19 independent reviews of the Valentin Star Hotel
Address: Cala'n Bosch, 07760 Ciudadela, Menorca, Spain
Valentin Star Hotel
Valentin Star Hotel Location
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Cala n Bosch


4/5
Valentin Star Hotel Valentin Star Hotel is rated 3.68 out of 5 from 19 Reviews
79% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (19 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 5 stars

Valentin Star Hotel Reviews

4/5
4
"Not for couples, but a lovely family hotel"
Bailey visited the Valentin Star Hotel in May 2011
The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed with the food, it was not to a very good standard, not what we were expecting but we always managed to find something to eat but found it rather repetitive. The location is lovely it is located right on the Marina where there are a few shops bars and restaurants.

The entertainment wasn't too bad, some nights it was excellent and other nights not so good, when the weather is fine the entertainment is on the stage at the rear of the hotel by the pool and the atmosphere is nice, as most of the rooms are located around the pool you could stay on your terrace or balcony and watch the entertainment.

I would not visit the hotel again as we were led to ...
believe this was suitable for couples but during our stay there were many young babies and toddlers and the pool area became very cramped and extremely noisy. The pool is beautiful and about 50% is shallow therefore all the children were in the main pool and the childrens pool was always empty. There are also not enough sunbeds. Some people complained but were told they did not have the room for any more beds. Be warned they remove any towels from the sun beds in the morning if they are not being used.

The hotel supply pool towels, they charge a 10euro deposit which is refunded at the end of your stay but they charge 1euro per towel per day to change it. It was not the relaxing holiday we had hoped for so if you are looking for a quiet hotel for couples this is not the place for you.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Rachel and Martin visited the Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch in June 2009
We stayed for one week and couldnt fault the hotel. We arrived early yet our room was available immediately. There was a complimentary bottle of bubbly and a basket of fruit as we were on honeymoon. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. There was a good choice of food which was prepared to a high standard and the dining room is very well organised with food being replenished before it had even run out. We preferred to take our food outside on the terrace as we felt this was a little more private and relaxing. The hotel has a very luxurious feel with comfortable chairs and beautiful decorative arrangements. The pool area is very well equiped with sun loungers and umbrellas for those wanting shade and a wonderful ...
walk in shallow end perfect for toddlers. We never struggled for a sun lounger no matter what the time of day. Our balcony overlooked the marina which was great for relaxing in the evening with a drink and watching the world go by (the fridge was provided free of charge). This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of this small resort and just a five minute walk to the cove beach. Some nights the evening entertainment was a little poor (The Police tribute band - words fail me...) but this provided more amusement than annoyance! To sum up we had a fabulous holiday and would defintely recommend the Valentin Star. We will return.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

mcdougall's visited the Valentin Star Hotel in August 2008
we had heard mixed reviews but this hotel was excellent.
the hotel was near the marina with loads of restaurants
and entertainment for kids.


the food was excellent with plenty of variety, omelettes made to order also toasted sannies. loads of fruit, pastries etc. drinks could be charged to hotel room cards (quite useful).

the pool area was awesome, with sunbeds on wheels and sprays.

the pool area doubled as a venue for some bands at night. if weather was bad the bar was used. in front of hotel adjacent to marina, the second band played often causing large build up of people watching the acts.

\"il divo\" were excellent!

they have sorted out previous problems and i would give it a deserved 4 star rating.



Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

s black stayed at Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch, Spain in June 2008
Just spent 11 days in the hotel Valentin Star Cala n Bosch. We were on a half board basis .

The hotel was very clean, there was maid service everyday, new towels and beds changed daily.

The food was good with a good variety.

The location was brilliant, right next to shops bars and resturants and overlooking the harbour.

The pool area was fantastic, never had trouble getting a sunbed, you could enjoy breakfast and then go and take your pick of sunbeds, we was a family of 8 and got beds together everyday.

The hotel entertainment was good, but being so close to the harbour you could have your choice of entertainment.

Me and my family would definately go again and are allready looking for next year, would most definately stay at this hotel again.



Tour Operator: cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

terry thorn had a holiday at Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch, Spain in September 2007
th is hotel has been totaly refurb and is like brand new.the food was good hot with plenty of choice the drinks in the hotel are expensive but the entertainment was good.short walk to lovley beach walk a little further for the next beach.you can also walk to the lighthouse.october the weather can be a bit mixed but we had a great holiday at this hotel the resort does not suit older teenagers but everyone else is ok.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Mr E Cummings had a holiday at Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch, Spain in September 2006
A lovely hotel with pleasant staff.

Excellent size rooms, very clean & tidy ideally situated next to marina.

Entertainment in hotel was varied with Elvis & a Blues band being very good acts.

Only slight downside was food in restaurant at times was never hot enough for us and seen meals being sent sent to kitchen to be reheated in their microwave otherwise an excellent place to stay for a relaxing holiday in pleasant surroundings.

Tour Operator: none

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Sally had a holiday at Valentin Star Hotel in August 2006
The hotel was very clean, every area was cleaned regularly and nothing was missed.

The food was varied, prepared well and there was always plenty to eat.

The location was perfect, situated on the marina with its many bars and restaurants. The beach was a 5 minute stroll away.

The staff were friendly and very helpful.

The entertainment was good with a different act each night.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to visit again, it was a very enjoyable holiday.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

david evans stayed at Valentin Star Hotel in August 2006
A nice clean hotel with excellent rooms/facilities.

Very pleasant staff, nice pool area, one of the best I

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Sharron visited the Valentin Star Hotel in August 2006
We booked this hotel after reading the reviews. We could not have picked a better hotel with regard to location. Set in front of the marina it also has a bar and seating area by the marina great for watching the world go by while sipping a cocktail or coffee, which we did after our evening meal.

We found the Hotel very clean and the staff very friendly always willing to have a laugh and a joke. The pool area is beautiful, usual towels on the beds in the morning but we usually managed to find a couple after breakfast.

Very nice restaurant only one complaint about the food which would be the lack of veg. Plenty of salads though.

Three or four meat dishes(steak/chops/ chicken/casseroles etc)and a couple of fish dishes every night, we even had rabbit one night, not everyones ...
choice I suppose but it is different, and to go with that there was pasta and rice dishes, chips and potatoes and a veg dish.

There was always a choice of two soups with fresh crusty bread, and the puddings were excellent i would say about eight plus a selection of icecream and tinned fruits, then to finish there was always fresh fruit (pineapple/melon/banana/apples etc).

On the whole I would say there was something for everyone.
The rooms we found to be larger than usual, with a large TV , a safe and a fridge.

Balcony with good quality furniture (Not the usual white plastic). Would recommend asking for a pool view when booking because this is a popular hotel and there may not be any available if you ask to move when you book in. we had a road view over the side garden which was OK but next time it will be a pool view.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough and we will be going back, in fact I know which room I will be requesting.

Read More

Tour Operator: Medhotels

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Martin stayed at Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch in April 2006
Me 38, Wife 39, Our son 3. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2005 and warrants its four stars in the Thomson brochure.

Communal areas were presented to a very high standard, and these and the rooms were kept spotlessly clean by a very efficient and friendly staff.

The hotel is in a perfect location, right next to the marina of Cala N Bosch (the Hotel restaurant actually looks out on the marina) and about 200m from the main beach of Cala N Bosch. There is also the Son Xorgieur beach about ten minutes\' walk away.

The food quality and quantity was great (though a few more local Menorcan dishes would have been great to complement the \'international\' cuisine). The pool is fantastic, with a large shallow end ideal for young kids. Finding a vacant pool-side sunbed was occasionally a ...
problem but they were available most of the time.

There is a kids mini-disco in the bar in the early evening followed by nightly evening shows. The ones we saw were average to good, but because the hotel is so near to the centre of resort activity most people seemed to go to the town in the evening.

Clientele was a mix of English and Germans with a few Spaniards also. It was mostly couples, with ages from mid-20s to retired people. There were also a large number of couples with children under 4.

It\'s not a \'buzzing\' hotel so maybe would not be suitable for a family with older children and would definitely not suit teenagers, but for those couples and young families looking for a quiet, high-quality hotel to base themselves, Valentin Star is one you should consider.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

J Ross stayed at Valentin Star Hotel in April 2006
I recently had a weeks stay at this hotel. All staff were friendly and helpful.

The food served for Breakfast and Evening was Buffet style but there was always lots to choose from and it was presented well.

The pool area is lovely a huge pool but it was a little on the cold side! Lots of sunbeds but you had to lay your towel early!!

The rooms are a high standard with big bathrooms.

All in all a lovely hotel which is worthy of it\'s 4 star status. I would definitely consider returning.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jayne Lowe had a holiday at Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch, Spain in May 2005
Just returned from this Hotel and I would certainly recommend it. We were led to believe that it had been refurbished but it had actually been rebuilt so was brand new and very comfortable.

Ideal central location right by the marina. The only minus point was that the hotel was not completely finished and there were a few work men around but the friendliness of the staff certainly compensated for it.

I understand that it is now four star not three star as the broucher indicated. The food was excellent and the restaurant was very relaxed. The new pool was really big with plenty of room for everyone.

Interior design lovely. Clean except for the work men who were stiil finishing some rooms. Rooms regularly cleaned and staff exceptionally friendly. Firndliest hotel we have ever stayed in.

Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Andrew Colver had a holiday at Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch, Spain in June 2004
We booked a last minute deal through Lunn Poly which took us to this Hotel. It was very clean and tidy although the rooms could do with a lick of paint. The cleaners visited every day. The hotel food was very good. A buffet style breakfast and dinner with a wide range of foods to suit everyone. We never had a bad meal there during the stay. The location was great, right in the marina. The hotel had a bar with live music on every night which was in the marina and open to the public, hence bar prices were more expensive than in the hotel itself. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The drink prices were comparable to the UK if not a little cheaper. Especially the shorts which came ...
in much larger measures. There were no problems with sunbeds as the hotel was not full. Maybe this will change later in the season during school holidays. Overall a good holiday. The cooking facilities in the room were a little sparse and therefore I would not recommend this place for self catering if you intend to cook yourself.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson Skytours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Linda McColl visited the Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch, Spain in June 2004
We had booked our holiday only one week before the start of our holiday and we were pleasantly surprised at the convenient location of the Valentin Star.
The accommodation is quite basic, however, this did not concern us since we were staying half-board and we only used the room for sleeping in - I should add that the rooms were very clean and during our two week stay we had our bed linen changed 5 times and our towels changed daily. We were also surprised to find a fan in our room - in other holiday destinations we have usually had to pay for this as an extra.

The choice and quality of the food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were always very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Although this hotel is listed as three star, I would say ...
that the food was five star.

The pool and surrounding area was very clean and it was maintained on a daily basis, my only complaint was that the sunbeds were very uncomfortable and I did suggest in the hotel\'s own questionnaire, that they consider supplying cushioned mats for the sunbeds. The landscaping around the pool area was very attractive with the various palm trees and flowering shrubs and hedges and it too was very well maintained by the onsite gardeners.

The cleaning staff, reception staff and the bar staff were also very pleasant and friendly and went out of their way to please.

The hotel entertainment staff were lovely people who provided a lot of laughs and they were excellent with the children; they did try to pressure people into taking part in the various activities, however, it was always done in a pleasant and friendly manner. The evening entertainment could have been better at times, however, there were also occasions when very few of the guests turned up to even partake of the entertainment available and the entertainers were playing to an almost empty house which was quite embarrassing.

All in all we had a great holiday and I would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again in the future as they make that extra effort to ensure that their guests enjoy their stay.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson Skytours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

mr &mrs Howard visited the Valentin Star Hotel in May 2004
We stayed for one week the rooms are basic but clean. Some of the rooms back on to the road and are a bit dark. The choice of food was very good but staff were a bit slow at keeping the food topped up when it ran out. The location was very good and on our departure we were given a picnic as we missed breakfast due to early departure.

Tour Operator: just

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mr Thomas visited the Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch, Spain in May 2004
I was pleasantly suprised by the overall look of the hotel.All common areas especially the gardens and pool were maintained to a high standard.The photos in the brochures dont do it justice.The staff were extremely helpful but unobtrusive. The food was good but a little lacking for vegetarians like my wife.The hotels location is excellent right in the middle but it didnt seem to suffer from outside noise at all.The entertainment staff are a little persistent but in a nice way.

Tour Operator: Just

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

0/5
0

SUE ELEANOR stayed at Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch in July 2003
Holiday was taken 4th-18th August 2003 . Two families of 3, which included 2 adults and 2 teenagers in each.We travelled to these studios (although everyone insists on calling it an hotel) with Thomsons via Skytours. Never saw the rep!

Whilst the communal areas were very nice, i.e.pool, bar, reception the studios were not!
Although the maid service was very good, they came in every day, the rooms were very inadequate to say the least. Hardly any coathangers , 2 very very dodgy electric rings, couldn\'t even make a slice of toast as there was no toaster or grill.and when your supposed to be self catering this is a bit much! The top blankets , which resembled old curtains , were filthy.although the sheets were clean ,and no air conditioning, which in August is a must.
Now the good things the \'studios ...
are very close to the Marina, which have a good selection of bars and restaurants.Most of the staff were very friendly, the pool was very clean,contrary to what other reports have said and there was plenty of sun loungers.
Cala\'nBosch is a very nice place to visit for a relaxing holiday, this is our second time although last time we stayed at the Marina apartments, they were much better, we would have gone there again, but they were fully booked when we booked our holiday in February.

Read More

Tour Operator: Skytours
Review Rating


0/5
0

mark_n visited the Valentin Star Hotel, Cala n Bosch, Spain in June 2002
We stayed in the Valentin Star for the 2 wks in July \'02

Bad Stuff first:-

The hotel is OK, but the rooms are basic and a bit shabby, in my opinion it could do with a re-fit.

Pool: The pool area is adequate, but getting a lounger meant an early morning foray to reserve one (against the rules, but what do you do!) another downside was that myslef and the kids experienced ear-aches, and heard of several people the same which a many people attributed to the pool although having said that it could have been anything.

Bar: The main outside bar area is OK, but could do with being a bit bigger.

Now the Good stuff:-

Kids Club: The JMC kids club in the hotel is excellent, the reps are really good with the kids. The same goes for the Hotels own entertainment ...
staff, and entertainment, but it does get a bit boring after a week or so.

Location: You won\'t get much closer to the centre of things than in this hotel. It is right on the Harbour, and close to some good bars and shops.

Food: The Hotel Restaurant is very good. The choice and quality is varied pls the restaurant is very clean, plus you get the option of sitting out side and watching the boats if you want to.

Activities: The hotel has losts of things going on for kids and adults, plus the diving centre come in each week so you can have go in the pool.

Overall we had a great holiday, and if this hotel a re-fit we would go back to it.

Read More

Tour Operator: JMC
Review Rating


0/5
0

ildi18 had a holiday at Valentin Star Hotel in March 2002
The resort we stayed in - Cala \'n\' Bosch is excellent for families centered around the Marina with plenty of places to eat. The beach is fairly clean and accessible. The beaches we liked most on the island were at Binibeca and Cala Galdana. Ciutadella is a lovely little city (? ) and a must for people looking for the olde worlde charm. It is not a huge place but definately worth half a day exploring and a meal. Given the opportunity we would have chosen this as our main resort as it is abs beautiful. The hotel did not have Air Con but the reception did hire out fans which were all but useless. The food in the restaurant for a 3 star hotel was excellent. The choice was good and the service superb. The pool area was very ...
dirty, the pool had 3 inches of scum round the pool. The sunbeds were very unconfortable.

The maid service was good, even though the maid would enter the apartment and if you were just of the of shower (No clothes on!!) they would continue regardlessly.

The Water in the complex was bad. When bathing the baby his eyes were red raw due to the amount of cholrine in the water. I washed his clothes and they had actually bleached. I did show the JMC Rep but when she mention this to the hotel management they denied the use of chemicals in the water.

Over the holiday was not bad. I can say that the standards were average.
Mahon is not quite so nice, as you would expect from it being the modern capital of this island. It is certainly what you would expect from a major city. Not particularly clean, lots of traffic. There is a better choice of restaurarants here but the saddest sight we saw during our whole stay was the HUGE queue outside the only Fish and Chip shop and Burger King in the main square... but Brits abroad and their chips... what can I say ?

Read More

Tour Operator: JMC
Review Rating

Share