Image of Xaloc Playa Hotel

Xaloc Playa Hotel

3 of 6 hotels in Punta Prima

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Punta Prima, 07713 MENORCA, Spain

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jacqui And Martin
9 years 10 months ago
we vistited this hotel in October on its last week so very quiet but lots of room, no queing etc...rooms basic but nice and clean, we had a pool view, more mature couples there when we were but thats ok.... friendly staff all round and helpful, food wonderful, varied choice every sitting, plenty of salads and meats/cheeses/ soup to start and 2 meat, 1 fish choice every dinner, not much veg but you can make up with the fruit and yummy deserts, rice pud mmmm...we were happy every day with what we had...no entertainment as late in year, so we played cards and hired bikes to look about..great fun!!..we would go back but earlier in year instead..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Linda Emment
10 years 2 months ago
This was our first visit to this hotel. We were very pleased with everything.

The hotel and our room was spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

There was a large choice of food at each sitting.It was kept topped up at all times and was always hot. Unfortunately I was not very keen on the main courses at dinner as some of them were rather dry.

There was entertainment five out of the seven nights. It suited us but may not be to everyones liking.

There was always enough sunbeds around the pool.

The prices in the hotel bar & snack bar were very reasonable.

The only thing we were not happy about was that our bath was very slippery.

There was about 50/50 English & Germans. This hotel is right on the sea front. A lot of the English we spoke to had visited this hotel before and one couple were on there fourth visit & had booked to go there again in September.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Millar
11 years 1 month ago
Hotel was great this was our second year there, staff very friendly and remembered us from previous year. Food was good, and my daughter found things she liked every night, Have never stayed in such a clean hotel, recieved a complementary basket of fruit for returning. A quiet hotel, and although no children's clubs the children were all very happy, entertainments most nights and very good, not reps like some places.
This is our third year going back, only thing missing is air con.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Stobart
11 years 11 months ago
Visited a hotel in which the brochure described as suitable for couples. Very competitively priced for a 3*. Found that the hotel was 70% German families and meals were catered towards German taste. Pool was cold and dirty. Pool furniture limited. No sea view despite being only 50 mtrs from beach. Food was adequate and dining space limited.

First week the room was smelly due to 'back up' of sewage system. Requested move and was given one. 2nd room was small and 'tired' although no smells!!! Do not be tempted by the bungalow acomodation - think Butlins chalets! if there was a rep we never saw one, however reception staff did oblige as much as possible. Hotel staff were helpful.

Mercifully limited entertainment. Not a hotel for children. A 'one street' resort with little to do other than sit on the beach. Because of this pricy for bars and food. A lovely walk across the headland to an old watch tower this lead on to a very quiet resort. Or a further walk [opposite direction] to Binbecca vell.

Limited bus service but car hire was cheap and competitive. Rest of the island was explored easily and hypermarket not more than 10 min drive to buy cheap supplies. Have booked to return to Menorca but only to Cala Galanda or Santo Tomas. However there are plentiful resorts suitable for families. Superb beaches and lots of history with taylots etc.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Busby
13 years ago
first impressions of hotel are good and although rooms are quite small and basic they are very clean, the downside to this was there were no fridges or kettles therefore you could not keep drinkes etc as they soon got warm you then had to purchase any drinks and food from the bar , i did however take a kettle as i had been warned but then there were no cups or spoons and obviously with no fridge could not keep milk!; as we visited in august it was very hot and the lack of airconditioning spoilt the holiday,as there was no escape from the heat eating in the resteraunt was very uncomfortable as it was so hot.the food was ok but quite repetetive but i have found this in all h/b resorts i have stayed in.
entertainment was also limited and as it is such a small resort this was all that was available.
the staff are constantly working and were always freindly, having heard that mainly germans stayed at the hotel and that everything was geared for them i was a bit concerned but this was definately not the case , it was about 50/50 and all entertainment was mainly geared at the english,most guests were freindly,with the odd exception!
on previous holidays i have had to get up at the crack of dawn to join everyone else to reserve a sunbed, this was not the case here there were always plenty available whatever time of day.
i am glad i only had a week at the xaloc playa(pronounced the shaloc playa)and this was only due to the weather being too hot!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Ferguson
13 years 1 month ago
We found the hotel clean and the staff very friendly,we arrived at midnight and found a meal had been kept aside for us.Fans are available for 12 euros a week,you need one.Food was alright a reasonable selection.Resort very quiet entertainment limited.Found it 50.50 brits germans.We would recommend it for anyone looking for a quiet base to stay.There's a good local bus service to other areas of the island.We are going back in the very near future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Hill
13 years 2 months ago
Our second visit to this hotel, and it was just as good as last year, felt like 'home in the sun'. Did have a few attacks of mosquitoes, so advise to take repellent as they bit hard!!

Take a kettle as none in the rooms, there is a hairdryer in the bathroom. Shower was excellent very powerful and hot water in plentiful supply. Room was spotless again, no complaints at all. Towels changed every day and linen a couple times during the week.

There was an english chap behind the bar, who was a bit too full of himself for our liking, and made it obvious that he expected a tip, so he was sadly disappointed. He fancied himself a bit too much for our liking. But it was entertaining watching him 'eyeing up' the talent!!

The food was excellent, no jippy tummies at all. A good variety of hot meals every evening, and with real veg and potatoes rather than chips with everything which was great.

Ice cream was gorgeous.

We'll be going back again in a few years, wonderful holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Pamela Doonan
13 years 10 months ago
This holiday was booked as a late deal in October last year. The hotel was very pleasant rooms basic but very clean. Food was very good and most days we purchased lunch from snack bar which was fine. As we were there in October the weather was not very good, but we did have 2 sunny days when we could sunbathe by the pool. The beach is just across the road from the hotel. Staff were OK. The only down side was the entertainment or lack of it, maybe because it was out of season! We had dancers, a trio and a man playing a musical instrument(just 3 nights) as all other bars etc. were closed (October) I think the hotel could have put on a better entertainment programme. On the 4 nights of non entertainment most people sat in the lounge playing cards!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Hill
14 years 2 months ago
We spent a fantastic week last June at the Xaloc Playa, would recommend it without hesitation to anyone, as long as you don't go in height of summer as the rooms have no air con!! Location just across the road from the lovely beach, who needs a car when there's perfection a few paces away. Restaurant and food were excellent, no fancy stuff, just good honest well presented and cooked food, hardly saw the same thing twice.

Re-booked to go back again in 2 weeks time as we loved it so much
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Walkerp
15 years 1 month ago
As expected there were many German people at the Xaloc, some of them were more than happy to speak with us in very good english, others however were not.

The rooms are at best very basic with very few comforts, I advise to take your own kettle etc.Beds not very comfortable

The entertainment was excelent but weekends can be boring as no entertainment was provided.

Car hire at the Xaloc was both cheap and advisable as there are many excelent beaches to visit on the Island.

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Punta Prima

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.