Image of Viva Menorca Apartments

Viva Menorca Apartments

11 of 16 hotels in Cala n Bosch

4 out of 5 from 53 reviews
4 stars
Calle Llevant, s/n, Cala'n Bosch, 07760 Ciutadella de Menorca, Spain

53 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    18
  • Very Good
    26
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Hilary
5 years 11 months ago
Just returned 4 days ago after a 2 week holiday and we had a lovely time certainly helped by the weather. The majority of guests were on all inclusive basis, as were we. The hotel is approx 10-15 minutes walk away from the main resort of Cala'n Bosch ie.the marina and the beach. The marina is set round a man-made lake with lots of restaurants and a few bars and gift shops. Just across the road from the hotel there are 3 supermarkets and a few restaurants and bars, but these are very quiet. To eat and drink out is very expensive- pints 4.50 to 6.50,spirits with mixer 5.50,bottles such as Smirnoff,WKD,Breezers 4.00,1/2 litres of sangria 5.50-9.00 (euros). Had 4 nights out in the marina, but only went to nearby bars one night as far too quiet (2 people in bar!!)
The beach is lovely, set in a cove. It's very clean with clear shallow water. No watersports,just pedaloes to hire. There's a really nice beach cafe for lunch with good choice of menu, very friendly staff and the cappucinnos with cream are to die for.
From just outside the hotel you can get a bus to Cuidadela which takes approx 15 mins for 1.70 each way. You have to go into Cuidadela for cigs and tobacco as shops don't sell them in resort, only machines in bars.
Car hire cheaper to book in marina, rather than through reps. Lots of day trips to book through reps, we went on the cruise day and had a lovely time stopping at 2 beaches and paella and sangria for lunch. A good day out.

The hotel is very nice with lovely gardens. Public areas ie.reception,bar,restaurant,pool bar,entertainment area,toilets etc all very clean and well maintained. Cleaners do rooms and change towels 5 days a week (they're off on Wed & Sun). Standard of room cleaning okay - have to clean your feet before you leave the room and they never dust. Small kitchen in room with microwave, kettle and fridge. Must say that ALL the staff at the hotel are very friendly and polite and always smiling. Very efficient and queues kept to a minimum.
Safety deposit boxes in wardrobe are 16.50 euros per week.Beach towel hire 10.00 euro deposit for each towel which you get back at end of holiday. Supposed to be changed every 3 days, but we changed ours more often with no probs. Laundry room with washers and driers,have to supply own powder from supermarket, no ironing facilities. Air con in our room very poor, which was uncomfortable when the temp was 35-40. Hairdyer beside sink in room, but didn't use as took my own. You need to take extra coathangers.
The food at the hotel was of a very high standard. Lots of choice, always very fresh and hot. Lots of dishes cooked from fresh ie.pancakes for breakfast,omelettes,stir fries,chops,chicken and a carved roast every evening. Bottles of water,red,rose,white wine brought to your table every lunchtime and evening meal, other drinks self service.Pool bar serving pizza,baguettes,toaties,burgers,salads,fruit and pastries plus tubs of ice cream and ice pops. Coffee,tea,milkshakes,juice and slushes self service, all other drinks served from the bar.
Pool area no probs getting a sunbed whatever time and lots of parasols. There is an indoor pool(very cold, but very welcome in the heat)jacuzzi and sauna (who wants a sauna when the temp is nearly 40C??)
Daytime and evening entertainment geared towards younger children. If your children are under 10 they will have a ball. Not a lot going on for teenagers or adults during the day.It was a new entertainment team this year and I think that they were just finding their feet. Need to be more organised, but they worked really hard. Childrens' disco started at 8 or 8.30 for an hour, then a break of half an hour, then main show on for an hour. Entertainment finished at 10 to 10.30 which was bit early, but the bar stays open until 11.30. Six professional acts per week which were really good - brazillian, irish and flamenco dancers, magic shows and tribute acts (robbie williams, elvis & freddie mercury). On Wed nights it's the entertainment team and I'd recommend you went to the marina that night!!
All in all we had a lovely holiday relaxing by the pool or on the beach. Weather gorgeous, good food and very friendly staff. Would I go back - no cos been there now and we like to go somewhere different every year and not enough in either hotel or resort to pull us back again. If we had young children or grandchildren then we probably would.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years ago
Returned from a fantastic 2 week holiday on 30th june, Staff,Cleanliness,Food,Hotel,Location spot on 10/10 Great holiday all round and will be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 11 months ago
The hotel is spread out over about 5 blocks, some near the pool (block 3) snd others nearby including a few over a small little used side road.

Hotel is well run and very clean. Good reception staff and manager pleased to address and problems you report.

Also at hotel were holiday ,akers from Spain and Germany, with about 90% British/Irish.

Located a pleasant 10 min stroll to the Marina where most bars/restaraunts are situated. Meal for 2 adults and 2 children with one round of drinks will cost between 35 - 50 euros depending on how posh you want to go.

Room, a little smaller than normal but just OK, our room in block 3 though had very poor aircon and we needed to ret fans as well, other rooms seemed to have aircon which was much more powerful. Think we were just unlucky with room allocated.

Entertainment, run by hotel was adequate, nothing started until 11 am including kids club which was just one hour, then afew games for children and adults spread out during the day such as children's games or shooting, archery, waterpolo for adults. I think they could have organised more stuff for the older children an adults during the day as total time for the games for adults was probably less than 2 hours all together.

Evening entertainment consisted of kids disco 20.30 hrs to 21.30 hrs followed by cabaret for an hour by outside people such as jugglers/dancers/singers etc. The evening ended with further games or music organised by entertainment staff.

All in all a good hotel but could do with a bit more daytime entertainment and another small point would be a bit more thought as to schedule of evening entertainment so you don't get dancers (Irish/Spanish) on consecutive nights.

If you have already booked don't panic it is a good hotel the above points are just how it could be improved even more.

Would we go again ? Probably not as we need more organised entertainment during day such asa proper holiday company run kids club and more activities for teenager who wants to do sports.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Emily Goulding
6 years 11 months ago
I stayed at Viva Menorca 4 years ago with my brother and mum and dad and loved it. So we came back this year again just without my brother. I'm 16 years old and I thoroughly enjoyed my time here. The food in the restaurant is fantastic, if your looking for a cheaper meal in, for good value it is lovely. The staff are fantastic, all three entertainers, (Hannah, Britta and Waily) were absolutely amazing and did a fantastic job. The daytime activites are very much geared towards younger children and it is fantastic for them, yet there is a lack of adult/teenage activites.
The nightime entertainment was a show with different people, not the hotel staff and was always good.
The location is great. A 10 minute walk to the marina where there are lovely shops and restaurants and 15 minutes to the beach. If you fancy going to a more British bar there are pubs a 5 minute walk away and if you have teenage children you should visit Big Apple!
A really enjoyable holiday
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rose
7 years ago
complex divided into seperate blocks..we were in bl4 in a garden area.very peaceful location..the room was nicely decorated and hot water available at all times of day.new towels every day except thurs and sun.air con in room was fanastic especially at night.tv in room but with exception of cnn news and a few music channels the rest were in german.restaurant on site which was every good.tickets at 15euro could be purchased at reception.also indoor pool and jaqussi on site...no charge.overall well run and great complex especially for young famlies.the complex is about 10 mins. walk into town.there is a small shopping centre within a 100m of viva with a couple of good supermarkets...bettabuy probably the best.also mccarthys irish bar is located here run by marie and son duimard and dauaghter sorcha.lovely people.get craic!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sharon Heatley
7 years 8 months ago
Just returned from a relaxing week with husband and daughter (aged 12). The Viva Menorca Apts are very spacious and we had a ground floor room overlooking the pool area. Everything was kept spotlessly clean inside and outside the rooms.

Didnt have to get up early to reserve a sun lounger as there are plenty. No towels to be put out before 9am. Thought there wouldnt be any entertainment as it was out of season, but was wrong. Activities arranged during day and shows put on in evening.

Not suitable for groups of girls/fellas looking for partying every night. Great for couples with young children and grandparents.

Would go again, but perhaps in season when there are more people staying in the resort as we did find it very quiet. BUT... the weather was great, the accommodation great, staff great, reps great. Recommended.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Willis
7 years 10 months ago
this was our 3rd visit to viva menorca,and things have gone down hill abit. 2001,2003 fantastic,but 2008 a let down.firstly, rooms looking a bit shabby and in need of a make over,air con not working properly for our 11 night stay,which made it sometimes unconfortable as temp in the 90`s,restaurant food gone down hill abit since we last came, less choice and quite expensive and drinks more expensive than u.k. only 2 waiters serving drinks to all guests outside (200/300 people).half hour wait for a drink. staff very very helpful and pleasant.its a shame that standards at the hotel have deteriated . probably only a 3 star now
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Phil
7 years 10 months ago
First time that we have stayed at Viva Menorca and were not disapointed.

Breakfast and Dinner were both good - we especially liked eating outside on the terrace.

Hotel and rooms were clean and serviced 5 times during our 7 night stay.

Location was excellent 10 mins from centre of resort with easy access to waterpark.

We would visit this hotel again but go self catering as the resport has fantastic restaurants with a view of the harbour.

Kids club was excellent, the staff worked tirelessly all day and BUFO was a great addition.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jake
7 years 10 months ago
We loved this hotel, it is very clean, the entertainment was good and the staff were very friendly! The location was good but about a 5-10min walk from the Marina/Harbour.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mark Norris
7 years 11 months ago
This is the second time we have had a two week holiday at the Viva Menorca. We stayed in block 2 again and the room was clean, the staff very friendly and the entertainment for both adults and children was great. My two sons love it here and want to go back again next year. We will be going back in a couple of years. The pool and area were all clean. The rooms were cleaned 5 times a week to a very high standard. The staff in the bar area were polite and helpful. As for the entertainment staff I cannot rate them high enough. They were always professional and bond well with the kids and adult. This was again a perfect place to have a holiday. It is close to the town, shops are near by and I cannot think of a better place in this area to stay.

The only thing I would say is that the hotel has a policy of if you put your towels on a sun bed before 09:00 they will be removed. This is a great idea, but sadly the hotel does not enforce it. Having said that we arrived at the pool at about 11:00 most days and managed to get four beds together every time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: