Image of Playa Azul Hotel

Playa Azul Hotel

3 of 4 hotels in Cala n Porter

3 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Passeig MarĂ­tim, 27, 07712 Cala en Porter, Spain
This accommodation located on the main road offers a friendly and relaxing atmosphere which will appeal most to families.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ian Price
7 years 4 months ago
just come back on 29/06/10 would recommend it to everyone.the hotel was spotless staff were very friendly and helpful food was excellent and varied. one complaint was the sweets were very limited but other than that food was great.we had a room on top floor and the view was outstanding.maids came in every day.the refurbishment has been a great sucess.only down side was the entertainment was nil and needs to be upgraded a.s.a.p.would definatly go back to playa azul
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: ulookubook

Recommended
TThomas
11 years 1 month ago
At the travel agent we asked for room high up. with balcony with sea views - and this is what we got! Best room/balcony views in area! Room was basic. Reasonably clean. No kettle in room when we arrived. The one given didn't work - but next did. Beds were fairly hard (foam?)and pillows poor.

The food was acceptable but limited choice. No cereals supplied for breakfast except for a rather rough and unpalatable muesli. Fish was the best choice food for dinner. Very disappointed at the lack of Spanish food, i.e no Paella.

There was NO evening entertainment! (except for a night of some dreary singer singing a range of pop hits. Subsequently the hotel was dead in evenings.

Very disappointed that there was no typical Spanish music/dancing. Contrary to other reports we found the Staff very friendly, smiling and helpful!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Lynn Lowden
11 years 5 months ago
This hotel was very clean, staff went out of their way to help.

Rooms basic but were cleaned every day.

Breakfast was basic but nice, evening meals lacked choice, and not much for kids.

Need to do a bit work on the entertainment to keep people in.

Location of hotel was superb, just enough bars and restaurants for a relaxing holiday. Beach was superb,but alot of steps down,or you could get the train which run every 45 mins. Also bus stop right outside hotel,if you wanted to venture out, would definitely go back to this hotel and resort ideal family holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Finlay
13 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from a very disappointing holiday in the Hotel Playa Azul in Calan Porter, Menorca. We do not feel that this hotel merits its three star rating as there was no fridge, tea/coffee making facility, air conditioning or hair drier in the very small room. There was not even a table on the balcony.

The staff was fairly friendly but the food was very poor and there was only entertainment one night in the week (a fairly good local band).

The hotel is well situated over-looking the beach if you are lucky enough to get a sea view room. The pool is O.K. and the cleaning staff did a good job.

The water was turned of one day from 10:30 till midnight for chlorination and we were given one bottle of water to wash with?

We have written to JMC regarding all these complaints but as yet have had no reply.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC/Thomas Cook

Rachel And Family
13 years 1 month ago
Very disappointed with this hotel. When we arrived there were loads of steps within the hotel - we were not informed in the brochure - said hotel was suitable for families of all ages. We booked a 2 bed roomed bungalow - the one we were allocated was bungalow b17 - bathroom window was broken, inside of bungalow was filthy (thick with grime and dust etc).

The balcony was unsuitable as it was rough stones not tiles - jmc/hotel were aware that we had children including 14 month old baby (we had booked this several months ago) so we would be unable to stay in a bungalow of such poor standards. At an extra cost we were transferred to the main hotel that was a lot better - only let down was no fridge/air con.

We feel that people should be made aware that if you are travelling to this hotel with very young children you will be carrying pushchairs up and down stairs for the duration of your holiday.

Other than that the service received in hotel was great, food was lovely and a good choice.

Beach in resort was lovely- very safe bathing (steps were just about manageable - hill we thought was worse!!!)
In general try to avoid the bungalows if booking this hotel as they have very little sun (can feel quite damp and dingy).

Lovely resort - more suited in our opinion to families with older children and couples.
Hope this helps!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Barry B
13 years 2 months ago
Superb hotel let down by lack of air conditioning. You have the option of hiring a fan which is quite expensive at a cost of 15 Euro and 15 Euro deposit. Safe is charged at 12 Euro and 12 deposit. Those are the bad points and it would take me too long to write about the good points.
One point of interest:
We did not have transfers in with our package and taxi cost around 15 Euro which works out to be approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Kerr
13 years 2 months ago
The hotel nowadays is worn and tatty, bordering on being downright uninhabitable, dodgy looking electrics-poor shower facilities.
Cleaning staff do a good job - although towels and pillows are scarce.
Food and quality were good and plentiful.
Managment most unhelpful and most of the staff very surly.
Entertainment was only availble on a Friday night (bulgarian band) once a week.
Noise on one side of this hotel goes on past 04:30 am because of a nightclub located within 20 yds of accommodation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jmc

Paul & Emma
13 years 3 months ago
We have just recently returned from Playa Azul in Calam Porter where we spent a lovely week in a smashing hotel which was only let down by the lack of air conditioning in the rooms and the friendlyness of the staff in the resturant & bar as they just seemed to lack in the basic people skills like Hello hows your holiday etc never once did they go out of there way to talk to you and they always look so miserable. The food is excellent loads to choose from both in the morning and in the evening and they serve the food at resonable times between 8-10 in the morning & 7-10 in the evening. Lots of bars, resturants & gift shops are near by and there is a very relaxing atmosphere in the evenings and we recommend a bar called ALOHA the staff are very friendly and there is entertainment provided as you sit in a garden area surrounded by palm trees and lamps on every table which creates a cosy atmosphere.

There is lots to do during the day whether you relax by the pool go to the beach or get the bus into mahon which alows you to get another bus to various other resorts. We recommend a day in Mahon by the harbour, there are boat trips available we recommend the SEA BREEZE CRUISE which you can book through your reps it is a great experience as this a 4 hr cruise around the med free food and drink and plenty of captains punch, although it is very expensive and abit over exagerated as they state "You are going on a million pound luxury catamaran" when really its just a small basic catamaran, our expectations where of something alot flasher from the report they gave in the brochure.

The best way to judge your accomodation and resort is to ask yourself would you go back, and the simply answer to that from us is a big YES YES although watch youyr pennies and take plenty of sun tan cream.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Recommended
Ann, Bernard And Vanessa
13 years 3 months ago
The Playa Azul is a very nice hotel and i would love to go there again. The holiday reps said that the cleaners would come in twice every week, but they actually came in every day and did a great job.
The hotel food was good but there wasn't much for children. Breakfast was from 8am-10am and tea was from
7:30pm-10pm.
The swimming pool was quite big. There was a big pool and a little childrens pool. There was also a hotel shop where you could buy inflatable toys to play with in the swimming pool.
The location was very good, as it was overlooking the beach.You could catch the train all around Cala 'n' Porter to see the views for 5 euros. There were lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
There was entertainment 2 times a week. When we went there was a duet and a tribute to Abba. But for the other times we went to a bar called Aloha for Karaoke and siesta mar apartments had entertainment every night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Morgans
15 years 1 month ago
We travelled to this hotel with our 3 kids aged 7, 6 and 4 and had a very enjoyable holiday.

The hotel itself was situated on the road opposite the steps (all 192 of them!) down to the beach. There was a longer way down via the road, but this can take 10-15 minutes to walk. There was also a road-train which runs every 45 minutes to and from the beach and costs 2 Euro

Travel operator: Unknown

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.