Image of Menorca Hotel Sol

Menorca Hotel Sol

4 of 7 hotels in Santo Tomas

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Sant Tomàs, 07749 Es Migjorn Gran, Spain
The Sol Menorca was previously known as the Sol Elite Condores. Recently refurvished it has a pool, a relaxing bar and entertainment provided by the Sol team.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Derek & Melody Smith
As good now as our first visit 6 years ago
6 years 2 months ago
We have stayed in this hotel several times over the last 6 years and I am pleased to say that things are still as good now as they were on our first visit.

The hotel is kept spotless by the dedicated sustained team of cleaners and maids.In fact it seems that the turnover of staff is minimal.

The public areas have just been refurbished with new seating and full redecoration.

The location right on the beach is perfect, and this year the exclusion of any guests under 15 years of age enhances the relaxation experience.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
James Furze
9 years ago
Just back from a second visit to Sol Menorca after an absence of 3 years. This hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The room size is adequate and there is no charge for the safe or fridge. The buffet food can be repetitious over two weeks and is more akin to that found in 3 star than 4 star establishments.

Majority of guests are from middle age upwards with a smattering of three-generation family groups. The dominant nationality was British.
No problem with availability of sun beds until the hotel filled up and then they seemed to be in short supply.

Daytime sports were well organised by an experienced two person team (Greg and Saskia) with a choice of three options for 6 days a week. They also provided an amusing and entertaining cabaret twice a week with visiting artistes (of varying standard) in attendance 4 nights each week. No sports or entertainment provided on Sundays. The Hotel is not suited for teenagers and indeed states it does not encourage bookings from families with children.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Martin + Fiona
10 years 1 month ago
Stayed in this hotel after reading the many excellent reviews on this site.

If you want a great room with superior views and a huge balcony then ask for room 232 (our room) or 132 (below). There is a charge for this, an extra 25 euros per day but it is worth it, considering all standard balcony's are only just wider than the patio doors!! This one (Rm 232) was at least 12 strides long, and it goes round the corner (in an 'L' shape), and this bit on the side overlooking the pool is still longer than standard, you could jog up and down!!

Hotel very clean everywhere, cleaners do their job better than needed!!! Floors really shiny everywhere.

Hotel restaurant was OK, food was a bit on the luke-warm side, and although those of you upgrading from maybe a 2 or three star will be happy, if like me you enjoy your 4 star quality and range of food you may be disappointed (its more 3 star really). Service though was good, sit straight down when you go in (at dinner) and the waiter will bring your drinks to you, if you are hungry and are in a rush, just leave your hotel food card on the table, your drinks will be there when you sit down. Check out the show cooking in the morning, the omelette's are great!!

Location of hotel is excellent, right near the lovely sandy beach. Seemed to be in the quietest part of the resort too, which is good as at night time the only thing you hear is the waves on the shore (lovely!!)

Air conditioning was very weak to say the least, but there is a ceiling fan, fridge and safety deposit box (works on a 6-digit pin number, use your phone number like I did!!) All the above is included so no extra to pay!!

Here is one piece of advice.. do not ask your rep anything other than your flights home!!! We did not get a welcome drink at the meeting, and only interested in making commission!!!

We hired a car via. Auto Pons (the local company) Opel corsa a/c 1.2 76 euro's for three days fully comp insurance, Avis wanted 89 euro for a smaller car, with no a/c and no CDW!!! don't forget to take down your driving licence and your passport (forgot my passport but the woman said bring it the next day - very understanding!!

Please, please please ask the hotel reception staff if you need any info on things to do (we wanted to do horse riding) they rung up a local farm, booked us for the next day. Reason to ask them instead is because you are doing what YOU want to do, and they speak very good Spanish on the phone, and English to you(of course!) They make it there mission to keep you happy!! (special thanks to Mercedes, she is a star!!) our rep didn't even know where the doctor was in resort!!! disgraceful!!

Entertainment in hotel was OK, some quite good acts in there, but it only lasts for 1 hour, and starts at 9.30pm with nothing before (a warm-up act would be great) and nothing afterwards!! The entertainment lobby, although a good size with plenty of seating for everyone, was badly laid out (you will see what I mean if you go here!!) the stage is in a corner but has a massive square pillar in the middle in front, rendering a lot of tables and chairs with no view of the stage - no ideal really!!!

Would I visit again? Yes!! The sheer helpfulness of the staff and the cleanliness / quietness of the hotel, and also the excellent pool (goes to nearly 4 meters deep at the deep end!!) made this hotel a favourite. Go to the official website for the solmelia chain and contact them about 1 week in advance (via. email) like I did if you want the big balcony rooms!!!

Hasta la vista!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Keith Deb Kemp
10 years 1 month ago
The hotel was well located next to the beach, and right next to a very good promenade which runs the length of the beach.

The rooms are kept very clean and the staff are very helpful and polite, nothing seems to much for them
reception will help you with anything you need.

The restaurant was of good size and the food was reasonable but the service was quiet slow the trouble was lack of staff to keep the food area filled.

As the season did not start until the 1st of June there was a lack transport so the buses were few far between so getting to places I advise you hire car.

But this did not spoil our holiday and we will certainly return again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Brenda Kirby
10 years 11 months ago
On arrival at the hotel quite late on the Saturday night the immediate impact is that this is going to be a fantastic hotel and we were right.

The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent.

The restaurant food was top class and catered for a vast array of tastes - even my son found something he liked!!! The restaurant opening times were also superb - 7-10am for breakfast and 7-10pm for dinner - plenty of time. I am now home and on a serious diet!!

The staff were always pleasant and very helpful and nothing troubled them.

The entertainment program during the day was great and kept us all occupied. The entertainment program in the evening was varied but there were a couple of really talented acts playing at the hotel.

We would definitely visit this hotel again and are now actively looking at booking for 2 weeks next summer (2007). One week wasn't enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FlyGlobespan

Recommended
Steve & Johann
11 years 1 month ago
Nice hotel,in very quiet resort.Room has ceiling fan, air conditioning,safe deposit box,and fridge all free of charge.Rooms spotless and cleaned to high standard.

Nice pool area with plenty of loungers,and well kept gardens.Hotel was on beachfront with two good beaches on either side of it.

Food was good,but perhaps a bit repetitive as the week went on,otherwise fine.Never had to queue for a table and staff polite and efficient.

We booked a Pricebreaker deal with Thomson on the internet,and having been to Menorca three times before enjoyed this small peacefull resort.

Entertainment was ok,during the day we would go to the other hotels in the resort ( all 4 of them ! )to see what was on,and then decide which show we wanted to see.

Drinks not cheap, probably the same as home,or maybe a bit higher.

If you want a decent hotel in a quite peacful resort this hotel is for you.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Joanne
11 years 9 months ago
Resort was clean. No rubbish in sight.

Hotel sits between two beaches both of which are pretty with sand and some rocks to the sides.

The hotel has three sides a squared horse shoe
shape with a pool in the middle.

There is one pool and the shallow end has a gate across it to cut this section off from the main pool. There are plenty of sunbeds and a number of shades. There are a number of grassed areas around the pool and a quieter area to the other side of the hotel near the sea from but not directly onto the beach.

Gates from the gardens lead to a promenade which runs along the right bay and leads to Santo Tomas bay to the left.

There is a bar which serves burgers, salads and toasties at lunch time, along with drinks and ice creams. There is an outside area to the front of the bar which has chairs and tables and overlooks the bay to the right and from which you can see Majorca in the distance on a clear day.

There are shops near by selling gifts, papers etc and a small supermarket where you can buy most British and German basics.

The resort itself is small, two sets of shops, a handful of hotels and a few bars. It is quiet but a pretty and relaxing place.

The hotel bar is nice, although the entertainment which was good only lasted an hour an evening and could do with expanding as other resort options were limited.
In the restaurant for dinner there was plenty of choice. Including Paella, fish, a variety of meat dishes, pasta and potato/vegetable options daily available. There were lots of sweets available. Breakfast - toast, bread,jams, continental pastries, omelette's and some British hot breakfast items although bacon not like at home as in all of Spain.

We arrived late after dinner on the first night to find a salad meal with meats and cheese ready for us in the restaurant, a nice touch.

Rooms were modern and comfortable. There was room in the bathroom which had a bath, shower,toilet and bidet. A safe which was free and a fridge. Pillows were comfortable.

Cleanliness of this hotel was very good. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and this seemed to rub off on guests who seemed friendly towards each other.

I have stayed in four star hotels all over Europe and overall found this to be the nicest. I would like to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Dave & Cheryl
11 years 11 months ago
This is as honest a report as you will read. We stayed Half Board.

On entering the hotel you could sense it was a bit special. Marble everywhere. A large reception desk with friendly staff ready to look after you - no annoying delays or long queues.

The hotel is in like a horse shoe shape with the two ends pointing out to sea with pool in the middle. One side has 3 stories the other side 2. If you can get the 2 story side as the 3 story side didn't seem to have a good a view as the 2 side. Our room was no 232.

If you are going to stay here ask for this room. It is right at the end of the 2 story block right on the sea.

The balcony is a large L shape. To the left a view of the beach. In front the turquoise sea. To the right another beach. Round the corner of the L shape the pool and entertainment/bar area. We could sit on our balcony at night and watch the hotel entertainment although it wasn't up to much they tried hard.

Unfortunately we found ourselves laughing rather loudly at an Elvis impersonator and had to leave as we were getting a few stares!! Poor bloke was being serious.

You could eat your dinner off the floors they were that clean, maid service and towel change every day always very polite with 'Hola' each time they saw you. Saying that all the staff were very approachable and friendly.

The clientele was mainly 45-60 couples only a few kiddies. With us being younger we felt a little out of place but it was very very quiet.

The pool hardly seemed to be used at all always sunbeds available round the pool perfect for those looking just to relax.

My only slight gripe was the food and only then slight. Having stayed 3* AI with the kids the previous year I must say the food was slightly below that standard. The difference was you didn't have the rugby scrum that was dinner with the 3*. Personal service at your table for drinks it was all help yourself buffet for your meals. Although it was all well presented and edible it wasn't what you expect 4* food to be.

We booked this hotel through the Sol Melia website and booked flights separately. Looking on the Thomson website it would cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flight & hotel seperate

Recommended
J
12 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from an excellent holiday at this hotel. The food was buffet style and excellent. The hotel was clean and the staff very helpfull and friendly. There was entertainment every night however mostly catered for adults although on one evening there was a quiz night where children did take part. Activities during the day was for adults and the older children, such as archery, rifle shooting.The hotel was ideally situated on the beach front and during our stay the beach was fairly quiet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Carole
13 years 1 month ago
Lovely, very quiet hotel. Very friendly helpful staff. There were quite a lot of older people there, only a few small children, fantastic! Well equiped gym, very deep swimming pool. Lots of choice at mealtimes, some food cooked fresh while you wait. Toaster at breakfast was a pain but on a par with other hotels. Very close to sea, great views from bedroom balcony.Entertainment on most nights, flamenco, magic shows, singers (tribute acts.) Ideal for couples who want a quiet break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.