Image of Valentin Star Hotel

Valentin Star Hotel

6 of 16 hotels in Cala n Bosch

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
3 stars
Cala'n Bosch, 07760 Ciudadela, Menorca, Spain
Formerly named the Menorca Star, the Valentin Star comprises 12 two-storey buildings surrounding the central swimming pool and general activities area. The resident entertainers manage to achieve a lively, friendly atmosphere.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Bailey
Not for couples, but a lovely family hotel
5 years ago
The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed with the food, it was not to a very good standard, not what we were expecting but we always managed to find something to eat but found it rather repetitive. The location is lovely it is located right on the Marina where there are a few shops bars and restaurants.

The entertainment wasn't too bad, some nights it was excellent and other nights not so good, when the weather is fine the entertainment is on the stage at the rear of the hotel by the pool and the atmosphere is nice, as most of the rooms are located around the pool you could stay on your terrace or balcony and watch the entertainment.

I would not visit the hotel again as we were led to believe this was suitable for couples but during our stay there were many young babies and toddlers and the pool area became very cramped and extremely noisy. The pool is beautiful and about 50% is shallow therefore all the children were in the main pool and the childrens pool was always empty. There are also not enough sunbeds. Some people complained but were told they did not have the room for any more beds. Be warned they remove any towels from the sun beds in the morning if they are not being used.

The hotel supply pool towels, they charge a 10euro deposit which is refunded at the end of your stay but they charge 1euro per towel per day to change it. It was not the relaxing holiday we had hoped for so if you are looking for a quiet hotel for couples this is not the place for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Rachel And Martin
6 years 10 months ago
We stayed for one week and couldnt fault the hotel. We arrived early yet our room was available immediately. There was a complimentary bottle of bubbly and a basket of fruit as we were on honeymoon. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. There was a good choice of food which was prepared to a high standard and the dining room is very well organised with food being replenished before it had even run out. We preferred to take our food outside on the terrace as we felt this was a little more private and relaxing. The hotel has a very luxurious feel with comfortable chairs and beautiful decorative arrangements. The pool area is very well equiped with sun loungers and umbrellas for those wanting shade and a wonderful walk in shallow end perfect for toddlers. We never struggled for a sun lounger no matter what the time of day. Our balcony overlooked the marina which was great for relaxing in the evening with a drink and watching the world go by (the fridge was provided free of charge). This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of this small resort and just a five minute walk to the cove beach. Some nights the evening entertainment was a little poor (The Police tribute band - words fail me...) but this provided more amusement than annoyance! To sum up we had a fabulous holiday and would defintely recommend the Valentin Star. We will return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mcdougall's
7 years 8 months ago
we had heard mixed reviews but this hotel was excellent.
the hotel was near the marina with loads of restaurants
and entertainment for kids.


the food was excellent with plenty of variety, omelettes made to order also toasted sannies. loads of fruit, pastries etc. drinks could be charged to hotel room cards (quite useful).

the pool area was awesome, with sunbeds on wheels and sprays.

the pool area doubled as a venue for some bands at night. if weather was bad the bar was used. in front of hotel adjacent to marina, the second band played often causing large build up of people watching the acts.

"il divo" were excellent!

they have sorted out previous problems and i would give it a deserved 4 star rating.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
S Black
7 years 10 months ago
Just spent 11 days in the hotel Valentin Star Cala n Bosch. We were on a half board basis .

The hotel was very clean, there was maid service everyday, new towels and beds changed daily.

The food was good with a good variety.

The location was brilliant, right next to shops bars and resturants and overlooking the harbour.

The pool area was fantastic, never had trouble getting a sunbed, you could enjoy breakfast and then go and take your pick of sunbeds, we was a family of 8 and got beds together everyday.

The hotel entertainment was good, but being so close to the harbour you could have your choice of entertainment.

Me and my family would definately go again and are allready looking for next year, would most definately stay at this hotel again.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Terry Thorn
8 years 7 months ago
th is hotel has been totaly refurb and is like brand new.the food was good hot with plenty of choice the drinks in the hotel are expensive but the entertainment was good.short walk to lovley beach walk a little further for the next beach.you can also walk to the lighthouse.october the weather can be a bit mixed but we had a great holiday at this hotel the resort does not suit older teenagers but everyone else is ok.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 7 months ago
A lovely hotel with pleasant staff.

Excellent size rooms, very clean & tidy ideally situated next to marina.

Entertainment in hotel was varied with Elvis & a Blues band being very good acts.

Only slight downside was food in restaurant at times was never hot enough for us and seen meals being sent sent to kitchen to be reheated in their microwave otherwise an excellent place to stay for a relaxing holiday in pleasant surroundings.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sally
9 years 8 months ago
The hotel was very clean, every area was cleaned regularly and nothing was missed.

The food was varied, prepared well and there was always plenty to eat.

The location was perfect, situated on the marina with its many bars and restaurants. The beach was a 5 minute stroll away.

The staff were friendly and very helpful.

The entertainment was good with a different act each night.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to visit again, it was a very enjoyable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
David Evans
9 years 8 months ago
A nice clean hotel with excellent rooms/facilities.

Very pleasant staff, nice pool area, one of the best I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sharron
9 years 8 months ago
We booked this hotel after reading the reviews. We could not have picked a better hotel with regard to location. Set in front of the marina it also has a bar and seating area by the marina great for watching the world go by while sipping a cocktail or coffee, which we did after our evening meal.

We found the Hotel very clean and the staff very friendly always willing to have a laugh and a joke. The pool area is beautiful, usual towels on the beds in the morning but we usually managed to find a couple after breakfast.

Very nice restaurant only one complaint about the food which would be the lack of veg. Plenty of salads though.

Three or four meat dishes(steak/chops/ chicken/casseroles etc)and a couple of fish dishes every night, we even had rabbit one night, not everyones choice I suppose but it is different, and to go with that there was pasta and rice dishes, chips and potatoes and a veg dish.

There was always a choice of two soups with fresh crusty bread, and the puddings were excellent i would say about eight plus a selection of icecream and tinned fruits, then to finish there was always fresh fruit (pineapple/melon/banana/apples etc).

On the whole I would say there was something for everyone.
The rooms we found to be larger than usual, with a large TV , a safe and a fridge.

Balcony with good quality furniture (Not the usual white plastic). Would recommend asking for a pool view when booking because this is a popular hotel and there may not be any available if you ask to move when you book in. we had a road view over the side garden which was OK but next time it will be a pool view.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough and we will be going back, in fact I know which room I will be requesting.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Martin
10 years ago
Me 38, Wife 39, Our son 3. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2005 and warrants its four stars in the Thomson brochure.

Communal areas were presented to a very high standard, and these and the rooms were kept spotlessly clean by a very efficient and friendly staff.

The hotel is in a perfect location, right next to the marina of Cala N Bosch (the Hotel restaurant actually looks out on the marina) and about 200m from the main beach of Cala N Bosch. There is also the Son Xorgieur beach about ten minutes' walk away.

The food quality and quantity was great (though a few more local Menorcan dishes would have been great to complement the 'international' cuisine). The pool is fantastic, with a large shallow end ideal for young kids. Finding a vacant pool-side sunbed was occasionally a problem but they were available most of the time.

There is a kids mini-disco in the bar in the early evening followed by nightly evening shows. The ones we saw were average to good, but because the hotel is so near to the centre of resort activity most people seemed to go to the town in the evening.

Clientele was a mix of English and Germans with a few Spaniards also. It was mostly couples, with ages from mid-20s to retired people. There were also a large number of couples with children under 4.

It's not a 'buzzing' hotel so maybe would not be suitable for a family with older children and would definitely not suit teenagers, but for those couples and young families looking for a quiet, high-quality hotel to base themselves, Valentin Star is one you should consider.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: