 8 hotels in Cala Galdana

4 out of 5 from 23 reviews
4 stars
Urbanitzacio la Serpentona, S/N, 07750 Ferreries, Spain
This modern, spacious and smartly furnished hotel stands in an eye catching position, within walking distance to Cala Galdana's superb beach where, in high season, there is a whole host of watersports.

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Peter Holton
Perfect for relaxing
4 years 9 months ago
A really nice relaxing hotel. The restaurant had a really good choice of dishes and very helpful staff.

Layout of hotel easy to get around, large comfortable lounge area by reception with book swop and papers. Entertainment room is good sized with attentive waiters. We as an older couple had an enjoyable stay but I noticed that the younger families were enjoying their stay just as much.

Recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Richard And Sally
Good hotel
6 years 1 month ago
On arrival our room wasn't quite ready, as we had an early arrival before 2pm, the official check-in time. After just 20 mins we got our key so not waiting long.
We were given room 219, which was at the front of the hotel, but a lower floor overlooking roof of restaurant.

We hadn't paid for a sea view, so we didn’t expect anything better, however there were a few people complaining about being given rooms at the back. Pay for a sea view if you are likely to get upset about not getting a great view. The maid was in every day to clean. Towels and linen were changed very frequently. The hotel provides towels to use around the pool. If you want these cleaned you have to pay 1euro to do so.

The pool area was very clean, with decent sunbeds (not cheap plastic ones). Though the pool is not very big, there wasn’t a fight for sunbeds. We, as many others did, had a car though so spent more days on beaches out and about.

The breakfast and dinner buffets offered a huge choice. If you cannot find something you like, then you are very fussy. For breakfast there were fruits, pastries, cereals, toast, and the bacon, eggs etc.
At Dinner there were soups (but we didn’t have the garlic soup, this was not very popular and was left), salads, hot buffet, fruit, ice creams, cakes.
As soon as you were given a table, the waiter takes your drinks order, which is charged to your room, so watch for your bill at the end.

We didn't really stay in and watch the entertainment, as we prefer to go out, but they did get professional acts, that were on a 2 week rotation, so you didn’t see the same act twice. The acts were very popular and they got a big audience in every night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jane
8 years ago
Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. Was a little dubious after reading reviews but need not have been. The hotel was in a good position, not quite on the beach front as it looks in brochure but close enough. We had a room at the back of the hotel as this was standard but wished we had paid more to have a room at the front, (will do next time). Staff at hotel seemed very friendly. Food was of a good standard but could have been a little warmer. Drinks were quite expensive in hotel. Entertainment was acceptable. No usual towel run in the mornings, there always seemed to be a sun lounger avaialble, with plenty of umbrellas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Ms Rogers
8 years ago
Hotel is imnpressive on arrival, the communal areas are very clean and comfortable. A TV and internet area and a trip desk together with reception and your rep area.

Immediately outside across a road is a car park and the beach is a short walk away beyond the marina but not really visable from the hotel.

The room was a small double and faced the rear, this is a cliff but they have made a waterfall of it and it looks fine. I was disappointed in my room, it was so modern and un-spanish. It could have been any bistro hotel in the UK. But, it was confortable and spotless just don't go there expecting a spanish feel because this hotel could not be further away.

The balconies are extremely narrow and I didn't like using mine as it felt unsafe, I know it was perfectly ok but the size played tricks with me.

The villas are a bit misleading, they are jotted along the road, some only about 10 ft from the kerb. I would have been dreadfully disappointed if I had booked one.

Food was plentiful and presented well.

I did not find the staff particularly friendly, you got what you wanted but there was not special touches or friendly faces who chat. I kind of begrudged spending my money in the bar really.

Entertainment was ok, the kids disco was awful though and went through 3 languages for every song. The professional acts were good and a lot of people from neighbouring hotels came in for that which is around the pool. They clear sunbeds away and replace with folding tables and chairs.

My daughter and her young children were staying nearby, this hotel in my opinion and hers would not be suitable for young children. All the entertainment is around the pool, the rooms are very small and there are a lot of older guests who may not have liked energetic children running around.

Probably would not visit again. It's not a cheap hotel and there are better ones around Menorca.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
The Youngs
8 years 8 months ago
We stayed at the Hotel Cala Galdana on a half-board basis. All the staff were very unfriendly and in particular the waiters who were only keen to ensure they cleared your table as soon as possible. The food was disgusting. Cold fish, luke warm vegetables. Very sloppy food with limited choice. Desserts - only 3 on offer. On our first evening we were not even approached at our table and offered drinks. A couple at the hotel suffered food poisoning and the evidence of this was by a trail of vomit etc from the hotel entrance to the lifts. We complained about the food etc to the holiday rep and to the hotel manager. the holiday rep actually said that he had had other complaints about the food from other guests and he said he would eat one night at the hotel to test it out. he never did, funny that, he always ate at a hotel down the road and avoided us like the plague. This hotel certainly does not rate as a 4* and we would NEVER stay there again. This is the first hotel we have ever had to complain about. when we complained to the hotel manager by writing him a letter, he chose not to respond and did his best to avoid any communication with his. His manner was very surly and he was not approachable. the suana was not working, the gym equipment was broken, and the jacuzzi not working. All in all a BIG disappointment
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Galligans
8 years 10 months ago
good quality hotel with a good choice of facilites. we enjoyed the two restuarants and the beauty facilites were good. we stayed in the villas which were clean and comfortable. pool is relatively small but the baby pool was great for our small children.
good location and near to everything you might need.
only thing i could fault may be the waiters who are rude and unfriendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
J Marshall
9 years 9 months ago
we have stayed at the cala galdana hotel four times now and every time it gets better, the hotel staff are pleased to help you in anyway they can.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
N Greenwood
10 years ago
We stayed half board but because of other reviews we had pre booked seaview.
Pleased we did as balcony also looks over pool and evening entertainment.

If you leave notice on door the room is cleaned everyday although cleaners could be a little more thorough. The hotel is well located close to beach (200m) and only 50m from shops in this small resort.

The food was very varied, plentiful and excellently presented, probably the best I
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Mrs Walton
11 years 9 months ago
On arrival fond we were on 1st floor back of hotel which was facing cliff very clostrophobic with a room that had a dividing door. Very noisy but hotel staff couldn't do enough for you and we moved to a room still at back second day. This wasn't nearly as clostrophobic.

Rooms were very clean with fridge and bath/shower. Food both breakfast and evening meals were excellent. Short walk to execellent beach although sunbeds and umberellas were 19 euros so take rug!!

We didn't go around pool although this too was very clean not enough sunbeds. Drinks were very reasonable not much cheaper in beach cafes!

Would definitley go back but would pay extra for seaview.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
We booked a villa in the resort of Cala Galdana through a company called Bartle Holidays. The villa was called Springhill and was excellent value for money!! It was a 4-bed detatched villa set into the cliffs with views over the gorge and a private pool. It also had a full kitchen including washing machine and dishwasher and 3 full bathrooms! We were so impressed that we've booked the same villa again this year!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independantly booked

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.